
Scrap Tire Markets in the United States, Rubber Manufacturers Association, May 2009.1

Room 029 State Capitol, Denver, CO  80203-1784
(303) 866-3521   FAX:  866-3855   TDD:  866-3472

Colorado

Legislative

Council

Staff

MEMORANDUM

August 1, 2009

TO: Transportation Legislation Review Committee

FROM: Kurtis Morrison, Senior Research Assistant, 303-866-3140

SUBJECT: Waste Tire Disposal and Recycling Program

This memorandum provides a summary of the Colorado Waste Tire Disposal and
Recycling Program designed to reduce the high number of scrap tires stored or illegally
discarded within Colorado state borders.  Specifically, this memorandum discusses:

• background information;
• state programs supported by waste tire fee revenues;
• fees, distribution of fee revenues, and historical fee increases;
• transport of waste tires; and
• recent legislation.

Background

The Rubber Manufacturers Association (RMA) reports that of 128 million waste
tires stored in stockpiles at the end of 2007, approximately 50 million (39 percent) were
located in Colorado.  According to a recent RMA survey, Colorado ranks 3rd among all
states in overall waste tire tonnage (14.8 million tons) deposited in monofills.   The1

Colorado Department of Public Health (CDPHE) is required to submit an annual report by
July 1 to the Transportation Legislation Review Committee (TLRC) on the total number
of waste tires recycled in the state.  The July 1, 2009, report states that:

• 5,158,468 waste tires were generated in Colorado during 2008;
• 4,080,749 tires were recycled in 2008, (79 percent of tires generated);
• 5,696,249 tires were deposited at waste tire facilities; and
• an estimated 447,415 tires were imported from other states and deposited in

Colorado monofills.

A copy of the 2009 report is provided with this memorandum (Attachment A).
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Waste Tire Disposal and Recycling Program

The Waste Tire Program is comprised of several cash funds that promote tire
recycling, reuse, and disposal, and is supported by a $1.50 per tire fee.  The fee also
supports higher education research.  The following table displays the distribution of the
$1.50 fee, excluding administrative expenditures, according to the programs funded, and
provides a description of each program and administering department.

Table 1

Colorado Waste Tire Disposal and Recycling Program:

Revenues and Program Expenditures

Program

 Percent of
$1.50 Fee

Credited to
Program Purpose / Description  Department Statute

End User and
Processor Partial
Reimbursement
Program

$0.45
(30.0%)

• Assists new tire recycling technologies to become
economically feasible, in turn encouraging further
use of waste tires by providing partial
reimbursement to waste tire processors and end
users of up to $50 per ton of waste tire material
used.

Department of
Local Affairs

Section 24-32-114 (1) (c),
C.R.S.

Cleanup and
Processing Grant
Program for
Counties and
Municipalities

$0.38
(25.3%)

• Assists local and county governments in removing
waste tires from monofills and dumping sites by
providing grants to counties and municipalities to
remove disposed or stored tires from illegal waste
sites, and subsequent recycling or disposal.

Department of
Local Affairs

Section 24-32-114 (1) (a),
C.R.S.

Recycling
Resources
Economic
Opportunity
Program

$0.25
(16.7%)

• Assists nonprofit, for-profit, and governmental
entities in developing recycling initiatives, enhancing
recycling infrastructure and programming, and
developing new markets for recyclable materials.
Provides grants and loans to local and municipal
governments, nonprofit organizations, and for-profit
organizations for recycling programs and
partnerships that prioritize solid waste mitigation and
promote recycling industries and infrastructure.

Department of
Public Health and
Environment

Section 25-16.5-106.5,
C.R.S.

Recycling
Incentives for
Purchasing and
Using Recycled
Waste Tire
Products in
Public Projects

$0.17
(11.3%)

• Encourages the use of recycled or reused tire
products in civic and public projects such as
playgrounds, running tracks, and athletic fields by
providing grants to counties, municipalities, special
districts, and state agencies to purchase products
comprised of recycled or reused waste tires for use
in public projects.

Department of
Local Affairs

Section 24-32-114 (1) (b),
C.R.S.

Advanced
Technologies
Fund

$0.15
(10.0%)

• Encourages waste diversion and recycling projects
emphasizing tires by provides grants to individuals,
public, or private entities to support waste tire
diversion and recycling projects.

Pollution
Prevention
Advisory Board

Section 25-16.5-105 (2),
C.R.S.

Innovative Higher
Education
Research Fund

$0.10
(6.7%)

• Supports Colorado higher education research
initiatives by providing state funding to meet match
requirements for federal grant funding.

Department of
Higher Education

Section 23-19.7-104,
C.R.S.

Upon collection of the $1.50 fee, revenues are allocated according to multiple
formulas set in state law.  Table 2 displays the breakdown of the fee according to credited
cash fund, the allocation of cash fund revenues by program, and the administering agency
of each program.  A flow chart displaying the $1.50 fee revenue distributions is also
attached to this memorandum (Attachment B).
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Table 2

Waste Tire Fee Revenue Distributions and Program Expenditures Required by State Law

$1.50
Fee Fund Credited

Fund
Revenue

Distribution* Program and Administering Agency Statute

$0.75   Waste Tire Recycling
Development Cash
Fund*

67% 50% - Cleanup and Processing Grant Program for Counties
and Municipalities (Department of Local Affairs)

Section 24-32-114 (1) (a), C.R.S.

30% - End Processor and User Partial Reimbursement
Program (Department of Local Affairs)

Section 24-32-114 (1) (c), C.R.S.

20% - Recycling Incentives for Purchasing and Using Recycled
Waste Tire Products in Public Projects (Department of Local
Affairs)

Section 24-32-114 (1) (b), C.R.S.

33% 60% - Advanced Technologies Fund (Pollution Prevention
Advisory Board)

Section 25-17-202 (3) (b) (III), C.R.S.
Section 25-16.5-105 (2), C.R.S.

40% - Innovative Higher Education Research Fund
(Department of Higher Education)

Section 25-17-202 (3) (b) (III), C.R.S.
Section 25-16.5-105 (2) (e), C.R.S.

$0.50** Recycling Resources
Economic Opportunity
Fund

50% Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity Program
(Department of Public Health and Environment)

Section 25-17-202 (1) (a) (IV), C.R.S.
Section 25-16.5-106.5, C.R.S.

Waste Tire Cleanup
Fund

25% End Processor and User Partial Reimbursement Program
(Department of Local Affairs)

Section 25-17-202 (1) (a) (IV) (A), C.R.S.
Section 24-32-114 (1) (c), C.R.S.

25% Cleanup and Processing Grant Program for Counties and
Municipalities (Department of Local Affairs)

Section 25-17-202 (1) (a) (IV) (B), C.R.S.
Section 24-32-114 (1) (a), C.R.S.

$0.25   
Processors and End
Users of Waste Tires
Cash Fund

72% End Processor and User Partial Reimbursement Program
(Department of Local Affairs)

Section 25-17-202.5 (1) (a), C.R.S.
Section 24-32-114 (1) (c), C.R.S.

28% Recycling Incentives for Purchasing and Using Recycled
Waste Tire Products in Public Projects (Department of Local
Affairs)

Section 25-17-202.5 (1) (b), C.R.S.
Section 24-32-114 (1) (b), C.R.S.

Source: Colorado Department of Public Health
*Following appropriations for administrative costs to the Departments of Local Affairs, Public Health and Environment, and Revenue, remaining funds in the Waste Tire Recycling
Development Cash Fund are deposited in the Waste Tire Cleanup Fund.
**Revenues generated from the $0.50 fee are split evenly between the Recycling Resources Economic Opportunity Fund and the Waste Tire Cleanup Fee.
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Historical fee increases.  The state waste tire fee was established in 1993, as a $1.00
fee for all disposed tires.  Since its inception in 1993, the waste tire fee has been adjusted by
the General Assembly three times.   The current fee level is set at $1.50 per tire, collected
upon the purchase of a new tire.  Table 3 displays historical fee changes to date.

Table 3

Colorado Waste Tire Fee Increases and Decreases, 1993-2009

Fee/Surcharge
1993 –
1999

2000 –
2002

2003 –
2006

2007 –
Present

Waste Tire Recycling
Development Cash Fund

$1.00 $0.75 $0.75 $0.75

Processors and End
Users of Waste Tires
Cash Fund

NA* NA $0.25 $0.25

Recycling Resources
Economic Opportunity
Fund, and Waste Tire
Cleanup Fund

NA NA NA $0.50

Total Fee $1.00 $0.75 $1.00 $1.50

   Source: Section 25-17-202, C.R.S.
*"NA" (Not applicable) indicates that the fee was not in effect during the respective time period.

Transport of Waste Tires

State law and regulations promulgated by the state Solid and Hazardous Waste
Commission govern the transport of waste tires within Colorado state borders.  The
following sections discuss hauler requirements and regulations.

Hauler certification.  Waste tire haulers are required to be certified by the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE).   Commission regulations prohibit2

transporting waste tires unless a hauler has registered with the CDPHE by applying for a
certificate of registration.  Exemptions from this requirement are provided for:

• persons transporting products comprised of recycled waste tires for sale or
distribution; 

• commercial freight carriers hauling waste tires under contract with a waste tire
hauler; and

• carriers that only travel through the state and do not unload or transfer any waste
tires.3

The application and certification process is administered by the Solid Waste Unit of
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Section 25-17-204 (1), C.R.S.6
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6 CCR 1007-2 (15.4.1)8
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the CDPHE Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division.   Certified haulers are4

required to file annual reports to CDPHE detailing the number of waste tires transported
during the previous year.  The report is also required to document the quantity of waste tires
transported from out-of-state locations.5

Permissible delivery destinations.  State law requires that waste tires may only be
transported, for business purposes, to tire storage sites or landfills permitted by the city or
county with jurisdiction over the site and in compliance with all applicable laws.   Solid and6

Hazardous Waste Commission rules state that commercial transporters may only deliver
waste tires to:

• waste tire storage sites;
• waste tire monofill sites;
• municipal or privately owned landfills in compliance with applicable laws;
• a beneficial user of waste tires;
• waste tire recycling facilities; and
• facilities that possess a valid air quality permit if the permit allows for an

approved beneficial use of waste tires and such facilities are not used for waste
tire storage in excess of 90 days prior to any beneficial use.7

All waste tire transporters are required to keep a manifest for each load delivered.
The manifest records a transport's destination and quantity of tires hauled.   Copies of each8

manifest are required by state law to be made available to the CDPHE upon request and to
destination facilities.9

Penalties.  Under state law, violations of waste tire transportation state laws and
regulations are misdemeanor offenses punishable by a fine of up to $2,000, a sentence of up
to 30 days, or both.  Violations of the law are treated as separate offenses for each day that
the transporter is in violation.   State regulations provide that commercial waste tire haulers10

are subject to inspection, without notice, to ensure compliance with state laws and
regulations.   11
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Upon determining that a person is in violation of waste tire hauler regulations,
CDPHE may take the following steps:

• suspend or revoke the hauler's certificate of registration;
• initiate compliance advisories informing the person that he/she is in violation;
• take administrative enforcement action.

2009 Legislation

Senate Bill 09-289.  One bill amending the Waste Tire Disposal and Recycling
Program was passed by the General Assembly during the 2009 session and enacted into law -
Senate Bill 09-289.  Prior to enactment of the bill, the $1.50 waste tire fee was collected
when a consumer would discard of a used tire.  Senate Bill 09-289 provides for the fee to
now be collected at the time of a new tire sale.  The bill also altered state statutes pertaining
to tire monofills.  Existing law prevented local and municipal governments from granting
applications for new waste tire monofills.  The bill eliminated this restriction and established
the following new requirements:

• any tire disposed of in a monofill must be shredded into pieces no longer than
12-inches; and

• counties with a monofill(s) within their jurisdiction must submit an annual
report to the CDPHE regarding monofill status, and must adopt a plan to
eliminate all monofills by 2019.

Senate Bill 09-289 also enhanced requirements upon waste tire haulers.  The bill
requires tire recycling facilities to only do business with tire haulers certified under state law.
The bill further provides that haulers must provide copies of his or her certificate of
registration provided by CDPHE to retailers upon accepting a tire to be transported.
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