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Instructions for Restricted Use Pesticide Dealer License: 
 
To obtain a license, submit the Application for Pesticide Dealer License with an application fee of $50.00 to: 
 

Colorado Department of Agriculture 
Attn: Pesticide Registration 
305 Interlocken Parkway 
Broomfield, CO  80021 
 

Checks should be made payable to the Colorado Department of Agriculture. 
 
Applications for renewal received after the first working day of January are subject to a 10% ($5.00) penalty fee. If 
the renewal is not received on or before February 1, the license will be revoked and the dealer must apply for a new 
license.  
 
If there are any changes to the mailing address or business address listed on your license, you must notify us in writing 
within 15 days of the change, using the Pesticide Dealer Information Change Notification form available from the CDA 
website. Go to www.colorado.gov/ag/dpi, select Pesticides and then Restricted Use Pesticide Dealers.  
 
Please read the enclosed information from the Pesticide Act Rules on requirements of Colorado licensed RUP 
Dealers, including the record-keeping requirements.   
 
Additional information can be obtained from the RUP dealer website, including examples of logs for recording required 
information, and lists of federal and state restricted use pesticides. 
 
To obtain a list of Colorado Licensed applicators that are qualified to purchase restricted use pesticides, send an email 
to Carol Barton at carol.barton@state.co.us.  She will return the list to you via email.  We also send out an updated 
applicator list to all licensed dealers that have provided us with an email several times a year.  Dealers must provide 
an email to receive this list. 
 
If you have further questions, please call or email us: 
 

Barbara Bliss 
Administrative Assistant 303-869-9061 Barbara.bliss@state.co.us 

Tori Gillott 
Administrative Assistant 303-869-9062 Tori.gillott@state.co.us 

Laura Quakenbush,  
Pesticide Registration Coordinator 303-869-9060 Laura.quakenbush@state.co.us 

 
REQUIREMENTS OF COLORADO RESTRICTED USE PESTICIDE DEALERS:  

From Pesticide Act Rules, 8 CCR 1203-1: 
 
11.1. The Dealer Licensing System. 
(a) Any person who distributes any restricted use pesticide to any other person must possess a valid pesticide dealer license. 
(b)  Each separate business location, including branch offices, and each separate business name must have a separate pesticide 

dealer license. 
(c)  Each applicant for a pesticide dealer license shall make application to the commissioner. Said application shall be on a form 

furnished by the Commissioner and shall be accompanied by payment of an application fee of $50.00. 
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(d)  Each pesticide dealer shall make an application to renew its license on or before the first working day of January for the year of 
renewal. Said application shall be on a form furnished by the Commissioner and shall be accompanied by payment of a $50.00 
renewal fee. 

(e)  Licenses expire on January 1st of each year and must be renewed on an annual basis. 
(f)  Applicants for renewal of a pesticide dealer license whose applications are received after the first working day of January but 

received on or before February 1st must pay a penalty fee of 10%. 
(g)  No pesticide dealer license can be renewed until the entire fee is paid. 
(h)  If the application for renewal is not received on or before February 1, of the year following the year of licensure, the license will 

not be renewed and the dealer must apply for a new license. 
(i)  Any dealer distributing restricted use pesticides after the expiration date of their license and prior to their renewal or new 

license application acceptance date will be in violation of § 35-9-120(1)(f), C.R.S. (incorporated by reference herein, later 
amendments not included), and subject to civil penalties authorized under § 35-9-124, C.R.S. (incorporated by reference 
herein, later amendments not included). 

…. 
 

Part 13. Restricted use pesticides. 
 
13.1. Pesticides containing the following active ingredients when used as herbicides are hereby declared to be state restricted use 

pesticides that may be distributed only to licensed dealers, licensed applicators, or their authorized agents. State restricted use 
pesticides shall not be distributed to any applicator who is not licensed in the appropriate category to apply that pesticide. 

 
(a) Bromacil (d) Prometon (g) Tebuthiuron 
(b) Diuron (e) Sodium Chlorate
(c) Monuron (f) Sodium Metaborate

 
13.2 Federal and state restricted use pesticides may be distributed only to licensed dealers, licensed applicators, or their authorized 

agents. Restricted use pesticides shall not be distributed to any applicator who is not licensed in the appropriate category to 
apply that pesticide.  

13.3 Every pesticide dealer shall maintain at each licensed dealership location records of all transactions in which a state or federal 
restricted use pesticide is distributed by that dealership to any person. Records of each such transaction must be maintained 
for a period of 24 months after the date of the transaction, and must include the following information: 
a) The name of the licensed applicator, to whom the pesticide was distributed, and the name and address of his or her 

principle place of business. 
b) Either: 

(1) The certification number on the document evidencing that person's certification, the State (or other governmental 
unit) that issued the document, the expiration date of the certification, and the appropriate categories in which the 
applicator is certified; or 

(2) The pesticide dealer license number, if sold to another dealer. 
c) The product name, EPA registration number, and the Colorado special local need registration number, granted under 

section 24(c) of the FIFRA (incorporated by reference herein, later amendments not included) (if any) on the label of the 
pesticide; 

d) The quantity of the pesticide distributed in the transaction; and 
e) The date of the transaction. 
f) Restricted use pesticides may be distributed to a licensed applicator via an unlicensed person authorized by the licensed 

applicator to act as his or her agent for that purpose. If distribution is made through such an agent, the dealer records 
must also include: 

(1) Name and current address of the authorized agent through which such distribution was made; 
(2) A record of the applicator’s license showing the categories of licensure. 
(3) A signed statement from the licensed applicator authorizing the agent to receive delivery of restricted use 

pesticides on behalf of that applicator. 


