
 

 
 
 
Colorado Law Under Colorado law, an individual who furnishes tobacco 
products to a person under 18 years of age commits a class two petty 
offense and is subject to a two hundred dollar fine. Tobacco product 
retailers whose employees or vending machines furnish tobacco products to 
persons under 18 years of age are now subject to the imposition of 
administrative penalties. These administrative penalties range from a 
written warning for a first offense, up to a fine of $15,000 for a fifth offense 
committed within two year period of time. Colorado law also requires 
tobacco retailers to post a minor warning sign. Additionally, tobacco 
vending machines that are accessible to minors are required to have devices 
attached to the machines that allow an adult employee to prevent the 
dispensing of tobacco products to minors. Retailers who violate either of 
these two provisions are also subject to the imposition of administrative 
penalties. Penalties for a violation of these provisions range from a written 
warning for a first offense, up to a $1000.00 fine for a fifth offense 
committed within a one years’ period of time.  
 
Enforcement of Colorado Law Local law enforcement agencies and the 
Colorado Liquor Enforcement Division are empowered to investigate 
Colorado tobacco law violations. These agencies may employ the use of 
underage operatives to conduct a compliance check of a retailer to 
determine if the retailer will sell or furnish tobacco products to minors. 
These compliance checks can occur at any time and retailers, to help avoid 
selling to minors, should establish policies, procedures and training for 
their employees to prevent making unlawful sales to minors. Retailers who 
can establish that they have provided employee training and have policies 
and procedures in place to prohibit tobacco sales to minors are rewarded 
with the ability to claim an affirmative defense from state administrative 
penalties for up to two underage sales violations. Even though an 
affirmative defense may help a retailer avoid paying an administrative fine, 
retailers are still cautioned that they will continue to be rechecked to insure 
compliance.  
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Violations by Minors Colorado law also makes it a criminal violation for a 
minor to purchase or attempt to purchase tobacco products. Minors who 
violate either of these provisions commit a class two petty offense and are 
subject to a one hundred dollar fine. If your store is constantly being 
subjected to attempted tobacco purchases by minors, please contact the 
Liquor Enforcement Division's Tobacco Enforcement Unit at 303-205-
2300. The Division, upon request, will provide investigators who will spend 
time in your store to detect underage purchase attempts. Minors found 
attempting to purchase will be issued a criminal citation.  
 
What's at Stake? Aside from the fact that furnishing tobacco products to 
minors is against the law, the federal government has mandated that all 
states have a tobacco enforcement program in place. States that do not have 
a tobacco enforcement program in place and/or who fail to establish a 
minimum 80% compliance rate by tobacco retailers can lose federal 
matching grant funds for alcohol and drug abuse treatment programs. To 
Colorado, this loss would amount to approximately 8 million dollars 
annually.  
 
The Colorado Perspective Colorado law, under HB 98-1387, was drafted 
with the assumption that the majority of tobacco retailers would, or already 
do, comply with tobacco sale to minor restrictions. Our current law does 
not require retailer licensing or similar provisions to control tobacco sales 
that have been enacted by other states.  
 
How to Get Help or Information about Colorado Tobacco Laws: 
 

Colorado Liquor & Tobacco Enforcement 
1881 Pierce Street, Suite 108A 

Lakewood, CO 80214-1495 
Phone 303-205-2300 
FAX: 303-205-2341 

E-mail: Anita.Synko@state.co.us 
 
 

- WARNING - 
IT ILLEGAL FOR ANY PERSON UNDER EIGHTEEN YEARS 

OF AGE TO PURCHASE OR ATTEMPT TO PURCHASE 
CIGARETTES OR TOBACCO PRODUCTS &, UPON 

CONVICTION, A $100.00 FINE MAY BE IMPOSED. 
 


