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§ 8-2-127, C.R.S.

An employer may not access an employee’s or applicant’s personal social media accounts. The law applies to Colorado employers
on or after May 11, 2013. For more information, visit

COVERAGE EMPLOYER PROHIBITIONS
8-2-127(1)(c) 8-2-127(2)(a)

Applies to public and private employers in An employer may not:
Colorado.

1. Suggest, request, or require that an employee or applicant disclose, or cause an employee
or applicant to disclose, any user name, password, or other means for accessing the
employee’s or applicant’s personal account or service through the employee’s or
applicant’s personal electronic communications device.

Does not apply to:

e The Department of Corrections

e County Corrections Departments

e Any state or local law enforcement 2. Compel an employee or applicant to add anyone, including the employer or his or her
agency. agent, to the employee’s or applicant’s list of contacts associated with a personal social

media account.

3. Require, request, suggest, or cause an employee or applicant to change privacy settings

EMPLOYER ACTIONS associated with a personal social networking account.
8-2-127(3)
An employer shall not: EXCEPTIONS TO PROHIBITIONS

8-2-127(2) & (4)

e Discharge, discipline, or otherwise
penalize or threaten to discharge,
discipline, or otherwise penalize an An employer may:
employee for an employee's refusal to
disclose personal social media
information, or refusal to add the 2.
employer to the list of the employee's
contacts or to change the privacy
settings associated with a personal social

1. Access information about employees and applicants that is publicly available online.

Require an employee to disclose any user name, password, or other means for accessing
nonpersonal accounts or services that provide access to the employer’s internal computer
or information systems.

media account. 3. Conduct an investigation to ensure compliance with applicable securities or financial
o Fail or refuse to hire an applicant law or regulatory requirements based on the receipt of information about the use of a

because: the applicant refuses to disclose personal website, internet website, web-based account, or similar account by an

personal social media information as employee for business purposes.

specified in the law, or the applicant . ) o ) ) )

refuses to add the employer to the 4. Investigate an emp}oyee's electroplc communications based on the. receipt (?f information

applicant's list of contacts or to change about ‘Fhe unauthorized downloa@mg.of an employer's proprietary 1nf0rmat10n. or

the privacy settings associated with a financial data to a personal website, internet website, web-based account, or similar

personal social media account. account by an employee.

COMPLAINTS AND PENALTIES
8-2-127(5)

The Colorado Division of Labor accepts complaints from employees or applicants who have been subjected to alleged violations of the
Colorado Social Media and the Workplace Law.

The Division investigates complaints, conducts hearings of appeals, and may issue a fine of up to $1,000 for the first offense and a fine not
to exceed $5,000 for each subsequent offense.

Complaint forms and instructions are available at

This fact sheet is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor. Its condensed and simplified content is for general informational purposes only,
and does not constitute legal advice. For more information, contact the Division, an attorney, or a human resources professional.
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