DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

Division of Workers’ Compensation
7 ccr 1101-3
WORKERS’' COMPENSATION RULES OF PROCEDURE
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STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

Pursuant to § 8-42-101(3)(a)(l) C.R.S. and Section 8-47-107, C.R.S., the Director promulgates
this medical fee schedule to review and establish maximum allowable fees for health care
services falling within the purview of the Act. The Director adopts and hereby incorporates by
reference as modified herein the 2010 edition of the Relative Values for Physicians (RVPO),
developed by Relative Value Studies, Inc., published by Ingenix® St. Anthony Publishing, the
Current Procedural Terminology CPT® 2010, Professional Edition, published by the American
Medical Association (AMA) and Medicare Severity Diagnosis Related Groups (MS-DRGS)
Definitions Manual, Version 28.0 developed and published by 3M Health Information Systems
using MS-DRGs effective after October 1, 2010. The incorporation is limited to the specific
editions named and does not include later revisions or additions. For information about
inspecting or obtaining copies of the incorporated materials, contact the Medical Fee Schedule
Administrator, 633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, Colorado 80202-3626. These materials may
be examined at any state publications depository library. All guidelines and instructions are
adopted as set forth in the RVP©, CPT® and MS-DRGs, unless otherwise specified in this rule.

This rule applies to all services rendered on or after January 1, 2011. All other bills shall be
reimbursed in accordance with the fee schedule in effect at the time service was rendered.

STANDARD TERMINOLOGY FOR THIS RULE

(A) CPT® - Current Procedural Terminology CPT® 2010, copyrighted and distributed by the
AMA and incorporated by reference in Rule 18-1.

(B) DoWC Zxxx — Colorado Division of Workers’ Compensation created codes.
© MS-DRGs — version 28.0 incorporated by reference in Rule 18-1.

(D) RVP®© — the 2010 edition incorporated by reference in Rule 18-1.

(E) For other terms, see Rule 16, Utilization Standards.

HOW TO OBTAIN COPIES

All users are responsible for the timely purchase and use of Rule 18 and its supporting
documentation as referenced herein. The Division shall make available for public review and
inspection copies of all materials incorporated by reference in Rule 18. Copies of the RVP© may
be purchased from Ingenix® St. Anthony Publishing, the Current Procedural Terminology, 2010
Edition may be purchased from the AMA, the MS-DRGs Definitions Manual may be purchased
from 3M Health Information Systems, and the Colorado Workers' Compensation Rules of
Procedures with Treatment Guidelines, 7 CCR 1101-3, may be purchased from LexisNexis
Matthew Bender & Co., Inc., Albany, NY. Interpretive Bulletins and unofficial copies of all rules,
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including Rule 18, are available on the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment web site.
An official copy of the rules is available on the Secretary of State’s webpage.

CONVERSION FACTORS (CF)

The following CFs shall be used to determine the maximum allowed fee. The maximum fee is
determined by multiplying the following section CFs by the established relative value unit(s)
(RVU) found in the corresponding RVPO sections:

RVPO© SECTION CF

Anesthesia $50.87/RVU
Surgery $94.64/RVU
Surgery X Procedures $ 38.07/RVU

(see Rule 18-5(D)(1)( d))

Radiology $17.43/RVU
Pathology $ 12.99/RVU
Medicine $ 7.56 /IRVU
Physical Medicine $ 5.90/RVU

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation,
Medical Nutrition Therapy and
Acupuncture

Evaluation & Management (E&M) $ 9.62/RVU

INSTRUCTIONS AND/OR MODIFICATIONS TO THE DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY
REFERENCE IN RULE 18-1

(A) Maximum allowance for all providers under Rule 16-5 is 100% of the RVP®© value or as
defined in this Rule 18.

(B) Unless modified herein, the RVPO© is adopted for RVUs and reimbursement. Interim
relative value procedures (marked by an “I” in the left-hand margin of the RVP®) are
accepted as a basis of payment for services; however deleted CPT® codes (marked by
an “M” in the RVPO®) are not, unless otherwise advised by this rule. The CPT® 2010 is
adopted for codes, descriptions, parenthetical notes and coding guidelines, unless
modified in this rule.

© CPT® Category lll codes listed in the RVP© may be used for billing with agreement of
the payer as to reimbursement. Payment shall be in compliance with Rule 16-6(C).

(D) Surgery/Anesthesia
Q) Anesthesia Section:

€) All anesthesia base values shall be established by the use of the codes
as set forth in the RVP®©, Anesthesia Section. Anesthesia services are
only reimbursable if the anesthesia is administered by a physician or
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA) who remains in constant



(b)

(©)

(d)

attendance during the procedure for the sole purpose of rendering
anesthesia.

When anesthesia is administered by a CRNA:

(1) Not under the medical direction of an anesthesiologist,
reimbursement shall be 90% of the maximum anesthesia value,

(2) Under the medical direction of an anesthesiologist,
reimbursement shall be 50% of the maximum anesthesia value.
The other 50% is payable to the anesthesiologist providing the
medical direction to the CRNA,

3) Medical direction for administering the anesthesia includes
performing the following activities:

Performs a pre-anesthesia examination and evaluation,
. Prescribes the anesthesia plan,

. Personally participates in the most demanding
procedures in the anesthesia plan including induction
and emergence,

o Ensures that any procedure in the anesthesia plan that
s/he does not perform is performed by a qualified
anesthetist,

) Monitors the course of anesthesia administration at

frequent intervals,

. Remains physically present and available for immediate
diagnosis and treatment of emergencies, and

. Provides indicated post-anesthesia care.

Anesthesia physical status modifiers and qualifying circumstances are
reimbursed using the anesthesia CF and unit values found in the RVPO,
Anesthesia section’s Guidelines XI “Physical Status Modifiers” and XIlI,
“Qualifying Circumstances.”

The following modifiers are to be used when billing for anesthesia
services:

AA — anesthesia services performed personally by the anesthesiologist
QX — CRNA service; with medical direction by a physician

QZ — CRNA service; without medical direction by a physician

QY — Medical direction of one CRNA by an anesthesiologist

Surgery X Procedures

(1) The surgery X procedures are limited to those listed below and
found in the table under the RVP©, Anesthesia section’s
Guidelines XIllII, “Anesthesia Services Where Time Units Are Not
Allowed”:



(@)

3)

(4)
()

Providing local anesthetic or other medications
through a regional IV

e Daily drug management

e Endotracheal intubation

e Venipuncture, including cutdowns

e Arterial punctures

o Epidural or subarachnoid spine injections

e Somatic and Sympathetic Nerve Injections

o Paravertebral facet joint injections and rhizotomies

In addition, lumbar plexus spine anesthetic injection, posterior
approach with daily administration = 7 RVUS; PARAVERTEBRAL
FACET, ZYGAPOPHYSEAL JOINT OR NERVES WITH GUIDANCE ARE
REIMBURSED AT 10 RVUS FOR A SINGLE LEVEL OF THE CERVICAL OR
THORACIC, 5 RVUS FOR SECOND LEVEL OR MORE, AND 8 RVUS FOR
THE LUMBAR OR SACRAL SINGLE LEVEL, 4 RVUS FOR THE SECOND
LEVEL OR MORE.

The maximum reimbursement for these procedures shall be
based upon the anesthesia value listed in the table in the RVP®©,
Anesthesia section’s Guideline Xl multiplied by $38.07 CF. No
additional unit values are added for time when calculating the
maximum values for reimbursement.

When performing more than one surgery X procedure in a single
surgical setting, multiple surgery guidelines shall apply (100% of
the listed value for the primary procedure and 50% of the listed
value for additional procedures). Use modifier -51 to indicate
multiple surgery X procedures performed on the same day
during a single operative setting. The 50% reduction does not
apply to procedures that are identified in the RVP© as “Add-on”
procedures.

Bilateral injections: see 18-5(D)(2)(qg).

Other procedures from Table XllII not described above may be
found in another section of the RVP®© (e.g., surgery). Any
procedures found in the table under the RVP©, Anesthesia
section’s Guidelines XllI, “Anesthesia Services Where Time
Units Are Not Allowed” but not contained in this list (Rule 18-
5(D)(2)(d)(1)) are reimbursed in accordance with the assigned
units from their respective sections multiplied by their respective
CF.

(2) Surgical Section:

€) The use of assistant surgeons shall be limited according to the American
College Of Surgeons' Physicians as Assistants at Surgery: 2007 Study




(b)

()

(d)

()

(f)

(January 2007), available from the American College of Surgeons,
Chicago, IL, or from their web page. The incorporation is limited to the
edition named and does not include later revisions or additions. Copies
of the material incorporated by reference may be inspected at any State
publications depository library. For information about inspecting or
obtaining copies of the incorporated material, contact the Medical Fee
Schedule Administrator, 633 17th Street, Suite 400, Denver, Colorado,
80202-3626.

Where the publication restricts use of such assistants to "almost never"
or a procedure is not referenced in the publication, prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required.

Incidental procedures are commonly performed as an integral part of a
total service and do not warrant a separate benefit.

No payment shall be made for more than one assistant surgeon or
minimum assistant surgeon without prior authorization for payment (see
Rule 16-9 and 16-10) unless a trauma team was activated due to the
emergency nature of the injury(ies).

The payer may use available billing information such as provider
credential(s) and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate modifier
should be used on the bill. To modify a billed code refer to Rule 16-
11(B)(4).

Non-physician, minimum assistant surgeons used as surgical assistants
shall be reimbursed at 10 % of the listed value.

Global Period
() The following services performed during a global period would

warrant separate billing if documentation demonstrates
significant identifiable services were involved, such as:

. E&M services unrelated to the primary surgical
procedure,
. Services necessary to stabilize the patient for the primary

surgical procedure,

. Services not usually part of the surgical procedure,
including an E&M visit by an authorized treating
physician for disability management,

. Unusual circumstances, complications, exacerbations, or
recurrences, or

. Unrelated diseases or injuries.

. If a patient is seen for the first time or an established
patient is seen for a new problem and the “decision for
surgery” is made the day of the procedure or the day
before the procedure is performed, then the surgeon can



bill both the procedure code and an E&M code, using a
57 modifier or 25 modifier on the E&M code.

(2) Separate identifiable services shall use an appropriate RVP©
modifier in conjunction with the billed service.

(9) Bilateral procedures are reimbursed the same as all multiple procedures:
100% for the first primary procedure and then 50% for all other
procedures, including the 2nd "primary" procedure.

(h) The “Services with Significant Direct Costs” section of the RVPO© is not
adopted. Supplies shall be reimbursed as set out in Rule 18-6(H).

0] If a surgical arthroscopic procedure is converted to the same surgical
open procedure on the same joint, only the open procedure is payable.
If an arthroscopic procedure and open procedure are performed on
different joints, the two procedures may be separately payable with
anatomic modifiers or modifier 50.

() Use code G0289 to report any combination of surgical knee
arthroscopies for removal of loose body, foreign body, and/or
debridement/shaving of articular cartilage. G0289 is 11.2 RVUs and is
paid using the surgical conversion factor.

<0289 shall not be paid when reported in conjunction with other knee
arthroscopy codes in the same compartment of the same knee.

G0289 shall be paid when reported in conjunction with other knee
arthroscopy codes in a different compartment of the knee. G0289 is
subject to the 50% multiple surgical reduction guidelines.

(E) Radiology Section:

1)

General

€) The cost of dyes and contrast shall be reimbursed IN ACCORDANCE WITH
RULE 18-6(H).

(b) Copying charges for X-Rays and MRIs shall be $15.00/film regardless of
the size of the film.

(c) The payer may use available billing information such as provider
credential(s) and clinical record(s) to determine if an appropriate RVP©
modifier should have been used on the hill. To modify a billed code,
refer to Rule 16-11(B)(4).

(d) In billing radiology services, the applicable radiology procedure code
may be billed using the total component or the appropriate modifier to bill
either the professional component or the technical component. If a
physician bills the total or professional component, a separate written
interpretive report is required.



If a physician interprets the same radiological image more than once, or if
multiple physicians interpret the same radiological image, only one
interpretation shall be reimbursed.

The time a physician spends reviewing and/or interpreting an existing
radiological image is considered a part of the physician’s evaluation and
management service code.

(2) Thermography

(a) The physician supervising and interpreting the thermographic evaluation
shall be board certified by the examining board of one of the following
national organizations and follow their recognized protocols:

American Academy of Thermology;
American Chiropractic College of Infrared Imaging.

(b) Indications for diagnostic thermographic evaluation must be one of the
following:

Complex Regional Pain Syndrome/Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy
(CRPS/RSD);

Sympathetically Maintained Pain (SMP);
Autonomic neuropathy;

(c) Protocol for stress testing is outlined in the Medical Treatment Guidelines
found in Rule 17.

(d) Thermography Billing Codes:
DoWC Z200 Upper body w/ Autonomic Stress Testing  $865.37
DoWC Z201 Lower body w/Autonomic Stress Testing  $865.37

(e) Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required for
thermography services only if the requested study does not meet the
indicators for thermography as outlined in this radiology section. The
billing shall include a report supplying the thermographic evaluation and
reflecting compliance with Rule 18-5(E)(2).

(F) Pathology Section:

Reimbursement for billed pathology procedures includes either a technical and
professional component, or a total component. If an automated clinical lab
procedure does not have a separate written interpretive report beyond the
computer generated values, the biller may receive the total component value as
long as no other provider seeks reimbursement for the professional component.
The physician ordering the automated laboratory tests may seek verbal
consultation with the pathologist in charge of the laboratory’s policy, procedures
and staff qualifications. The consultation with the ordering physician is not
payable unless the ordering physician requested additional medical interpretation
and judgment and requested a separate written report. Upon such a request, the



pathologist may bill using the proper CPT® code and values from the RVP®©, not
DoWC Z755.

(G) Medicine Section:

1)

(2)

3)

(4)

()

(6)

Medicine home therapy services in the RVP© are not adopted. For appropriate
codes see Rule 18-6(N), Home Therapy.

Anesthesia qualifying circumstance values are reimbursed in accordance with the
anesthesia section of Rule 18.

Biofeedback

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) shall be required from
the payer for any treatment exceeding the treatment guidelines. A licensed
physician or psychologist shall prescribe all services and include the number of
sessions. Session notes shall be periodically reviewed by the prescribing
physician or psychologist to determine the continued need for the service. All
services shall be provided or supervised by an appropriate recognized provider
as listed under Rule 16-5. Supervision shall be as defined in an applicable Rule
17 medical treatment guidelines. Persons providing biofeedback shall be
certified by the Biofeedback Certification Institution of America, or be a licensed
physician or psychologist, as listed under Rule 16-5(A)(1)(a) and (b) with
evidence of equivalent biofeedback training.

Appendix J of the 2010 CPT® identifies mixed, motor and sensory nerve
conduction studies and their appropriate billing.

Manipulation -- Chiropractic (DC), Medical (MD) and Osteopathic (DO):

(a) Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) shall be
obtained before billing for more than four body regions in one visit.
Manipulative therapy is limited to the maximum allowed in the relevant
Rule 17 medical treatment guidelines. The provider's medical records
shall reflect medical necessity and prior authorization for payment (see
Rule 16-9 and 16-10) if treatment exceeds these limitations.

(b) An office visit may be billed on the same day as manipulation codes
when the documentation meets the E&M requirement and an appropriate
modifier is used.

Psychiatric/Psychological CNS Tests and Assessment Services:

(a) A licensed psychologist (PsyD, PhD, EdD) is reimbursed a maximum of
100% of the medical fee listed in the RVP©. Other non-physician
providers performing psychological/psychiatric services shall be paid at
75 % of the fee allowed for physicians.

(b) Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required any
time the following limitations are exceeded on a single day:

Evaluation Procedures limit: 4 hours

Testing Procedures limit: 6 hours



(H)

(7)

(8)

Most initial evaluations for delayed recovery can be completed in two (2)
hours.

(c) Psychotherapy services limit: 50 mins per visit

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required
any time the 50 minutes per visit limitation is exceeded.

Psychotherapy for work-related conditions requiring more than 20 visits
or continuing for more than three (3) months after the initiation of
therapy, whichever comes first, requires prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) except where specifically addressed in the
treatment guidelines.

Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Services

The maximum unit value shall be 24 units, instead of 14 units as listed in the

RVP®.
Qualified Non-Physician Provider Telephone or On-Line Services

Reimbursement to qualified non-physician providers for coordination of care with
professionals shall be based upon the telephone codes for qualified non-
physician providers found in the RVP© Medicine Section. Coordination of care
reimbursement is limited to telephone calls made to professionals outside of the
non-physician provider’'s employment facility(ies) and/or to the injured worker or
their family.

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation:

Restorative services are an integral part of the healing process for a variety of injured
workers.

1)

@)

(3)

4)

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required for medical
nutrition therapy. See Rule 18-6(0)(10).

For recommendations on the use of the physical medicine and rehabilitation
procedures, modalities, and testing, see Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines
Exhibits.

Special Note to All Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Providers:

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) shall be obtained from
the payer for any physical medicine treatment exceeding the recommendations
of the Medical Treatment Guidelines as set forth in Rule 17.

The injured worker shall be re-evaluated by the prescribing physician within thirty
(30) calendar days from the initiation of the prescribed treatment and at least
once every month while that treatment continues. Prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) shall be required for treatment of a condition
not covered under the medical treatment guidelines and exceeding sixty (60)
calendar days from the initiation of treatment.

Interdisciplinary Rehabilitation Programs — (Requires Prior Authorization for
Payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).



()

(6)

An interdisciplinary rehabilitation program is one that provides focused,
coordinated, and goal-oriented services using a team of professionals from
varying disciplines to deliver care. These programs can benefit persons who
have limitations that interfere with their physical, psychological, social, and/or
vocational functioning. As defined in Rule 17 Medical Treatment Guidelines,
interdisciplinary rehabilitation programs may include, but are not limited to:
chronic pain, spinal cord, or brain injury programs.

Billing Restrictions: All billing providers shall detail to the payer the services,
frequency of services, duration of the program and their proposed fees for the
entire program, inclusive for all professionals. The billing provider and payer
shall attempt to mutually agree upon billing code(s) and fee(s) for each
interdisciplinary rehabilitation program.

If there is a single billing provider for the entire interdisciplinary rehabilitation
program and a daily per diem rate is mutually agreed upon, use billing code
Z500.

If the individual interdisciplinary rehabilitation professionals bill separately for
their participation in an interdisciplinary rehabilitation program, the applicable
CPT® codes shall be used to bill for their services. Demonstrated participation in
an interdisciplinary rehabilitation program allows the use of the frequencies and
durations listed in the relevant medical treatment guidelines recommendations.

Procedures (therapeutic exercises, neuromuscular re-education, aquatic therapy,
gait training, massage, acupuncture, manual therapy techniques, therapeutic
activities, cognitive development, sensory integrative techniques and any unlisted
physical medicine procedures)

Unless the provider's medical records reflect medical necessity and the provider
obtains prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10), the maximum
amount of time allowed is one hour of procedures per day, per discipline.

Modalities
RVP® Timed and Non-timed Modalities

Billing Restrictions: There is a total limit of two (2) modalities (whether timed or
non-timed) per visit, per discipline, per day.

NOTE: Instruction and application of a transcutaneous electric nerve stimulation
(TENS) unit for the patient's independent use shall be billed using the education
code in the Medicine section of the RVP©. Rental or purchase of a TENS unit
requires prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10). For
maximum fee allowance, see Rule 18-6(H).

Dry Needling of Trigger Points

Bill only one of the dry needling modality codes. See relevant treatment
guidelines for limitations on frequencies.

DoWC 7z501 Single or multiple needles, one or two
muscles, 5.4 RVUs



(7)

(8)

DoWC 7502 three or more muscles, 5.8 RVUs

Evaluation Services for Therapists: Physical Therapy (PT), Occupational
Therapy (OT) and Athletic Trainers (ATC).

€) All evaluation services must be supported by the appropriate history,
physical examination documentation, treatment goals and treatment plan
or re-evaluation of the treatment plan. The provider shall clearly state
the reason for the evaluation, the nature and results of the physical
examination of the patient, and the reasoning for recommending the
continuation or adjustment of the treatment protocol. Without
appropriate supporting documentation, the payer may deny payment.
The re-evaluation codes shall not be billed for routine pre-treatment
patient assessment.

If a new problem or abnormality is encountered that requires a new
evaluation and treatment plan, the professional may perform and bill for
another initial evaluation. A new problem or abnormality may be caused
by a surgical procedure being performed after the initial evaluation has
been completed.

(b) Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly performed
by a PT, OT, or ATC as defined in Title 12 of the C.R.S. All evaluation
notes or reports must be written and signed by the PT or OT. Physicians
shall bill the appropriate E&M code from the E&M section of the RVPO.

(c) A patient may be seen by more than one health care professional on the
same day. An evaluation service with appropriate documentation may
be charged for each professional per patient per day.

(d) Reimbursement to PTs, OTs, speech language pathologists and
audiologists for coordination of care with professionals shall be based
upon the telephone codes for qualified non-physician providers found in
the RVP®© Medicine Section. Coordination of care reimbursement is
limited to telephone calls made to professionals outside of the
therapist's/pathologist’s/ audiologist's employment facility(ies) and/or to
the injured worker or their family.

(e) All interdisciplinary team conferences shall be billed in compliance with
Rule 18-5(1)(5).

Special Tests
The following respective tests are considered special tests:
e Job Site Evaluation
e Functional Capacity Evaluation
e Assistive technology assessment
e Speech

e Computer Enhanced Evaluation (DoWC Z503)



(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

e Work Tolerance Screening (DoWC Z504)
€) Billing Restrictions:

(1) Job Site Evaluations require prior authorization for payment (see
Rule 16-9 and 16-10) if exceeding 2 hours. Computer-Enhanced
Evaluations, and Work Tolerance Screenings require prior
authorization for payment for more than 4 hours PER TEST or
more than 6 tests per claim. Functional Capacity Evaluations
require prior authorization for payment for more than 4 hours PER
TEST or 2 tests per claim.

(2) The provider shall specify the time required to perform the test in
15-minute increments.

3) The value for the analysis and the written report is included in the
code’s value.

4) No E&M services or PT, OT, or acupuncture evaluations shall be
charged separately for these tests.

(5) Data from computerized equipment shall always include the
supporting analysis developed by the physical medicine
professional before it is payable as a special test.

(b) Provider Restrictions: all special tests must be fully supervised by a
physician, a PT, an OT, a speech language pathologist/therapist or
audiologist. Final reports must be written and signed by the physician,
the PT, the OT, the speech language pathologist/therapist or the
audiologist.

Speech Therapy/Evaluation and Treatment

Reimbursement shall be according to the unit values as listed in the RVP©
multiplied by their section’s respective CF.

Supplies
Physical medicine supplies are reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H).
Unattended Treatment

When a patient uses a facility or its equipment but is performing unattended
procedures, in either an individual or group setting, bill:

DoWC zZ505 fixed fee per day 1.5 RVU

Non-Medical Facility

Fees, such as gyms, pools, etc., and training or supervision by hon-medical
providers require prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) and

a written negotiated fee.

Unlisted Service Physical Medicine



All unlisted services or procedures require a report.
(14) Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, Work Simulation

€) Work conditioning is a non-interdisciplinary program that is focused on
the individual needs of the patient to return to work. Usually one
discipline oversees the patient in meeting goals to return to work. Refer
to Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Restriction: Maximum daily time is two (2) hours per day without
additional prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

(b) Work Hardening is an interdisciplinary program that uses a team of
disciplines to meet the goal of employability and return to work. This
type of program entails a progressive increase in the number of hours a
day that an individual completes work tasks until they can tolerate a full
workday. In order to do this, the program must address the medical,
psychological, behavioral, physical, functional and vocational
components of employability and return to work. Refer to Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

Restriction: Maximum daily time is six (6) hours per day without
additional prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

(c) Work Simulation is a program where an individual completes specific
work-related tasks for a particular job and return to work. Use of this
program is appropriate when modified duty can only be partially
accommodated in the work place, when modified duty in the work place
is unavailable, or when the patient requires more structured supervision.
The need for work simulation should be based upon the results of a
functional capacity evaluation and/or job analysis. Refer to Rule 17,
Medical Treatment Guidelines.

(d) For Work Conditioning, Work Hardening, or Work Simulation, the
following apply.

(1) The provider shall submit a treatment plan including expected
frequency and duration of treatment. If requested by the
provider, the payer will prior authorize payment for the treatment
plan services or shall identify any concerns including those
based on the reasonableness or necessity of care.

(2) If the frequency and duration is expected to exceed the medical
treatment guidelines’ recommendation, prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required.

3) Provider Restrictions: All procedures must be performed by or
under the onsite supervision of a physician, PSYCHOLOGIST, PT,
OT, speech language pathologist or audiologist.

() Evaluation and Management Section (E&M)
(2) Medical record documentation shall encompass the RVP© “E&M Guideline”

criteria to justify the billed E&M service. If 50% of the time spent for an E&M visit
is disability counseling or coordination of care, then time can determine the level



(@)

3)

(4)

(®)

of E&M service. Documented telephonic or on-line communication time with the
patient or other healthcare providers one day prior or seven days following the
scheduled E&M visit may be included in the calculation of total time.

Disability counseling should be an integral part of managing workers’
compensation injuries. The counseling shall be completely documented in the
medical records, including, but not limited to, the amount of time spent with the
injured worker and the specifics of the discussion as it relates to the individual
patient. Disability counseling shall include, but not be limited to, return to work,
temporary and permanent work restrictions, self management of symptoms while
working, correct posture/mechanics to perform work functions, job task exercises
for muscle strengthening and stretching, and appropriate tool and equipment use
to prevent re-injury and/or worsening of the existing injury.

New or Established Patients

An E&M visit shall be billed as a “new” patient service for each “new injury” even
though the provider has seen the patient within the last three years. Any
subsequent E&M visits are to be billed as an “established patient” and reflect the
level of service indicated by the documentation when addressing all of the
current injuries.

Number of Office Visits

All providers, as defined in Rule 16-5 (A-B), are limited to one office visit per
patient, per day, per workers’ compensation claim unless prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is obtained. The E&M Guideline criteria as
specified in the RVP© E&M Section shall be used in all office visits to determine
the appropriate level.

Treating Physician Telephone or On-line Services.

Telephone or on-line services may be billed if:

€) the service is performed more than one day prior to a related E&M office
visit, or

(b) the service is performed more than 7 days following a related E&M office
visit, and

(c) when the medical records/documentation specifies all the following:

Q) the amount of time and date;
(2) the patient, family member, or healthcare provider talked to, and

3) the specifics of the discussion and/or decision made during the
communication.

Face-to-face or Telephonic Treating Physician or Qualified Non-physician
Medical Team Conferences.

A medical team conference can only be billed if all of the criteria are met under
CPT® . A medical team conference shall consist of medical professionals caring
for the injured worker.



(6)

(7)

The billing statement shall be prepared in accordance with Rule 16, Utilization
Standards.

Face -to-face or telephonic meeting by a non-treating physician with the
employer, claim representatives or any attorney in order to provide a medical
opinion on a specific workers’ compensation case which is not accompanied by a
specific report or written record.

Billing Code DoWC Z601: $65.00 per 15 minutes billed to the requesting
party.

Face-to-face or telephonic meeting by a non-treating physician with the
employer, claim representatives or any attorney in order to provide a medical
opinion on a specific workers’ compensation case which is accompanied by a
report or written record shall be billed as a special report (Rule 18-6(G)(4)).

18-6  DIVISION ESTABLISHED CODES AND VALUES

(A) Face-to-face or telephonic meeting by a treating physician with the employer, claim
representatives, or any attorney, and with or without the injured worker. Claim
representatives may include physicians or qualified medical personnel performing payer-
initiated medical treatment reviews, but this code does not apply to requests initiated by a
provider for prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

Before the meeting is separately payable the following must be met:

Q) Each meeting shall be at a minimum 15 minutes.
(2) A report or written record signed by the physician is required and shall include
the following:
€) Who was present at the meeting and their role at the meeting
(b) Purpose of the meeting
(c) A brief statement of recommendations and actions at the conclusion of
the meeting.
(d) Documented time (both start and end times)
(e) Billing code DoWwC Z701
. $75.00 per 15 minutes for time attending the meeting and
preparing the report (no travel time or mileage is
separately payable). The fee includes the cost of the
report for all parties, including the injured worker.
(B) Cancellation Fees For Payer Made Appointments
Q) A cancellation fee is payable only when a payer schedules an appointment the

injured worker fails to keep, and the payer has not canceled three (3) business
days prior to the appointment. The payer shall pay:

One-half of the usual fee for the scheduled services, or



(©)

(D)

$150.00, whichever is less.
Cancellation Fee Billing Code: DoWC 2720
(2) Missed Appointments:

When claimants fail to keep scheduled appointments, the provider should contact
the payer within two (2) business days. Upon reporting the missed appointment,
the provider may request whether the payer wishes to reschedule the
appointment for the claimant. If the claimant fails to keep the payer’'s
rescheduled appointment, the provider may bill for a cancellation fee according to
this Rule 18-6(B).

Copying Fees

The payer, payer's representative, injured worker and injured worker's representative
shall pay a reasonable fee for the reproduction of the injured worker's medical record.
Reasonable cost for paper copies shall not exceed $14.00 for the first 10 or fewer pages,
$0.50 per page for pages 11-40, and $0.33 per page thereafter. Actual postage or
shipping costs and applicable sales tax, if any, may also be charged. The per-page fee
for records copied from microfilm shall be $1.50 per page.

If the requester and provider agree, the copy may be provided on a disc. The fee will not
exceed $14.00 per disc.

If the requester and provider agree and appropriate security is in place, including, but not
limited to, compatible encryption, the copies may be submitted electronically. Requester
and provider should attempt to agree on a reasonable fee. Absent an agreement to the
contrary, the fee shall be $0.10/page.

Copying charges do not apply for the initial submission of records that are part of the
required documentation for billing.

Copying Fee Billing Code: DoWwC Z721
Deposition and Testimony Fees

(1) When requesting deposition or testimony from physicians or any other type of
provider, guidance should be obtained from the Interprofessional Code, as
prepared by the Colorado Bar Association, the Denver Bar Association, the
Colorado Medical Society and the Denver Medical Society. If the parties cannot
agree upon lesser fees for the deposition or testimony services, or cancellation
time frames and/or fees, the following deposition and testimony rules and fees
shall be used.

If, in an individual case, a party can show good cause to an Administrative Law
Judge (ALJ) for exceeding the fee schedule, that ALJ may allow a greater fee
than listed in Rule 18-6(D) in that case.

(2) By prior agreement, the provider may charge for preparation time for a
deposition, for reviewing and signing the deposition or for preparation time for
testimony.

Preparation Time:



3)

(4)

Treating or Non-treating Provider:
DoWC Z730 $325.00 per hour

Deposition:

Payment for a treating or non-treating provider’s testimony at a deposition shall
not exceed $325.00 per hour billed in half-hour increments. Calculation of the
provider’s time shall be "portal to portal.”

If requested, the provider is entitled to a full hour deposit in advance in order to
schedule the deposition.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the deposition at least seven (7)
business days prior to the scheduled deposition, the provider shall be paid the
number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and shall refund to the
deposing party any portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually
spent preparing and/or testifying. Bill using code DoWC Z731.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the deposition at least five (5)
business days but less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled
deposition, the provider shall be paid the number of hours he or she has
reasonably spent in preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the
deposition. Bill using code DoWC Z732.

If the provider is notified less than five (5) business days in advance of a
cancellation, or the deposition is shorter than the time scheduled, the provider
shall be paid the number of hours he or she has reasonably spent in preparation
and has scheduled for the deposition. Bill using code DoWC Z733.

Deposition:

Treating or Non-treating provider:
DoWC Z734 $325.00 per hr.
Billed in half-hour increments

Testimony:

Calculation of the provider’'s time shall be "portal to portal (includes travel time
and mileage in both directions)."

For testifying at a hearing, if requested the provider is entitled to a four (4) hour
deposit in advance in order to schedule the testimony.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the testimony at least seven (7)
business days prior to the scheduled testimony, the provider shall be paid the
number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and shall refund any
portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually spent preparing and/or
testifying. Bill using code DoWC Z735.

If the provider is notified of the cancellation of the testimony at least five (5)
business days but less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled
testimony, the provider shall be paid the number of hours he or she has
reasonably spent in preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the
testimony. Bill using code DoWC Z736.



(E)

(F)

If the provider is notified of a cancellation less than five (5) business days prior to
the date of the testimony or the testimony is shorter than the time scheduled, the
provider shall be paid the number of hours s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and has scheduled for the testimony. Bill using code DoWC Z737.

Testimony:
Treating or Non-treating provider:

DoWC 2738
Maximum Rate of $450.00 per hour

Mileage Expenses

The payer shall reimburse an injured worker for reasonable and necessary mileage
expenses for travel to and from medical appointments and reasonable mileage to obtain
prescribed medications. The reimbursement rate shall be 47 cents per mile. The injured
worker shall submit a statement to the payer showing the date(s) of travel and number of
miles traveled, with receipts for any other reasonable and necessary travel expenses
incurred.

Mileage Expense Billing Code: DoWC Z723

Permanent Impairment Rating

1)

(@)

®3)

(4)

The payer is only required to pay for one combined whole-person permanent
impairment rating per claim, except as otherwise provided in the Workers'
Compensation Rules of Procedures. Exceptions that may require payment for an
additional impairment rating include, but are not limited to, reopened cases, as
ordered by the Director or an administrative law judge, or a subsequent request
to review apportionment. The authorized treating provider is required to submit
in writing all permanent restrictions and future maintenance care related to the
injury or occupational disease.

Provider Restrictions

The permanent impairment rating shall be determined by the authorized Level
accredited physician (see Rule 5-5(D)).

Maximum Medical Improvement (MMI) Determined Without any Permanent
Impairment

When physicians determine the injured worker is at MMI and has no permanent
impairment, the physicians should be reimbursed an appropriate level of E&M
service. The authorized treating physician (generally the designated or selected
physician) managing the total workers’ compensation claim of the patient should
complete the Physician’s Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (Closing
Report), WC164 (See Rule 18-6(G)(2)). Reimbursement for the appropriate level
of E&M service is only applicable if the physician examines the injured worker
and meets the criteria as defined in the RVPO.

MMI Determined with a Calculated Permanent Impairment Rating
(a) Calculated Impairment: The total fee includes the office visit, a complete

physical examination, complete history, review of all medical records,
determining MMI, completing all required measurements, referencing all



tables used to determine the rating, using all report forms from the AMA's
Guide to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment, Third Edition
(Revised), (AMA Guides), and completing the Division form, titled
Physician's Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (Closing Report)
WC164.

(b) Use the appropriate DoWC code:

(1) Fee for the Level Il Accredited Authorized Treating Physician
Providing Primary Care:

Bill DoWC Z759 $355.00.
(2) Fee for the Referral, Level Il Accredited Authorized Physician:
Bill DoWC Z760 $575.00.

3) A return visit for a range of motion (ROM) validation shall be
reimbursed using the appropriate separate procedure CPTO
code in the medicine section of the RVPO©.

(4) Fee for a Multiple Impairment Evaluation Requiring More Than
One Level Il Accredited Physician:

All physicians providing consulting services for the completion of
a whole person impairment rating shall bill using the appropriate
E&M consultation code and shall forward their portion of the
rating to the authorized physician determining the combined
whole person rating.

(G) Report Preparation

(1)

()

Routine Reports

Completion of routine reports or records are incorporated in all fees for service
and include:

Diagnostic testing

Procedure reports

Progress notes

Office notes

Operative reports

Supply invoices, if requested by the payer

Providers shall submit routine reports free of charge as directed in Rule 16-7(E)
and by statute. Requests for additional copies of routine reports and for reports
not in Rule 16-7(E) or in statute are reimbursable under the copying fee section

of Rule 18.

Completion of the Physician’s Report of Workers’ Compensation Injury (WC164)



(@)

(b)

(©)

(d)

()

Initial Report

The authorized treating physician (generally the designated or selected
physician) managing the total workers’ compensation claim of the
patient completes the initial WC 164 and submits it to the payer and to
the injured worker after the first visit with the injured worker. When
applicable, the emergency room or urgent care authorized treating
physician for this workers’ compensation injury may also create a WC
164 initial report. Unless requested or prior authorized by the payer in a
specific workers’ compensation claim, no other authorized physician
should complete and bill for the initial WC 164 form. This form shall
include completion of items 1-7 and 10. Note that certain information in
Item 2 (such as Insurer Claim #) may be omitted if not known by the
provider.

Closing Report

The WC164 closing report is required from the authorized treating
physician (generally the designated or selected physician) managing the
total workers’ compensation claim of the patient when the injured worker
is at maximum medical improvement for all injuries or diseases covered
under this workers’ compensation claim, with or without a permanent
impairment. The form requires the completion of items 1-5, 6 b-c, 7, 8
and 10. If the injured worker has sustained a permanent impairment,
then Item 9 must be completed and the following additional information
shall be attached to the bill at the time MMI is determined:

Q) All necessary permanent impairment rating reports when the
authorized treating physician (generally the designated or
selected physician) managing the total workers’ compensation
claim of the patient is Level Il Accredited, or

(2) The name of the Level Il Accredited physician requested to
perform the permanent impairment rating when a rating is
necessary and the authorized treating physician (generally the
designated or selected physician) managing the total workers’
compensation claim of the patient is not determining the
permanent impairment rating.

Payer Requested WC164 Report

If the payer requests a provider complete the WC164 report, the payer
shall pay the provider for the completion and submission of the
completed WC164 report.

Provider Initiated WC164 Report

If a provider wants to use the WC164 report as a progress report or for
any purpose other than those designated in Rule 18-6(G)(2)(a), (b) or
(c), and seeks reimbursement for completion of the form, the provider
shall get prior approval from the payer.

Billing Codes and Maximum Allowance for completion and submission of
WC164 report



3)

(4)

Maximum allowance for the completion and submission of the WC164

Report is:

DoWC Z750 $42.00 Initial Report

DoWwC Z751 $42.00 Progress Report (Payer Requested or
Provider Initiated)

DoWC 7752 $42.00 Closing Report

DoWC 7753 $42.00 Initial and Closing Reports are

completed on the same form for the
same date of service

Request for physicians to complete additional forms sent to them by a payer or
employer shall be paid by the requesting party. A form requiring 15 minutes or
less of a physician’s time shall be billed pursuant to a & b below. Forms
requiring more than 15 minutes shall be paid as a special report.

(@) Billing Code 2754
(b) Maximum fee is $42.00 per form completion
Special Reports

Description: The term special reports includes reports not otherwise addressed
under Rule 16, Utilization Standards, Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines and
Rule 18, including any form, questionnaire or letter with variable content. This
includes, but is not limited to, independent medical evaluations or reviews
performed outside C.R.S. §8-42-107.2 (the Division IME process), and treating or
non-treating medical reviewers or evaluators producing written reports pertaining
to injured workers not otherwise addressed. Special reports also include
payment for meeting, reviewing another’s written record, and amending or
signing that record (see Rule 18-5(1)(7)). Reimbursement for preparation of
special reports or records shall require prior agreement with the requesting

party.

Billable Hours: Because narrative reports may have variable content, the content
and total payment shall be agreed upon by the provider and the report's
requester before the provider begins the report.

Advance Payment: If requested, the provider is entitled to a two hour deposit in
advance in order to schedule any patient exam associated with a special
report.

Cancellation:

Written Reports Only: In cases of cancellation for those special reports
not requiring a scheduled patient exam, the provider shall be paid for the
time s/he has reasonably spent in preparation up to the date of
cancellation. Bill cancellation using code DoWC Z761.

IME/report with patient exam: In cases of special reports requiring a
scheduled patient exam, if the provider is notified of a cancellation at
least seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled patient exam, the



(5)

provider shall be paid for the time s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and shall refund to the party requesting the special report
any portion of an advance payment in excess of time actually spent
preparing. Bill cancellation using code DoWC Z762.

In cases of special reports requiring a scheduled patient exam, if the
provider is notified of a cancellation at least five (5) business days but
less than seven (7) business days prior to the scheduled patient exam,
the provider shall be paid for the time s/he has reasonably spent in
preparation and one-half the time scheduled for the patient exam. Any
portion of a deposit in excess of this amount shall be refunded. Bill
cancellation using code DoWC Z763.

In cases of special reports requiring a scheduled patient exam, if the
provider is notified of a cancellation less than five (5) business days prior
to the scheduled patient exam, the provider shall be paid for the time
s/he has reasonably spent in preparation and has scheduled for the
patient exam. Bill cancellation using code DoWC Z764.

Billing Codes:
Written Report Only DoWC Code: Z755

IME/Report with patient exam DoWC Code: Z756

Lengthy Form Completion DoWwC Code: Z757
18-5(1)(7) meeting and report with
Non-treating Physician DoWC Code: Z758
Special Report Maximum Fees: $325.00 per hour.

Billed in 15- MINUTE increments.

CRS 8-43-404 IME Audio Recording DoWC Code: Z766
$30.00 per exam

CRS 8-43-404 IME Audio copying fee DoWC Code: Z767
$20.00 per copy

Chronic Opioid Management Report

€) When the authorized treating physician prescribes long-term opioid
treatment, s/he shall use the Division of Workers’ Compensation Chronic
Pain Disorder Medical Treatment Guidelines and also review the
Colorado State Board of Medical Examiners’ Policy # 10-14, “Guidelines
for the Use of Controlled Substances for the Treatment of Pain.” Urine
DRUG TESTS for chronic opioid management shall employ testing
methodologies that meet or exceed industry standards for sensitivity,
specificity and accuracy. The test methodology must be capable of
identifying and quantifying the parent compound and relevant
metabolites of the opioid prescribed. In-office screening tests designed
to screen for drugs of abuse are not appropriate for chronic opioid
compliance monitoring.




(b)

Q) Drug testing shall be done prior to the initial long-term drug
prescription being implemented and randomly repeated at least
annually.

(2) When drug screen tests are ordered, the authorized treating
physician shall utilize the Colorado Prescription Drug Monitoring
PROGRAM (PDMP).

3) While the injured worker is receiving chronic opioid
management, additional drug screens with documented
justification may be conducted. Examples of documented
justification include the following:

0] Concern regarding the functional status of the patient
(i) Abnormal results on previous testing

(iii) Change in management of dosage or pain

(iv) CHRONIC daily opioid dosage above 150 mg of morphine

or equivalent

(4) The opioids prescribed for long-term treatment shall be provided
through a pharmacy.

(5) The prescribing authorized treating physician shall review and
integrate the screening results, PDMP, and the injured worker’'s
past and current functional status on the prescribed levels of
medications. A written report will document the treating
physician’s assessment of the patient’s past and current
functional status of work, leisure activities and activities of daily
living competencies.

Codes and maximum fees for the authorized treating physician for a
written report with all the following review services completed and
documented:

1) Ordering and reviewing drug tests

(2) Ordering and reviewing PDMP results

3) Reviewing the medical records

(4) Reviewing the injured workers’ current functional status
(5) Determining what actions, if any, need to be taken

(6) APPROPRIATE CHRONIC PAIN DIAGNOSTIC CODE (ICD).

Bill using code DoWC 2765 $75.00 per 15 minutes
— maximum of 30 minutes per
report
NOTE: THIS CODE IS NOT TO BE USED FOR ACUTE OR SUBACUTE
PAIN MANAGEMENT.



(H) Supplies, Durable Medical Equipment (DME), Orthotics and Prostheses

() Unless otherwise indicated in this rule, minimum payment for supplies shall
reflect the provider’s actual cost with a 20% markup and shipping charges.

(2) Providers may bill supplies, including “Supply et al.,” orthotics, prostheses, DMEs
or drugs, including injectables, using Medicare’s HCPCS Level Il codes at the
Colorado rate. The billing provider is responsible for identifying their cost for the
items they wish to be paid at their cost plus 20% instead of Medicare’s Colorado
HCPCS Level Il maximum fee. This may be done using an advance agreement
between the payer and provider or may be done by furnishing an invoice or their
supplier’s published rate with their bill.

3) Payers may pay using Medicare’s Colorado HCPCS Level Il maximum fee
values for the codes billed unless the provider has indicated that the item(s) is to
be paid at cost plus 20%. The payer may request an invoice or published rate for
any items to be paid at cost plus 20%.

4) If the provider failed to indicate that an item was to be paid at cost plus 20%, and
their cost plus 20% is more than the Medicare Colorado HCPCS Level Il value,
the provider may submit cost information within 60 days following receipt of the
Explanation of Benefits (EOB) and is entitled to at least their cost plus 20%.

(5) Payment for professional services associated with the fabrication and/or
modification of orthotics, custom splints, adaptive equipment, and/or adaptation
and programming of communication systems and devices shall be paid in
accordance with the CoLORADO MEDICARE HCPCS LEVEL Il VALUES.

() Inpatient Hospital Facility Fees
(1) Provider Restrictions

All non-emergency, inpatient admissions require prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

(2 Bills for Services

€) Inpatient hospital facility fees shall be billed on the UB-04 and require
summary level billing by revenue code. The provider must submit
itemized bills along with the UB-04.

(b) The maximum inpatient facility fee is determined by applying the Center
for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) “Medicare Severity Diagnosis
Related Groups” (MS-DRGs) classification system. Exhibit 1 to Rule 18
shows the relative weights per MS-DRGs that are used in calculating the
maximum allowance.

The hospital shall indicate the MS-DRG code number in the remarks
section (form locator 80) of the UB-04 billing form and maintain
documentation on file showing how the MS-DRG was determined. The
hospital shall determine the MS-DRG using the MS-DRGs Definitions
Manual. The attending physician shall not be required to certify this
documentation unless a dispute arises between the hospital and the
payer regarding MS-DRG assignment. The payer may deny payment for
services until the appropriate MS-DRG code is supplied.



3)

(©)

(d)

Exhibit 1 to Rule 18 establishes the maximum length of stay (LOS) using
the “arithmetic mean LOS”. However, no additional allowance for
exceeding this LOS, other than through the cost outlier criteria under
Rule 18-6(1)(3)(d) is allowed.

Any inpatient admission requiring the use of both an acute care hospital
and its Medicare certified rehabilitation facility is considered as one
admission and MS-DRG. This does not apply to long term care and
licensed rehabilitation facilities.

Inpatient Facility Reimbursement:

(@)

(b)

(©)

The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of billed
inpatient charges:

Q) Children’s hospital
(2) Veterans’ Administration hospital
3) State psychiatric hospital

The following types of inpatient facilities are reimbursed at 80% of billed
inpatient charges:

(2) Medicare certified Critical Access Hospital (CAH) (listed in Exhibit

3 of Rule 18)
(2) Medicare certified long-term care hospital
3) Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

(CDPHE) licensed rehabilitation facility, and,
(4) CDPHE licensed psychiatric facilities that are privately owned.
(5) CDPHE licensed skilled nursing facilities (SNF).
All other inpatient facilities are reimbursed as follows:

Retrieve the relative weights for the assigned MS-DRG from the MS-
DRG table in Exhibit 1 to Rule 18 and locate the hospital’'s base rate in
Exhibit 2 to Rule 18.

The “Maximum Fee Allowance” is determined by calculating:

(2) (MS-DRG Relative Wt x Specific hospital base rate x 155%) +

(reimbursement for all “Supply et al.”) + (trauma center activation
allowance)

(2) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2. Reimbursement shall be
consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is responsible
for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items.

3) For trauma center activation allowance, see Rule 18-6(M)(3)(g).



(d)

(€)

(f)

(9)

Outliers are admissions with extraordinary cost warranting additional
reimbursement beyond the maximum allowance under (3) (c) of Rule 18-
6(1). To calculate the additional reimbursement, if any:

(1) Determine the “Hospital's Cost”:

total billed charges (excluding any “Supply et al.” billed charges
and trauma center activation billed charges) multiplied by the
hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio.

(2) Each hospital’s cost-to-charge ratio is given in Exhibit 2 of Rule
18.

3) The “Difference” = “Hospital’s Cost” — “Maximum Fee Allowance”
excluding any “Supply et al.” allowance and trauma center
activation allowance (see (c) above)

4) If the “Difference” is greater than $25,800.00, additional
reimbursement is warranted. The additional reimbursement is
determined by the following equation:

“Difference” x .80 = additional fee allowance
Inpatient combined with ERD or Trauma Center reimbursement

(1) If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital, the ERD
reimbursement is included in the inpatient reimbursement under 18-6

(H(3),

(2) Except, Trauma Center activation fees (see 18-6(M)(3)(g)) are paid
in addition to inpatient fees (18-6(1)(3)(c-d)).

If an injured worker is admitted to one hospital and is subsequently
transferred to another hospital, the payment to the transferring hospital
will be based upon a per diem value of the MS-DRG maximum value.
The per diem value is calculated based upon the transferring hospital's
MS-DRG relative weight multiplied by the hospital’s specific base rate
(Exhibit 2 to Rule 18) divided by the MS-DRG geometric mean length of
stay (Exhibit 1 to Rule 18). This per diem amount is multiplied by the
actual LOS. If the patient is admitted and transferred on the same day,
the actual LOS equals one (1). The receiving hospital shall receive the
appropriate MS-DRG maximum value.

To comply with Rule 16-6(B), the payer shall compare each billed charge
type:

o] The MS-DRG adjusted billed charges to the MS-DRG allowance
(including any outlier allowance),

o] "Supply et al." billed charges to the "Supply et al." allowance
[cost + 20%], and

o] The trauma center activation billed charge to the trauma center
activation allowance.



The MS-DRG adjusted billed charges are determined by subtracting the
"Supply et al." billed charges and the trauma center activation billed
charges from the total billed charges. The final payment is the sum of
the lesser of each of these comparisons.

J) Scheduled Outpatient Surgery Facility Fees

1)

()

3)

Provider Restrictions

(@)

(b)

All non-emergency outpatient surgeries require prior authorization for
payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

A separate facility fee is only payable if the facility is licensed by the
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) as:

Q) a hospital; or

(2) an Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC).

Bills for Services

(@)

(b)

()

Outpatient facility fees shall be billed on the UB-04 and require summary

level billing by revenue code. The provider must submit itemized bills
along with the UB-04.

All professional charges are subject to the RVP© and Dental Fee
Schedules as incorporated by Rule 18.

ASCs and hospitals shall bill using the surgical RVP© code(s) as
indicated by the surgeon’s operative note up to a maximum of four
surgery codes per surgical episode.

Outpatient Surgery Facility Reimbursement:

(@)

(b)

()

The following types of outpatient facilities are reimbursed at 100% of
billed outpatient charges:

Q) Children’s hospital
(2) Veterans’ Administration hospital
3 State psychiatric hospital

CAHs, listed in Exhibit 3 of Rule 18, are to be reimbursed at 80% of billed
charges.

All other outpatient surgery facilities are reimbursed based on Exhibit 4 of
this Rule 18. Exhibit 4 lists Medicare’s Outpatient Hospital Ambulatory
Prospective Payment Codes (APC) with the Division’s values for each
APC code. Grouper code 210, found in Exhibit 4, was DoWC created to
reimburse RVPO spinal fusion codes not listed in Medicare's Revised
January 2010 Update to reflect Affordable Care Act
05/18/2010- Addendum B [PDF, 961KB] (REVISED ADDENDUM B).



http://www.cms.gov/apps/ama/license.asp?file=/hospitaloutpatientpps/downloads/2010RevisedWebJanuary_AddB_05.17.10.zip
http://www.cms.gov/apps/ama/license.asp?file=/hospitaloutpatientpps/downloads/2010RevisedWebJanuary_AddB_05.17.10.zip
http://www.cms.gov/apps/ama/license.asp?file=/hospitaloutpatientpps/downloads/2010RevisedWebJanuary_AddB_05.17.10.zip

The surgical procedure codes are classified by APC code in Medicare’s
REvISED Addendum B. This Addendum B should be used to determine
the APC code payable under the Division’s Exhibit 4. However, not
every surgical code listed under ReEvISED Addendum B warrants a
separate facility fee.

The ReviseD Addendum B can be accessed at Medicare’s Hospital
Outpatient PPS website.

Total maximum facility value for an outpatient surgical episode of care
includes the sum of:

(1)

(@)

3)

The highest valued APC code per Exhibit 4 plus 50% of any
lesser-valued APC code values.

Multiple procedures and bilateral procedures are to be indicated
by the use of modifiers —51 and —50, respectively. The 50%
reduction applies to all lower valued procedures, even if they are
identified in the RVP© as modifier -51 exempt. The reduction
also applies to the second "primary" procedure of bilateral
procedures.

The surgery discogram procedure (APC 388) value is for all
levels and includes conscious sedation and the technical
component of the radiological procedure.

Facility fee reimbursement is limited to a maximum of four
surgical procedures per surgical episode with a maximum of only
one procedure reimbursed at 100% of the allowed value.

If an arthroscopic procedure is converted to an open procedure
on the same joint, only the open procedure is payable. If an
arthroscopic procedure and open procedure are performed on
different joints, the two procedures may be separately payable
with anatomic modifiers.

When reported in conjunction with other knee arthroscopy codes,
any combination of surgical knee arthroscopies for removal of
loose body, foreign body, and/or debridement/shaving of articular
cartilage shall be paid only if performed in a different
compartment of the knee; and

“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2. Reimbursement shall be
consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is responsible
for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items; and

Diagnostic testing and preoperative labs may be reimbursed by
applying the appropriate CF to the unit values for the specific
CPT® code as listed in the RVP.

However, diagnostic testing and preoperative labs shall be
reimbursed according to Exhibit #4 when it lists a dollar value
greater than zero. Other services with non-zero Exhibit #4
values, such as cardiac and dialysis procedures, shall also be
reimbursed according to Exhibit #4. Use Medicare’'s REVISED



(d)

Addendum B to link Exhibit #4 APC Grouper numbers to CPT®
codes.

CPT® radiological procedure codes (hot the injection codes) are
to be used for all venograms, arthrograms and myelograms; and

(4) Observation room maximum allowance is limited to 6 hours
without prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-
10). Documentation should support the medical necessity for
observation or convalescent care. Observation time begins
when the patient is placed in a bed for the purpose of initiating
observation care in accordance with the physician’s order.
Observation or daily outpatient convalescence time ends when
the patient is actually discharged from the hospital or ASC or
admitted into a licensed facility for an inpatient stay. Observation
time would not include the time patients remain in the
observation area after treatment is finished for reasons such as
waiting for transportation home. Hospital or convalescence
licensure is required for billing observation or convalescence
time beyond 23 hours.

Billing Codes:

G0378 Observation/Convalescence rate: $45.00 per hour
rounded to the nearest hour.

(5) Additional reimbursement is payable for the following services
not included in the values found in Exhibit 4 of Rule 18:

e ambulance services
e blood, blood plasma, platelets

In rare cases, a reasonable facility fee may be paid when an outpatient
surgical procedure poses a significant risk to the injured worker if
performed in a lesser facility, even if the procedure:

e Has a zero dollar value in Exhibit 4, and/or

e Cannot be assigned to an APC Grouper based on Medicare’s
REVISED Addendum B.

Once the risk to the injured worker has been provided in writing and the
payer has agreed or it is ordered that this procedure may occur in the
facility, a reasonable dollar value shall be determined by using a similar
procedure code (if the exact code cannot be used) that can be assigned
under Exhibit 4 or under Medicare’s REvISED Addendum B. If a value
does not exist in Exhibit 4, then the APC dollar value from Medicare’s
REVISED Addendum B WITH REDUCTIONS FOR “SUPPLY ET AL.” is multiplied
by 160%. The services normally included in Exhibit 4 values shall be
included in this reimbursement value, and the services allowed as
additional reimbursement under Rule 18-6 (J)(3)(c)(2)-(5) would be
allowed.



(e)

(f)

(9)

Discontinued surgeries require the use of modifier -73 (discontinued prior
to administration of anesthesia) or modifier -74 (discontinued after
administration of anesthesia). Modifier -73 results in a reimbursement of
50% of the APC value for the primary procedure only. Modifier -74
allows reimbursement of 100% of the primary procedure value only.

All surgical procedures performed in one operating room, regardless of
the number of surgeons, are considered one outpatient surgical episode
of care for purposes of facility fee reimbursement.

In compliance with Rule 16-6(B), the sum of Rule 18-6(J)(3)(c)(1-5) is
compared to the total facility fee billed charges. The lesser of the two
amounts shall be the maximum facility allowance for the surgical episode
of care. A line by line comparison of billed charges to the calculated
maximum fee schedule allowance of 18-6(J)(3)(c) is not appropriate.

(K) Outpatient Diagnostic Testing and Clinic Facility Fees

(1)

(2)

Bills for Services

All providers shall indicate whether they are billing for the total, professional only
or technical only component of a diagnostic test by listing the appropriate RVP©
modifier on the UB-04 or CMS 1500 (08-05).

Reimbursement

(@)

(b)

()

The following types of outpatient diagnostic testing and clinic facilities are
reimbursed at 100% of billed charges:

Q) Children’s hospitals,
(2) Veterans’ Administration hospitals
3) State psychiatric hospitals

Rural health facilities listed in Exhibit 5 are reimbursed at 80% of billed
charges for clinic visits, diagnostic testing, and supplies and drugs that
do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold.

“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall be
consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is responsible for
identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items.

All other facilities:

Q) No separate allowance for clinic visit fees. Supplies are
reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H).

(2) No separate facility fee allowance for diagnostic testing. Facility
fees for diagnostic testing are considered part of the procedure’s
technical component value except when there is a non-zero
value listed in Exhibit 4 for the diagnostic test. Outpatient
diagnostic testing is reimbursed using the RVP© code unit value,
except when there is a hon-zero value listed in Exhibit 4, in



(d)

which case that value is used. Dyes and contrasts may be
reimbursed ACCORDING TO RULE 18-6(H).

3) “Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall
be consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is
responsible for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items.

Any prescription for a drug supply to be used longer than a 24 hour
period, filled at any clinic, shall fall under the requirements of and be
reimbursed as, a pharmacy fee. See Rule 18-6(0).

(L) Outpatient Urgent Care Facility Fees

Q) Provider Restrictions:

(@)

(b)

Prior agreement or authorization is recommended for all facilities billing a
separate Urgent Care fee. Facilities must provide documentation of the
required urgent care facility criteria if requested by the payer.

Urgent care facility fees are only payable if the facility qualifies as an
Urgent Care facility. Facilities licensed by the CDPHE as a Community
Clinic (CC) or a Community Clinic and Emergency Center (CCEC) under
6 CCR 1011-1, Chapter IX, should still provide evidence of these
qualifications to be reimbursed as an Urgent Care facility. The facility
shall meet all of the following criteria to be eligible for a separate Urgent
Care facility fee:

Q) Separate facility dedicated to providing initial walk-in urgent care;
(2 Access without appointment during all operating hours;

) State licensed physician on-site at all times exclusively to
evaluate walk-in patients;

(4) Support staff dedicated to urgent walk-in visits with certifications
in Basic Life Support (BLS);

(5) Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certified life support
capabilities to stabilize emergencies including, but not limited to,
EKG, defibrillator, oxygen and respiratory support equipment (full
crash cart), etc.;

(6) Ambulance access;

@) Professional staff on-site at the facility certified in ACLS;

(8) Extended hours including evening and some weekend hours;

(9) Basic X-ray availability on-site during all operating hours;

(10) Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) certified

laboratory on-site for basic diagnostic labs or ability to obtain
basic laboratory results within 1 hour;



(@)

3)

(©)

(d)

(11) Capabilities include, but are not limited to, suturing, minor
procedures, splinting, IV medications and hydration;

(12) Written procedures exist for the facility’s stabilization and
transport processes.

No separate facility fees are allowed for follow-up care. Subsequent care
for an initial diagnosis does not qualify for a separate facility fee. To
receive another facility fee any subsequent diagnosis shall be a new
acute care situation entirely different from the initial diagnosis.

No facility fee is appropriate when the injured worker is sent to the
employer's designated provider for a non-urgent episode of care during
regular business hours of 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.

Bills for Services

(@)
(b)

Urgent care facility fees may be billed on a CMS 1500 (08-05).

Urgent care facility fees shall be billed using HCPCS Level Il code:
S9088 — “Services provided in an Urgent care facility.”

Urgent Care Reimbursement

The total maximum value for an urgent care episode of care includes the sum of:

(@)
(b)

(©)

(d)

()

An Urgent Care Facility fee maximum allowance of $75.00; and

“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall be
consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is responsible for
identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items.

Supplies and drugs that do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold and
treatment rooms are included in the Urgent Care facility maximum fees;
and

All diagnostic testing, laboratory services and therapeutic services
(including, but not limited to, radiology, pathology, respiratory therapy,
physical therapy or occupational therapy) shall be reimbursed by
multiplying the appropriate CF by the unit value for the specific CPT®
code as listed in the RVP© and Rule 18; and

The Observation Room allowance shall not exceed a rate of $45.00 per
hour and is limited to a maximum of 3 hours without prior authorization
for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

In compliance with Rule 16-6 (B), the sum of all Urgent Care fees
charged, less any amounts charged for professional fees or dispensed
prescriptions per Rule 18-6(L)(4) found on the same bill, is to be
compared to the maximum reimbursement allowed by the calculated
value of Rule 18-6(L)(3)(a-d). The lesser of the two amounts shall be the
maximum facility allowance for the episode of urgent care. A line by line
comparison is not appropriate.



(M)

(4)

Any prescription for a drug supply to be used longer than a 24 hour period, filled
at any Urgent Care facility, shall fall under the requirements of, and be
reimbursed as, a pharmacy fee. See Rule 18-6(0).

Outpatient Emergency Room Department (ERD) Facility Fees

1)

)

3)

Provider Restrictions

To be reimbursed under this section (M), all outpatient ERDs within Colorado
must be physically located within a hospital licensed by the CDPHE as a general
hospital, or if free-standing ERD, must have equivalent operations as a licensed
ERD. To be paid as an ERD, out-of-state facilities shall meet that state’s
licensure requirements.

Bills For Services

(@)

(b)

ERD facility fees shall be billed on the UB-04 and require summary level
billing by revenue code. The provider must submit itemized bills along
with the UB-04.

Documentation should support the “Level of Care” being billed.

ERD Reimbursement

(@)

(b)

()

(d)

The following types of facilities are reimbursed at 100% of billed ERD
charges:

(2) Children’s hospitals
(2) Veterans’ Administration hospitals
3) State psychiatric hospitals

Medicare certified Critical Access Hospitals (CAH) (listed in Exhibit 3 of
Rule 18) are reimbursed at 80% of billed charges.

The ERD “Level of Care” is identified based upon one of five levels of
care. The level of care is defined by CPT® E&M definitions and internal
level of care guidelines developed by the hospital in compliance with
Medicare regulations. The hospital’'s guidelines should establish an
appropriate graduation of hospital resources (ERD staff and other
resources) as the level of service increases. Upon request the provider
shall supply a copy of their level of care guidelines to the payer.

Total maximum value for an ERD episode of care includes the sum of the
following:

Q) ERD reimbursement amount for “Level of Care” points:
ERD Reimbursement
Level

1 $ 160.00

2 $ 360.00



(e)

(f)

(9)

3 $ 620.00

4 $ 870.00
5 $ 1,640.00
Critical Care $ 1,640.00

(Only the higher one of any ERD Levels or critical care codes shall be
paid)

and

(2) All diagnostic testing, laboratory services and therapeutic
services not included in the hospital’s point system (including,
but not limited to, radiology, pathology, any respiratory therapy,
PT or OT) shall be reimbursed by the appropriate CF multiplied
by the unit value for the specific code as listed in the RVP© and
Rule 18; and

3) The observation room allowance shall not exceed a rate of
$45.00 per hour and is limited to a maximum of 3 hours without
prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10). The
documentation should support the medical necessity for
observation; and

4) ERD level of care maximum fees include supplies and drugs that
do not meet the “Supply et al.” threshold and treatment rooms.
“Supply et al.” is defined in Rule 16-2 and reimbursement shall
be consistent with Rule 18-6(H). The billing provider is
responsible for identifying and itemizing all “Supply et al.” items.

For the purposes of Rule 16-6 (B), the sum of all outpatient ERD fees
charged, less any amounts charged for professional fees found on the
same bill, is to be compared to the maximum reimbursement allowed by
the calculated value of Rule 18-6(M)(3)(d). The lesser of the two
amounts shall be the maximum facility allowance for the ERD episode of
care. A line by line comparison is not appropriate.

If an injured worker is admitted to the hospital through that hospital's
ERD, the ERD reimbursement is included in the inpatient reimbursement
under 18-6(1)(3).

Trauma Center fees are not paid for alerts. Activation fees are as
follows:

Level | $3,000.00
Level Il $2,500.00
Level llI $1,000.00
Level IV $00.00

(1) These fees are in addition to ERD and inpatient fees.



(N)

(2) Activation fees mean a trauma team has been activated, not just
alerted.

3) The level of trauma activation shall be determined by CDPHE’s
assigned hospital trauma level designation.

Home Therapy

Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) is required for all home
therapy. The payer and the home health entity should agree in writing on the type of
care, skill level of provider, frequency of care and duration of care at each visit, and any
financial arrangements to prevent disputes.

Q) Home Infusion Therapy

The per diem rates for home infusion therapy shall include the initial patient
evaluation, education, coordination of care, products, equipment, IV
administration sets, supplies, supply management, and delivery services.
Nursing fees should be billed as indicated in Rule 18-6(N)(2).

€) Parenteral Nutrition:
0 -1 liter $140.00/day
1.1-2.0 liter $200.00/day
2.1-3.0 liter $260.00/day

(b) Antibiotic Therapy:
$105.00/day + Average Wholesale Price (AWP) (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14))
(c) Chemotherapy:

$ 85.00/day + AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14))

(d) Enteral nutrition:
Category | $ 43.00/day
Category Il $ 41.00/day
Category I $ 52.00/day

(e) Pain Management: $ 95.00/day + AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14))
() Fluid Replacement: $ 70.00/day + AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14))
(9) Multiple Therapies:

Rate per day for highest cost therapy only + AWP (SEE RULE 18-
6(0)(14)) for all drugs



(0)

(@)

3)

(4)

(5)

Medication/Drug Restrictions - the payment for drugs may be based upon the
AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14)) of the drug as determined through the use of
industry publications such as the monthly Price Alert, First Databank, Inc.
Nursing Services
DoWC Z770  Skilled Nursing (LPN & RN)

$95.79 per hour

There is a limit of 2 hours without prior authorization for payment (see
Rule 16-9 and 16-10).

DoWC Z771 Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA):
$31.67 per hour for the first hour per trip to injured worker;

$ 9.46 for each additional half hour. Service must be at least 15 minutes
to bill an additional half hour charge.

The amount of time spent with the injured worker must be specified in
the medical records and on the bill.

Physical Medicine

Physical medicine procedures are payable at the same rate as provided
in the physical medicine and rehabilitation services section of Rule 18.

Mileage

Travel allowances should be agreed upon with the payer and the
mileage rate should not exceed $0.47 per mile, portal to portal.

DoWC code:  Z772

Travel Time
Travel is typically included in the fees listed. Travel time greater than 1
hr. one-way shall be reimbursed. The fee shall be agreed upon at the
time of prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10) and

shall not exceed $30.00 per hour.

DoWC code: 2773

Pharmacy Fees

)
(2)
3)

(4)

AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14)) + $4.00
All bills shall reflect the National Drug Code (NDC)

All prescriptions shall be filled with bio-equivalent generic drugs unless the
physician indicates "Dispense As Written" (DAW) on the prescription

The above formula applies to both brand name and generic drugs



(5)
(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

(12)

(13)

The provider shall dispense no more than a 60-day supply per prescription

A line-by-line itemization of each drug billed and the payment for that drug shall
be made on the payment voucher by the payer

AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14)) for brand name and generic pharmaceuticals may
be determined through the use of such monthly publications as Price Alert, First
Databank, Inc., Red Book, Medispan. In case of a dispute on AWP values, the
parties should take the average of their referenced published values.
Compounding Pharmacies

Reimbursement for compounding pharmacies shall be based on the cost of the
materials plus 20%, $50.00 per hour for the pharmacist’'s documented time, and
actual cost of any mailing & handling.

Bill Code:

DoWC Z790 Materials, mailing, handling

DoWC Z791 Pharmacist $50.00/hr

Injured Worker Reimbursement

In the event the injured worker has directly paid for authorized prescriptions, the
payer shall reimburse the injured worker for the amounts actually paid within
thirty (30) days after receipt of the bill. See Rule 16-11(G).

Dietary Supplements, Vitamins and Herbal Medicines

Reimbursement for outpatient dietary supplements, vitamins and herbal
medicines dispensed in conjunction with acupuncture and complementary
alternative medicine are authorized only by prior agreement of the payer, except
if specifically supported by Rule 17.

Prescription Writing

Physicians shall indicate on the prescription form that the medication is related to
a workers’ compensation claim.

Provider Reimbursement

Provider offices that prescribe and dispense medications from their office have a
maximum allowance of AWP (SEE RULE 18-6(0)(14)) plus $4.00.

All medications administered in the course of the provider’s care shall be
reimbursed at actual cost incurred.

Required Billing Forms
€)) All parties shall use one of the following forms:

() CMS 1500 (08-05) (formerly CMS 1500) — the dispensing
provider shall bill by using the RVP® supply code and shall



(P)

Q)

include the metric quantity and NDC number of the drug being
dispensed; or

(2) WC -M4 form or equivalent — each item on the form shall be
completed, or

3) With the agreement of the payer, the National Council for
Prescription Drug Programs (NCPDP) or ANSI ASC 837
(American National Standards Institute Accredited Standards
Committee) electronic billing transaction containing the same
information as in (1) or (2) in this sub-section may be used for
billing.

(b) Items prescribed for the work-related injury that do not have an NDC
code shall be billed as a supply, using the RVP®© supply code.

(c) The payer may return any prescription billing form if the information is
incomplete.

(d) A signature shall be kept on file indicating that the patient or his/her
authorized representative has received the prescription.

(14) IF AVERAGE WHOLESALE PRICE (AWP) CEASES, SUBSTITUTE WHOLESALE ACQUISITION
CosT (WAC) + 20% FOR AWP EVERYWHERE IT IS FOUND IN THIS RULE.

Complementary Alternative Medicine (CAM) (Requires prior authorization for payment
(see Rule 16-9 and 16-10)

CAM is a term used to describe a broad range of treatment modalities, some of which are
generally accepted in the medical community and others that remain outside the
accepted practice of conventional western medicine. Providers of CAM may be both
licensed and non-licensed health practitioners with training in one or more forms of
therapy. Refer to Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines for the specific types of CAM
modalities.

Acupuncture

Acupuncture is an accepted procedure for the relief of pain and tissue inflammation.
While commonly used for treatment of pain, it may also be used as an adjunct to physical
rehabilitation and/or surgery to hasten return of functional recovery. Acupuncture may be
performed with or without the use of electrical current on the needles at the acupuncture
site.

Q) Provider Restrictions
All providers must be Registered Acupuncturists (LAc) or certified by an existing
licensing board as provided in Rule 16, Utilization Standards, and must provide
evidence of training, registration and/or certification upon request of the payer.
(2 Billing Restrictions
(a). For treatment frequencies exceeding the maximum allowed in Rule 17

Medical Treatment Guidelines, the provider must obtain prior
authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10).
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(b) Unless the provider's medical records reflect medical necessity and the
provider obtains prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-
10), the maximum amount of time allowed for acupuncture and
procedures is one hour of procedures, per day, per discipline.

3) Billing Codes:

(a) Reimburse acupuncture, including or not including electrical stimulation,
as listed in the RVP®.

(b) Non-Physician evaluation services

Q) New or established patient services are reimbursable only if the
medical record specifies the appropriate history, physical
examination, treatment plan or evaluation of the treatment plan.
Payers are only required to pay for evaluation services directly
performed by an LAc. All evaluation notes or reports must be
written and signed by the LAc. Without appropriate supporting
documentation, the payer may deny payment. (See Rule 16-11)

(2) LAc new patient visit:

DoWC 7800 Maximum value $94.40
3) LAc established patient visit:

DoWC 7801 Maximum value $63.72

(c) Herbs require prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and 16-10)
and fee agreements as in this Rule 18-6(0)(10);

(d) See the appropriate physical medicine and rehabilitation section of the
RVP® for other billing codes and limitations (see also Rule 18-5(H)).

(e) Acupuncture supplies are reimbursed in accordance with Rule 18-6(H).
(R) Use of an Interpreter

Rates and terms shall be negotiated. Prior authorization for payment (see Rule 16-9 and
16-10) is required except for emergency treatment. Use DoWC Z722 to hill.

DENTAL FEE SCHEDULE

The dental schedule is adopted using the American Dental Association’s Current Dental
Terminology, 2009-2010 (CDT-2009-2010). However, surgical treatment for dental trauma and
subsequent, related procedures may be billed using medical codes from the RVP®©. If billed
using medical codes as listed in the RVP© , reimbursement shall be in accordance with the
Surgery/Anesthesia section of the RVP®© and its corresponding conversion factor. All dental
billing and reimbursement shall be in accordance with the Division's Rule 16, Utilization
Standards, and Rule 17, Medical Treatment Guidelines. See Exhibit 6 for the listing and
maximum allowance for CDT-2009-2010 dental codes.

Regarding prosthetic appliances, the provider may bill and be reimbursed for 50% of the allowed
fee at the time the master casts are prepared for removable prosthodontics or the final



impressions are taken for fixed prosthodontics. The remaining 50% may be billed on insertion of
the final prosthesis.



Exhibit 6
Effective January 1, 2011

Dental Fee Schedule

CDT- 2011 Fees CDT- 2011 Fees CDT- 2011 Fees
2009/2010 2009/2010 2009/2010

D0120 $58.00 D0477 $172.20 D2510 $1,045.00
D0140 $97.00 D0478 $141.00 D2520 $1,186.00
D0145 $90.00 D0479 $215.00 D2530 $1,367.00
D0150 $102.00 D0480 $133.00 D2542 $1,340.00
D0160 $205.00 D0481 $741.30 D2543 $1,402.00
D0170 $68.00 D0482 $166.00 D2544 $1,458.00
D0180 $111.00 D0483 $166.00 D2610 $1,230.00
D0210 $161.70 D0484 $266.70 D2620 $1,298.00
D0220 $32.55 D0485 $343.00 D2630 $1,383.00
D0230 $29.40 D0486 #N/A D2642 $1,344.00
D0240 $50.40 D0502 BR D2643 $1,449.00
D0250 $61.95 D0999 BR D2644 $1,537.00
D0260 $56.70 D1110 $103.95 D2650 $808.00
D0270 $33.60 D1120 $72.45 D2651 $963.00
D0272 $54.60 D1203 $42.00 D2652 $1,012.00
D0273 $66.15 D1204 $39.00 D2662 $878.00
D0274 $76.65 D1206 $63.00 D2663 $1,033.00
D0277 $115.50 D1310 $61.00 D2664 $1,107.00
D0290 $189.00 D1320 $67.00 D2710 $542.85
D0310 $480.90 D1330 $84.00 D2712 $542.85
D0320 $819.00 D1351 $68.00 D2720 $1,337.70
D0321 BR D1510 $435.00 D2721 $1,253.70
D0322 $661.50 D1515 $609.00 D2722 $1,281.00
D0330 $143.00 D1520 $479.00 D2740 $1,372.35
D0340 $161.00 D1525 $740.00 D2750 $1,354.50
D0350 $77.00 D1550 $94.00 D2751 $1,261.05
D0360 $922.00 D1555 $90.00 D2752 $1,291.50
D0362 $737.00 D2140 $226.80 D2780 $1,298.85
D0363 $768.00 D2150 $292.95 D2781 $1,222.20
D0415 $48.00 D2160 $354.90 D2782 $1,262.10
D0416 $70.00 D2161 $432.60 D2783 $1,335.60
D0417 $65.00 D2330 $206.85 D2790 $1,306.20
D0418 $66.00 D2331 $264.60 D2791 $1,237.95
D0421 $48.00 D2332 $323.40 D2792 $1,261.05
D0425 $41.00 D2335 $383.25 D2794 $1,337.70
D0431 $66.00 D2390 $424.20 D2799 $542.85
D0460 $66.00 D2391 $242.55 D2910 $123.90
D0470 $145.00 D2392 $318.15 D2915 $123.90
D0472 $92.40 D2393 $394.80 D2920 $124.95
D0473 $192.00 D2394 $484.05 D2930 $341.25
D0474 $217.35 D2410 $395.00 D2931 $386.40
D0475 $142.80 D2420 $659.00 D2932 $411.60

D0476 $142.80 D2430 $1,142.00 D2933 $471.45



CDT- 2011 Fees CDT- 2011 Fees CDT- 2011 Fees

2009/2010 2009/2010 2009/2010

D2934 $471.45 D3999 BR D5510 $237.30
D2940 $130.20 D4210 $1,003.80 D5520 $183.75
D2950 $325.50 D4211 $434.00 D5610 $239.40
D2951 $73.50 D4230 $1,496.25 D5620 $273.00
D2952 $514.50 D4231 $947.10 D5630 $312.90
D2953 $257.25 D4240 $1,236.00 D5640 $202.65
D2954 $411.60 D4241 $770.70 D5650 $276.15
D2955 $317.10 D4245 $911.00 D5660 $330.75
D2957 $205.80 D4249 $1,356.00 D5670 $869.40
D2960 $995.40 D4260 $2,060.00 D5671 $869.40
D2961 $1,128.75 D4261 $1,106.00 D5710 $817.95
D2962 $1,226.40 D4263 $737.00 D5711 $781.20
D2970 $308.70 D4264 $629.00 D5720 $771.75
D2971 $197.40 D4265 BR D5721 $771.75
D2975 $600.60 D4266 $759.00 D5730 $460.95
D2980 BR D4267 $976.00 D5731 $460.95
D2999 BR D4268 BR D5740 $423.15
D3110 $113.00 D4270 $1,464.00 D5741 $423.15
D3120 $91.00 D4271 $1,518.00 D5750 $615.30
D3220 $232.00 D4273 $1,789.00 D5751 $615.30
D3221 $255.00 D4274 $1,015.00 D5760 $606.90
D3222 $236.00 D4275 $1,345.00 D5761 $606.90
D3230 $265.65 D4276 $2,006.00 D5810 $974.40
D3240 $327.60 D4320 $540.75 D5811 $1,047.90
D3310 $1,042.65 D4321 $547.05 D5820 $753.90
D3320 $1,277.85 D4341 $311.85 D5821 $799.05
D3330 $1,584.45 D4342 $187.95 D5850 $193.20
D3331 $408.45 D4355 $213.15 D5851 $193.20
D3332 $777.00 D4381 BR D5860 BR

D3333 $358.05 D4910 $192.15 D5861 BR

D3346 $1,390.20 D4920 $139.65 D5862 BR

D3347 $1,635.90 D4999 BR D5867 BR

D3348 $2,024.40 D5110 $2,013.90 D5875 BR

D3351 $836.85 D5120 $2,013.90 D5899 BR

D3352 $374.85 D5130 $2,195.55 D5911 $511.35
D3353 $1,153.95 D5140 $2,195.55 D5912 $511.35
D3410 $1,659.00 D5211 $1,699.95 D5913 $10,757.25
D3421 $1,846.95 D5212 $1,975.05 D5914 $10,757.25
D3425 $2,091.60 D5213 $2,394.00 D5915 $14,558.25
D3426 $706.65 D5214 $2,224.95 D5916 $3,882.90
D3430 $519.75 D5225 $1,699.95 D5919 BR

D3450 $1,081.50 D5226 $1,975.05 D5922 BR

D3460 $4,039.35 D5281 $1,297.80 D5923 BR

D3470 $2,063.25 D5410 $110.25 D5924 BR

D3910 $288.75 D5411 $110.25 D5925 BR

D3920 $822.15 D5421 $110.25 D5926 BR

D3950 $374.85 D5422 $110.25 D5927 BR



CDT-
2009/2010

D5928
D5929
D5931
D5932
D5933
D5934
D5935
D5936
D5937
D5951
D5952
D5953
D5954
D5955
D5958
D5959
D5960
D5982
D5983
D5984
D5985
D5986
D5987
D5988
D5991
D5999
D6010
D6012
D6040
D6050
D6053
D6054
D6055
D6056
D6057
D6058
D6059
D6060
D6061
D6062
D6063
D6064
D6065
D6066
D6067
D6068
D6069

2011 Fees

BR
BR
$5,791.80
$10,832.85
BR
$9,873.15
$8,591.10
$9,649.50
$1,212.75
$1,577.10
$5,119.80
$9,723.00
$9,010.05
$8,333.85
BR
BR
BR
$862.05
$2,087.40
$2,087.40
$2,087.40
$183.75
$3,133.20
$536.00
$206.00
BR
$3,364.20
$3,179.40
$12,455.10
$8,637.30
$2,511.60
$2,511.60
$1,011.15
$698.25
$864.15
$1,937.25
$2,055.90
$1,943.55
$1,982.40
$1,975.05
$1,695.75
$1,796.55
$1,905.75
$1,997.10
$1,937.25
$1,920.45
$2,055.90

CDT-
2009/2010

D6070
D6071
D6072
D6073
D6074
D6075
D6076
D6077
D6078
D6079
D6080
D6090
D6091
D6092
D6093
D6094
D6095
D6100
D6190
D6194
D6199
D6205
D6210
D6211
D6212
D6214
D6240
D6241
D6242
D6245
D6250
D6251
D6252
D6253
D6545
D6548
D6600
D6601
D6602
D6603
D6604
D6605
D6606
D6607
D6608
D6609
D6610

2011 Fees

$1,943.55
$1,842.75
$2,024.40
$1,832.25
$1,810.20
$1,905.75
$1,997.10
$1,937.25
BR
BR
$158.55
BR
$762.30
$149.10
$233.10
$1,630.65
BR
BR
$340.20
$1,562.40
BR
$877.80
$1,341.90
$1,256.85
$1,308.30
$1,350.30
$1,325.10
$1,223.25
$1,290.45
$1,367.10
$1,308.30
$1,206.45
$1,245.30
$563.85
$527.10
$547.05
$1,024.80
$1,094.10
$1,118.25
$1,230.60
$1,096.20
$1,161.30
$1,078.35
$1,197.00
$1,072.05
$1,170.75
$1,206.45

CDT-
2009/2010

D6611
D6612
D6613
D6614
D6615
D6624
D6634
D6710
D6720
D6721
D6722
D6740
D6750
D6751
D6752
D6780
D6781
D6782
D6783
D6790
D6791
D6792
D6793
D6794
D6920
D6930
D6940
D6950
D6970
D6972
D6973
D6975
D6976
D6977
D6980
D6985
D6999
D7111
D7140
D7210
D7220
D7230
D7240
D7241
D7250
D7260
D7261

2011 Fees

$1,319.85
$1,200.15
$1,254.75
$1,173.90
$1,221.15
$1,118.25
$1,173.90
$1,129.80
$1,398.60
$1,326.15
$1,350.30
$1,386.00
$1,431.15
$1,335.60
$1,368.15
$1,350.30
$1,272.60
$1,350.30
$1,310.40
$1,381.80
$1,310.40
$1,357.65
$534.45
$1,357.65
$363.30
$212.10
$480.90
$928.20
$585.90
$476.70
$383.25
$1,029.00
$273.00
$242.55
BR
$807.45
BR
$198.45
$263.55
$350.70
$439.95
$585.90
$687.75
$864.15
$370.65
$2,748.90
$910.00



CDT-
2009/2010

D7270
D7272
D7280
D7282
D7283
D7285
D7286
D7287
D7288
D7290
D7291
D7292
D7293
D7294
D7310
D7311
D7320
D7321
D7340
D7350
D7410
D7411
D7412
D7413
D7414
D7415
D7440
D7441
D7450
D7451
D7460
D7461
D7465
D7471
D7472
D7473
D7485
D7490
D7510
D7511
D7520
D7521
D7530
D7540
D7550
D7560
D7610

2011 Fees

$683.00
$910.00
$637.00
$319.00
$273.00
$1,274.00
$546.00
$218.00
$218.00
$546.00
$403.20
$874.00
$546.00
$455.00
$473.00
$414.00
$769.00
$651.00
$3,254.00
$9,466.00
$1,420.00
$2,248.00
$2,485.00
$1,657.00
$2,485.00
$2,781.00
$2,248.00
$3,313.00
$1,420.00
$1,941.00
$1,420.00
$1,941.00
$769.00
$1,758.00
$2,090.00
#N/A
#N/A
$14,199.00
$509.00
$769.00
$2,423.00
$2,662.00
$873.00
$968.00
$603.00
$4,792.00
$7,750.00

CDT-
2009/2010

D7620
D7630
D7640
D7650
D7660
D7670
D7671
D7680
D7710
D7720
D7730
D7740
D7750
D7760
D7770
D7771
D7780
D7810
D7820
D7830
D7840
D7850
D7852
D7854
D7856
D7858
D7860
D7865
D7870
D7871
D7872
D7873
D7874
D7875
D7876
D7877
D7880
D7899
D7910
D7911
D7912
D7920
D7940
D7941
D7943
D7944
D7945

2011 Fees

$5,812.00
$10,077.00
$6,394.00
$4,844.00
$2,856.00
$2,229.00
$4,201.00
$14,533.00
$9,109.00
$6,394.00
$13,177.00
$6,520.00
$8,292.00
$3,327.00
$4,508.00
$3,479.00
$19,377.00
$8,524.00
$1,396.00
$800.00
$11,620.00
$10,034.00
$11,489.00
$11,856.00
$8,413.00
$23,980.00
$10,221.00
$16,471.00
$544.00
$1,089.00
$5,810.00
$6,995.00
$10,034.00
$10,992.00
$11,851.00
$10,460.00
$1,306.00
BR
$776.00
$1,938.00
$3,488.00
$5,715.00
BR
$14,554.00
$13,371.00
$11,915.00
$15,856.00

CDT-
2009/2010

D7946
D7947
D7948
D7949
D7950
D7951
D7953
D7955
D7960
D7963
D7970
D7971
D7972
D7980
D7981
D7982
D7983
D7990
D7991
D7995
D7996
D7997
D7998
D7999
D8010
D8020
D8030
D8040
D8050
D8060
D8070
D8080
D8090
D8210
D8220
D8660
D8670
D8680
D8690
D8691
D8692
D8693
D8999
D9110
D9120
D9210
D9211

2011 Fees

$19,642.00
$16,518.00
$21,441.00
$27,925.00
BR
BR
$402.00
BR
$651.00
$1,065.00
$947.00
$355.00
$1,325.00
$1,491.00
BR
$3,526.00
$3,384.00
$2,911.00
$7,100.00
BR
BR
$544.00
$2,367.00
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
BR
$604.80
$453.60
$997.50
$471.45
$443.10
$493.50
$456.75
BR
$185.85
$210.00
$59.85
$65.10



CDT- 2011 Fees
2009/2010

D9212 $120.75
D9215 $51.45
D9220 $593.25
D9221 $265.65
D9230 $98.70
D9241 $460.95
D9242 $224.70
D9248 $142.80
D9310 $421.05
D9410 $481.95
D9420 $780.15
D9430 $131.25
D9440 $263.55
D9450 $131.25
D9610 BR

D9612 BR

D9630 BR

D9910 $89.00
D9911 $125.00
D9920 BR

D9930 BR

D9940 $812.70
D9941 $265.65
D9942 $306.00
D9950 $484.00
D9951 $217.00
D9952 $1,019.00
D9970 $115.00
D9971 $148.00
D9972 $510.00
D9973 $84.00
D9974 $446.00

D9999 BR
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