How to Pay/Remit Withholding Tax

You complete your withholding tax return and you owe tax.
 
Online Payment in Revenue Online
Payment methods for withholding tax depend on how much total tax is withheld annually.
 
Colorado Wage Withholding Reported Annually
Filing Frequency
Payment Method
less than $7,000
Quarterly Filers
Revenue Online e-check or credit card (with transaction fees) or by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) in Revenue Online with no transaction fees. No paper return required when paid online.*
at least $7,000 but not more than $50,000
Monthly Filers
Revenue Online e-check or credit card (with transaction fees) or by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) in Revenue Online with no transaction fees. No paper return required when paid online.*
more than $50,000
Weekly Filers
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) in Revenue Online is REQUIRED (no transaction fees). 
 
Filing on Paper
To ensure your payment is posted to your tax account, you must include the eight-digit Colorado Account Number (CAN) assigned to your account by the Department. Omitting this CAN could cause the account to be in a balance due situation and you will receive a Balance Due letter from the Department. Note: The Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) is not the same as the CAN and will not post the payment to your account.
 
Still Owe Tax After Filing
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) now has an additional Tax Type (01130), Wage Withholding Bill Payment. This tax type should be used when paying a bill, as it is specifically for withholding penalty and interest bills.  When paying with this Tax Type code by EFT, a return will not post for that amount. The payment will go towards outstanding balances only.