Information for out-of-state retailers

As a result of the Supreme Court South Dakota vs Wayfair decision, the state of Colorado will now collect state sales tax and state-collected local and special district sales tax from out-of-state retailers. Out-of-state retailers are considered those that do not have a physical presence in Colorado. Out-of-state retailers must get a state of Colorado Sales Tax license in order to collect and remit sales tax. The first day to start collecting and remitting sales tax is December 1, 2018, for those retailers who have received their license prior to that date. Out-of-state retailers are not required to collect sales tax on sales before the first day of the month following the issuance of their sales tax license.

Don't forget to watch our video on how to register for Revenue Online.

Note: This page will be updated with new information. Please check back for updates.

Free Live Webinars

Get your questions about the December 1 sales tax changes answered with our free webinars. 

Frequently Asked Questions