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The Driver’s Manual is intended to give the driver
important information on his/her responsibilities
while using a state vehicle. It is intended to be
informational and concise, providing guidelines
conforming to Capital Assets/Central Services Rules.
It is not intended to be an all-inclusive operations
manual.

This manual can be accessed at
www.colorado.gov/dca/documentsforms-0

Capital Assets Rules are combined with Central
Services and can be accessed at
www.colorado.gov/dcs/dcs-rules-statutes
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Section |
Quick Reference

A: Important Phone Numbers

Colorado State Fleet Management
1001 E. 62nd Ave., Rm. A-18
Denver, CO 80216

Main Phone: 1-800-723-8023 or
303-866-5222

Fax: 303-866-5511 or 303-866-5580

Call Center — Authorizations for Repair
1-800-356-3846 or 303-866-5566
7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Towing Services in Denver Metro Area
(24 hours a day, 7 days a week)
Joe’s Towing—303-428-9242

After Hours Assistance

5:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. Weekends call the
National Auto Club—1-866-329-3471
Account #8503758000 or

1-800-356-3846 (Call center support)

Division of Risk Management
1313 Sherman St., Suite 114
Denver, CO 80203
303-866-3848 or
1-800-268-8092 (Colorado only)

Fuel Card (Voyager)
Customer Service 24/7
1-800-987-6589

Fuel Card Replacements
State Fleet Management 1-800-723-8023
or 303-866-5222

Police 911
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C. State Operated Garages

ALAMOSA
Adams State College
208 Edgemont
Phone: 719-587-7951

BUENA VISTA
Buena Vista Correctional Facility
Phone: 719-395-2404

DELTA
Delta Correctional Facility
1140 E. 10 Road
Phone: 970-874-7614

DENVER METRO
Fort Logan Mental Health
4390 W. Oxford Avenue
Phone: 303-866-7216

Colorado State Patrol
15203 W. 12th Avenue
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-273-1666

Department of Transportation (Fall 2018)
2300 W. 11th Ave

Denver, CO 80218

Phone: 303-757-9260

PUEBLO
Pueblo Mental Health
1600 W. 24th Street
Phone: 719-546-4257

RIFLE
DOC Rifle Correctional Center
200 County Road 219
Phone: 970-625-1700



Section |l
Driver’s Responsibility

All items listed in this section are the
RESPONSIBILITY of the STATE DRIVER!

A. Monthly Mileage Notification

It is the driver’s responsibility to report the actual
ending odometer reading each month to the vehicle
coordinator for their agency before month-end.

B. Preventive Maintenance (PM) Schedule

It is mandatory to follow the preventive
maintenance schedule for your individual
vehicle as prepared by SFM. Call the SFM Call
Center at 303-866-5566 or 1-800-356-3846
for clarification. Have the listed services
performed when due—as close as possible

to each scheduled interval. SFM policy will

not approve services prior to the scheduled
mileage or scheduled date unless the vehicle is
equipped with a computer-controlled indicator.
If your vehicle is used in “severe service”
situations, ask your vehicle coordinator to call
SFM to approve a shorter service interval.

Repairs required due to lack of preventive
maintenance may be billed to the Using
Agency and could increase your agency’s
operating expenses.

C. Emissions Test & Registration Renewals

It is the driver’s responsibility to keep the
following items with each state vehicle they drive:
e Current emissions compliance
(New vehicles are exempt for 7 years)

 Current registration in the vehicle
« Vehicle packet

For registration renewal instructions, contact
the Colorado Department of Revenue
at 303-205-5607.

Tickets issued because of expired registrations
are the responsibility of the driver.

8



D. Fuel Card & Types of Fuel

1. FUEL CREDIT CARD: Cards are assigned
to vehicles, not drivers. Enter accurate
odometer readings when using the fuel
card, do not enter the “tenths” digit.
Please call your vehicle coordinator if you
forgot your PIN number or have a damaged
card. Report lost cards to your vehicle
coordinator immediately. NOTE: The fuel
card is not to be used for any product or
service not sold at the fuel pump island.
(Washes, oil, washer fluid are okay.)

Do not leave cards in an unlocked vehicle at
any time. In the summer, heat will warp the
cards; please keep them in the vehicle packet
locked in the glove box. Do not write PIN
numbers on the fuel cards or packets, keep in
a safe place like a billfold, purse, or cellphone.

2. Drivers should be purchasing fuel

at State fueling systems wherever
practicable. Drivers should purchase the
lowest cost per gallon fuel whenever
practicable when using retail outlets.

Use “best price locators” in advance of your
trip to save time and money.

3. REGULAR FUEL: Drivers shall use self-
service, regular grade gasoline wherever
available for vehicles that cannot operate
on alternative fuels. Premium grades of
fuel and full-service fuel may not be
purchased by the driver.

4. ALTERNATIVE FUEL: Drivers are required
to purchase and use alternative fuel
whenever practicable for State vehicles
that are equipped to operate on electricity,
E-85, propane, natural gas, and bio-

diesel. Unleaded fuel is available at the
downtown Motor Pool fuel pump located
at 1525 Sherman Street in the alley.

Contact the Motor Pool to register your
fuel card at 303-866-3030. Contact SFM for
assistance.



E. Daily Care of Vehicles

Drivers are responsible for the day-to-day care of
their vehicles. Drivers are responsible for the
security of the vehicle. Park in safe areas and
lock the vehicle. No state employee is permitted
to drive a vehicle that is unsafe or to ignore an
unsafe condition. Follow the advice listed below
to keep your vehicle in a safe, operable condition.
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1. FLUIDS: Check the under hood fluids on
your vehicle weekly. Fill as necessary but have
your vehicle checked if you are low on engine
oil, automatic transmission or power steering
fluid, brake and clutch hydraulic fluid, or
engine coolant. In order to prevent freeze-up,
do not add plain water to the radiator, coolant
reservoir, or windshield washer container.

2. LEAKS: Look on the ground under
the vehicle for fluid leaks. Call SFM
immediately about any leakage.

3. TIRES: Visually inspect the tires daily,
look for embedded nails, and check regularly
for uneven wear and for proper air pressure.
Correct air pressure is the major contributor
to extended tire life and increases fuel
economy. Recommended tire pressure is
usually found on the driver’s doorpost.

4. DAMAGE: Check the vehicle frequently for
body damage. Report any damage promptly
to SFM (See procedures and definition of an
incident/collision in the Collision section.)

5. IMPROPER USE: Do not drive your truck or
sport utility through rivers, creeks, or streams
that will exceed the limits of your vehicle. Do
not drive sedans on four-wheel drive roads.
Drivers and/or their agencies are responsible
for the full amount of any damage caused by
improper use of their vehicle.

6. FLAT TIRES: Drivers are responsible for
replacing a flat tire with the spare. Drivers
are responsible for changing the flat tire,
if able to do so safely, and the vehicle is
equipped with a spare tire and tools. If
the driver is unable to utilize the available



spare tire, then please reference the list
of tow companies found in Section 1 of
this manual. If after hours, please contact
National Auto Club 866-329-3471.

DO NOT drive the vehicle with a flat tire as it
will ruin the tire and/or the rim. Your agency
may be held responsible for the damages.

7. LIGHTS: Check exterior lights and turn
signals regularly for proper operation.

8. NOISES: Be alert for unusual noises that
could signal mechanical problems. Call SFM
immediately to schedule an appointment

if needed.

9. GAUGES: If the temperature gauge reads
abnormally hot, the oil pressure gauge reads
low, or the “Engine Light” is illuminated,
STOP THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY and call
SFM Maintenance Assistance at 1-800-356-
3846 or at 303-866-5566. For after-hours
repair, see page 20 for further guidance.

If the caution light (check/service engine
light, power loss light or emissions light)

in vehicles is illuminated, it indicates a
potential problem. Have the vehicle checked
as soon as possible. Vehicles still under
manufacturer warranty will be directed to
the nearest dealer.

Vehicles under the new vehicle warranty
that are non-operable are covered under a
nation-wide roadside assistance program.
Call the appropriate number for assistance,
see page 16.

10. ENGINE IDLING: An idling vehicle gets
zero miles per gallon, causes excessive
engine wear, and pollutes the air. Please
refrain from idling your vehicle unnecessarily.
For further guidance, refer to SFM Anti-ldle
Policy on the website.

11. CAR WASHES: Agencies are permitted
2 car washes per month, per vehicle. Max
is $15.00 a wash. Fleet does not pay for
detailing.

11



F. Collision Procedures

In the event of a collision/incident, drivers are
required to follow all procedures in the Collision
section starting on page 20.

G.

Use of Vehicle

As the operator of a State vehicle, the driver is
responsible for its proper use, service, and
protection. Each driver must be familiar with
the following guidelines:

12

1. USE OF A STATE VEHICLE: State vehicles
are to be used for official state business
only and may not be used for personal
errands, transporting family members, or
pets. State vehicles may not be loaned to
or driven by any unauthorized individual.

2. DRIVERS LICENSE: Driver must possess

a valid U.S. driver’s license for the class of
vehicle operated. (Responsibility for making
this determination rests with the agency
employing the driver).

3. CITATIONS: Use of the State vehicle that
results in Tickets, Tolls, Parking Fees or
fines in general, are the responsibility of
the agency and ultimately the driver.

4, SEAT BELTS: Seat belts must be worn by
drivers and all passengers in a state vehicle.

5. NO SMOKING: Smoking is not allowed in
state vehicles.

6. PARKING: State vehicles are prohibited from
using the Regional Transportation District (RTD)
Park and Ride parking lots unless you are using
RTD transportation services. All state vehicles
will be parked at the agencies home office or
satellite office locations. Parking state vehicles
overnight or on weekends at any RTD Park and
Ride facility is not allowed. If the driver is

an approved commuter, the vehicle must be
parked at the driver’s residence or an official
state office location when not being used for
official state business. Personal use of state
vehicles is not allowed.



7. ALCOHOL/DRUGS: State-owned vehicles
under no circumstances may be operated by
any individual who is under the influence of
alcohol or drugs.

8. COMMUTING: The use by a state employee
of any state-owned vehicle for commuting
must be requested and approved in accordance
with DCS Administrative Rule 3.0.

Personal use is never allowed.

9. KEYS: SFM does not keep extra vehicle
keys. Drivers must pay directly for extra
keys or expenses to open a locked vehicle.
Replacement keys for most late-model
vehicles contain an embedded computer
chip, are available only from dealerships,
and cost in excess of $100.

SFM has key codes available for most 1998
and newer vehicles.

H. Travel Outside of Colorado
1. Other States

a. Must be approved by the agency
employing the driver.

b. The Fuel Card is accepted anywhere
in the USA including Alaska & Hawaii.
However, the driver should verify the
card’s acceptance prior to the sale when
at an unfamiliar vendor.

2. Outside of the Continental United States:

Requires prior written notification and
explanation from the state agency to the
State Fleet Manager. The letter should
include a license plate number, dates, and
your acknowledgment of these procedures.

a. Agencies must purchase all necessary
additional liability and collision insurance
before the vehicle is taken out of the
United States. This expense will not be
subject to reimbursement by SFM.

b. The Fuel Card cannot be used outside of
the USA. The state agency must pay all bills
and keep track of receipts and present them

13



to SFM for reimbursement upon return.

The driver should contact his or her agency
and SFM before incurring an extraordinary
expense. SFM is expected to reimburse for
normal charges only. Should the vehicle
become inoperable while out of the country,
the agency must contact SFM. The agency
must then deal with the foreign authorities,
and return the vehicle to the United States.

c. The vehicle should be parked in a secure
location and not left unattended while out
of this country.

d. Taking a state vehicle to Mexico is strongly
discouraged. Use of state negotiated vehicle
rental contracts is advised.

I. Vehicle Turn-In Requirements

When a vehicle is returned to SFM, we
require the following:

14

1. No appointment necessary unless
turning in an oversized vehicle or more
than 4 vehicles at a time. Turn-in vehicles
are accepted Mon-Fri, 8:00 a.m. to 4:30
p.m. If you have questions call 1-800-723-
8023 or 303-866-5222.

2. Verify with your Fleet Coordinator that
the loan obligation for the turn-in vehicle has
been met. If not, your agency will be billed
for the remaining balance on the loan term.

3. Remove all 2-way radios, cell phones,
hands free equipment, security cages,
law enforcement lighting equipment,
and/or any other special equipment. Any
agency that has not removed all additional
equipment prior to turn-in, may incur
additional direct billed expenses.

4, Remove all decals or emblems from the
vehicle. Any agency that has not removed
all additional branding prior to turn-in, may
incur additional direct billed expenses.

5. Remove undercover plates and install
original state plates on the vehicle. You
must have state plates on the vehicle and



the current registration to turn in. This
is the agency's responsibility. The vehicle
should be reasonably clean or washed
before turning in.

6. If the vehicle is in an “enhanced
emission area,” please get an emissions
test if the test is over 9 months old. Bring
in the original Vehicle Inspection Report
when turning the vehicle in.

Enhanced emission areas include the full
counties of Boulder, Broomfield, Denver,
Douglas, and Jefferson as well as the partial
counties of Adams, Arapahoe, Larimer, and
Weld. If you are coming to SFM from outside
of the enhanced emissions area and have
time please get an emissions test done. Call
SFM at 1-800-723-8023 for locations and
hours of operation or the Air Care Colorado
Hotline at 303-456-7090.

7. Vehicle should be cleaned out; remove
all personal items, trash, food, papers, etc.

8. Vehicle should have at least a %4 tank of
gas at time of turn-in.

9. When you arrive at SFM:

a. Park the vehicle in any available
space in the public parking lot.

b. Record the odometer reading, gather
all keys, fuel credit card, and vehicle
packet with current registration and go
to the DPA North Campus receiving desk
at the West side entrance and request
assistance from State Fleet Management
for vehicle turn-in.

10. At SFM’s front desk:

a. Fill out the Vehicle Turn-in sheet by
recording the odometer reading and
vehicle description.

b. Identify any known or suspected
problems the vehicle may have.

15



J. Public Perception

SFM receives citizen complaints regarding
state vehicles being driven improperly.
These complaints may result in a disciplinary
action against the driver by his or her
agency. State drivers should be concerned
about the image of state employees and
state vehicles as perceived by the public. As
drivers represent the State of Colorado, it is
extremely important that they present a
positive image. State vehicles are highly visible
and represent a valuable resource.

Section Il
Maintenance & Repair

PLEASE NOTE: Vehicles under new vehicle
warranty that are non-operable are covered
under a nation-wide roadside assistance program.

For assistance, call the appropriate number:
Ford: 1-800-241-3673

Chevrolet/GMC: 1-800-243-8872
Chrysler/Dodge: 1-800-521-2779

Toyota: 1-800-331-4331

Please have the VIN number and odometer
reading available before calling. The VIN
number can be located on driver side door jam
sticker, or can be read through the windshield
on drivers side of the vehicle on the dashboard.

A. Emissions Test Procedures

SFM vehicles that are located in designated

AIR CARE COLORADO program areas are required
to have an emissions test and obtain a “Vehicle
Inspection Report.” It is the driver’s responsibil-
ity to have the emissions test performed when
required if their vehicle is registered within the
program area. For questions and locations, call
the AIR CARE COLORADO hotline at 303-456-
7090. In Longmont call 303-684-0111.

16



B. Tires & Glass

Tires and windshield replacement are state
awarded items and should never be installed
without a purchase order from the SFM Call
Center. Call SFM for the closest approved vendor.

Tires should be replaced when the tread is
worn to 4/32 of an inch or less. Replacement
tires will be of original equipment type
(all-season tread) and size. Exceptions are

authorized by SFM on an individual basis.

1. All Season Mud & Snow Tires: All-season
tires are rated “M&S,” meaning they

meet the USDOT and State Patrol winter
tread requirement for hazardous driving
conditions. They will outperform all other
tires in overall safety, handling, braking,
and performance. Additional information
can be found at www.codot.gov/travel/
winter-driving/TractionLaw#collapseThree

Traditional large element tread design
snow tires outperform all-season tires
only in deep, non-compacted snow. These
tires increase braking distances and
adversely affect handling when used on
dry pavement. The tires are also often
physically larger than the original tires,
causing problems with odometer readings
and anti-lock brake systems. SFM does not
approve oversized tires.

Traction Aid Devices are allowed for
vehicles required to use them by law,
which drive daily on mountain passes

that frequently have the “Chains Law”
condition. Drivers and their agencies are
responsible for the full amount of expenses
on any vehicle damage caused by traction
aids. One such traction aid can be found at
http://autosock.us/.

Tire studs are not approved for any vehicle
due to the abnormal wear caused on the
highways and the negative effects on
vehicle handling and braking systems.

2. Glass Repair/Replacement: Windshield
repairs should be attempted before
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replacement. It is important to have chips
and small cracks repaired promptly. Call
SFM for an approved vendor in your area.

C. Preventive Maintenance: When to
Contact the SFM Call Center

1. For all routine maintenance, bring
vehicle into an approved vendor.
Approved vendors must call SFM
Authorizations (1-800-356-3846) prior to
performing any services on the vehicle.
Vehicle operators are strongly encouraged
to use state garages whenever possible.

2. A SFM Call Center Specialist can:

a. Inform you what preventive maintenance
needs to be performed on your vehicle.

b. Inform you if your vehicle requires
warranty work.

c. Help you locate a vendor upon request.

D. Vehicle Repair/Preventive
Maintenance & Towing Procedures
During Normal Business Hours
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1. State driver calls SFM at
1-800-356-3846 or 303-866-5566
DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS:
7:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m. MONDAY-FRIDAY

a. Identify your vehicle license plate
and current odometer reading.

b. Describe the vehicle’s problem or
needed PM per the SFM PM schedule to the
experienced SFM Call Center Specialist.

e SFM will recommend the nearest
approved vendor.

e Warranty Repairs at new car
dealers: A SFM Call Center
Specialist will review the SFM
files and recommend the nearest
authorized dealer for warranty
repairs. New vehicle warranty is
usually for 3 years/36,000 miles,
with some drive train warranties
extended up to 100,000 miles.



2. TAKE the Vehicle to the Agreed Upon
Private Repair Facility.

a. Identify your vehicle as part of the
SFM Maintenance Program.

b. Give the private repair facility your
name, phone number, and instruct them
to call SFM at 1-800-356-3846, or 303-
866-5566 prior to their performing any
chargeable work on the state vehicle.

c. Sign the delivery receipt after making
sure everything listed was performed.

d. If repairs are not satisfactory, contact
the SFM Call Center immediately.

E. After-Hours Emergency Repairs

(During the following times: 5:00 p.m. to 7:00
a.m. Monday-Friday, all day Saturday/Sunday)

If emergency repairs must be performed
immediately, call 1-800-356-3846 or the National
Auto Club at 1-866-329-3471 for assistance.

SFM must be called by the next business day and
informed of the vendor with the vehicle and its
location.

1. After Hours Towing in the Denver Metro
Area: If the vehicle creates a definite road
hazard and must be moved immediately,
call Joe’s Towing at 303-428-9242.

The vendor will tow your vehicle to State Fleet
Management at 1001 East 62nd Ave in Denver,
or to a repair facility located in the Denver
Metro area that will work on your vehicle.

Please call the Call Center during normal
business hours.

2. After Hours Towing Outside of Denver
Metro Area: If the vehicle creates a definite
road hazard and must be moved immediately,
call the National Auto Club at 1-866-329-3471
or 1-800-356-3846. Or you can call one of
the towing vendors listed in this manual and
request a tow to the nearest repair facility.
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A list of local awarded tow vendors
appears in the Quick Reference Section,
starting on page 2.

For emergency services, where all other
options have been exhausted, a procurement
card may be used when necessary.

Call the Call Center for assistance. Out of
State breakdowns can be handled through
the local Goodyear, Pep Boys, Sears, or
Firestone dealer. Vehicle manufacture
specific dealerships may be used nation-
wide for those related products.

Section IV
Collision Information

PLEASE READ THIS INFORMATION
BEFORE ANY ACTION IS TAKEN.

A collision is described as ANY incident occurring
that may have caused damage to a SFM vehicle,
another vehicle, or private property.

Collision damages include: Damage caused

by another vehicle, road hazard, wildlife,
weather (wind, rain, hail, etc.), and vandals
(this includes glass, tires, body damage, stolen
vehicles, etc.).

NOTE: Stolen vehicles must be reported
immediately to ensure that fixed and variable
rates are suspended until the vehicle is found
and repaired.

If you are in doubt, please call the Collision
Repair Section of SFM at 1-800-356-3846 or
303-866-5565.

A. Collision Procedures

At the scene of an incident involving a SFM
vehicle, the driver must:

1. Stop immediately and aid any
injured persons.

2. Notify the local police by calling 911.
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3. If the local police will not send an
officer to the scene, file a counter
report at the local police station or
State Patrol station.

4. DO NOT leave the scene or move
the vehicle until the law enforcement
agency has completed its investigation,
or until they have asked you to move it.

5. If the vehicles create a definite
hazard, please mark the location of
each vehicle involved, then move the
vehicle.

6. Call your supervisor.

7. Do not admit fault or make
statements about the collision at the
scene to law enforcement, or others
involved in the incident.

8. Present the State of Colorado
Insurance Card, located inside the back
cover of this booklet.

9. Write down ALL information
required on the other driver listed
below:
e Name
o Address
o Drivers license number and state,
expiration date, Date of Birth

e Home and work phone numbers

o Year, make, model, and license of
vehicle

« Insurance company and policy number
* Injured parties name(s)

o Witnesses names, addresses, and
phone numbers

o Take pictures of the damage

10. Write notes concerning the
accident. These notes will help when
you complete the accident report.

11. Do not tell the other driver to call
State Fleet for repairs to their vehicle!
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12. Towing — DO NOT ATTEMPT TO
DRIVE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE OR A
VEHICLE WITH FLUID LEAKS.

a.) In the Denver Metro Area: Use
a towing vendor from the Quick
Reference section starting on page 2.

« Have the vehicle towed to:
State Fleet Management
1001 E. 62nd Avenue
Denver, CO 80216

b.) Outside the Denver Metro Area:
See the Quick Reference section for
a list of vendors starting on page 2.

« Have the vehicle towed to their
place of business for safekeeping.
Instruct the vendor to contact
SFM the next business day.

« Do not have the vehicle taken
to a body shop or insurance
company.

e The state driver must call the
SFM Collision Section the same
day or the next business day to
give location of the vehicle and
potential storage charges. If this
is not done, the storage charges
will be the responsibility of the
state driver’s agency.

B. Reporting a Collision to SFM
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1. Call the Division of Risk Management
immediately at 303-866-3848, if the

accident involves serious injury and/or
damage to OTHER persons or property.

2. Call SFM within one business day to
report the collision. Provide the state
vehicle’s license number, the state driver’s
name, and the date of collision.

Do Not Admit Fault.

3. Complete the “Vehicle Collision Packet”
with all of the forms listed below within 10
days of the incident. Make sure your Vehicle
Coordinator receives a copy of the packet.



e POLICE REPORT: Include one clean,
legible copy of the investigator's

traffic incident report from the police
department that investigated the
accident. (It is the driver’s responsibility
to acquire a police report). Please do
not expect the Collision Repair Section
of SFM to acquire the report for you.

o RISK MANAGEMENT VEHICLE ACCIDENT
REPORT (DRM-01) and ORIGAMI ONLINE
ACCIDENT REPORTING SYSTEM: The
DRM-01 form, also know as, roadside
form is found in the state driver’s
VEHICLE PACKET. Additional forms

can be downloaded from State Fleet
Management’s website www.colorado.gov/
dca/fleet. Please complete each section
of the roadside report as precisely as
possible and make sure it is legible. If the
information on the other driver is missing,
the state driver has a responsibility to
acquire this information. Then, utilize the
Roadside Form to populate the Origami
Online Accident Reporting System. The
link to Origami Online Reporting System
can be found on State Fleet Management's
website.

e The state driver must have their
signature as well as their supervisor’s
on the DRM-01 roadside accident
report before uploading to the Origami
Online Reporting System. (Attn: You
will only be able to upload during the
initial reporting process and Will Not
be able to upload at a later time. For
further information on the access

to Origami reporting contact your
agencies Origami administrator.) Please
be sure to write in the license number
(State Plate—not the undercover plate)
where directed. If the license number is
not visible, it will hinder authorization of
the body repairs of your vehicle.

4. REPAIR ESTIMATES: Include one
estimate if damage is UNDER $1,200 or
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three estimates if the damage is OVER
$1,200. Call SFM for suggested body shops.
Estimates can be sent to dpa_collisions@
state.co.us

» Do not go to an insurance company to
have an estimate done.

e GLASS and TIRES should be noted on
the estimates.

Even though the collision damage is minor
and the State driver does not see damage,
an estimate is still required.

C. Obtaining Authorization for:
1. Body repairs

» Once the completed “Vehicle Collision
Packet” is received by the vehicle
Damage Repair Section of SFM, State
Fleet personnel will call or email the
state driver or vehicle coordinator

with the name of the vendor chosen to
complete the body repairs. No repairs
should be authorized prior to review and
approval by the State Fleet Call Center

» The state driver then makes an
appointment with authorized vendor.

« After the vehicle is taken to the
vendor for repairs, the state driver will
then inform the vendor to call SFM for
authorization number for payment of the
repairs.

» Once the vehicle is completed to the
state drivers’ satisfaction, the state
driver signs the invoice or work order. Do
not accept inferior repairs!

Do not take the invoice from the
vendor- Have the vendor send the
original to SFM.

2. For back glass, door glass, vent glass,
rearview mirrors (inside and outside),
windshields broken by vandals or tires
slashed by vandals, this damage is not
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considered usual wear and tear. The state
driver must:

e Fill out the DRM-01 Form to upload
into the Origami Online Reporting
System explaining the reason the glass
was broken, tires slashed, etc.

e Call the AWARDED glass or tire vendor
to schedule for replacement (see the
TIRE and GLASS section on page 17).

» Have the vendor call the

Collision Repair section of SFM for
authorization. The glass and/or tires
will be authorized provided the state
driver follows the accident reporting
procedures at a later time.

3. Mechanical repairs (accident damage
such as running over something causing a
hole in oil pan, gas tank, etc.):

o Follow the bodywork instructions for
collision related mechanical repairs.

NOTES
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STATE OF COLORADO
INSURANCE CARD

THIS CARD MUST BE CARRIED IN STATE VEHICLES
FOR PRODUCTION UPON DEMAND. LIABILITY IS
PROVIDED PURSUANT TO LAW.

INSURED STATE OF COLORADO
AND ITS EMPLOYEES

POLICY NUMBER .... DRM-24301510, NO
EXPIRATION DATE

ALL STATE-OWNED
VEHICLES

DIVISION OF RISK
MANAGEMENT
303-866-3848

IF YOU HAVE AN ACCIDENT:

. Do notify police and State Fleet Management.
. DO NOT admit fault or make commitments.

. DO PROVIDE RISK MANAGEMENT PHONE
NUMBER TO OTHER PARTY.

. Use the DRM-01 "Roadside Form" to capture
names, license numbers, phone numbers of
persons involved, witnesses, and other details
identified on the form.

. DO NOT discuss the accident with anyone
except police or State investigators.

. Notify Risk Management and State Fleet
Promptly (Upload of DRM-01 "Roadside Form"
content to Origami Accident Reporting System).

This form does not constitute any part of CRS
24-10-101, et seq. or CRS 24-30-1501, et seq.
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