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The COMMIT project, 

Revalidation/Screening &

Provider Enrollment

This is what you need to know about

Updated 6/1/15
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The Colorado 
interChange

The Pharmacy 
Benefits 

Management 
System (PBMS)

The Business 
Intelligence & 

Data Management 
system (BIDM)

November 2016

The COMMIT Project
The Colorado Medicaid Management Innovation & 

Transformation project

• Electronic provider enrollment – no paper required!

• A new Provider Portal for billing, electronic 
remittance advices, & clinical data

• Electronic Prior Authorization Requests (PARs)

• A new Care & Case Management system 

• Online, self-paced provider trainings

• Up-to-date data feed for our provider search tool 
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The Colorado interChange 
(our new MMIS)
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Online Provider Enrollment Tool

Online Provider 
Enrollment Tool

(sub-part of the 
Colorado interChange)

The Colorado 
interChange

September 2015

• Goes live 14 months 
before the rest of the 
interChange

• Like TurboTax for 
provider enrollment
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Provider Screening Requirement

• Section 6401 (a) of the Affordable Care Act

• Have until March 31st, 2016 to revalidate existing providers

• Revalidation required ongoing every 3-5 years depending on 
provider type
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Existing
CHP+ & 
Medicaid 
providers 
revalidate 

New 
screening 

requirements
going 

forward

Increased 
compliance & 
quality of 

care

News for MCOs, BHOs, & OPRs
Providers who provide services to Medicaid members as part 
of a managed care entity’s (MCO’s) provider network must 
individually enroll into the interChange and be screened as 
Medicaid providers

• This does not require participation in fee-for-service 
Medicaid

All physicians or other professionals who order, prescribe, 
or refer services or items for Medicaid clients (OPRs), must 
enroll into the interChange

• Even OPRs that participate through an MCO, CHP+, or 
through a waiver
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Risk Based Screening Requirements
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CMS divided provider types into 3 categories 
based on risk of fraud, waste, & abuse.
Higher risk =  more stringent screening

Limited Risk

• Federal & state 

requirements

• License 

verifications

• Federal exclusion 

database checks

Moderate Risk

• Limited risk 

screening +

• On-site inspections 

 High Risk 

• Moderate risk

screening +

• Background checks 

• Fingerprinting for the 

owners.*

* Not implemented until late 2016.

!

Risk Based Screening Examples
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Limited Risk Examples*

• Physicians

• Dentists

• Optometrists

Moderate Risk Examples*

• Community Mental

Health Centers

• Physical Therapists

• Pharmacies that don’t 

supply DME equipment

High Risk Examples*

• New DME suppliers

• New Home Health 

agencies

• Some HCBS waiver 

providers

*Please see the Federal Provider Screening Regulation draft rule for the complete list
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Enrolling vs. Revalidating

• In the provider screening rule, some provider types are 
assigned to two risk categories

� one for revalidating (existing) providers

� one for enrolling (new) providers

• For this first revalidation cycle all providers (existing and 
new) will be screened as if they were an enrolling (new) 
provider

• Ongoing – revalidating (existing) providers will drop back 
down to the appropriate risk level for their provider type
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Application Fee

• Required by CMS for some provider types

�$553 in 2015

�A lot of our providers are exempt from the fee:

� Individual practitioners (both physician & non-physician)

� Those screened in the past 12 months for Medicare, 
CHIP, or another (equally strict) state’s Medicaid

�Anyone may request hardship waiver

� A letter explaining why they can’t afford to pay the fee

� Goes through Dept. & CMS for approval

• Ambulatory Surgical Center

• Community Mental Health Center

• Federally Qualified Health Center

• Home Health Agency

•Hospice

•Hospital
• Independent Clinical Laboratory

•Mammography Center

• Nursing Facility

• Portable X-ray Supplier

• Rural Health Clinic

Fee Required

• Audiologist

• Dentist

• Occupational Therapist

• Optometrist

• Physician

• Physical Therapist
• Podiatrist

• Psychologist

• Registered Nurse

• Speech Therapist
• Therapist

Not Required
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Who Pays the Application Fee?
** Not a complete list **

Revalidation & Enrollment Waves

• Providers will undergo revalidation by enrolling into 
the interChange

• We have divided providers into 7 different waves

• Similar to a RCCO map, but with different sectioning

• Providers will be notified which wave they are 
assigned to and when their revalidation window will be

� Wave schedule will be released in July

� Claims may be suspended or denied for providers not 
revalidated/enrolled into the Colorado interChange by 
March 31, 2016 
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Who do Providers Bill?

• The only thing happening in the Colorado interChange 
before late 2016, is revalidation & enrollment

• All providers (existing & new) will use our current MMIS 
through Xerox, until late 2016
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May ‘15 Sept ‘15 Nov ‘16

We are here

Providers switch to 

using the Colorado 

interChange

Resources for Providers

Dedicated webpage

• Colorado.gov/HCPF/Provider-Resources

� New web page made specifically for revalidation and 
enrollment instructions & FAQs

Provider Screening Draft Rule

• Colorado.gov/HCPF/Provider-Implementations
� Federal Provider Screening Regulations 
� Revised Draft Rule

� Expect small changes between the rule currently posted 
and the final version
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Start Preparing Providers

Providers can start to gather the following information:

• National Provider Identifier (NPI)

• Provider Taxonomy Codes

• Provider Federal Tax Identification Number (TIN) or 
Employer Identification Number (EIN)

• Provider License Number

• Current Provider ID (if they are currently enrolled)

• Financial Institution Information (ABA #, Bank Name, 
Account Number)

• Billing Agent Name and information (if applicable)
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Questions?


