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Wage Protection Act of 2014               

Frequently Asked Questions  
 

Colorado Department of Labor and Employment | Division of Labor 

www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor  
 

   

The answers to the following questions are intended to provide general information on the Wage 
Protection Act (WPA) of 2014, but should not be construed or relied upon as legal advice.  If you or 
someone you know needs legal advice about your rights under the WPA, please consult with an 
attorney. If you need help finding an attorney, contact your local bar association. 
 

Overview of the Wage Protection Act of 2014 

In May of 2014, Governor John Hickenlooper signed the Wage Protection Act of 2014, SB 14-005 (“Act”) 
into law. The Act amended the existing Colorado Wage Act, § 8-4-101 et seq., C.R.S., to provide new 
protections and enhanced enforcement processes for Colorado private sector employees who are owed 
wages for work performed in Colorado. 
 

When does the Wage Protection Act take effect? 

The core provisions of the Act go into effect for Colorado employers and employees on January 1, 2015. 
The new enforcement processes at the Colorado Division of Labor (“Division”) apply to wages earned on 
and after January 1, 2015. 
 

Have administrative rules been issued for the Act? 

Yes. The Division has issued Wage Protection Act Rules, 7 CCR § 1103-7, which are effective January 1, 
2015. The rules implement provisions of the Act and provide clarification on Division authority and 
enforcement processes.  
 

Who enforces Colorado wage and hour laws under the Act? 

Current or former private sector employees in Colorado may pursue wage complaints for unpaid wages 
through either:  
 

(1) The judicial/court system  
 

OR  
 

(2) The Colorado Division of Labor wage complaint process.  
 

The Division process is not required, and is not a prerequisite for independent legal action; you may 
pursue the matter in court without contacting the Division. However, if you have already pursued the 
wage complaint in court, you may not subsequently use the Division process to address the same wage 
complaint that you previously pursued in court.  
 
Employees may also be able to file wage complaints under separate federal wage and hour laws; contact 
the U.S. Department of Labor at 720-264-3250 for more information. 
 
 
 

http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor
http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Senate%20Bill%2014-005%20Wage%20Protection%20Act_1.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/CO%20Wage%20Act%20-%20Jan%201%202015%20%28Final%20Version%29.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Wage%20Protection%20Act%20Rules.pdf
http://www.dol.gov/
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How has the wage complaint process at the Colorado Division of Labor changed? 

The Act has significantly altered the manner in which the Division investigates and adjudicates wage 
complaints.  
 

For wages earned on and after January 1, 2015, the Division may: 
  

1. Formally order the payment of unpaid wages up to $7,500 for current and former employees; 
2. Impose penalties on unpaid wages for current and former employees; 
3. Issue fines on employers for various violations of the Act; 
4. Conduct hearings of appeals of investigatory decisions made by the Division. 
 

How does the January 1, 2015 date affect my wage complaint filed with the Division? 

1. If the unpaid wages were earned solely before January 1, 2015 
The Division will investigate the wage complaint and notify the employer of any violations, but the 
Division does not have the legal authority to order the payment of wages and penalties for wages 
earned before January 1, 2015. 

 

2. If the unpaid wages were earned solely on or after January 1, 2015 

The wages are subject to the Division’s full enforcement authority, and the Division may legally 
order the payment of wages up to $7,500, and penalties as appropriate.  

 

3. If the unpaid wages were earned both before and after January 1, 2015 

The Division can only legally order the payment of wages and penalties for the portion of wages 
which were earned on or after January 1, 2015, up to $7,500. 

 

Is there a minimum or maximum dollar limit on wage complaints filed with the Division? 

There is no minimum dollar requirement for wage complaints filed with the Division. However, there is a 
maximum limitation on wages that the Division can order an employer to pay. The Act limits the 
Division’s full enforcement authority to situations where the wages owed were earned on or after 
January 1, 2015, and are less than $7,500 in total.   

If the Division determines that you are owed wages in excess of $7,500, the Division cannot legally order 
the payment of the wages in excess of $7,500. If you have reason to believe that you are owed more 
than $7,500 in wages, you may wish to contact an attorney for legal advice, or pursue your dispute in 
the appropriate court. 

Who may file a wage complaint with the Division?  

The wage complaint process provided by the Division is a free service, and is available to current and 
former Colorado private sector employees regardless of immigration status. The unpaid wages 
described in the Wage Complaint Form must have been earned for work performed in Colorado as an 
employee; independent contractors are not entitled to use the Division process.  
 

When may an employee file a wage complaint with the Division?  

Colorado wage and hour laws provide that the unpaid work must have occurred within 2 years of the 
date of filing the wage complaint with the Division, or 3 years if the Division determines that the non-
payment was willful. 
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May I designate someone to assist or represent me in the wage complaint process?  

Yes. You may designate an authorized representative to assist you and act on your behalf in the wage 
complaint process at the Division. You must complete and sign the Authorized Representative Form and 
submit it to the Division in order to designate a representative.   
 

What types of complaints are covered by the Act and the Division wage complaint process? 

The following represent common complaints which may be submitted on the Wage Complaint Form and 
are typically subject to the Division process: 
 

 Non-payment of wages for work performed in Colorado in the last 2 years (or 3 years if willful) 

 Minimum wage violations 

 Unauthorized deductions from wages 

 Non-payment of overtime in certain industries 

 Non-payment of unused vacation pay earned in accordance with an employer’s policy 

 Dishonored (bounced) paychecks 

 Tip or gratuity disputes 

 Meal or rest period disputes in certain industries 

 Unpaid commissions or bonuses 
 

What types of complaints are NOT covered by the Act and are NOT entitled to the Division 
wage complaint process? (See the appropriate agency or an attorney for assistance in these 
areas).  
 

 Non-payment of wages for work not performed in Colorado  

 Independent contractor pay disputes 

 Wrongful termination 

 Discrimination 

 Harassment or abusive treatment 

 Expense reimbursements 

 Employment references; slander or libel 

 Access to personnel or medical records 

 Government or school district employee disputes 

 Severance pay 

 Sick pay 

 Pay disputes where an employer has filed for bankruptcy or has been seized by a creditor 

 Health or life insurance coverage 

 401K, pension, or savings accounts 

 Taxes 

 
Do I have to send a written demand to my employer for unpaid wages? 

No, although sending a written demand to your employer may assist you in recovering the wages, and 
may also increase the chance of obtaining monetary penalties from your employer if you subsequently 
pursue the matter in court or with the Division.  
 

The Act amended Colorado wage and hour law regarding the use of written demands by an employee 
for payment of wages. Under previous Colorado law, employees were required to send a written 
demand for payment to the employer within 60 days of separation from employment in order to 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Fill-able%20Authorized%20Representative%20Form%20%28Final%20Version%29.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/complaint-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Minimum%20Wage%20Order%2031.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Minimum%20Wage%20Order%2031.pdf
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potentially recover penalties. The Act eliminated the 60-day written demand requirement, and the Act 
also permits current employees to obtain penalties (not just employees who were separated from 
employment). 
 

Written demands operate as follows under the Act: 
 

1. The employee is not required to send a written demand to the employer in order to recover wages 
or penalties. 
  

2. If the employee wishes to send the employer a written demand, he or she may use the Demand for 
Payment of Wages, provided by the Division as a courtesy. 

 

3. If the employee sends the Demand for Payment of Wages to the employer, the employee may wish 
to send the demand via certified mail (or via other tracking methods), so that the mailing and 
receipt of the demand is tracked. The employee may also wish to keep any related records that 
prove when, and to whom, the demand was sent. Proof of sending the demand, and retaining a 
copy of the demand, may assist the employee in obtaining wages and penalties from the employer.  

   

4. Sending a demand for payment of wages to the employer does not constitute filing a complaint with 
the Division. The employee must still complete and submit the separate Wage Complaint Form in 
order for the Division to investigate the complaint. 

 

5. If the employee does not send a written demand to the employer, the Division’s Notice of Complaint 
(sent to the employer by the Division to initiate the wage complaint investigation) constitutes a 
written demand for legal purposes. 

 

6. If the employee has sent a written demand to the employer, or the Division has sent a Notice of 
Complaint to the employer, the employer generally has 14 days to pay all earned and unpaid wages 
to the employee.  

 

a. If the employer does not pay all earned and unpaid wages within 14 days after the written 
demand or Notice of Complaint is sent, the employer may be liable for penalties (in addition 
to the owed wages). 

 

Can the Division impose penalties on employers who fail to pay wages? 

Yes. If an employer fails to pay an employee in accordance with Colorado wage and hour law and the 14-
day period described above, the Division may impose a penalty of 125% of the wages owed, or up to 10 
days of the employee’s average daily earnings, whichever is greater. The penalty would be payable to 
the employee, in addition to the owed wages. Penalties may subsequently be increased or decreased 
depending upon the specific circumstances, as described in the Act.  
  

Does the Division issue fines against employers who violate wage and hour laws? 

Yes. The Act provides three categories of possible fines on employers. Fines are payable to the State of 
Colorado, not to the employee.  
 

1. A fine of up to $250 per employee, per month, for failures to retain or provide proper pay 
statements to the Division or to employee(s), with a maximum of $7,500. 
  

2. A fine of up to $50 per day, per employee, for each failure to pay an employee, commencing 
from the date that the wages were due and payable to the employee(s). 

  

3. A fine of $250 for each failure to respond to a notice from the Division that required a response. 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Demand%20for%20Payment%20of%20Wages%203-18-15.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Demand%20for%20Payment%20of%20Wages%203-18-15.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Demand%20for%20Payment%20of%20Wages%203-18-15.pdf


March 2015  5 

 

 

Does the Division award attorney fees in wage complaint processes? 

No. The Act does not permit the Division to award attorney fees. Attorney fees can only be awarded in 
certain circumstances by a court.  

What can I do if I disagree with the Division’s determination at the conclusion of a wage 
complaint investigation? 

After the Division has investigated a wage complaint and issued a written determination, both the 
employee and the employer have the right to appeal the Division’s determination. The appeal must be 
filed with the Division within 35 days of the issuance of the determination. If the appeal is properly filed, 
a Hearing Officer at the Division will conduct an appeal to review the Division’s determination. Contact 
the Division for more information on the appeal and hearing process.    
 
In addition, employees have the right to terminate the Division’s determination and preserve their right 
to private action (e.g., pursue the matter on their own in court). Termination of the Division’s 
determination must occur within 35 days after the issuance of the determination. Contact the Division 
for more information on terminating the Division’s determination. 
 
If neither party appeals the Division’s determination within 35 days, and the employee does not 
terminate the Division’s determination within 35 days, the Division’s determination is final.     
 

Can I appeal the decision of a Division Hearing Officer? 
Yes. The employee or employer may appeal the Hearing Officer’s decision by commencing action in 
district court within 35 days of the mailing of the decision by the Division. Contact an attorney or the 
court system for more information.   
 

May an employer retaliate or discriminate against me for filing a wage complaint? 

No. Employers may be subject to civil or criminal penalties if they intimidate, threaten, restrain, coerce, 
blacklist, discharge, retaliate, or discriminate against you for filing a wage complaint with the Division. 
An employer who is found guilty of retaliation via applicable state and/or federal laws may be subject to 
both fines and imprisonment. See an attorney for legal advice on this topic.  

What is the Division’s contact information if I have additional questions? 

You may contact the Division via phone at 303-318-8441, email: cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us or 
visit the Division website at www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor. 
 

Resources 

Wage Protection Act of 2014 
Wage Protection Act Rules 
Wage Act (includes new amendments) 
Wage Act Fact Sheet (includes new amendments) 
Minimum Wage Order Number 31 
Minimum Wage Order Number 31 Fact Sheet 
Wage Complaint Form and Instructions 
Written Demand for Use by the Employee 
Authorized Representative Form 

mailto:cdle_labor_standards@state.co.us
http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Senate%20Bill%2014-005%20Wage%20Protection%20Act_1.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Wage%20Protection%20Act%20Rules.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Wage%20Protection%20Act%20Rules.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/CO%20Wage%20Act%20-%20Jan%201%202015%20%28Final%20Version%29.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Colorado%20Wage%20Act%20Fact%20Sheet_1.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Colorado%20Wage%20Act%20Fact%20Sheet_1.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Minimum%20Wage%20Order%2031.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Minimum%20Wage%20Order%2031.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Wage%20Order%2031%20Fact%20Sheet.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Wage%20Order%2031%20Fact%20Sheet.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/complaint-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdle/complaint-forms
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Demand%20for%20Payment%20of%20Wages%203-18-15.pdf
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/Fill-able%20Authorized%20Representative%20Form%20%28Final%20Version%29.pdf

