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Introduction 

Version 15 

Colorado Road and 
Community Safety Act 
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Introduction 

Version 15 

• Allows issuance of Colorado 
Driver Licenses, instruction 
permits, and Identification cards 
for individuals who are: 
• Unable to provide 

documentation of lawful 
presence 

• Can demonstrate lawful 
temporary presence 

 

• Effective August 1, 2014 

Colorado Road and Community Safety Act 
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Card look 
Adult Driver License 
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Minor identification card 



Administration 

General Information 
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Translator 
Requirements 

 All presented documents shall be in English or 
translated into English 

 The original and translated documents shall be 
presented together at time of application 

 A certification from the translating individual shall 
accompany each translated document (FAQ #39) 

 Applicants are responsible for costs of translation 
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Fees  
Document fees 

 Driver License: $79.58  

 Identification Card: $26.68  

 Instruction Permit: $48.19 

 

Retest fees 

 Written test: $11.15 

 Drive test: $15 
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Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

Version 15 

Unable to 
Demonstrate 

Lawful Presence 
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Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

Applicants must present proof of residency.  
There are two acceptable methods. 
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OPTION 1 
• Affidavit 

affirming 
residency 

• Evidence of 
residency 

• Proof of tax 
return filing for  
immediately 
preceding year 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Applicants must present proof of residency.  
There are two acceptable methods. 
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Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

DR 2212 

Proof of Residency Option 1 
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OPTION 1 

• Evidence of residency 
• Proof of tax return filing for  

immediately preceding year 



Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Proof of Residency Option 1 
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OPTION 1 
• Affidavit affirming residency 

• Proof of tax return filing for  
immediately preceding year 

One of the following: 
• Utility bill 
• Credit card statement 
• Pay stub or earnings statement 
• Rent receipt 
• Phone bill 
• Transcript or report card from an accredited school 
• Bank statement 
• Mortgage document 
• Tax document mailed to you 
• Homeowner’s / renter’s insurance policy 
• Vehicle registration / title 
• Auto insurance 
• Other item reviewed by Driver License personnel 
 



• Tax returns can be requested with a 
signed and notarized DR 5714 

• First 10 pages free 
• $0.25 per page after first 10 
• 7 – 10 days to receive copies 

 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

Proof of Residency Option 1 
Tax FORM DR 5714 
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OPTION 1 
• Affidavit affirming residency 
• Evidence of residency 



Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Proof of Residency Option 1 

State Tax FORM 104 
 

Version 15 

Submit tax return filings for the preceding 
12 months 

6/22/2016 15 

OPTION 1 
• Affidavit affirming residency 
• Evidence of residency 



OPTION 2 
• Affidavit of 

continual 
residency for 24 
months 

• Evidence of 
continual 
residency for 24 
months 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Applicants must present proof of residency.  
There are two acceptable methods. 
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Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

DR 2212 

Proof of Residency Option 2 

Version 15 

OPTION 2 

• Evidence of continual 
residency for 
24 months 

Sign name in presence of DMV employee 
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OPTION 2 
• Affidavit of continual residency  

for 24 months 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Proof of Residency Option 2 
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Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
Proof of Residency Option 2 
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One of the following: 
• Utility bill 
• Credit card statement 
• Pay stub or earnings statement 
• Rent receipt 
• Phone bill 
• Transcript or report card from an accredited school 
• Bank statement 
• Mortgage document 
• Tax document mailed to you 
• Homeowner’s / renter’s insurance policy 
• Vehicle registration / title 
• Auto insurance 
• Other item reviewed by Driver License personnel 
 

OPTION 2 
• Affidavit of continual residency  

for 24 months 



Individual Taxpayer Identification Number 

Version 15 

• IRS issues ITINs  
• Complete form W-7 
• irs.gov/Individuals/General-ITIN-Information 
• Receipt within six weeks of application 
• Please cancel appointment if you won’t have ITIN in time 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
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http://www.irs.gov/Individuals/General-ITIN-Information


Affidavit DR 2212A 

Version 15 

The DR 2212A “Colorado 
and Community Safety Act 
Affidavit” is to be 
completed by applicants 18 
years or older 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 
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Applicants unable to demonstrate lawful presence are 
required to sign the affidavit indicating that they have 
applied or will apply as soon as eligible for lawful 
presence within the U.S. 



Identity Document from Country of Origin 

Version 15 

Applicants must present ONE of the following from the country of origin  
to prove name, date of birth, and identity: 

• Passport 
• Consular Identification Card 
• Military Identification Document 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

All documentation 
must be translated 

in English 
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Identity Document from Country of Origin 

Version 15 

Document must contain: 
• Full legal name 
• Date of birth 
• Date of issuance 
• Country of issuance 
• Photograph of applicant 
 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

All documentation 
must be translated 

in English 
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Identity Document from Country of Origin 

Version 15 

Unable to Demonstrate  
Lawful Presence 

• Documents are accepted 10 years from expiration date 
• Documents without an expiration date are accepted  

10 years from issuance date 
 

All documentation 
must be translated 

in English 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Driver License Requirements 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Requirements for Drivers 18 and Over Permit  DL  

Provide required documentation to demonstrate full legal name, date of birth, identity, 
residency, and temporary lawful presence (if applicable) 

X 

Pass written test X 

Pass vision test X X 

Pass driving test X 
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Written Test Vision Test Driving Test Provide Documentation 



Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Provide Required Documentation 

to demonstrate full legal name, date of 
birth, identity, residency, and temporary 
lawful presence (if applicable) 
 
 

Document requirements will differ for those who are temporarily lawfully present  
and those who cannot demonstrate lawful presence. 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Pass a Written Test 
• 25 multiple choice questions 
• 3rd party testing services can be hired, usually for a 

fee 
• Tests are taken electronically and are available in 

English and Spanish 
• For additional languages, interpreters are 

permitted 
• Interpreter must be 16 years or older and have 

a valid driver license 
• Interpreter costs are the responsibility of the 

applicant 
• You may take the test two times per appointment, 

unless you miss 50% or more ($11.15 fee for second 
test) 

• Must apply for permit within 180 days of test 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Pass a Vision Screening Test 

• May wear corrective lenses during 
test 

• If corrective lenses are required, 
this will be indicated on driver 
license / permit 

• Must pass the test to be issued a 
license or permit 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Pass a Driving Test 

• 3rd party testing services can 
be hired, usually for a fee 

• Must apply for driver license 
within 180 days of drive test 

• Interpreters are not allowed 
• Turn-by-turn instructions 
• Must provide own vehicle, 

proof of insurance and 
registration. Vehicle must also 
pass a safety inspection. 

• Charge of $15 for second or 
subsequent test 
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Driving test retest option (HB 16-1415) 
This option is applicable to an individual who: 

 Made an appointment taking place after May 4, 2016 at one of the three 
offices offering CO-RCSA services (Denver Central, Colorado Springs or 
Grand Junction) 

 Successfully obtained an instruction permit during their appointment 

 Failed the driving test during their appointment at one of the driver license 
offices mentioned above 
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An individual who chooses this option must: 
 
 Re-take the driving test at a qualified third-party drive school within 60 days of 

the driver license appointment at which the individual initially failed the drive 
test (See https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/BOSTschools.pdf)  

 Within 180 days of passing the driving test at the third party school, return to a 
driver license office that offers CO-RCSA  services on a space available basis and 
present to the Driver License Technician: 
 Their certificate from the driving school certifying the individual has passed the driving test 

within 60 days of the driver license appointment at which the individual initially failed the drive 
test 

 Their foreign passport, consular card, or military identification card used to obtain an instruction 
permit 

 Their  valid Colorado instruction permit 

 A document demonstrating their current Colorado residential address (if address is different 
from the one on the instruction permit. See https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/dmv/proof-
address for examples of acceptable documents) 

 The applicable fee ($79.58 for the driver license and $15 for the drive test retest) 
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SB13-251 and HB16-1415 workflow 
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Driver License 
Requirements 

Version 15 

Resources 

Department of Revenue Website 
• CO-RCSA SB 251 Driver Licenses and 

ID Information 
• Driver License information 
• ID Card information 
• Instruction Permit information 
• Driver education information 
• List of authorized driving schools 
• Parent supervised driving guide 
• Handbooks 

www.colorado.gov/dmv    

6/22/2016 34 

http://www.colorado.gov/dmv
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Now you’re ready to 
make an appointment! 



Appointment  
Process 

 Applicants must have an appointment and apply in person initially and when 
renewing  

 Online: www.colorado.gov/dmv   
 All appointments for this program will take place at the following offices: 

  Denver Central - 1865 West Mississippi Avenue, #C, Denver 
 Grand Junction - 222 S. 6th St., #111, Grand Junction 
 Colorado Springs - 2447 N. Union Blvd., Colorado Springs 

 Only the individual whose name and date of birth matches the 
appointment information will be accepted at the time of the 
appointment. You may not use another person's appointment. 

 Please cancel your appointment if you are unable to make it 
 The DMV never charges for an appointment 
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Unable to Demonstrate Lawful Presence 

http://www.colorado.gov/dmv


Appointment note:  
 The DMV never charges for an 

appointment 

 If you have questions about 
someone charging a fee for an 
appointment, please contact the 
Colorado Attorney General’s fraud 
hotline at 800-222-4444 or visit 
www.stopfraudcolorado.gov  

 House Bill 16-1335 creates 
penalties for the unlawful sale of 
certain government services 
 Contact a law enforcement agency or 

the office of Attorney General for more 
information  
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Appointment  
Process 
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Appointment  
Process 
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Appointment  
Process 
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Appointment  
Process 
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Appointment  
Process 

Version 14 6/22/2016 42 



Appointment  
Process 
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Appointment  
Process 
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CO-RCSA SB251 
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Appointment  
Cancellation Process 

CO-RCSA SB251 



Appointment  
Cancellation Process 
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CO-RCSA SB251 
Grand Junction 



Website 

• www.colorado.gov/dmv   
• Driver License and ID Card Information 
• Teen Drivers 
• CO-RCSA SB251 Driver Licenses and IDs 
• Locations 
• Documents available 

• Flowchart (English and Spanish) 
• Fact Sheet (English and Spanish) 
• Frequently Asked Questions (English and 

Spanish) 
• Fees 
• Workshop Schedule 
• Card Images 
• SB 13-251 

• Appointment Link 
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Questions 
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Temporary Lawful  
Presence 

Version 15 

Temporary Lawful 
Presence 
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Temporary Lawful  
Presence 

Version 15 

Provide documentation that establishes 
 Full legal name 
 Date of birth 
 Identity (photograph) 
 Evidence of temporary lawful presence 
 Evidence of residency 

All documentation 
must be translated 

in English 
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 Documentation examples: 
 Foreign passport bearing a photograph of applicant 

 U.S. Visa 

 I-94 showing class and expiration date 

 Valid employment authorization document (EAD) – I-766, I688, 
I688A, I688B 

 Current Colorado driver license, instruction permit, or identification 
card 
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Temporary Lawful  
Presence 

Verified 
through SAVE 

Systematic Alien  
Verification for 
Entitlements 



Temporary Lawful  
Presence 

Version 15 

One of the following  
• Utility bill 
• Credit card statement 
• Pay stub or earnings statement 
• Rent receipt 
• Phone bill 
• Transcript or report card from an accredited school 
• Bank statement 
• Mortgage document 
• Tax document mailed to you 
• Homeowner’s / renter’s insurance policy 
• Vehicle registration / title 
• Auto insurance 
• Other item(s) reviewed by Driver License personnel 
 

Provide documentation that establishes 
      Full legal name 
      Date of birth 
      Identity (photograph) 
      Evidence of temporary lawful presence 
 Evidence of residency 

Evidence of Residency 
All documentation 
must be translated 

in English 
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Questions 
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Exceptions  
Processing 

Exceptions 
Processing 
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Exceptions  
Processing 

• The procedure the department has established for persons who 
are unable to meet the minimum requirements for a Colorado 
driver license or identification card 

• Exceptions processing allows for alternative documents to be 
presented to the department to establish identity: 

• Legal name 

• Date of birth 

• Verifiable photograph 

• A number of documents may be required 
 

Version 15 

What is Exceptions Processing? 
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Exceptions  
Processing 

After receiving a Notice of Incomplete Application (NIA) 

• Walk-in 
• Available at Denver Central, Fort Collins, Grand Junction and Colorado Springs offices  

• Walk-ins accepted Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. – noon and 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. 

• Appointments 
• Can be made on-line for the Lakewood office 

• www.colorado.gov/dmv   

• Appointment scheduling for other offices coming soon 

• Remote Exceptions Processing 
• Applicants outside of Denver metro may submit applications and supporting documentation to  

their nearest driver license office 

• Remote packets typically are processed within two – three weeks 

 
Version 15 

Application Process 
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http://www.colorado.gov/dmv


Questions 
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