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Overview

* New federal requirements
 What do the new rules require?
» What flexibility does Colorado have?

* Timeline for implementation
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New Federal Requirements

» Designed to prevent waste, fraud, and abuse in Medicaid,
Medicare, and CHIP

* Sec. 6401 of the Affordable Care Act - new procedures to screen providers
under Medicaid, Medicare, and CHIP.
* Final rules - February 2012 (76 FR 5862)

» Requires providers to periodically re-validate enrollment
* Requires some providers to pay application fee
 Divides provider types into three categories of risk

» Assigns different screening procedures based on risk
category
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New Enrollments and Revalidation

* Providers must re-validate enrollment at least every 5
years.

* All currently enrolled providers must be re-enrolled by
2016

* Screening must be conducted on all enrolling and re-
enrolling providers

* Providers who order, refer, or prescribe for Medicaid

clients must be enrolled with Medicaid
Referring NPl must be on all relevant claims
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Application Fees (42 CFR 455.460)

» Fees offset the cost of the federally mandated screening program

« States must collect an application fee from enrolling and re-

enrollmg providers EXCEPT:

Individual physicians and non-physician practitioners (but physician
groups and practices must pay the fee)

* Providers enrolled in Medicare who have been screened within the last
12 months

* Providers enrolled in another state’s Medicaid or CHIP program who
have been screened within the last 12 months (assuming the other
state’s screening requirements are consistent with Colorado’s)

* Fee is established by law and is adjusted annually for inflation
« 2014 =S542
« 2015 = 5553
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New Federal Requirements

* Screening procedures based on risk category
Limited
* Meet federal and state rules and regulations (42 CFR 455.450)
« License Verifications (42 CFR 455.412)
« Database Checks (42 CFR 455.436

Moderate

« All screening procedures at limited risk level

« Onsite inspections (pre and post enrollment; 42 CFR 455.432
High

« All screening procedures for limited and moderate

« Criminal Background checks for owners (42 CFR 455.434)

« Fingerprinting for owners (42 CFR 455.434)

* Providers with Medicare assighed risk level must be assighed
same level or higher by Medicaid*

* Colorado must assign risk levels for Medicaid only provider-
types

* See CMS/CMCS information Bulletin from December 23, 2011 with subject
“Medicaid/CHIP Provider Screening and Enrollment”
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Limited Risk Providers (42 CFR 424.518)

* Physicians

* Non-physician practitioners (e.g. Dentists,
Optometrists, Advanced practice nurses, Physician’s
assistants)

 Ambulatory Surgery centers

* Federally Qualified Health Centers

* Hospitals

* Pharmacies (not DME suppliers)

* Rural Health Clinics

» Skilled Nursing Facilities

* Any provider not specifically listed in HCPF’s draft
rule
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Moderate Risk Providers (42 CFR 424.518)

 Ambulance Service providers

 Community Mental Health Centers

 Comprehensive Outpatient rehab facilities

* Hospice Organizations

* Independent clinical labs

* Physical Therapists (individuals and groups)

* Portable X-ray suppliers

* Re-enrolling Home Health Agencies

* Re-enrolling DME suppliers

« Some HCBS waiver providers (e.g. group
home, non-medical transportation, Day
Habilitation)
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High Risk Providers (42 CFR 424.518)

* Prospective/Newly Enrolling Home Health Agencies
* Prospective/Newly Enrolling DME suppliers

* Providers with payment suspension based on
credible allegation of fraud, waste, or abuse

* Providers with existing Medicaid overpayment

* Providers previously excluded within the last 10
years
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Implementation in Colorado

o Little flexibility in implementing rules
* Must screen all enrolled providers

* All physicians and other professionals who order, prescribe,
or refer for Medicaid clients are required to enroll

* Must screen providers based on risk category
* Providers with Medicare assigned risk level (e.g. hospitals)
must be assighed same or higher level in Colorado

Medicaid

* Must charge all non-exempt providers an application fee
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Implementation in Colorado

* Questions answered by the rule:

* Should some providers be subject to screening procedures
beyond CMS requirements?

* Following CMS’ guidance, to what screening levels should each
Medicaid-only provider be assigned (e.g. non-emergency
medical transportation, HCBS etc.)?

* Following CMS’ guidance, what should pre- and post-enrollment
site visits consist of?

« Within the confines of the federal regulations, are there ways
HCPF can reduce any potential issues providers may encounter
with these new rules?

Iy COLORADO
‘é—i’ Department of Health Care

o/
™



Process and Timeline

« Stakeholder feedback and engagement began in September

« Draft rule posted online - Week of Nov. 3, 2014

* Feedback on draft rule collected November 2014
 Department reviewed feedback, edited rule - December 2014
* Consideration of rule by MSB for approval Spring 2015

* Rule effective date: June 2015

* Provider re-validation and screening: Sept. 1, 2015 - June 30,
2016
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New Web-based Provider Enrollment Tool

* New enrollment process will be web-based and completely
online

* Enrollment portal will have a “wizard” that guides providers
through enrollment

 Links will guide providers from the state Medicaid site to
the enrollment portal

* Provider enrollment portal will allow providers to:
« Start an application and finish it at a later date
* Check status on an application
« Correct errors on a denied application without restarting the process
« Submit supplemental documents with the application
« Set up Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) with the application
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More info and updates

« Available under “Federal Provider Screening Regulations” at

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/hcpf/provider-
implementations

* Website includes draft rule and Department response to
stakeholder comments

(providerscreeningcomments@state.co.us)
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Thank You

Kyle M Brown
303.866.5315

Christopher Underwood
Chief Health Information Officer

303.866.4/766
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