Governor Polis Announces Schools Selected to Receive Governor’s Bright Spot Award

Friday, November 18, 2022


DENVER- Today, Governor Polis announced a new special recognition for the 21 schools across the state that have demonstrated strong growth in student achievement since 2019. The selected schools have demonstrated excellence and the ability to advance learning through challenging times. These Schools will receive the Governor’s Bright Spot award and $50,000 dollars of GEER funds to go towards investments such as expanding student resources, faculty development, preparing and preventing public health emergencies and other opportunities that will benefit students' learning experiences. 


“Congratulations to these schools that have shown strong improvements in results despite the pandemic, and to all those that worked to advance students' learning over the last three years. The unprecedented challenges schools faced through the pandemic were difficult to navigate but, your schools, teachers and communities showed incredible resilience and I am honored to highlight you all. I look forward to seeing how you utilize the funding to keep uplifting your students and advance learning,” said Gov Polis. “Investing in education ensures Colorado youth are able to thrive and access the high-quality education they deserve. Thank you to all the faculty, teachers, and loved ones who support students and their learning experiences.


The criteria was developed to highlight schools across the state that excelled through challenges caused by the pandemic and ensure their students progressed. To qualify for the grant, schools must have advanced more than two bands on their performance framework since 2019. The use of funds will be determined by each school. Examples of eligible uses of funds include increased mental and behavioral health or tutoring services, preparation and prevention strategies for future health emergencies, faculty development opportunities, or school improvements. 


The 21 schools receiving the Governor’s Bright Spot Award are below: 

  • Alicia Sanchez International School
  • Grand Mesa Choice Academy
  • RiseUp Community School
  • STRIVE Prep - Westwood
  • Swansea Elementary School
  • Farrell B. Howell ECE-8 School
  • Cole Arts and Science Academy
  • DSST: Cole Middle School
  • Madison Elementary School
  • Brady Exploration School
  • Welchester Elementary School
  • Lake County Intermediate School
  • Chatfield Elementary School
  • Bookcliff Middle School
  • Bill Metz Elementary School
  • Heritage Elementary School
  • Franklin School of Innovation
  • Irving Elementary School
  • Rocky Mountain Elementary School
  • Fort Lupton High School
  • Sherrelwood Elementary School