
 

 
DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
7 CCR 1101-3 

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION RULES OF PROCEDURE 

Rule 18 MEDICAL FEE SCHEDULE 

 

18-1 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE 

Pursuant to § 8-42-101(3)(a)(I) C.R.S. and Section 8-47-107, C.R.S., the Director promulgates 
this medical fee schedule to review and establish maximum allowable fees for health care 
services falling within the purview of the Act.  The Director adopts and hereby incorporates by 
reference as modified herein the 2006 edition of the Relative Values for Physicians (RVP©), 
developed by Relative Value Studies, Inc., published by Ingenix® St. Anthony Publishing, and 
version 23.0 of DRGs: Diagnosis Related Groups, Definitions Manual, (DRGs Definitions Manual) 
developed and published by 3M Health Information Systems using DRGs effective after October 
1, 2005.  The incorporation is limited to the specific editions named and does not include later 
revisions or additions.  For information about inspecting or obtaining copies of the incorporated 
materials, contact the Medical Fee Schedule Administrator, 633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, 
Colorado 80202-3660.  These materials may be examined at any state publications depository 
library.  All guidelines and instructions are adopted as set forth in the RVP© or DRGs: Definitions 
Manual, unless otherwise specified in this rule. 

This rule applies to all services rendered on or after January 1, 2007.  All other bills shall be 
reimbursed in accordance with the fee schedule in effect at the time service was rendered. 

18-2 STANDARD TERMINOLOGY FOR THIS RULE 

(A) CPT® - CPT® 2006 Current Procedural Terminology, copyrighted and distributed by the 
American Medical Association (AMA). 

(B) DoWC – Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation created codes  

(C) DRGs Definitions Manual – version 23.0 incorporated by reference in Rule 18-1. 

(D) RVP© – the 2006 edition incorporated by reference in Rule 18-1. 

(E) For other terms, see Rule 16-2, Utilization Standards. 

18-3 HOW TO OBTAIN COPIES 

All users are responsible for the timely purchase and use of Rule 18 and its supporting 
documentation as referenced herein.  The Division shall make available for public review and 
inspection copies of all materials incorporated by reference in Rule 18.  Copies of the RVP© may 
be purchased from Ingenix® St. Anthony Publishing, the DRGs Definitions Manual may be 
purchased from 3M Health Information Systems, and the Colorado Workers' Compensation Rules 



 

of Procedures with Treatment Guidelines, 7 CCR 1101-3, may be purchased from LexisNexis 
Matthew Bender & Co., Inc., Albany, NY  Unofficial copies of all rules, including Rule 18, are 
available on the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment web site at 
www.coworkforce.com/DWC/ . 

18-4 CONVERSION FACTORS (CF) 

The following CFs shall be used to determine the maximum allowed fee.  The maximum fee is 
determined by multiplying the following section CFs by the established relative value unit(s) 
(RVU) found in the corresponding RVP© sections: 

RVP© SECTION CF 

Anesthesia     $47.96/RVU 

Surgery      $90.97/RVU 

Surgery X Procedures    $37.69/RVU 
(see Rule 18-5(D)(1)( d)) 

Radiology     $17.26/RVU 

Pathology     $12.99/RVU 

Medicine     $ 7.56/RVU 

Physical Medicine    $ 5.41/RVU 
 Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, 

Medical Nutrition Therapy and 
Acupuncture 

Evaluation & Management (E&M)  $ 8.22/RVU 

18-5 INSTRUCTIONS AND/OR MODIFICATIONS TO THE RVP© 

(A) Maximum allowance for all providers under Rule 16-5 is 100% of the RVP© value or as 
defined in this Rule 18.  

(B) Interim relative value procedures (marked by an “I” in the left-hand margin of the RVP©) 
are accepted as a basis of payment for services; however deleted CPT® codes (marked 
by an “M” in the RVP©) are not, unless otherwise advised by this rule.  The CPT® 2006 
may be referenced for further clarification of descriptions and billing, but if conflicts arise 
between the RVP© and the CPT® 2006, the RVP© should control. 

(C) Temporary codes listed in the RVP© may be used for billing with agreement of the payer 
as to reimbursement.  Payment shall be in compliance with Rule 16-6(B). 

(D) Surgery/Anesthesia 

(1) Anesthesia Section: 

http://www.coworkforce.com/DWC/


 

(a) All anesthesia base values shall be established by the use of the codes 
as set forth in the RVP©, Anesthesia Section.  Anesthesia services are 
only reimbursable if the anesthesia is administered by a physician or 
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) who remains in constant 
attendance during the procedure for the sole purpose of rendering 
anesthesia. 

When anesthesia is administered by a CRNA: 

(1) Not under the medical direction of an anesthesiologist, 
reimbursement shall be 90% of the maximum anesthesia value, 

(2) Under the medical direction of an anesthesiologist, 
reimbursement shall be 50% of the maximum anesthesia value.  
The other 50% is payable to the anesthesiologist providing the 
medical direction to the CRNA, 

(3) Medical direction for administering the anesthesia includes 
performing the following activities: 

• Performs a pre-anesthesia examination and evaluation, 

• Prescribes the anesthesia plan, 

• Personally participates in the most demanding 
procedures in the anesthesia plan including induction 
and emergence, 

• Ensures that any procedure in the anesthesia plan that 
s/he does not perform are performed by a qualified 
anesthetist, 

• Monitors the course of anesthesia administration at 
frequent intervals, 

• Remains physically present and available for immediate 
diagnosis and treatment of emergencies, and 

• Provides indicated post-anesthesia care. 

(b) Anesthesia add-on codes are reimbursed using the anesthesia CF and 
unit values found in the RVP©, Anesthesia section’s Guidelines IX, 
“Qualifying Circumstances.”  (Not under the Medicine section.) 

(c) The following modifiers are to be used when billing for anesthesia 
services: 

AA – anesthesia services performed personally by the anesthesiologist 

QX – CRNA service; with medical direction by a physician 



 

QZ – CRNA service; without medical direction by a physician 

QY – Medical direction of one CRNA by an anesthesiologist 

(d) Surgery X Procedures  

(1) The Surgery X procedures are limited to those listed below and 
found in the table under the RVP©, Anesthesia section’s 
Guidelines XI, “Anesthesia Services Where Time Units Are Not 
Allowed”: 

• Providing local anesthetic or other medications 
through a regional IV 

• Daily drug management 

• Endotracheal intubation 

• Venipuncture, including cutdowns 

• Arterial punctures 

• Epidural or subarachnoid spine injections 

• Somatic and Sympathetic Nerve Injections  

• Paravertebral facet joint injections and rhizotomies 

In addition, lumbar plexus spine anesthetic injection, posterior 
approach with daily administration = 7 RVUs. 

(2) The maximum reimbursement for these procedures shall be 
based upon the anesthesia value listed in the table in the RVP©, 
Anesthesia section’s Guideline XI multiplied by $37.69 CF.  No 
additional unit values are added for time when calculating the 
maximum values for reimbursement.   

(3) When performing more than one surgery X procedure in a single 
surgical setting, multiple surgery guidelines shall apply (100% of 
the listed value for the primary procedure and 50% of the listed 
value for additional procedures).  Use modifier -51 to indicate 
multiple Surgery X procedures performed on the same day 
during a single operative setting.  The 50% reduction does not 
apply to procedures that are identified in the RVP© as “Add-on” 
procedures. 

(4) Other procedures from Table XI not described above may be 
found in another section of the RVP© (e.g., surgery).  Any 
procedures found in the table under the RVP©, Anesthesia 
section’s Guidelines XI, “Anesthesia Services Where Time Units 
Are Not Allowed” but not contained in this list (Rule 18-



 

5(D)(1)(d)(1)) are reimbursed in accordance with the assigned 
units from their respective sections multiplied by their respective 
CF. 

(2) Surgical Section:  

(a) The use of assistant surgeons shall be limited according to the American 
College Of Surgeons' 2002 Study:  Physicians as Assistants at Surgery 
(April 2002), available from the American College of Surgeons, Chicago, 
IL, or from their web page at 
http://www.facs.org/ahp/pubs/2002physasstsurg.pdf, (accessed June 29, 
2006).  The incorporation is limited to the edition named and does not 
include later revisions or additions.  Copies of the material incorporated 
by reference may be inspected at any State publications depository 
library.  For information about inspecting or obtaining copies of the 
incorporated material, contact the Medical Fee Schedule Administrator, 
633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, Colorado, 80202-3660.   

Where the publication restricts use of such assistants to "almost never" 
or a procedure is not referenced in the publication, prior authorization for 
payment shall be obtained from the payer. 

(b) Incidental procedures are commonly performed as an integral part of a 
total service and do not warrant a separate benefit.   

(c) No payment shall be made for more than one assistant surgeon or 
minimum assistant surgeon without prior authorization unless a trauma 
team was activated due to the emergency nature of the injury(ies). 

(d) The payer may use available billing information such as provider 
credential(s) and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate modifier 
should be used on the bill.  To modify a billed code refer to Rule 16-
11(B)(3). 

(e) Non-physician, minimum assistant surgeons used as surgical assistants 
shall be reimbursed at 10 % of the listed value. 

(f) Global Period 

(1) The following services performed during a global period would 
warrant separate billing if documentation demonstrates 
significant identifiable services were involved, such as: 

♦ E&M services unrelated to the primary surgical 
procedure, 

♦ Services necessary to stabilize the patient for the 
primary surgical procedure, 

♦ Services not usually part of the surgical procedure, 
including an E&M vISIT by an authorized treating 
physician (ATP) for disability management, 

http://www.facs.org/ahp/pubs/2002physasstsurg.pdf


 

♦ Unusual circumstances, complications, exacerbations, or 
recurrences, or 

♦ Unrelated diseases or injuries. 

(2) Separate identifiable services shall use an appropriate RVP© 
modifier in conjunction with the billed service. 

(g) Intradiscal Electrothermal Annuloplasty (IDEA) -  

Prior authorization is required.  A physician well-trained in the procedure 
must perform it.  Please refer to the applicable Rule 17 medical 
treatment guideline for the required surgical indications for this 
procedure. 

First level, uni- or     $1,690.26 
bilateral including fluoroscopic guidance 

one or more additional levels   $   657.33 

CT or MRI may be billed separately in addition to the IDEA procedure. 

(h) Lumbar Artificial Disc  

Lumbar disc arthroplasty is reimbursed using the following RVUs 
multiplied by the surgery CF: 

one interspace   67.5 RVUs 

Per additional interspace 25 RVUs 

(E) Radiology Section:  

(1) General 

(a) The cost of dyes and contrast shall be reimbursed at 80 % of billed 
charges. 

(b) Copying charges for X-Rays and MRIs shall be $15.00/film regardless of 
the size of the film. 

(c) The payer may use available billing information such as provider 
credential(s) and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate RVP© 
modifier should have been used on the bill.  To modify a billed code, 
refer to Rule 16-11(B)(3). 

(2) Thermography 

(a) The physician supervising and interpreting the thermographic evaluation 
shall be board certified by the examining board of one of the following 
national organizations and follow their recognized protocols: 



 

American Academy of Thermology; 

American Chiropractic College of Infrared Imaging. 

(b) Indications for thermographic evaluation must be one of the following: 

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy 
(CRPS/RSD); 

Sympathetically Maintained Pain (SMP); 

Autonomic neuropathy; 

Chronic Neuropathic Pain (involving small caliber sensory fiber 
neuropathy). 

(c) Protocol for stress testing is outlined in the Medical Treatment Guidelines 
found in Rule 17. 

(d) Thermography Billing Codes: 

DoWC 79993 Upper body w/ Autonomic Stress Testing $856.80 

DoWC 79995 Lower body w/Autonomic Stress Testing $856.80 

DoWC 79997 Whole Body w/Autonomic Stress Testing $1,285.20 

When whole body thermography is performed, only "whole body" billing 
codes can be used.  Do not use separate upper and lower body billing 
codes and fees. 

(e) Prior authorization for payment is required for thermography services 
only if the requested study does not meet the indicators for 
thermography as outlined in this radiology section.  The billing shall 
include a report supplying the thermographic evaluation and reflecting 
compliance with Rule 18-5(E)(2). 

(F) Pathology Section:  

The payer may use available billing information such as provider credential(s) and clinical 
record(s) to determine if an appropriate modifier should have been used on the bill.   To 
modify a billed code refer to Rule 16-11(B)(3). 

(G) Medicine Section:  

(1) Medicine home therapy services in the RVP© are not adopted.  For appropriate 
codes see Rule 18-6(N), Home Therapy. 

(2) Anesthesia add-on values are reimbursed in accordance with the anesthesia 
section of Rule 18. 

(3) Biofeedback 



 

Prior authorization for payment shall be required from the payer after 12 visits.  A 
licensed physician or psychologist shall prescribe all services and include the 
number of sessions.  Session notes shall be periodically reviewed by the 
prescribing physician to determine the continued need for the service.  All 
services shall be provided or supervised by an appropriate recognized provider 
as listed under Rule 16-5.  Supervision shall be as defined in an applicable Rule 
17 medical treatment guidelineS.  Persons providing biofeedback shall be 
certified by the Biofeedback Certification Institution of America, or be a licensed 
physician or psychologist, as listed under Rule 16-5(A)(1)(a) and (b) with 
evidence of equivalent biofeedback training. 

(4) Appendix J of the 2006 CPT® lists the maximum number of nerves per type of 
electrodiagnostic study. 

(5) Manipulation -- Chiropractic (DC), Medical (MD) and Osteopathic (DO): 

(a) Prior authorization from the payer shall be obtained before billing for 
more than four body regions in one visit.  Manipulative therapy is limited 
to no more than 34 visits or the maximum allowed in the relevant Rule 17 
medical treatment guidelines.  The provider's medical records shall 
reflect medical necessity and prior authorization for payment if treatment 
exceeds these limitations. 

(b) An office visit may be billed on the same day as manipulation codes 
when the documentation meets the E&M requirement and an appropriate 
modifier is used. 

(6) Psychiatric/Psychological CNS Tests and Assessment Services: 

(a) A licensed clinical psychologist is reimbursed a maximum of 90 % of the 
medical fee listed in the RVP©.  Other non-physician providers 
performing psychological/psychiatric services shall be paid at 75 % of the 
fee allowed for physicians. 

(b) Most initial evaluations for delayed recovery can be completed in two (2) 
hours.  Prior authorization for payment is required any time the following 
limitations are exceeded: 

Evaluation Procedures    limit:  4 hours 

Testing Procedures    limit:  6 hours 

Psychotherapy services    limit:  50 mins per visit 

Psychotherapy for work-related conditions requiring more than 20 visits or 
continuing for more than three (3) months after the initiation of therapy, 
whichever comes first, requires prior authorization from the payer. 

(7) Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Services 

 The maximum unit value shall be 24 units, instead of 14 units as listed in the 
RVP©. 



 

(H) Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation:  

Restorative services are an integral part of the healing process for a variety of injured 
workers. 

(1) Prior authorization is required for medical nutrition therapy.  See Rule 18-
6(O)(10). 

(2) For recommendations on the use of the physical medicine and rehabilitation 
procedures, modalities, and testing, see Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines 
Exhibits. 

(3) Special Note to All Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Providers: 

Prior authorization shall be obtained from the payer for any physical medicine 
treatment exceeding the recommendations of the Medical Treatment Guidelines 
as set forth in Rule 17. 

The injured worker shall be re-evaluated by the prescribing physician within thirty 
(30) calendar days from the initiation of the prescribed treatment and at least 
once every month while that treatment continues.  Prior authorization for 
payment shall be required for treatment of a condition not covered under the 
medical treatment guidelines and exceeding sixty (60) days from the initiation of 
treatment.   

(4) Interdisciplinary Rehabilitation Programs – (Requires Prior Authorization) 

An interdisciplinary rehabilitation program is one that provides focused, 
coordinated, and goal-oriented services using a team of professionals from 
varying disciplines to deliver care.  These programs can benefit persons who 
have limitations that interfere with their physical, psychological, social, and/or 
vocational functioning.  As defined in Rule 17, rehabilitation programs may 
include, but are not limited to:  chronic pain, spinal cord, or brain injury programs. 

Billing Restrictions:  The billing provider shall detail to the payer the services, 
frequency of services, duration of the program and their proposed fees for the 
entire program, inclusive for all professionals.  The billing provider and payer 
shall attempt to mutually agree upon billing code(s) and fee(s) for each 
interdisciplinary rehabilitation program. 

(5) For orthotic and prosthetic management, apply the 2005 RVP© RVUs to the 
renumbered 2006 RVP© instead of the “RNE” value. 

(6) Procedures (therapeutic exercises, neuromuscular re-education, aquatic therapy, 
gait training, massage, acupuncture and any unlisted physical medicine 
procedures) 

Unless the provider’s medical records reflect medical necessity and the provider 
obtains prior authorization for payment from the payer, the maximum amount of 
time allowed is one hour of procedures per day, per discipline. 

(7) Modalities 



 

RVP© Timed and Non-timed Modalities  

Billing Restrictions:  There is a total limit of two (2) modalities (whether timed or 
non-timed) per visit, per discipline, per day. 

NOTE:  Instruction and application of a TENS unit for the patient's independent 
use shall be billed using the timed e-stim RVP© CODE. 

(8) Evaluation Services for Therapists:  Physical Therapy (PT), Occupational 
Therapy (OT) and Athletic Trainers (cf. §12-36-106 C.R.S.)  

(a) All evaluation services must be supported by the appropriate history, 
physical examination documentation, treatment goals and treatment plan 
or re-evaluation of the treatment plan.  The provider shall clearly state 
the reason for the evaluation, the nature and results of the physical 
examination of the patient, and the reasoning for recommending the 
continuation or adjustment of the treatment protocol.  Without 
appropriate supporting documentation, the payer may deny payment.  
These codes shall not be billed for pre-treatment patient assessment. 

If a new problem or abnormality is encountered that requires a new 
evaluation and treatment plan, the professional may perform and bill for 
another initial evaluation.  a new problem or abnormality may be caused 
by a surgical procedure being performed after the initial evaluation has 
been completed. 

(b) Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly 
performed by a PT, OT or athletic trainer, as defined in §12-36-106 
C.R.S.  All evaluation notes or reports must be written and signed by the 
PT or OT.  Physicians shall bill the appropriate E&M code from the E&M 
section of the RVP©. 

(c) A patient may be seen by more than one health care professional on the 
same day.  An evaluation service with appropriate documentation may 
be charged for each professional per patient per day. 

(d) Reimbursement to PTs, OTs, speech language pathologists and 
audiologists for coordination of care with professionals shall be based 
upon RVP© telephone case management codes.  Coordination of care 
reimbursement is limited to telephone calls made to professionals 
outside of the therapist’s/pathologist’s/audiologist’s employment 
facility(ies) and/or to the injured worker or their family and the prescribing 
physician. 

(e) All interdisciplinary team conferences shall be billed under the case 
management services section in the RVP© using medical conference 
codes. 

(9) Special Tests  

The following respective tests are considered special tests:   



 

• Job Site Evaluation 

• Computer- Enhanced Evaluation 

 Functional Capacity Evaluation 

 Work Tolerance Screening 

• Assistive technology assessment 

• Speech 

(a) Billing Restrictions: 

(1) Job Site Evaluations requires prior authorization if exceeding 2 
hours. Computer-Enhanced Evaluations, Functional Capacity 
Evaluations and Work Tolerance Screenings requires prior 
authorization for payment for more than 4 hours. 

(2) The provider shall specify the time required to perform the test in 
15-minute increments. 

(3) The value for the analysis and the written report is included in 
the code’s value. 

(4) No E&M services or PT, OT, or acupuncture evaluations shall be 
charged separately for these tests. 

(5) Data from computerized equipment shall always include the 
supporting analysis developed by the physical medicine 
professional before it is payable as a special test. 

(b) Provider Restrictions: all special tests must be fully supervised by a 
physician, a PT, an OT, a speech language pathologist/therapist or 
audiologist.  Final reports must be written and signed by the physician, 
the PT, the OT, the speech language pathologist/therapist or the 
audiologist. 

(10) Speech Therapy/Evaluation and Treatment 

Reimbursement shall be according to the unit values as listed in the RVP© 
multiplied by their section’s respective CF. 

(11) Supplies 

Physical medicine supplies are reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H). 

(12) Unattended Treatment 

When a patient uses a facility or its equipment but is performing unattended 
procedures, in either an individual or group setting, bill: 



 

DoWC 97152 fixed fee per day  1.5 RVU 

(13) Non-Medical Facility 

Fees, such as gyms, pools, etc., and training or supervision by non-medical 
providers require prior authorization from the payer and a written negotiated fee. 

(14) Unlisted Service Physical Medicine 

All unlisted services or procedures require a report. 

(15) Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, Work Simulation 

(a) Work conditioning is a non-interdisciplinary program that is focused on 
the individual needs of the patient to return to work.  Usually one 
discipline oversees the patient in meeting goals to return to work.  Refer 
to Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

Restriction:  Maximum daily time is two (2) hours per day without 
additional prior authorization. 

(b) Work Hardening is an interdisciplinary program that uses a team of 
disciplines to meet the goal of employability and return to work.  This 
type of program entails a progressive increase in the number of hours a 
day that an individual completes work tasks until they can tolerate a full 
workday.  In order to do this, the program must address the medical, 
psychological, behavioral, physical, functional and vocational 
components of employability and return to work.  Refer to Rule 17, 
Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

Restriction:  Maximum daily time is six (6) hours per day without 
additional prior authorization.   

(c) Work Simulation is a program where an individual completes specific 
work-related tasks for a particular job and return to work.  Use of this 
program is appropriate when modified duty can only be partially 
accommodated in the work place, when modified duty in the work place 
is unavailable, or when the patient requires more structured supervision.  
The need for work simulation should be based upon the results of a 
functional capacity evaluation and/or job analysis.  Refer to Rule 17, 
Medical Treatment Guidelines. 

(d) For Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, or Work Simulation, the 
following apply. 

(1) Prior authorization is required. 

(2) Provider Restrictions:  All procedures must be performed by or 
under the onsite supervision of a physician, PT, OT, speech 
language pathologist or audiologist. 

(I) Evaluation and Management Section (E&M) 



 

(1) Medical record documentation shall encompass the RVP© “E&M Guideline” 
criteria to justify the billed E&M service.  If 50 % of the time spent with an injured 
worker during an E&M visit is disability counseling, then time can determine the 
level of E&M service. 

Disability counseling should be an integral part of managing workers’ 
compensation injuries.  The counseling shall be completely documented in the 
medical records, including, but not limited to, the amount of time spent with the 
injured worker.  Disability counseling shall include, but not be limited to, return to 
work, temporary and permanent work restrictions, self management of symptoms 
while working, correct posture/mechanics to perform work functions, job task 
exercises for muscle strengthening and stretching, and appropriate tool and 
equipment use to prevent re-injury and/or worsening of the existing injury. 

(2) New or Established Patients    

An E&M visit shall be billed as a “new” patient service for each “new injury” even 
though the provider has seen the patient within the last three years.  Any 
subsequent E&M visits are to be billed as an “established patient” and reflect the 
level of service indicated by the documentation when addressing all of the 
current injuries.  

(3) Number of Office Visits 

All providers, as defined in Rule 16-5 (A-C), are limited to one office visit per 
patient, per day, per workers’ compensation claim unless prior authorization is 
obtained from the payer.  The E&M Guideline criteria as specified in the RVP© 
E&M Section shall be used in all office visits to determine the appropriate level. 

(4) Case Management 

(a) Telephone case management services may be billed if the services are 
performed on a separate day from an E&M office visit and when the 
medical records/documentation specifies all the following: 

(1) the amount of time and date; 

(2) the person or person(s) talked to; and 

(3) the discussion and/or decision made during the call to coordinate 
care for the injured worker. 

(b) An interdisciplinary team conference, consisting of medical professionals 
caring for the injured worker, shall select a team member to perform the 
following duties: 

(1) Prepare the billing statement in accordance with Rule 16, 
Utilization Standards, 

♦ One conference charge per facility, per patient, per day.  



 

♦ Reimbursement for each interdisciplinary team 
conference shall be billed in 15-minute increments.  
Fifteen-minute conferences shall be reimbursed by 
reducing the maximum allowance  to 50% of the total 30 
minute value found in the RVP©. 

(2) Prepare and submit a written report for each conference that 
includes at least the following information: 

♦ Patient's identifying information; 

♦ Diagnosis; 

♦ Medical professionals attending the conference; 

♦ A brief statement of conference recommendations and 
actions (no additional allowance shall be made for this 
statement); and 

♦ Length of time of meeting. 

18-6 DIVISION ESTABLISHED CODES AND VALUES  

(A) Conferences Held at the Request of a Party 

Telephonic or face-to-face conferences shall be related to the injured worker's treatment. 
All parties shall receive actual notification from the requesting party in advance and within 
24 hours of scheduling. 

DoWC 99901 Maximum of     $225.00 per hour; 
billed at $56.25 per 15-minute increments. 

(B) Cancellation Fees For Payer Made Appointments 

(1) A cancellation fee is payable only when a payer schedules an appointment the 
injured worker fails to keep, and the payer has not canceled three (3) business 
days prior to the appointment.  The payer shall pay: 

One-half of the usual fee for the scheduled services, or 

$150.00, whichever is less. 

Cancellation Fee Billing Code: DoWC 99910 

(2) Missed Appointments: 

When claimants fail to keep scheduled appointments, the provider should contact 
the payer within two (2) business days.  Upon reporting the missed appointment, 
the provider may request whether the payer wishes to reschedule the 
appointment for the claimant.  If the claimant fails to keep the payer’s 
rescheduled appointment, the provider may bill for a cancellation fee according to 
this Rule 18-6(B). 



 

(C) Copying Fees 

The payer, payer's representative, injured worker and injured worker's representative 
shall pay a reasonable fee for the reproduction of the injured worker's medical record.  
Reasonable cost shall not exceed $14.00 for the first 10 or fewer pages, $0.50 per page 
for pages 11-40, and $0.33 per page thereafter. Actual postage or shipping costs and 
applicable sales tax, if any, may also be charged.  The per-page fee for records copied 
from microfilm shall be $1.50 per page. 

Copying Fee Billing Code: DoWC 99911 

(D) Deposition and Testimony Fees 

(1) When requesting deposition or testimony from physicians or any other type of 
provider, guidance should be obtained from the Interprofessional Code, as 
prepared by the Colorado Bar Association, the Denver Bar Association, the 
Colorado Medical Society and the Denver Medical Society.  If the parties cannot 
agree upon fees for the deposition or testimony services, or cancellation time 
frames and/or fees, the following Deposition and Testimony rules and fees shall 
be used: 

(2) Deposition: 

Payment for a physician's testimony at a deposition shall not exceed 35 RVU per 
hour multiplied by the medicine CF ($7.56) billed in half-hour increments.  
Calculation of the physician's time shall be "portal to portal." 

The physician may request a full hour deposit in advance in order to schedule the 
deposition. 

By prior agreement with the deposing party, the physician may charge for 
preparation time or for reviewing and signing the deposition. 

The physician shall refund to the deposing party, any portion of an advance 
payment in excess of time actually spent preparing and/or testifying when the 
physician is notified of the cancellation of the deposition at least three (3) 
business days prior to the scheduled deposition. 

However, if the provider is not notified at least three (3) business days in 
advance of a cancellation, or the deposition is shorter than the time scheduled, 
the provider shall be paid the number of hours he or she has reasonably spent in 
preparation and has scheduled for the deposition. 

Deposition    units per hr. 
Billed in half-hour increments 

(3) Testimony: 

Calculation of the physician's time shall be "portal to portal." 

For testifying at a hearing, the physician may request a four (4) hour deposit in 
advance in order to schedule the testimony. 



 

By prior agreement, the physician may charge for preparation time for testimony. 

The physician shall refund any portion of an advance payment in excess of time 
actually spent preparing and/or testifying when the physician is notified of the 
cancellation of the hearing at least five (5) business days prior to the date of the 
hearing. 

However, if the provider is not notified of a cancellation at least five (5) business 
days prior to the date of the hearing, or the hearing is shorter than the time 
scheduled, the provider shall be paid the number of hours he or she has 
reasonably spent in preparation and has scheduled for the hearing. 

Testimony Billing Code:  DoWC 99085 

Maximum Rate of $400.00 per hour 

(E) Mileage Expenses 

The payer shall reimburse an injured worker for reasonable and necessary mileage 
expenses for travel to and from medical appointments and reasonable mileage to obtain 
prescribed medications.  The reimbursement rate shall be 37 cents per mile.  The injured 
worker shall submit a statement to the payer showing the date(s) of travel and number of 
miles traveled, with receipts for any other reasonable and necessary travel expenses 
incurred.   

Mileage Expense Billing Code: DoWC 99912 

(F) Permanent Impairment Rating 

(1) The payer is only required to pay for one combined whole-person permanent 
impairment rating per claim, except as otherwise provided in these Workers' 
Compensation Rules of Procedures.  Exceptions that may require payment for an 
additional impairment rating include, but are not limited to, reopened cases, as 
ordered by the Director or an administrative law judge, or a subsequent request 
to review apportionment.  The authorized treating provider is required to submit 
in writing all permanent restrictions and future maintenance care related to the 
injury or occupational disease. 

(2) Provider Restrictions 

The permanent impairment rating shall be determined by the authorized treating 
physician, if Level II accredited, or by a Level II accredited physician selected by 
the authorized treating provider. 

(3) Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) Determined Without any Permanent 
Impairment 

When physicians determine the injured worker is at MMI and has no permanent 
impairment, the physicians should be reimbursed an appropriate level of E&M 
service and the fee for completing the Physician’s Report of Workers’ 
Compensation Injury (Closing Report), WC164 (See Rule 18-6(G)(2)).  
Reimbursement for the appropriate level of E&M service is only applicable if the 



 

physician examines the injured worker and meets the criteria as defined in the 
RVP©. 

(4) MMI Determined with a Calculated Permanent Impairment Rating 

(a) Calculated Impairment:  The total fee includes the office visit, a complete 
physical examination, complete history, review of all medical records, 
determining MMI, completing all required measurements, referencing all 
tables used to determine the rating, using all report forms from the AMA's 
Guide to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Third Edition 
(Revised), (AMA Guides), and completing the Division form, titled 
Physician's Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (Closing Report) 
WC164. 

(b) USE THE APPROPRIATE RVP© CODE: 

(1) Fee for the Level II Accredited Authorized Treating Physician 
Providing Primary Care: 

 Reimbursed for 1.5 hours with a 
maximum not to exceed $320.58. 

(2) Fee for the Referral, Level II Accredited Authorized Physician: 

 Reimbursed for 2.5 hours with a 
maximum not to exceed $616.50. 

(3) Fee for a Multiple Impairment Evaluation Requiring More Than 
One Level II Accredited Physician: 

All physicians providing consulting services for the completion of 
a whole person impairment rating shall bill using the appropriate 
E&M consultation code and shall forward their portion of the 
rating to the authorized physician determining the combined 
whole person rating. 

(G) Report Preparation 

(1) Routine Reports 

Completion of routine reports or records are incorporated in all fees for service 
and include: 

Diagnostic Testing 

Procedure Reports 

Progress notes 

Office notes  

Operative reports 



 

Supply invoices, if requested by the payer 

Requests for second copies of routine reports are reimbursable under the 
copying fee section of Rule 18. 

(2) Completion of the Physician’s Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (WC164)  

(a) Initial Report 

The completed WC164 initial report is submitted to the payer after the 
first visit with the injured worker.  This form shall include completion of 
items 1-7 and 10.  Note that certain information in Item 2 (such as 
Insurer Claim #) may be omitted if not known by the provider. 

(b) Closing Report 

The WC164 closing report is required from the authorized treating 
physician when an injured worker is at maximum medical improvement 
with or without a permanent impairment.  A physician may bill for the 
completion of the WC164 if neither impairment rating code (see Rule 18-
6(F)(4)) has been billed.  The form requires the completion of items 1-5, 
6 b-c, 7, 8 and 10.  If the injured worker has sustained a permanent 
impairment, then Item 9 must be completed and the following additional 
information shall be attached to the bill at the time MMI is determined: 

(1) All necessary permanent impairment rating reports when the 
authorized treating physician is Level II Accredited, or 

(2) The name of the Level II Accredited physician designated to 
perform the permanent impairment rating when a rating is 
necessary and the authorized treating physician is not 
determining the permanent impairment rating. 

(c) Payer Requested WC164 Report  

If the payer requests the provider complete the WC164 report, the payer 
shall pay the provider for the completion and submission of the 
completed WC164 report. 

(d) Provider Initiated WC164 REPORT Form 

If the provider wants to use the WC164 report as a progress report or for 
any purpose other than those designated here in Rule 18-6(G)(2)(a), (b) 
or (c)), and seeks reimbursement for completion of the form, the provider 
shall get prior approval from the payer. 

(e) Billing Codes and Maximum Allowance for completion and submission of 
WC164 report  

Maximum allowance for the completion and submission of the WC164 
Report is: 



 

DoWC 99960 $42.00  Initial Report 

DoWC 99961 $42.00  Progress Report (Payer Requested or 
Provider Initiated) 

DoWC 99962 $42.00  Closing Report 

DoWC 99963 $42.00 Initial and Closing Reports are 
completed on the same form for the 
same date of service 

(3) Special Reports 

The term special reports includes reports falling outside the requirements set 
forth in Rule 16, Utilization Standards, Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines 
and Rule 18 and includes any form, questionnaire or letter with variable content.  
Reimbursement for preparation of special reports or records shall require prior 
agreement with the requesting party.  In special circumstances (e.g., when 
reviewing and/or editing is necessary) and when prior agreement is made with 
the requesting party, institutions, clinics or physicians’ offices may charge 
additional sums.  Use the appropriate RVP© code. 

Special Report Preparation:   not to exceed $225.00 per hour. 
     Billed in half hour increments. 

Because narrative reports may have variable content, the content and total 
payment shall be agreed upon by the provider and the report's requester before 
the provider begins the report. 

(H) Supplies, Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Orthotics and Prosthesis 

(1) Unless otherwise indicated, payment for supplies shall reflect the provider’s 
actual cost plus a 20% markup.  Cost includes shipping and handling charges. 

(2) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2.  Reimbursement shall be the provider’s 
cost plus 20%.  The provider shall furnish an invoice or their supplier’s published 
rate, either with their bill for services or by previous agreement, to substantiate 
their cost.  The billing provider is responsible for identifying and itemizing all 
“Supply et al.” items. 

(3) Payment for professional services associated with the fabrication and/or 
modification of orthotics, custom splints, adaptive equipment, and/or adaptation 
and programming of communication systems and devices shall be paid in 
accordance with RULE 18-5(H)(5). 

(I) Inpatient Hospital Facility Fees 

(1) Provider Restrictions 

All non-emergency, inpatient admissions require prior authorization for payment. 

(2) Bills for Services  



 

(a) Inpatient hospital facility fees shall be billed on the UB-92 and require 
summary level billing by revenue code.  The provider must submit 
itemized bills along with the UB-92. 

(b) The maximum inpatient facility fee is determined by applying the Center 
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) “Diagnosis Related Group” 
(DRG) classification system.  Exhibit 1 to Rule 18 shows the relative 
weights per DRG that are used in calculating the maximum allowance. 

The hospital shall indicate the DRG code number in the remarks section 
(form locator 78) of the UB-92 billing form and maintain documentation 
on file showing how the DRG was determined. The hospital shall 
determine the DRG using the DRGs Definitions Manual.  The attending 
physician shall not be required to certify this documentation unless a 
dispute arises between the hospital and the payer regarding DRG 
assignment.  The payer may deny payment for services until the 
appropriate DRG code is supplied. 

(c) Exhibit 1 to Rule 18 establishes the maximum length of stay (LOS) using 
the “arithmetic mean LOS”.  However, no additional allowance for 
exceeding this LOS, other than through the cost outlier criteria under 
Rule 18-6(I)(3)(d) is allowed. 

(d) Any inpatient admission requiring the use of both an acute care hospital 
and its Medicare certified rehabilitation facility is considered as one 
admission and DRG.  This does not apply to long term care and licensed 
rehabilitation facilities. 

(3) Inpatient Facility Reimbursement:   

(a) The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of billed 
inpatient charges: 

(1) Children’s hospital 

(2) Veterans’ Administration hospital 

(3) State psychiatric hospital 

(b) The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 80% of billed 
inpatient charges: 

(1) Medicare certified Critical Access Hospital (CAH) (listed in 
Exhibit 3 of Rule 18)  

(2) Medicare certified long-term care hospital 

(3) Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
(CDPHE) licensed rehabilitation facility, and, 

(4) CDPHE licensed psychiatric facilities that are privately owned. 



 

(c) All other inpatient facilities are reimbursed as follows: 

Retrieve the relative weights for the assigned DRG from the DRG table 
in Exhibit 1 to Rule 18 and locate the hospital’s base rate in Exhibit 2 to 
Rule 18. 

The “Maximum Fee Allowance” is determined by calculating: 

(1) (DRG Relative Wt x Specific hospital base rate x 200%) + 
(reimbursement for all “Supply et al.”) 

(2) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2. Reimbursement shall be 
consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is responsible 
for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items. 

(d) Outliers are admissions with extraordinary cost warranting additional 
reimbursement beyond the maximum allowance under (3) (c) of Rule 18-
6(I).  To calculate the additional reimbursement, if any: 

(1) Determine the “Hospital’s Cost”:  

total billed charges (excluding any “Supply et al.” billed charges) 
multiplied by the hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio. 

(2) Each hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio is given in Exhibit 2 of Rule 
18. 

(3) The “Difference” = “Hospital’s Cost” – “Maximum Fee Allowance” 
excluding any “Supply et al.” allowance (see (c) above) 

(4) If the “Difference” is greater than $25,800.00, additional 
reimbursement is warranted.  The additional reimbursement is 
determined by the following equation:  

“Difference” x .80 = additional fee allowance 

(e) Inpatient combined with ERD or Trauma Center reimbursement 

(1) If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital, the ERD 
reimbursement is included in the inpatient reimbursement under 18-6 
(I)(3), 

(2) Except, Trauma Center activation fees (see 18-6(M)(3)(g)) are paid 
in addition to inpatient fees (18-6(I)(3)(c-d). 

(f) If an injured worker is admitted to one hospital and is subsequently 
transferred to another hospital, the payment to the transferring hospital 
will be based upon a per diem value of the DRG maximum value.  The 
per diem value is calculated based upon the transferring hospital’s DRG 
relative weight multiplied by the hospital’s specific base rate (Exhibit 2 to 
Rule 18) divided by the DRG geometric mean length of stay.  This per 
diem amount is multiplied by the actual LOS.  If the patient is admitted 



 

and transferred on the same day, the actual LOS equals one (1).  The 
receiving hospital shall receive the appropriate DRG maximum value. 

(J) Scheduled Outpatient Surgery Facility Fees 

(1) Provider Restrictions 

(a) All non-emergency outpatient surgeries require prior authorization from 
the payer. 

(b) A separate facility fee is only payable if the facility is licensed by the 
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) as: 

(1) a hospital; or  

(2) an Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC). 

(2) Bills for Services 

(a) Outpatient facility fees shall be billed on the UB-92 and require summary 
level billing by revenue code.  The provider must submit itemized bills 
along with the UB-92. 

(b) All professional charges are subject to the RVP© and Dental Fee 
Schedules as incorporated by Rule 18. 

(c) ASCs and hospitals shall bill using the surgical RVP© code(s) as 
indicated by the surgeon’s operative note up to a maximum of four 
surgery codes per surgical episode. 

(3) Outpatient Surgery Facility Reimbursement:  

(a) The following types of outpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of 
billed outpatient charges: 

(1) Children’s hospital 

(2) Veterans’ Administration hospital 

(3) State psychiatric hospital 

(b) CAHs, listed in Exhibit 3 of Rule 18, are to be reimbursed at 80% of 
billed charges. 

(c) All other outpatient surgery facilities are reimbursed based on Exhibit 4 
of this Rule 18.  Exhibit 4 lists Medicare’s Outpatient Hospital Ambulatory 
Prospective Payment Codes (APC) with the Division’s values for each 
APC code. 

The surgical procedure codes are classified by APC code in Medicare’s 
April 2006 Addendum B.  This Addendum B should be used to determine 
the APC code payable under the Division’s Exhibit 4.  However, not 



 

every surgical code listed under Addendum B warrants a separate facility 
fee.  A separate facility fee may be warranted if there is a significant 
health risk to the injured worker if the procedure is not performed in a 
facility where credentialed emergency equipment and personnel are 
maintained, including but not limited to, any procedure requiring the 
administration of regional or general anesthesia.  Minor procedures, 
including but not limited to, laceration repairs and trigger point injections, 
do not routinely warrant a separate facility fee as a scheduled outpatient 
surgery. 

The APC values listed in Exhibit 4 include reimbursement for the 
following even if they are billed as line item charges: 

• nursing,  

• technician and related services,  

• use by the recipient of the facility including the 
operating room and recovery room,  

• equipment directly related to the provision of surgical 
procedures,  

• fluoroscopy and x-rays during the surgical episode,  

• supplies, drugs, biologics, surgical dressings, splints, 
cases and appliances that do not meet the “Supply 
et al.” threshold, 

• administration, record keeping, housekeeping items 
and services, and 

• materials and trained observer for anesthesia. 

The April 2006 Addendum B can be accessed at Medicare’s Hospital 
Outpatient PPS website.   

Total maximum facility value for an outpatient surgical episode of care 
includes the sum of: 

(1) The highest valued APC code per Exhibit 4 plus 50% of any 
lesser-valued APC code values. 

Multiple procedures and bilateral procedures are to be indicated 
by the use of modifiers –51 and –50, respectively.  The 50% 
reduction applies to all lower valued procedures, even if they are 
identified in the RVP© as modifier -51 exempt.  

The surgery discogram procedure(s) (APC 388) value is for each 
level and includes conscious sedation and the technical 
component of the radiological procedure. 



 

Facility fee reimbursement is limited to a maximum of four 
surgical procedures per surgical episode; and 

(2) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2.  Reimbursement shall be 
consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is responsible 
for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items; and 

(3) Diagnostic testing and preoperative labs are reimbursed by 
applying the appropriate CF to the unit values for the specific 
CPT® code as listed in the RVP. 

RVP© radiological procedure codes (not the injection codes) 
with an appropriate modifier are to be used for all arthrograms 
and myelograms; and  

(4) Observation room maximum allowance shall not exceed a rate of 
$50.00 an hour and is limited to a maximum of 6 hours without 
prior authorization.  Documentation should support the medical 
necessity for observation. 

(5) Additional reimbursement is payable for the following services 
not included in the values found in Exhibit 4 of Rule 18: 

• ambulance services  

• blood, blood plasma, platelets  

(d) Discontinued surgeries require the use of modifier -73 (discontinued prior 
to administration of anesthesia) or modifier -74 (discontinued after 
administration of anesthesia).  Modifier -73 results in a reimbursement of 
50% of the APC value for the primary procedure only.  Modifier -74 
allows reimbursement of 100% of the primary procedure value only. 

(e) All surgical procedures performed in one operating room, regardless of 
the number of surgeons, are considered one outpatient surgical episode 
of care for purposes of facility fee reimbursement. 

(f) In compliance with rule 16-6(A), the sum of Rule 18-6(J)(3)(c)(1-5) is 
compared to the total facility fee billed charges.  The lesser of the two 
amounts shall be the maximum facility allowance for the surgical episode 
of care.  A line by line comparison of billed charges to the calculated 
maximum fee schedule allowance of 18-6(J)(3)(c) is not appropriate. 

(K) Outpatient Diagnostic Testing and Clinic Facility Fees 

(1) Bills for Services 

All providers shall indicate whether they are billing for the total, professional only 
or technical only component of a diagnostic test by listing the appropriate RVP© 
modifier on the UB-92 or CMS 1500. 

(2) Reimbursement 



 

(a) The following types of outpatient diagnostic testing and clinic facilitIes are 
reimbursed at 100% of billed charges: 

(1) Children’s hospitals,  

(2) Veterans’ Administration hospitals  

(3) State psychiatric hospitals 

(b) Rural health facilities listed in Exhibit 5 are reimbursed at 80% of billed 
charges for clinic visits, diagnostic testing, and supplies and drugs that 
do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold. 

“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall be 
consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is responsible for 
identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items. 

(c) All other facilities: 

(1) No separate allowance for clinic visit fees.  Supplies are 
reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H). 

(2) No separate facility fee allowance for diagnostic testing.  Facility 
fees for diagnostic testing are considered part of the procedure’s 
technical component value.  Outpatient diagnostic testing is 
reimbursed using the RVP© code unit value.  Dyes and 
contrasts may be reimbursed at 80% of billed charges. 

(3) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall 
be consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is 
responsible for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items. 

(L) Outpatient Urgent Care Facility Fees 

(1) Provider Restrictions: 

(a) Prior agreement or authorization is recommended for all facilities billing a 
separate Urgent Care fee.  Facilities must provide documentation of the 
required urgent care facility criteria if requested by the payer. 

(b) Urgent care facility fees are only payable if the facility qualifies as an 
Urgent Care facility. Facilities licensed by the CDPHE as a Community 
Clinic (CC) or a Community Clinic and Emergency Center (CCEC) under 
6 CCR 1011-1, Chapter IX, should still provide evidence of these 
qualifications to be reimbursed as an Urgent Care facility.  The facility 
shall meet all of the following criteria to be eligible for a separate Urgent 
Care facility fee: 

(1) Separate facility dedicated to providing initial walk-in urgent care; 

(2) Access without appointment during all operating hours; 



 

(3) State licensed physician on-site at all times exclusively to 
evaluate walk-in patients; 

(4) Support staff dedicated to urgent walk-in visits with certifications 
in Basic Life Support (BLS); 

(5) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certified life support 
capabilities to stabilize emergencies including, but not limited to, 
EKG, defibrillator, oxygen and respiratory support equipment (full 
crash cart), etc.; 

(6) Ambulance access; 

(7) Professional staff on-site at the facility certified in ACLS; 

(8) Extended hours including evening and some weekend hours; 

(9) Basic X-ray availability on-site during all operating hours; 

(10) Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified 
laboratory on-site for basic diagnostic labs or ability to obtain 
basic laboratory results within 1 hour; 

(11) Capabilities include, but are not limited to, suturing, minor 
procedures, splinting, IV medications and hydration; 

(12) Written procedures exist for the facility’s stabilization and 
transport processes. 

(c) No separate facility fees are allowed for follow-up care.  Subsequent 
care for an initial diagnosis does not qualify for a separate facility fee.  To 
receive another facility fee any subsequent diagnosis shall be a new 
acute care situation entirely different from the initial diagnosis. 

 (2) Bills for Services  

(a) Urgent care facility fees may be billed on a CMS 1500 

(b) Urgent care facility fees shall be billed using HCPCS Level II code:  
S9088 – “Services provided in an Urgent care facility.”  

(3) Urgent Care Reimbursement 

The total maximum value for an urgent care episode of care includes the sum of: 

(a) An Urgent Care Facility fee maximum allowance of $75.00; and 

(b) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall be 
consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is responsible for 
identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items. 



 

Supplies and drugs that do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold and 
treatment rooms are included in the Urgent Care maximum fees; and  

(c) All diagnostic testing, laboratory services and therapeutic services 
(including, but not limited to, radiology, pathology, respiratory therapy, 
physical therapy or occupational therapy) shall be reimbursed by 
multiplying the appropriate CF by the unit value for the specific CPT® 
code as listed in the RVP© and Rule 18; and  

(d) The Observation Room allowance shall not exceed a rate of $50.00 per 
hour and is limited to a maximum of 3 hours without prior authorization. 

(e) In compliance with Rule 16-6 (A), the sum of all Urgent Care fees 
charged, less any amounts charged for professional fees or dispensed 
prescriptions per Rule 18-6(L)(4) found on the same bill, is to be 
compared to the maximum reimbursement allowed by the calculated 
value of Rule 18-6(L)(3)(a-d).  The lesser of the two amounts shall be the 
maximum facility allowance for the episode of urgent care.  A line by line 
comparison is not appropriate.  

(4) Any prescription for a drug supply to be used longer than a 24 hour period, filled 
at any Urgent Care facility, shall fall under the requirements and be reimbursed 
as a pharmacy fee. See Rule 18-6(O). 

(M) Outpatient Emergency Room Department (ERD) Facility Fees 

(1) Provider Restrictions 

To be reimbursed under this section (M), all outpatient ERDs within Colorado 
must be physically located within a hospital licensed by the CDPHE as a general 
hospital, or if free-standing ERD, must have equivalent operations as a licensed 
ERD.  To be paid as an ERD, out-of-state facilities shall meet that state’s 
licensure requirements. 

(2) Bills For Services 

(a) ERD facility fees shall be billed on the UB-92 and require summary level 
billing by revenue code.  The provider must submit itemized bills along 
with the UB-92. 

(b) Documentation should support the “Level of Care” being billed. 

(3) ERD Reimbursement 

(a) The following types of facilities are reimbursed at 100% of billed ERD 
charges: 

(1) Children’s hospitals 

(2) Veterans’ Administration hospitals 

(3) State Psychiatric hospitals 



 

(b) Medicare certified Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (listed in Exhibit 3 of 
Rule 18) are reimbursed at 80% of billed charges. 

(c) The ERD “Level of Care” is identified based upon one of five levels of 
care.  The level of care is defined by the point system developed by the 
hospital in compliance with Medicare regulations and determined by the 
total number of points accumulated by assigning points to interventions 
completed by the ERD staff during an ERD visit.  Upon request the 
provider shall supply a copy of their point system to the payer. 

(d) Total maximum value for an ERD episode of care includes the sum of 
the following: 

(1) ERD reimbursement amount for “Level of Care” points: 

ERD  Reimbursement 
LEVEL      

1  $ 120.00 

2  $ 160.00 

3  $ 250.00 

4  $ 500.00 

5  $ 1,500.00 

and 

(2) All diagnostic testing, laboratory services and therapeutic 
services not included in the hospital’s point system (including, 
but not limited to, radiology, pathology, any respiratory therapy, 
PT or OT) shall be reimbursed by the appropriate CF multiplied 
by the unit value for the specific code as listed in the RVP© and 
Rule 18; and 

(3) The observation room allowance shall not exceed a rate of 
$50.00 per hour and is limited to a maximum of 3 hours without 
prior authorization.  The documentation should support the 
medical necessity for observation; and 

(4) ERD level of care maximum fees include supplies and drugs that 
do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold and treatment rooms.  
“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall 
be consistent with Rule 18-6(H).  The billing provider is 
responsible for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items 

(e) For the purposes of Rule 16-6 (A), the sum of all outpatient ERD fees 
charged, less any amounts charged for professional fees found on the 
same bill, is to be compared to the maximum reimbursement allowed by 
the calculated value of Rule 18-6(M)(3)(d).  The lesser of the two 



 

amounts shall be the maximum facility allowance for the ERD episode of 
care.  A line by line comparison is not appropriate. 

(f) If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital through that hospital’s 
ERD, the ERD reimbursement is included in the inpatient reimbursement 
under 18-6(I)(3). 

(g) Trauma Center Fees are not paid for alerts.  Activation fees are as 
follows: 

Level I $3,000.00 

Level II $2,500.00 

Level III $1,000.00 

Level IV $00.00 

(1) These fees are in addition to ERD and inpatient fees. 

(2) Activation Fees mean a Trauma Team has been activated, not 
just alerted.  

(N) Home Therapy 

Prior authorization is required for all home therapy.  The payer and the home health entity 
should agree in writing on the type of care, skill level of provider, frequency of care and 
duration of care at each visit, and any financial arrangements to prevent disputes.  

(1) Home Infusion Therapy 

The per diem rates for home infusion therapy shall include the initial patient 
evaluation, education, coordination of care, products, equipment, IV 
administration sets, supplies, supply management, and delivery services.  
Nursing fees should be billed as indicated in Rule 18-6(N)(2). 

(a) Parenteral Nutrition: 

0 -1 liter  $140.00/day 

1.1 - 2.0 liter  $200.00/day 

2.1 - 3.0 liter  $260.00/day 

(b) Antibiotic Therapy: 

$105.00/day + Average Wholesale Price (AWP) 

 (c) Chemotherapy: 

$ 85.00/day + AWP 



 

(d) Enteral nutrition: 

Category I  $ 43.00/day 

Category II  $ 41.00/day 

Category III  $ 52.00/day 

(e) Pain Management: $ 95.00/day + AWP 

(f) Fluid Replacement: $ 70.00/day + AWP 

(g) Multiple Therapies: 

Only highest cost therapy + AWP for any remaining therapy 

Medication/Drug Restrictions - the payment for drugs may be based upon the 
AWP of the drug as determined through the use of industry publications such as 
the monthly Price Alert, First Databank, Inc. 

(2) Nursing Services 

DoWC 99970 Skilled Nursing (LPN & RN) 

$95.79 per hour 

There is a limit of 2 hours without prior authorization. 

DoWC 99972 Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA): 

$31.67 per hour for the first hour; 

$9.46 for each additional half hour.  Service must be at least 15 minutes 

to bill an additional half hour charge. 

The amount of time spent with the injured worker must be specified in 
the medical records and on the bill. 

(3) Physical Medicine 

Physical medicine procedures are payable at the same rate as provided 
in the physical medicine and rehabilitation services section of Rule 18. 

(4) Travel Allowances 

Travel is typically included in the fees listed.  Any extensive travel may 
need to be billed separately.  Travel allowances should be agreed upon 
with the payer and should not exceed $28.00 per visit, portal to portal.  
The $28.00 allowance includes mileage. 

DoWC code: 99971 



 

(O) Pharmacy Fees 

(1) AWP + $4.00 

(2) All bills shall reflect the National Drug Code (NDC) 

(3) All prescriptions shall be filled with bio-equivalent generic drugs unless the 
physician indicates "Dispense As Written" (DAW) on the prescription 

(4) The above formula applies to both brand name and generic drugs 

(5) The provider shall dispense no more than a 60-day supply per prescription 

(6) A line-by-line itemization of each drug billed and the payment for that drug shall 
be made on the payment voucher by the payer 

(7) AWP for brand name and generic pharmaceuticals may be determined through 
the use of such monthly publications as Price Alert, First Databank, Inc. 

(8) Compounding Pharmacies 

Reimbursement for compounding pharmacies shall be based on the cost of the 
materials plus 20%, $50.00 per hour for the pharmacist’s documented time, and 
actual cost of any mailing & handling. 

Bill Code: 

DoWC 99913 Materials, mailing, handling 

DoWC 99914 Pharmacist 

(9) Injured Worker Reimbursement 

The payer is responsible for timely payment of pharmaceutical costs (see Rule 
16-11(A)(3)).  In the event the injured worker has directly paid pharmaceutical 
costs, the payer shall reimburse the injured worker for actual costs incurred for 
authorized pharmacy services.  If the actual costs exceed the maximum fee 
allowed by this rule, the payer may seek a refund from the dispensing provider 
for the difference between the amount charged to the injured worker and the 
maximum fee.  Each request for a refund shall indicate the prescription number 
and the date of service involved. 

(10) Dietary Supplements, Vitamins and Herbal Medicines 

Reimbursement for outpatient dietary supplements, vitamins and herbal 
medicines dispensed in conjunction with acupuncture and complementary 
alternative medicine are authorized only by prior agreement of the payer, except 
for specific vitamins supported by Rule 17. 

(11) Prescription Writing 



 

Physicians shall indicate on the prescription form that the medication is related to 
a workers’ compensation claim. 

(12) Provider Reimbursement 

Provider offices that prescribe and dispense medications from their office have a 
maximum allowance of AWP plus $4.00. 

All medications administered in the course of the provider’s care shall be 
reimbursed at actual cost incurred. 

(13) Required Billing Forms 

(a) All parties shall use one of the following forms: 

(1) CMS 1500 (formerly HCFA 1500) – the dispensing provider shall 
bill by using the RVP© supply code  and shall include the metric 
quantity and NDC number of the drug being dispensed; or 

(2) WC -M4 form or equivalent – each item on the form shall be 
completed, or 

(3) With the agreement of the payer, the National Council for 
Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) or ANSI ASC 837 
(American National Standards Institute Accredited Standards 
Committee) electronic billing transaction containing the same 
information as in (1) or (2) in this sub-section may be used for 
billing. 

(b) Items prescribed for the work-related injury that do not have an NDC 
code shall be billed as a supply, using the RVP© supply code. 

(c) The payer may return any prescription billing form if the information is 
incomplete. 

(d) A signature shall be kept on file indicating that the patient or his/her 
authorized representative has received the prescription. 

(P) Complementary Alternative Medicine (CAM) (Requires prior authorization) 

CAM is a term used to describe a broad range of treatment modalities, some of which are 
generally accepted in the medical community and others that remain outside the 
accepted practice of conventional western medicine.  Providers of CAM may be both 
licensed and non-licensed health practitioners with training in one or more forms of 
therapy.  Refer to Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines for the specific types of CAM 
modalities.  

(Q) Acupuncture  

Acupuncture is an accepted procedure for the relief of pain and tissue inflammation.  
While commonly used for treatment of pain, it may also be used as an adjunct to physical 
rehabilitation and/or surgery to hasten return of functional recovery.  Acupuncture may be 



 

performed with or without the use of electrical current on the needles at the acupuncture 
site. 

(1) Provider Restrictions 

All providers must be Registered Acupuncturists (LAc) or certified by an existing 
licensing board as provided in Rule 16, Utilization Standards, and must provide 
evidence of training, registration and/or certification upon request of the payer. 

(2) Billing Restrictions 

(a). For treatments of more than fourteen (14) sessions, the provider must 
obtain prior authorization from the payer. 

(b) Unless the provider’s medical records reflect medical necessity and the 
provider obtains prior authorization for payment from the payer, the 
maximum amount of time allowed for acupuncture and procedures is one 
hour of procedures, per day, per discipline. 

(3) Billing Codes: 

(a) Reimburse acupuncture, including or not including electrical stimulation, 
as listed in the RVP©. 

(b) Non-Physician evaluation services 

(1) New or established patient services are reimbursable only if the 
medical record specifies the appropriate history, physical 
examination, treatment plan or evaluation of the treatment plan.  
Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly 
performed by an LAc.  All evaluation notes or reports must be 
written and signed by the LAc. 

(2) LAc new patient visit: 

 DoWC 97041 Maximum value  $86.56 

(3) LAc established patient visit: 

 DoWC 97044 Maximum value  $58.43 

(c) Herbs require prior authorization and fee agreements as in this Rule 18-
6(O)(10); 

(d) See the appropriate physical medicine and rehabilitation section of the 
RVP© for other billing codes and limitations (see also Rule 18-5.H).  

(e) Acupuncture supplies are reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H). 

18-7 DENTAL FEE SCHEDULE 



 

The dental schedule is adopted using the American Dental Association’s Current Dental 
Terminology, Fourth Edition (CDT-4).  However, surgical treatment for dental trauma and 
subsequent, related procedures shall be billed using codes from the RVP©.  Reimbursement 
shall be in accordance with the surgery/anesthesia section of the RVP©, its corresponding CFs, 
the Division's Rule 16, Utilization Standards, and Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines.  See 
Exhibit 6 for the listing and maximum allowance for dental codes. 




