

# **OPERATIONAL MEMO**

**OPERATIONAL MEMO NUMBER: HCPF OM 19-027** 

TITLE: PRE-APPROVAL PDF FORM TO RECEIVE REIMBURSEMENT FOR

TRAINING OR CERTIFICATION FOR SUPPORTED EMPLOYMENT

SUPERSEDES NUMBER: N/A ISSUE DATE: JUNE 25, 2019

**EFFECTIVE DATE: JULY 1, 2019** 

DIVISION AND OFFICE: OFFICE OF COMMUNITY LIVING, BENEFITS AND

SERVICES MANAGEMENT DIVISION

PROGRAM AREA: SUPPORTED EMPLOYMENT

APPROVED BY: COLIN LAUGHLIN

KEY WORDS: SUPPORTED EMPLOYMENT SERVICE PROVIDERS,

EMPLOYMENT FIRST, TRAINING, CERTIFICATION, SB 18-145, PRE-APPROVAL,

REIMBURSEMENT

HCPF Memo Series can be accessed online: <a href="https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/memo-series">https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/memo-series</a>

### **Purpose and Audience:**

The purpose of this Operational Memo is to inform Case Managers, Home and Community Based (HCBS) Medicaid Waiver Service Provider and the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment's Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) Supported Employment Vendors providing Individual Supported Employment services, about and the process for requesting reimbursement for Supported Employment training and certification.

#### **Background:**

Colorado is an Employment First state. Employment First means that the first and most preferred outcome for individuals with disabilities is Competitive Integrated Employment (CIE). To support this work Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 25.5-10-204 directs the Department of Health Care Policy & Financing (Department) and DVR, to implement new certification and training requirements for HCBS Medicaid Service Providers and DVR Vendors that are providing Individualized Supported Employment services. The Statue also requires the Department to reimburse providers for the cost of these trainings and certifications, including staff wages. The goal is to increase Competitive Integrated Employment outcomes.

### **Information/Procedure:**

A provider must request and be given approval from HCPF and DVR before reimbursement for the training or certification can be given. Information on the preapproval process, including the Pre-Approval form can be found on the Health Care Policy and Financing website, in the Supported Employment section or by following this link, https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/supported-employment-program.

To be eligible for reimbursement, a provider will need to be actively providing Individualized Supported Employment services either through DVR's Supported Employment programs, and/or HCBS Developmental Disability or Supported Living Services Medicaid Waivers.

Reimbursement rates include costs of the training and/or certification and staff wages while completing training or certification requirements.

The training and/or certification must be nationally recognized, meaning they include standards that are set and approved by relevant industry groups and/or governing bodies nationwide and be approved by the Departments.

Training and/or certification must include the following core competencies:

- Career and Assessment Planning
- Core Values and Principles of Supported Employment
- Employment Engagement
- Individualized Job Development
- individualized Job Coaching
- Person-Centered Team Approach

**Training** will be reimbursed up to \$1200.00 per person

**Certification** will be reimbursed up to \$300.00 per person

## Attachment(s):

Supported Employment Training and Certification Pre-approval Reimbursement Instructions for Completing the Pre-Approval Form

## **Department Contact:**

Katie.Taliercio@state.co.us