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Revised Colorado Trich Rule — January 2015

Over the last two years, the State Veterinarian’s Office has been in discussion over possible
trichomoniasis rule changes with veterinarians, livestock producers, Colorado Cattlemen’s
Association, Colorado Livestock Association, and Western Dairy Association. It has resulted in new
revised Livestock Disease Control Rules (8 CCR 1201-19) part of which contains the trichomoniasis
rules. The new rule became effective December 30th, 2014.

Overall, the trich rule has not changed dramatically but there are some changes that will affect
producers and veterinarians.

The main changes are:

1.

Official trich test:

The official test for import into Colorado or for change of ownership within the state is the
PCR test. Here is how it is worded: “Official T. Fetus PCR test (Polymerase Chain Reaction)”
means a method approved by the State Veterinarian that detects, through in vitro
amplification, the presence of T. fetus DNA. The previous rule allowed a trich culture for
import of out-of-state bulls or for a change of ownership. Culture will be acceptable for
annual diagnostic tests when used as part of a preventative herd health plan but is not
considered an official test for regulatory purposes such as change of ownership, importation,
or movement to a grazing association.

Length of validity of trich test for change of ownership or importation into Colorado:

The official trichomoniasis test is now applicable for 60 days prior to importation or change of
ownership. The former rule stated the test was only valid for 30 days prior to importation or
change of ownership.

The test eligible age for bulls:

The new rule requires that bulls over 18 months of age be tested for trichomoniasis whether
they are bulls imported from out of state, bulls changing ownership, or bulls commingling in
grazing associations. The previous rule required that bulls being imported into Colorado be

tested if over 12 months of age and had some provision for virgin bull status.

Identification and Laboratory Submission Forms:

There are some additional requirements for official animal ID for bulls being tested for
trichomoniasis. The new rule states that the accredited veterinarian shall record the bull’s
official animal ID eartag on the T. fetus test submission form or apply an official animal ID tag
to any bull that does not have one and record it on the T. fetus test submission form. An
approved laboratory is required to immediately report any positive specimen to the State
Veterinarian’s Office. Such report should include the official animal ID eartag, brand, owner
name, address, telephone number and the submitting veterinarian’s name, address, and
telephone number.
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If you have any questions on the changes to the rule, please call the State Veterinarian’s Office at
303-869-9130 and ask to talk to one of the staff veterinarians or visit with one of our field
veterinarians.

The new revised livestock disease rule is posted on the Colorado Department of Agriculture website,
under the tab, Livestock Disease Info, and then click on Trichomoniasis. Here is the direct
link: https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/aganimals/laws-and-regulations-4

In addition to changes to the trichomoniasis rules, other sections were slightly revised to reflect new
federal animal disease traceability requirements and to represent the most current veterinary
science related to disease prevention, surveillance, and transmission.
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