Quick Facts

Amendment 64 to the Colorado Constitution directed the General Assembly to enact legislation
governing the cultivation, processing, and sale of industrial hemp. Legislation adopted in 2013 delegated
the responsibility for establishing registration and inspection regulations pertaining to cultivation to the
Colorado Department of Agriculture.

New and revised rules for the Industrial Hemp Program are effective as of March 30, 2016.

Industrial Hemp means a plant of the genus Cannabis and any part of the plant, whether growing or not,
containing a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) concentration of no more than three-tenths of one
percent (0.3% THC) on a dry weight basis. Material in excess of 0.3% THC is by definition marijuana.

Commercial registrants are not limited in size of acreage and will be charged an application fee of $500
plus $5/acre (outdoor) or $0.33/1000 sq ft (indoor).

When registering, applicants must provide:
0 contact information
0 maps that include GPS location of registered land area, growing locations, and varieties planted.

CDA will select up to 100% of registrants each year for field sampling and verification of 0.3% or less
THC content.

Costs of field sampling and lab testing incurred by the Department will be passed on to the registrant.

o Fees for field sampling are currently $35/hour and will include drive time and sampling time, a
$150/per sample charge, and mileage at 0.25/mile.

o All regulatory samples will be processed by the CDA Biochemistry Lab, following established
protocol.

If an Industrial Hemp sample tests higher than 0.3% THC but less than 1% THC content the registrant
shall not be subject to penalty if the crop is destroyed or utilized on site in a manner approved of and
verified by the Commissioner. Sample test results for Industrial Hemp registrations that are greater than
0.3% THC on a dry weight basis may be provided to the appropriate law enforcement agencies.

Anyone selling seed that they grow or package in Colorado (regardless of Genus and species) must
register as a seed labeler or farmer seed labeler with the Colorado Department of Agriculture.
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