
    
                          

Crowley County Local Registrar 
Vital Records                                            

 603 Main Street 
Suite 2 

Ordway, CO 81063 
(719) 267-5555 x 2 

 
Application for Certified Copy of Birth Certificate 

 
 Make check or money order payable to Crowley County Registrar.  Please do not send cash through the mail. 

 
 
 

Print name of person making request Reason for request 

Mailing address                    City               State              Zip Daytime Phone 

Physical address Alt Phone Number 

Relationship to Registrant (person named on certificate) 
*see reverse side 
Pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, 1982, 25-2-118 and as defined by Colorado Board of Health Rules and Regulations, applicant must have a 
direct and tangible interest in the record requested.  The penalties for obtaining a record under false pretenses include a fine of not more than $1,000, 
or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than one year or both such fine and imprisonment. 
Please return your request with a photocopy of you driver’s license, state ID or passport.  
(Review the full list of primary and secondary identification listed on the back) 
By signing below, I have read and understood that there are penalties for obtaining a record under false 
pretenses. 
 
X 

Today’s date 

Registrant Information 
Information about person whose birth certificate is being requested.  If adopted, provide adoptive information. 
Full Name at Birth 

First Middle Last 

Date of Birth 
Month Day Year Is this person Deceased?   ___Yes ___No       If Yes, date:______________ 

State Death Occurred:  __________________________________________ 
                                             Please Provide certified copy of death Certificate 

Place of Birth 
City County State 

Full Name of Father 
First Middle Last 

Full Name of Mother 
First  Middle Last (Maiden) 

Ways 
To 

Order: 

Office hours are from 8:00 – 4:00    Monday -  Friday 
Apply in person for same day service.  Cash, checks and money orders 
accepted.  Mail in request, certificate will be mailed within two-three 
business days.  Genealogy request will be mailed within two weeks. 

Charges: 
Effective 
July 1, 
2006 

$17.75 for first copy (or search of files when no record is found). 
$10.00 for each additional copy ordered at the same time, for the same 
certificate. 
No Credit card orders. 

__________________________ 
ABN BC Number 
_______________   __________ 
# of Past Issues            Staff Initials 
 
 
Date 
 
Number of Copies: ______________ 
 

Office Use Only! 
Full                     Pocket               Total 
Size__________ Size_________   __________ 
 
SPU_________ Cert________ Total________  
 
ID Copied ___________ Issued By ________ 
                    Staff initials                            Staff initials 
 
SF # ___________________________________________ 

Identification is Required  



 
 
 
*Certified copies of birth certificates may be issued to: 
The Registrant, Spouse, Ex-Spouses if they need the certificate for Social Security or pension benefits. 
Mother, Father if listed on the certificate, Legal Representative of the registrant, the registrant’s spouse, children, parents or guardian (legal 
representative includes an attorney, physician or other authorized agent acting on behalf of the registrant or those listed). Legal representatives 
must present proof of client relationship. For example, a release signed by the registrant on a law firm’s stationary is acceptable proof. Paralegals 
may act as authorized agent if they have proof of association with a licensed, practicing attorney. In addition, they must also have proof of the 
attorney’s relationship with the registrant or another party eligible to receive the certificate. Legal Guardian of the Registrant. If a person has legal 
custody of a child, then a certified copy of the court order granting custody must be submitted in order to receive a certified copy of the birth 
certificate. A notarized Power of Attorney document may be acceptable at the discretion of the State Registrar. 
Maternal Grandparents, Paternal Grandparents if father is named on the certificate, Siblings or Half Siblings (proof of relationship may be 
required), Adult Children, Grandchildren, Stepparents. Proof of marriage to one of the biological parents would be considered proof. Consular 
Corps or Consulate Office when acting as legal representatives of the registrant and presenting appropriate credentials. 
Adoption agency representatives if they present agency identifications and submit certified final order of relinquishment or other document(s) to 
prove adoption agency has legal custody of the child. The adoption agency may also submit a Special Power of Attorney whereby the mother or 
father listed on the birth certificate grants the representative of the adoption agency Special Power of Attorney for the sole purpose of permitting 
the representative to obtain certified copy of the birth certificate. The Special Power of Attorney must include the name of the mother/father; the 
name and title of the adoption agency representative; the signature of the mother/father; and signature and seal of the notary public who 
witnessed the signing. 
Verification of recruiters are only done for the inductee on military form DD372. If the recruiter has a signed release from the inductee, a certified 
copy of the birth certificate can be issued to the recruiter. 
Genealogists representing the registrant or the registrant’s immediate family, as listed above, may obtain copies of records needed for their 
research. Appropriate notarized authorizations shall be required from the registrant or registrant’s immediate family members, for release of the 
records. Records released under this provision shall be stamped “For Genealogical Use Only.” 

Customers will be required to present one item from the Primary List or at least two items from the Secondary List. Items must be from 
separate categories. Documents that do not contain either an issue date or an expiration date will not be considered acceptable. These lists 
are subject to change! 
Primary List: All documents must be 
current and valid. 

Secondary List: Secondary List: 

Alien Registration Receipt or Certificate of 
US Citizenship 
CO Department of Corrections ID Card 
Employment Authorization Card 
Foreign Passport 
Permanent Resident Card 
Photo Drivers License 
Photo ID Card 
School, University or College ID Card 
Temporary Resident Card 
Tribal Identification Card 
US Certificate of Naturalization 
US Citizenship ID Card 
US Military Identification Card 
US Passport 

Acknowledgement of paternity document 
Birth Certificate of the applicant 
Court Order for adoption or name change 
Craft or trade license 
DD-214 
Divorce decree 
Hospital birth worksheet 
Hunting/Fishing license 
Income Tax Return 
IRS-TIN Card 
Marriage License 
Merchant mariner card 
Mexican voter registration card 
Motor vehicle registration or title 

Non-Expiring State ID cards 
Pilot License 
Probation Documents 
Property tax receipt 
Selective service card 
Social security card 
Social service card 
State, territorial or federal prison or correction 
card 
Voter registration card 
Weapon or gun permit 
Work ID, Paycheck stub or W-2 
 
List Updated 4-5-06 

*OPTIONS AVAILABLE FOR ADOPTIONS: 
Sign below only if you wish “ISSUED PURSUANT TO ADOPTION” to appear on your certified copy of the birth certificate. Only an adoptive 
parent or adopted person is eligible for this special service effective August 8, 2002. This service can only be completed by the state office.  
Number of copies without “Issued Pursuant to Adoption” requested: ____  _______________________________________________________ 
Number of copies with “Issued Pursuant to Adoption” requested: ____         Signature of: 
Relationship to registrant (check one) ___ adopted person   ___ adoptive parent 

Colorado Department of Health and Environment 
Vital Records Section 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246-1530 
Telephone 1-303-756-4464 
www.cdphe.state.co.us 
 

Right to the Record 
Birth, death and fetal death certificates are confidential in the State of Colorado. These records are not public 

records and, therefore, are not subject to the Freedom of Information Act. 
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