Board of Trustees

Town Board Elections will be held for open Mayor and Board seats on April 7, 2020, at Town Hall. Please see the Notice of Election on the Announcements page for details.

The Town of Bayfield is a statutory municipality and is governed by an elected Town Board comprised of the Mayor and six board members. The Town Board is the governing and legislative body for the Town and is responsible for adopting laws, ordinances, and resolutions as deemed necessary.

Town Board Members:

Matthew Salka – Mayor

Matt is the owner of Absolute Rodent Control. He moved to Bayfield in 2000. He is a La Plata County Economic Development Alliance board member, Bayfield's Planning Commission member, and on the Pine River Valley Rotary. Matt was elected to his first term as Mayor in April 2016. His term will end in 2020.

Kristin Dallison - Mayor Pro - Tem
Kristin's family moved from California to Bayfield Colorado in 1990. She attended Kindergarten through 12th grade at the Bayfield School District, graduating in 2006. She and her husband Daniel were married in 2012 and welcomed their first child, Samuel, in 2017 and is currently a stay-at-home mom. She was elected to her first term in April 2016. Her term will end in 2020.

Matthew Nyberg

Matt is a second term Town Board Member. He works for the Southern Ute Indian Tribe Division of Social Service. He is also a member of the policy committee involving the Head Start program in Ignacio, CO. Matt was elected to a second 4-year term in April 2016. His term will end in 2020.

Kelly Polites

Kelly has made La Plata County her home since 1998. After serving on the Bayfield Planning Commission in 2015, she was appointed to her first term on the Town of Bayfield Board of Trustees in May 2016. Her term will end in 2020.

Brenna Morlan

Brenna Morlan currently heads the mortgage and consumer loan department for Southwest Colorado Federal Credit Union. She also has been the Bayfield Chamber of Commerce President since 2015. Brenna holds her Bachelor's degree in Business Administration with a concentration in Management and is serving her first four year term as Trustee.

David Black
Dave is married to Danna; retired owner of Blue Ribbon Woodworks, a custom woodworking shop. He is a lifelong resident of La Plata County and has lived in Bayfield since 1994. He holds a degree in Industrial Arts Education from the University of Northern Colorado. His Education included a stint as a legislative intern in the Colorado State Legislature. He is a graduate of Leadership La Plata. Dave has served on the La Plata County Board of Adjustment, the La Plata County Planning Commission, and the Bayfield Planning Commission. He has also previously served as a Bayfield Town Trustee. He is the Town’s representative to the Southwest Regional council of Governments. His term as Trustee expires in 2020.

Ashleigh Tarkington.

Ashleigh Tarkington is a Graduate of Fort Lewis College (2000) with a degree in Exercise Science. She attended Graduate School at Cal State University Long Beach before moving back to the area to buy the Billy Goat Saloon in 2003. Ashleigh was sworn in as a Bayfield Trustee in April of 2018 and is currently serving a 4 year term. Ashleigh currently sits on the Board of the Chamber of Commerce, The Board of the Pine River Library, and the Board of Region 9.

The Mayor and Town Board members do not have offices at Town Hall.
Any correspondence may be mailed to:
The Town of Bayfield
c/o Town Manager or the Town Clerk
PO Box 80
Bayfield, CO 81122

Town Manager: Chris La May

Town Clerk: Kathleen Cathcart


Town Board meetings are held on the first and third Tuesday of each month @ 7:00 p.m. All meetings are held in the Board Room of Bayfield Town Hall located at 1199 Bayfield Parkway, unless otherwise posted. The public is welcome to attend meetings and address the Mayor and Town Board.

You are able to view the Agendas and Minutes for the Town Board meetings.