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Zipline Guidance 

Effective August 24, 2012 
 

The Division of Oil and Public Safety, Amusement Rides and Devices Program will now be regulating ziplines within 
the State of Colorado.  All ziplines located in Colorado must be registered with the Division of Oil & Public Safety 
(OPS).  This guidance document outlines the current requirements of zipline registration standards listed herein, 
Amusement Rides and Devices - 7 Colorado Code of Regulations (CCR) 1101-12, or Colorado Revised Statutes 
(CRS) Title 8 Article 20.  As we are in the process of developing changes in our regulations, we have included in this 
document both current requirements and requirements that will be included in our regulation changes (in the blue 
font).  The latter requirements are not mandatory at this time but are highly recommended.  This guidance focuses on 
the registration requirements for all commercial zipline operations in the State of Colorado.  Amusement rides and 
devices, including ziplines, may not operate within the State of Colorado unless the owner/operator has registered 
with the Division of Oil and Public Safety. 

 
Section A.  Definition 

 
(1) Amusement Ride or Device means any mechanized device or combination of devices which carry or convey 

persons along, around or over a fixed or restricted course for the purpose of giving its passengers amusement, 
pleasure, thrills, excitement or the opportunity to experience the natural environment.   

(2) Zipline means a concession, commercial recreation or amusement device where participants attached to a pulley 
traverse by gravity from one point to another by use of a cable or rope line suspended between support 
structures. 

 
Section B.  Construction 

 
(1) OPS will be adopting the ACCT standards, 7th edition.  When the 8th edition is released, OPS may adopt those 

standards in place of the 7th edition. 
(2) All zipline installations must be constructed, maintained and repaired by the following standards: 

(a)  in accordance with the ASTM Standards, the ACCT Standards and/or the manufacturer’s recommendations, 
as applicable;   

(b)  in accordance with all otherwise applicable federal, state and local safety, fire, health or building codes or 
standards; and 

(c)  as certified by a Professional Engineer.  The certifications must be available for review by the Director of Oil 
& Public Safety or his designee.  All existing operations will have 12 months from the release date of this 
document to comply with this requirement. 

 
Section C. Exemptions 
 
(1) Any amusement ride or device operated at a private event that is not open to the general public and not subject 

to a separate admission charge, or any amusement ride or device owned and operated by a non-profit 
organization who meets all the requirements in Sections 2.1, 2.2(a), 2.2(g), 2.2(h), and 2.2(i) of the regulations 
and operates their rides less than 8 days in any calendar year.   

(2) Any amusement ride or device operator who notifies the Director of the Division of Oil and Public Safety in writing 
that his or her ride or device is inspected and licensed or issued a permit by one of the following agencies where 
said agency inspects and issues a license or permit for the ride or device is exempt. 
(a)  any municipality or local government within the State of Colorado; 
(b) another state agency within the State of Colorado; or 
(c) any federal government agency. 
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Section D.  Application 
 
This application must be filled out to initially attain and annually renew the permit.  The application can be found on 
our website (www.colorado.gov/cdle/amusementrides).  Components of the current application are as follows: 
 
(1) Contact Information – Name of Operator, Physical Address, Mailing Address (if different from physical), 

Contact Name, and a Telephone Number must be completed.  Do not fill out Registration Number if you are a 
first time applicant.  A number will be assigned to your operation by OPS. 

 
(2) Payment – Based on the fee schedule below, payment may be submitted via cash, check, or money order 

(made payable to Division of Oil and Public Safety).  Each zipline is considered one class B device. 
 
This is the current fee schedule.  Submit fee payment based on this schedule. 

Fee 
Category 

Registration fee for  
amusement ride or 

device operator 
+ Registration fee for  

class A rides 
Registration fee for  

class B rides 

Fee 
Amount $500 + $100 per ride $135 per ride 

(a)  A Class A ride or device means a ride or device that is designed primarily for use by children 12 years of age 
and younger commonly referred to as a “kiddie ride”. 

(b)  A Class B ride or device means a ride or device that is not a class A ride or device. 
 
This is what the fee schedule will be after our regulation changes take effect.   

Fee 
Category 

Registration fee for  
amusement ride or 

device operator 
+ Registration fee per ride 

or device 

Fee 
Amount $500 + $130 

 
(3) Type of Operator: 

(a)  Check Permanent Device Operator if your zipline stays in one location. 
(b)  Check Portable Device Operator if your zipline is used in more than one location. 

 
(4) Liability Insurance Information – Insurance Carrier’s Name, Policy Number, Effective Date, and Expiration 

Date must be completed regarding your liability insurance.  See section (C)(7) of this document for more 
information on insurance requirements. 

 
(5) Certificate of Inspection – A certificate of inspection must be completed by a qualified third-party inspector for 

each zipline.  The name of the zipline, serial number and manufacturer of the zipline must match the list of rides 
in the application (see section (C)(9) for information on the list requirements). 
Note:  See section D for more information on what needs to be inspected. 

 
(6) Injury Occurrence(s): 

(a)  Mark “yes” if any injury occurring in any state caused by an amusement ride which results in death or 
requires medical treatment.  An injury is caused by the ride if the injury occurs on the ride/device or is in any 
way associated with the ride/device.  
(i)   You must also attach a copy of the injury report. The report must include the kind of injury, date of injury, 

cause of injury, and name of ride/device. 
(b)  Mark “no” if you have not had any injuries on your zipline. 

 
(7) Certificate of Liability Insurance – You must request that your liability insurance carrier submit a certificate of 

liability insurance directly to OPS to be placed with your application. 
(a)  The liability insurance must be in the amount of not less than $100,000 per occurrence with a $300,000 

annual aggregate for Class A amusement rides and devices and an amount of not less than $1 million per 
occurrence for Class B amusement rides and device insuring the owner or operator against liability for injury 
to persons arising out of the use of the amusement ride or device.   
(i) A Class A ride or device means a ride or device that is designed primarily for use by children 12 years of 

age and younger commonly referred to as a “kiddie ride”. 
(ii) A Class B ride or device means a ride or device that is not a class A ride or device. 
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(b)  For governmental entities, insurance or self-insurance in accordance with section 24-10-115 of The 
Governmental Immunity Act, or participation in a public entity self-insurance pool pursuant to section 24-10-
115.5 of The Governmental Immunity Act shall be deemed to meet the financial standards of this section. 

 
(8) Dates and Locations (for portable amusement devices only) – Only locations within the State of Colorado are 

required to be listed. 
(a)  Dates of Operation shall mean the beginning and end dates of being set up at that location. 
(b)  Location Name shall mean the name of the building or fairgrounds you will be set up in or outside of (some 

examples are Douglas County Fairgrounds, Westminster High School, Winter Park Ski Resort, etc.). 
(c)  Location Address shall mean the street address of the above location. 
(d)  Location City shall mean the city of the above location. 
 

(9) List of All Amusement Rides or Devices – List each device on a separate line with the name of the device, the 
trade name of the manufacturer of the device, and the serial number of the device.  If there is no serial number 
issued by the manufacturer then we recommend that you develop a serial number of your own in order to 
differentiate your current device(s) from any new devices you may get or when/if you replace your current 
device(s). 

 
(10) Attestation Signature – The person who fills out this section is certifying that the information provided in the 

application is true and correct to the best of their knowledge.  All fields must be completed. 
 

Section E.  Third-Party Inspection 
 
(1) A third-party inspector must be hired by the operator annually to inspect the zipline and approve it per the 

Construction requirements listed in Section B. 
(a)  The third-party inspector must be qualified by training, such as attainment of Level II certification from the 

National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials (NAARSO), attainment of Level II certification from 
Amusement Industry Manufacturers and Suppliers International (AIMS), attainment of a qualified inspector 
certification from the Association for Challenge Course Technology (ACCT), or other similar qualification 
from another nationally recognized organization; or education, such as a registered Professional Engineer in 
a related discipline; or experience evaluated and approved in advance, by OPS, to conduct safety 
inspections of amusement rides or devices in accordance with the ASTM standards, the ACCT Standards 
and/or the manufacturer’s recommendations and criteria, as applicable.  The inspector may also be a 
qualified State of Colorado employee whose inspection services are retained for an additional fee. 

(b)  The third-party inspector must determine whether the zipline is being constructed, assembled, maintained, 
tested, operated, and inspected in accordance with the ASTM standards, the ACCT Standards and/or the 
manufacturer’s recommendations, as applicable, and must determine the current operational safety of the 
zipline. 

(2) The inspection shall be conducted with the zipline in an operable state prior to opening to the public and shall 
include an evaluation of the zipline for a minimum of one complete operating cycle.  The third-party inspection 
must include:  
(a)  a review of the method to test the stress and wear-related damage of critical parts that the manufacturer 

determines are reasonably subject to failure; and 
(b)  a review of the owner/operator's daily inspection records, inspection and maintenance program records, and 

training records. 
(3) Upon approval, the third-party inspector must fill out a Certificate of Inspection to be included with the 

application.  There is a blank Certificate of Inspection in the application. 
 
Section F.  Ride Operator Training 
 
(1) The Ride Operator is defined as the person that has control of the amusement ride or device at all times that it is 

being operated for the public’s use.  This person must be trained in accordance with the standards listed below. 
(a) ACCT Chapter 3: Operations Standards; 
(b) ACCT Chapter 4: Practitioner Certification Standards; or 
(c) An operator training program provided or approved by the zipline designer, engineer or manufacturer. 

(2) All records of the ride operator training activities must be maintained. These records must be available to OPS 
auditors/inspectors, at reasonable times, including during an inspection upon the auditor’s/inspector’s request. 
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Section G.  OPS Inspection / Audit 
 
(1) OPS staff may inspect the premises and operation of the amusement ride or device to insure that the financial 

and safety standards required by OPS have been met. 
(2) In addition to the annual inspection required, the owner/operator who operates a zipline must perform and record 

daily inspections of each zipline.   
(a)  Every zipline operator shall maintain detailed records relating to the construction, repair and maintenance of 

its operation including safety, inspection, maintenance records, and ride operator training activities. 
(b)  These records must be made available to the OPS auditors/inspectors, at reasonable times, including during 

an inspection upon the auditor’s/inspector’s request. 
(c)  Records of the daily inspections must be available for inspection at the location where the zipline is 

operated, and the records must be maintained with the zipline for a period of three years. 
(3) The daily inspection record must include an inspection of equipment identified for daily inspection in accordance 

with the applicable ASTM code, ACCT code, or the manufacturer’s recommendations.  Where applicable, the 
inspection shall include: 
(a) safety belts, bars, locks and other passenger restraints;  
(b) all automatic and manual safety devices;  
(c) signal systems, brakes and control devices;  
(d) safety pins and keys;  
(e) fencing, guards, barricades, stairways and ramps;  
(f) ride structure and moving parts;  
(g) tightness of bolts and nuts;  
(h) blocking, support braces and jackstands;  
(i) electrical equipment;  
(j) lubrication as per manufacturer's instructions;  
(k) hydraulic and/or pneumatic equipment;  
(l) check communication equipment necessary for operation;  
(m) prior to opening, operate ride through one complete cycle of proper functioning; and  
(n) any other component that is included in the manufacturer's specific ride maintenance and safety checks or 

ASTM standards, or that the operator or person performing the daily inspection deems necessary for 
inspection. 

 
Section H.  Injury Reporting 
 
(1) A reportable injury shall be reported to OPS within 24 hours.  Please call (303) 514-3281 to report an injury.  A 

written report must be submitted to OPS within 72 hours.   
(a)  A Reportable Injury is defined as any personal injury that results in death, dismemberment, significant 

disfigurement, permanent loss of the use of a body organ, member, function or system, a compound fracture 
or other significant injury or illness caused by the operation, maintenance, malfunction or failure of an 
amusement ride or device.  Reportable injuries do not include treatment with first aid even if performed by a 
physician unless follow-up treatment is required. 

(2) If a death or serious injury results from the operation, maintenance, malfunction or failure of an amusement ride or 
device, the equipment or conditions that caused the accident need to be preserved for the purpose of an 
investigation by the Division of Oil and Public Safety. 

 
Section I. Timeline for Completion 
 
(1) All existing zipline operations will have the following deadlines for meeting the requirements:  

(a)  Thirty (30) days from the release date of this document for all zipline operators to submit an application and 
certificate of liability insurance document to the Division of Oil and Public Safety; 

(b)  Ninety (90) days from the release date of this document for all zipline operators to submit a third-party 
inspection certification for each zipline to the Division of Oil and Public Safety; and 

(c)  Twelve (12) months from the release date of this document for all zipline operators to have ziplines 
constructed, maintained and/or repaired as certified by a Professional Engineer, and have those certifications 
available for review by the Division of Oil and Public Safety. 

(2) Ziplines may not operate within the State of Colorado unless the owner/operator has registered with the Division 
of Oil and Public Safety.  Failure to comply with this timeline may result in enforcement action via a Notice of 
Violation.  The Notice of Violation may include a fine of up to $1000.00 per day for operating without a permit 
and/or an order to cease-and-desist operation of the zipline until all violations are satisfactorily corrected. 
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Section J.  Contact Information 
 
Scott Narreau  Program Manager   (303) 318-8495  scott.narreau@state.co.us  
David Knight  Field Auditor  (303) 514-3281  david.knight@state.co.us  
Nikki Lingle  Administrative Assistant  (303) 318-8519  nikole.lingle@state.co.us  
Jacquee Wilson  Administrative Assistant  (303) 318-8552  jacquee.wilson@state.co.us  
    
Public Safety Fax (303) 318-8488   

 


