



COLORADO Department of Health Care Policy & Financing

Updated 6/4/2020

COVID-19 Tests Billable by Licensed Pharmacists

Effective 5/1/2020, licensed pharmacists enrolled with Health First Colorado (Colorado's Medicaid Program), pursuant to the Public Readiness and Emergency Preparedness Act, may order and administer COVID-19 tests which the Food and Drug Administration has authorized in compliance with the applicable Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment (CLIA) certification requirements and regulations. Claims should be billed as professional claims, not a point of sale, similar to how immunizations and injections are billed. The pharmacy's National Provider Identification (NPI) should be used as the billing provider, the pharmacist's NPI as the rendering provider, and the pharmacist's NPI as the ordering provider. The provider performing the test must have the appropriate CLIA certification for the test being performed. Contact the <u>Provider Services</u> <u>Call Center</u> with any billing questions.

Medication Prior Authorization Deferments

The Department is temporarily deferring prior authorization (PA) requirements for Health First Colorado members on all medications for which there is an existing 12-month PA approval in place, effective 4/6/2020. Each PA may be extended one time for 90 days. These will be handled on a case-by-case basis by the Magellan Help Desk if requested by a Health First Colorado healthcare professional (i.e. enrolled prescribers, pharmacists within an enrolled pharmacy, or their designees). New PAs and existing PA approvals that are less than 12 months are not eligible for deferment. Please contact the Magellan Help Desk at 1-800-424-5725 for a one-time PA deferment.

Zero Copays

Effective 3/1/2020, the Department is waiving copayments for medications related to COVID-19 when ICD-10 diagnosis code U07.1 is entered on the claim transmittal. Pharmacists should ensure that the diagnosis is documented on the electronic or hardcopy prescription. Please contact the Magellan Help Desk at 1-800-424-5725 for questions.

Drug Shortages

The Department continues to monitor drug shortages and has made the following changes:

- Albuterol: Proair, Ventolin and Proventil albuterol HFA are preferred, effective 3/24/2020.
- Chloroquine and Hydroxychloroquine: require a Prior Authorization, effective 3/24/2020.

Please refer to the PDL and Appendix P documents on the pharmacy resources webpage https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/pharmacy-resources.

The Magellan Help Desk has a process in place for shortages or backorders and a pharmacy may call the Magellan Help Desk at 1-800-424-5725 for assistance.

Signature Requirements

Signature requirements are temporarily waived for Member Counseling and Proof of Delivery. Pharmacies are expected to keep records indicating when member counseling was not or could not be provided.

Early Refills

Pharmacies are able to override early refills at the point-of-sale (POS) after 50% of medication day supply has lapsed since last fill for reasons related to COVID-19. Use DUE response codes with reason for service code 'ER' at the POS to receive a paid claim. This override is not available for use by mail order pharmacies.

If a member requires a refill before 50% of the day supply has lapsed, a POS override is not available. Please contact the Magellan Help Desk at 1-800-424-5725 for a one-time refill authorization.

Prescription Cough and Cold

• Prescription cough and cold products for all ages will not require a prior authorization for Health First Colorado members, effective 3/25/2020.

• Prescription cough and cold products may be approved with a prior authorization for an acute condition for Dual Eligible (Medicare-Medicaid) members.

Prescription cough and cold products include non-controlled products and guaifenesin/codeine syrup formulations (i.e. Cheratussin AC, Virtussin AC).

Maintenance Medications

Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing 1570 Grant Street Denver, ¢O 80203-1818 (800) 221-3943 HealthFirstColorado.com Maintenance medications are medications taken on a regular basis for chronic (long-term) conditions. Maintenance medications can be dispensed for up to a 100-day supply and are covered for Health First Colorado members. The maximum day supply for non-maintenance medications is 30 days.

Communications

Please see the Department's web page for previous communication related to COVID-19 and to stay in touch with ongoing changes. https://www.colorado.gov/hcpf/covid