The Bayfield Animal Control addresses any problems and complaints with animals or cruelty toward livestock, dogs, cats, and wildlife. Each year, Animal Control receives complaints that involve problems created when dogs are permitted to run at large. Some of these problems include: property damage complaints, unprovoked dog bites, creation of hazardous driving conditions, dog nuisance complaints, uncontrolled breeding problems, and the potential spread of diseases and parasites.
Licensing your pet will benefit both you and the Animal Control officer in returning your pet home safely. Without proper ID, your pet will be taken to the La Plata County Humane Society. License Tags may be purchased at the Bayfield Town Hall for $5.00 with proof of a rabies vaccination. If your pet is picked up by Animal Control, an impoundment notice will be posted at Town Hall and the animal will be taken to the La Plata County Humane Society. The county imposes a $15.00 fee for the first time impoundment of any dog and a $30.00 impoundment fee for all subsequent impoundment.
Wildlife is also very abundant in our Town. Bears, deer, elk, coyotes, raccoons and skunks are just a few of the animals seen regularly around Town. The Colorado Division of Wildlife is assigned to the responsibility of all wildlife issues within the State of Colorado. The Marshal's Office does, however, offer assistance by providing traps on loan.
If you would like to report a violation of Town, County, or State law regarding animal related problems,
please call Durango Central Dispatch at 385-2900 to have an officer contact you.
The La Plata County Humane Society can be reached at 970-259-2847
and is located just north of Wal-Mart at: 1111 S. Camino Del Rio in Durango.
Below are Town, County, and State regulations regarding animal control. If you have any questions regarding these regulations or would like to report a violation of the laws, please call the Marshal's Office at 884-9636.
Bayfield Town Code -
•3-17 Running at Large: A dog or cat off or away from the premises of the owner or keeper, and not under the control of such owner either by leash, cord, or chain not more than eight feet long.
•3-18 Vaccination: All dogs and cats 3 months of age or older must be vaccinated against rabies.
•3-19 Bayfield License Tag: All owners of dogs and cats must have their animal licensed with Bayfield Town Hall and such license tag must be worn on animals collar at all times.
•3-3 Emission of Noise and Offensive Odors: Any owner will be found in violation of this code if their animal is allowed to consistently emit or give off offensive noises or odors/aromas to persons in the vicinity thereof.
•3-4 Kennels: Any person that posses more than three dogs OR cats must apply for a kennel license at the Bayfield Town Hall.
•3-2 Livestock at Large: Any livestock unattended on public property or on the property of another without their consent.
•3-1 Cruelty to Animals: Any mistreatment/neglect to any animal including carrying on or riding in any vehicle recklessly.
La Plata County Law -
•97-46 Sec. 5.2 Dog at Large: Defined as any dog not restrained on the owners property by means of fence or chain, and not under the owner's direct supervision and verbal command. Exempted dogs are those being used in law enforcement and dog’s ACTIVELY herding or protecting livestock.
•97-46 Sec. 4.3 Dog Not Wearing Owner ID Tags: All dogs must have an owner ID tag affixed to their collar which provides owners name, address, and phone number.
•97-46 Sec. 4.2 Dog Not Licensed: All dogs three months of age or older must be licensed with La Plata County Humane Society.
•97-46 Sec. 4.1 Vaccinations: All dogs 3 months of age or older must be vaccinated.
State Laws -
•CRS 33-6-128(5) Allowing Dog to Harass Wildlife: This carries a fine of $200.00 dollars plus a 37% surcharge and may include restitution to the State of Colorado for injury or death to wildlife. It also provides that any PEACE OFFICER may shoot a dog which chases wildlife.
•CRS 35-43-126 Dog Worrying Stock: Provides that ANY person may shoot any dog which barks at, runs after, or chases livestock; and that such owner of such dog is financially liable for all damages done by it.