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Physical and Occupational Therapy  
Outpatient – Fee-For-Service 

Provider Qualifications 
Providers must be enrolled as a Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider in order to: 

 Treat a Colorado Medical Assistance Program client 

 Submit claims for payment to the Colorado Medical Assistance Program 

Licensed physical therapists (PT) and registered occupational therapists (OT) who meet the 
qualifications prescribed by federal regulations for participation at 42 CFR 484.4 and who meet all the 
requirements under state law are eligible to become Colorado Medical Assistance providers.  

Physical therapists must be licensed by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) 
pursuant to Title 12 Article 41.106 and may supervise up to four individuals at one time who are not 

physical therapists, including certified nurse aides, to assist in the therapist’s clinical 
practice (§12-41-113(1) C.R.S.).   

Physical therapist assistants (PTA) must be certified by DORA pursuant to Title 12 
Article 41.204 and must work under the supervision of a licensed physical therapist as 
defined in the Colorado Physical Therapy Practice Act (§12-41-203(2) C.R.S.) and 
accompanying rules as promulgated by the State Board of Physical Therapy.   

Occupational therapists must be registered by DORA pursuant to Title 12 Article 40.5.  

Occupational therapy assistants (OTA) must practice under the general supervision of a Colorado 
registered occupational therapist.   

All physical and occupational therapists must submit a completed provider enrollment packet to become 
a Colorado Medical Assistance Program eligible provider. Providers will find enrollment information in the 
Provider Services Enrollment section of the Department’s website (colorado.gov/hcpf).  Enrollment 
documents may be downloaded and mailed to:  

Xerox State Healthcare 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program Provider Enrollment 

PO Box 1100 
Denver, CO 80201-1100 

As of July 1, 2002, physical and occupational therapists not employed by an agency, clinic, hospital, or 
physician may bill the Colorado Medical Assistance Program directly.  Providers should refer to the Code 
of Colorado Regulations, Qualified Non-Physician Practitioners Eligible to Provide Physician’s Services 
(10 CCR 2505-10, Section 8.200.2.C), for specific information when providing physical and occupational 
therapy.  

All PT/OT services must be prescribed by an M.D. or D.O., nurse practitioner or physician’s assistant.  
Educational, personal need, and comfort therapies are not covered benefits of fee-for-
service for any client regardless of age. Medically necessary as defined under 
8.200.1, physician services, means a covered service that will, or is reasonably 
expected to prevent, diagnose, cure, correct, reduce or ameliorate the pain and 
suffering, or the physical, mental, cognitive or developmental effects of an illness, 
injury or disability; and for which there is no other equally effective or substantially 
less costly course of treatment suitable for the client’s needs.   

http://www.dora.state.co.us/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1201542696393
http://colorado.gov/hcpf
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/Rule.do?deptID=7&deptName=2505,1305%20Department%20of%20Health%20Care%20Policy%20and%20Financing&agencyID=69&agencyName=2505%20Medical%20Services%20Board%20(Volume%208;%20Medical%20Assistance,%20Children's%20Health%20Plan)&ccrDocID=2919&ccrDocName=10%20CCR%202505
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Billing Information 
National Provider Identifier (NPI) 

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) requires that covered entities (i.e., 
health plans, health care clearinghouses, and those health care providers who transmit any health 
information electronically in connection with a transaction for which the Secretary of Health and Human 
Services has adopted a standard) use NPIs in standard transactions. 

The Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the Department) periodically modifies billing 
information. Therefore, the information in this manual is subject to change, and the manual is updated as 
new billing information is implemented. 

Paper Claims 
Electronic claims format shall be required unless hard copy claims submittals are specifically authorized 
by the Department. Requests may be sent to the Department’s fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, 
P.O. Box 90, Denver, CO 80201-0090. The following claims can be submitted on paper and processed 
for payment:  

 Claims from providers who consistently submit 5 claims or fewer per month 
(requires approval) 

 Claims that, by policy, require attachments 

 Reconsideration claims 

Paper claims do not require an NPI, but do require the Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider 
number.  Electronically mandated claims submitted on paper are processed, denied, and marked with 
the message “Electronic Filing Required”. 

Electronic Claims 
Instructions for completing and submitting electronic claims are available through the following:   

 X12N Technical Report 3 (TR3) for the 837P, 837I, or 837D (wpc-edi.com/) 
 Companion Guides for the 837P, 837I, or 837D in the Provider Services 

Specifications section of the Department’s Web site. 
 Web Portal User Guide (via within the Web Portal) 

The Colorado Medical Assistance Program collects electronic claim information interactively through the 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program Secure Web Portal (Web Portal) or via batch submission through 
a host system.  

Interactive Claim Submission and Processing 
Interactive claim submission through the Web Portal is a real-time exchange of information 
between the submitter and the Colorado Medicaid Management Information System 
(MMIS).  Colorado Medical Assistance Program providers may create and transmit HIPAA 
compliant 837P (Professional), 837I (Institutional), and 837D (Dental) claims electronically 
one at a time. These claims are transmitted through the Colorado Medical Assistance Program OnLine 
Transaction Processor (OLTP).   

The OLTP reviews the claim information for compliance with Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
billing policy and returns a response to the submitter's personal computer about that single transaction. If 
the claim is rejected, the OLTP sends a rejection response that identifies the rejection reason.  

http://www.wpc-edi.com/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1218102958082
https://sp0.hcpf.state.co.us/Mercury/login.aspx
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If the claim is accepted, the submitter receives an acceptance message and the OLTP passes accepted 
claim information to the Colorado MMIS for final adjudication and reporting on the Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program Provider Claim Report (PCR).  

The Web Portal contains online training, user guides and help that describe claim completion 
requirements, a mechanism that allows the user to create and maintain a data base of frequently used 
information, edits that verify the format and validity of the entered information, and edits that assure that 
required fields are completed.   
Because a claim submitter connects to the Web Portal through the Internet, there is no delay for “dialing 
up” when submitting claims. The Web Portal provides immediate feedback directly to the submitter.  All 
claims are processed to provide a weekly Health Care Claim Payment/Advice (Accredited Standards 
Committee [ASC] X12N 835) transaction and/or a PCR containing information related to submitted 
claims. The Web Portal provides access to the following reports through the File and Report Service 
(FRS): 

 Accept/Reject Report 
 Provider Claim Report 
 Health Care Claim Payment/Advice (ASC X12N 835) 
 Managed Care Reports such as Primary Care Physician Rosters 
 Prior Authorization Letters 

Users may also inquire about information generated from claims submitted via paper and through 
electronic data submission methods other than the Web Portal. Other inquiry options include: 

 Eligibility Inquiry (interactive and batch) 
 Claim Status Inquiry 
 PAR Status Inquiry 

Claims may be adjusted, edited and resubmitted, and voided in real time through the Web Portal.  
Access the Web Portal at colorado.gov/hcpf  Secured Site.  For help with claim submission via the 
Web Portal, please choose the User Guide option available for each Web Portal transaction.  For 
additional electronic billing information, please refer to the appropriate Companion Guide located in the 
Provider Services Specifications section. 

Batch Electronic Claim Submission 
Batch billing refers to the electronic creation and transmission of several 
claims in a group.  Batch billing systems usually extract information from an 
automated accounting or patient billing system to create a group of claim 
transactions. Claims may be transmitted from the provider's office or sent 
through a billing vendor or clearinghouse. 

All batch claim submission software must be tested and approved by the 
Department’s fiscal agent. 

Any entity sending electronic transactions through the fiscal agent’s Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) 
Gateway for processing where reports and responses will be delivered must complete an EDI enrollment 
package.  This provides EDI Gateway the information necessary to assign a Logon Name, Logon ID, and 
Trading Partner ID, which are required to submit electronic transactions, including claims.  

An enrollment package may be obtained by contacting the Department’s fiscal agent or by downloading it 
from the Provider Services EDI Support section.  

The X12N 837 Professional (837P), Institutional (837I), or Dental (837D) transaction data will be 
submitted to the EDI Gateway, which validates submission of American National Standards Institute 
(ANSI) X12N format(s).   

http://www.colorado.gov/hcpf
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1218102958082
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1201542683447
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The TA1 Interchange Acknowledgement reports the syntactical analysis of the interchange header and 
trailer.  If the data is corrupt or the trading partner relationship does not exist within the MMIS, the 
interchange will reject and a TA1 along with the data will be forwarded to the State Healthcare 
Clearinghouse (SHCH) Technical Support for review and follow-up with the sender.  An X12N 999 
Functional Acknowledgement is generated when a file that has passed the header and trailer check 
passes through the SHCH.   

If the file contains syntactical error(s), the segment(s) and element(s) where the error(s) occurred will be 
reported. After validation, the SHCH will then return the X12N 835 Remittance Advice containing 
information related to payees, payers, dollar amount, and payments.  These X12N transactions will be 
returned to the Web Portal’s FRS for retrieval by the trading partner, following the standard claims 
processing cycle. 

Testing and Vendor Certification  
Completion of the testing process must occur prior to submission of electronic batch claims to EDI 
Gateway.  Assistance from EDI Gateway business analysts’ is available throughout this process.  Each 
test transmission is inspected thoroughly to ensure no formatting errors are present.  Testing is 

conducted to verify the integrity of the format, not the integrity of the data; however, in 
order to simulate a production environment, EDI Gateway requests that submitters send 
real transmission data.   

The number of required test transmissions depends on the number of format errors on a 
transmission and the relative severity of these errors.  Additional testing may be required 
in the future to verify any changes made to the MMIS have not affected provider 
submissions.  Also, changes to the ANSI formats may require additional testing. 

In order to expedite testing, EDI Gateway requires submitters to submit all X12N test transactions to 
EDIFECS prior to submitting them to EDI Gateway.  The EDIFECS service is free to providers to certify 
X12N readiness.  EDIFECS offers submission and rapid result turnaround 24 hours a day, 7 days a 
week.  For more information, go to edifecs.com. 

Procedure/HCPCS Code Overview 
The codes used for submitting claims for services provided to Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
clients represent services that are approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) 
and services that may be provided by an enrolled Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider.  

The Healthcare Common Procedural Coding System (HCPCS) is divided into two principal subsystems, 
referred to as level I and level II of the HCPCS.  Level I of the HCPCS is comprised of CPT (Current 
Procedural Terminology), a numeric coding system maintained by the American Medical Association 
(AMA).  The CPT is a uniform coding system consisting of descriptive terms and identifying codes that 
are used primarily to identify medical services and procedures furnished by physicians and other health 
care professionals.  Level II of the HCPCS is a standardized coding system that is used primarily to 
identify products, supplies, and services not included in the CPT codes, such as ambulance services and 
durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, and supplies (DMEPOS) when used outside a 
physician’s office.  Level II codes are also referred to as alpha-numeric codes because they consist of a 
single alphabetical letter followed by 4 numeric digits, while CPT codes are identified using 5 numeric 
digits.  

HIPAA requires providers to comply with the coding guidelines of the AMA CPT Procedure Codes and 
the International Classification of Disease, Clinical Modification Diagnosis Codes.  If there is no time 
designated in the official descriptor, the code represents one unit or session. Providers should regularly 
consult monthly bulletins located in the Provider Services Bulletins section.   

http://www.edifecs.com/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1246972411343
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To receive electronic provider bulletin notifications, an email address can be entered into the Web Portal 
in the (MMIS) Provider Data Maintenance area or by filling out a publication preference form.  Bulletins 
include updates on approved procedure codes as well as the maximum allowable units billed per 
procedure.   
 

National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI)  
National Correct Coding Initiative Procedure-To-Procedure (PTP) and Medically Unlikely Edits (MUE) 
edits apply to certain combinations of PT and OT procedure codes. Please refer to the Medicaid.gov 
website for NCCI edits,  here a complete list of impacted codes, guidance on bypass modifier use, and 
general information. 

 
Physical Therapy (PT) and Occupational Therapy (OT) Codes 

Habilitative therapy is now a covered benefit for Medicaid expansion clients ages 19 through 64 receiving 
benefits through the Alternative Benefits Plan (ABP). Eligible clients may receive outpatient PT, 
OTbenefits for the purposes of habilitation in addition to rehabilitation. 

Definition of Habilitative Therapy  
The Colorado Division of Insurance has defined Habilitative services to be:  

Services that help a person retain, learn, or improve skills and functioning for daily living that are offered 
in parity with, and in addition to, any rehabilitative services offered in Colorado's Essential Health 
Benefits (EHB) benchmark plan. Parity in this context means of like type and substantially equivalent in 
scope, amount, and duration. 

Benefit Limits for Habilitative and Rehabilitative Physical and Occupational 
Therapy 

Clients may receive up to 24 units of Rehabilitative PT and up to 24 units of Rehabilitative OT per 12 
month period before a Prior Authorization Request (PAR) is required, and up to 24 units of Habilitative 
PT and up to 24 units of Habilitative OT per 12 month period with a PAR submitted in advance of the 
services. Units of service exceeding the initial 24 units for each therapy type will not be reimbursed 
without an approved PAR. Please refer to the below table.  

Benefit Rehabilitative Habilitative 

Physical Therapy 24 units of PT and 24 units of OT 
per 12 months.  

5 units of either PT or OT per date 
of service.  

24 units of PT and 24 units of OT 
per 12 months. 

5 units of either PT or OT per date 
of service.  Occupational Therapy 

PAR Requirement Required for PT and OT. Required for PT, OT, and ST.  

Additional Notes 
• Habilitative therapies are not an Inpatient or Home Health benefit.  
• Habilitative therapies are not a benefit if provided in nursing facilities; Rehabilitative PT, OT, ST 

remain so.  
• Habilitative therapies are not to be confused with Habilitation services found within Home and 

Community Based Services (HCBS) waivers. 

http://www.medicaid.gov/Medicaid-CHIP-Program-Information/By-Topics/Data-and-Systems/National-Correct-Coding-Initiative.html
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A client is eligible for another 24 units of service without a PAR when the client has not received any PT 
or OT services within a 366 consecutive day period. The 24 units accumulate from paid units for a 
specific client, regardless of provider, for each treatment modality.  A unit equals 1) a timed increment or 
2) one treatment session as described in the specific CPT procedure codes.  

PT and OT must be deemed medically necessary, and the client’s physician, nurse practitioner or 
physician assistant must provide a written prescription for service to be reimbursed.  

In addition to procedure codes, PT and OT providers are able to bill for the following orthotics: 

L3730, L3763, L3764, L3808, L3900, L3906, L3908, L3911, L3912, L3919, L3929, L3933, L3982 

For further billing information on the above codes, please refer to the Durable Medical Equipment (DME) 
and Supplies Provider Reference Manual which can be found in the Provider Services Billing Manuals 
section.  DME products cannot be requested on the same PAR as therapy services.   

Service Limitations and Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) 
Daily Unit Limits 

A daily limit of five units of therapy services allowed for PT/OT, whether it is Rehabilitative or Habilitative. 
Clients cannot receive both Rehabilitative and Habilitative therapy on the same date of service (DOS). 
Some specific daily limits per procedure code do apply, please refer to the below table. 

 Procedure Code Daily Limit Procedure Code Daily Limit 
97012 1 97150 1 
97014 1 97530 3 
97016 1 97532 3 
97024 1 97533 4 
97026 1 97535 4 
97028 1 97537 4 
97039 1 97542 4 
97110 4 97760 4 
97113 2 97761 4 
97116 3 97762 4 
97139 3 97799 1 
97140 2   

Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) 
Independent Physical and Occupational Therapists and hospital based therapy clinics providing PT and 
OT outpatient therapy services must submit PARs for medically necessary services when: 

 The client has exceeded 24 units of service provided by a PT, or  
 The client has exceeded 24 units of service provided by an OT.  
 When Habilitative PT/OT is being sought a PAR must always be submitted.  

PARs are approved for up to a twelve (12) month period (depending on medical necessity determined by 
the reviewer).   
 Retroactive PAR request forms will not be accepted.  
 Overlapping PAR request dates for same provider types will not be accepted.  
 Incomplete, incorrect or insufficient client information on a PAR request form will not be accepted.  

Submit PARs for the number of units for each specific procedure code requested, not for the number of 
services.  Modifier codes must be included.   

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1201542320888
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• When submitting Rehabilitative PARs, CPT codes for PT service providers, must use the GP 
modifier (e.g. 97001+GP).  

• When submitting Habilitative PARs, CPT codes for PT service providers, must use the GP 
modifier and HB modifier (e.g. 97001+GP+HB). 

• When submitting Rehabilitative PARs, CPT codes for OT service providers, must use the GO 
modifier (e.g. 97003+GO).  

• When submitting Habilitative PARs, CPT codes for OT service providers, must use the GO 
modifier and HB modifier (e.g. 97003+GO+HB). 

PAR/Claim Modifier Rehabilitative Habilitative 
Physical Therapy GP GP + HB 

Occupational Therapy GO GO + HB 

Additional Limitations:  
• A client may receive PT and OT services during the same time period and service dates.  

However, duplicative therapies (the same therapy performed by both an OT and PT) may not be 
performed on the same DOS. 

• A client may not receive both Rehabilitative and Habilitative therapies of the same type (e.g. 
Rehabilitative PT and Habilitative PT) on the same DOS.  

• The same modifiers used for the PAR must be used when submitting claims.  
• A client may have one active PAR for each type of therapy (Rehabilitative PT, Rehabilitative OT, 

Habilitative PT, Habilitative OT) with independent time spans.  

PAR Requirements: 
 Legibly written and signed ordering practitioner prescription, to include diagnosis (preferably with 

ICD-9 code) and reason for therapy, the number of requested therapy sessions per week and 
total duration of therapy.  

 The client’s Physical or Occupational treatment history, including current assessment and 
treatment.  Include duration of previous treatment and treating diagnosis.  

 Documentation indicating if the client has received PT or OT under the Home Health Program or 
inpatient hospital treatment.  

 Current treatment diagnosis.  
 Course of treatment, measurable goals and reasonable expectation of completed treatment.  
 Documentation supporting medical (physical NOT developmental) necessity for the course and 

duration of treatment being requested.  
 Assessment or progress notes submitted for documentation, must not be more than sixty (60) 

days prior to submission of PAR request.  
 If the PAR is submitted for services delivered by an independent therapist, the name and address 

of the individual therapist providing the treatment must be present in field #24 of the PAR.  
 The billing provider name and address needs to be present in field #25 on the PAR.  
 The Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider number of the independent therapist must be 

present in PAR field #28.  
 The billing provider’s Colorado Medical Assistance Program number must be present in field #29 

of the PAR.  

The authorizing agency reviews all completed PARs and approves or denies, by individual line item, 
each requested service or supply listed on the PAR.  PAR status inquiries can be made through the Web 
Portal and results are included in PAR letters sent to both the provider and the client.  Read the results 
carefully as some line items may be approved and others denied.  Do not render or bill for 
services until the PAR has been processed.  
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The claim must contain the PAR number for payment.  

Approval of a PAR does not guarantee Colorado Medical Assistance Program payment and does not 
serve as a timely filing waiver.  Prior authorization only assures that the service is considered a benefit of 
the Colorado Medical Assistance Program.  All claims, including those for prior authorized services, must 
meet eligibility and claim submission requirements (e.g. timely filing, third party resources payment 
pursued, required attachments included, etc.) before payment can be made.   

If the PAR is denied, providers should direct inquiries to the authorizing agency: 

ColoradoPAR Program 
Provider Prior Authorization (PAR) Vendor for the Colorado Medical Assistance Program 

Provider PAR Request Line: 1-888-454-7686 
PAR Fax Line: 1-866-492-3176 

The Colorado Medical Assistance Program PAR forms are available in the Provider Services Forms 
section or by contacting the ColoradoPAR Program at 1-888-454-7686 (toll free). 

Providers can fax documents to the ColoradoPAR Program at 1-866-492-3176.  Documents that may be 
compromised by faxing can be mailed to: 

APS Healthcare 
55 N. Robinson Ave., Suite 600 

Oklahoma City, OK 73102 

PAR Revisions 
Please print “REVISION” in bold letters at the top and enter the PAR number being revised in box #7.  
Do not enter the PAR number being revised anywhere else on the PAR.  

Paper PAR Instructional Reference 
Field Label Completion Format Instructions 

The upper margin of the PAR form must be left blank.  This area is for authorizing agency use only. 

Invoice/Pat Account 
Number 

Text Optional 
Enter up to 12 characters (numbers, letters, 
hyphens) that help identify the claim or client.  

Does Client Have Primary 
Insurance? 

Check box 
 Y      N 

Optional 
Enter an “X” in the appropriate box. 

1. Client Name Text Required 
Enter the client’s last name, first name, and 
middle initial. 

2. Client Identification 
Number 

1 letter followed by 6 
numbers 

Required 
Enter the client’s state identification number.  
This number consists of a letter prefix 
followed by six numbers.  
Example: A123456.  

3. Sex Check box 
 Y      N 

Required 
Enter an “X” in the appropriate box.  

   

http://coloradopar.com/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1201542696550
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Field Label Completion Format Instructions 

4. Date of Birth 6 digits (MMDDYY) Required 
Enter the client’s birth date using MMDDYY 
format.  
Example: January 1, 2009 = 010109. 

5. Client Address Characters: numbers and 
letters 

Required 
Enter the client’s full address: Street, City, 
State, and Zip code.  

6. Client Telephone 
Number 

Text Optional 
Enter the client’s telephone number.  

7. Prior Authorization 
Number 

 System assigned 
Leave blank 

8. Dates Covered by this 
Request 

6 digits for From date 
and 6 digits for Through 
date (MMDDYY) 

Optional 
Enter the date(s) within which service(s) will 
be provided.  If left blank, dates are entered 
by the authorizing agency.  Authorized 
services must be provided within these dates. 

9. Does Client Reside in 
a Nursing Facility? 

Check box 
 Y      N 

Required  
Check the appropriate box. 

10. Group Home Name if 
Patient Resides in a 
Group Home 

Text Not applicable.  

11. Diagnosis Text Required 
Enter the medical/physiological diagnosis 
code and sufficient relevant diagnostic 
information to justify the request.  Include the 
prognosis.  Provide relevant clinical 
information, other drugs or alternative 
therapies tried to treating the condition, 
results of tests, etc. to justify a Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program determination of 
medical necessity.  Approval of necessity.  
Attach documents as required.   

12. Requesting 
Authorization for 
Repairs 

Text Not applicable 
 

13. Indicate Length of 
Necessity 

Text Not applicable 

14. Estimated Cost of 
Equipment 

Digits Not applicable 

15. Services to be 
Authorized 

None Preprinted 
Do not alter preprinted lines.  No more than 
five items can be requested on one form.  
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Field Label Completion Format Instructions 

16. Describe Procedure, 
Supply, or Drug to be 
Provided 

Text Required 
Enter the description of the service/procedure 
to be provided.  

17. Procedure, Supply or 
Drug Code Required 

HCPCS code Enter the procedural code for each item that 
will be billed on the claim form.  The 
authorized agency may change any code. 
The approved code(s) on the PAR form must 
be used on the claim form.  

18. Requested Number of 
Services 

Digits Required 
Enter the number of units for supplies, 
services or equipment requested.  If this field 
is blank, the authorizing agency will complete 
with one unit.   

19. Authorized No. of 
Services 

None Leave blank 
The authorizing agency indicates the number 
of services authorized which may be more 
not equal number of requested in Field 18 
(Number of Services).  

20. A = Approved 
D = Denied 

None Leave blank 
Check the PAR on-line or refer to the PAR 
letter.  

21. Primary Care 
Physician (PCP) 
Name 

Text Conditional 
Complete if client has a PCP. 

Telephone Number Text Optional 
Enter the PCP’s telephone number.  

22. Primary Care 
Physician Address 

Text Conditional 
Complete if client has a PCP.  Enter the 
PCP’s complete address. 

23. PCP Provider Number 8 Digits Conditional 
Complete if client has a PCP.  Enter the 
PCP’s eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance provider number.  This number 
must be obtained by contacting the PCP for 
the necessary authorization.  

24. Name and Address of 
Physician Referring 
for Prior 
Authorization 

Text Required 
Enter the complete name and address of the 
physician requesting prior authorization (the 
physician ordering/writing the prescription).  

25. Name and Address of 
Provider Who will Bill 
Service 

Text Required 
Enter the name and telephone number of the 
provider who will be billing for the service. 
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Field Label Completion Format Instructions 

26. Requesting Physician 
Signature 

Text Required 
The requesting provider must sign the PAR 
and must be the physician ordering the 
service.  Under unusual circumstances, when 
the prescribing physician is not available, a 
legible copy of a signed prescription may be 
attached in place of the signature of the 
requesting provider.  The written diagnosis 
must be entered in Field 11 (Diagnosis), even 
if a prescription form is attached.  Do not 
send the original prescription; send a 
photocopy on an 8 ½ x 11 sheet. 
A rubber stamp facsimile signature is not 
acceptable on the PAR.  

27. Date Signed 6 Digits Required 
Enter the date the PAR form is signed by the 
requesting provider.  

Telephone Number Text Required 
Enter the telephone number of the requesting 
provider. 

28. Requesting Physician 
Provider Number 

8 Digits Required 
Enter the eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number of the 
requesting provider. 

29. Billing Provider 
Number 

8 Digits Required  
Enter the eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number of the 
billing provider. 
All rendering and billing providers must be 
Colorado Medical Assistance program 
providers.  

30. Comments Text Leave Blank 
This field is completed by the authorizing 
agency.  
Refer to the PAR response for comments 
submitted by the authorizing agent.  

31. PA Number Being 
Revised 

Text Leave Blank 
This field is completed by the authorizing 
agency.  
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Physical Therapy PAR Form Example 
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

  

* Required Field 

*
 

*
 

*
 *

 

*
 *
 *

 
*
 

*
 

*
 

*  

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*  Enter the Requesting Physician’s name & address 

Enter the PCP’s name *  

Enter the Requesting Physician’s Signature *  

*  Enter the Requesting 
Physician’s Provider Number *  *  *  

Enter the PCP’s address 
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Occupational Therapy PAR Form Example 
 

 

 

 

 

  

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

Leave blank – Not applicable 

* Required Field 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 *

 
*
 *

 
*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

Enter the PCP’s name Enter the PCP’s address 

Enter the Requesting Physician’s name & address *
 
Enter the Requesting Physician’s Signature *
 Enter the Requesting 

Physician’s Provider Number *
 

*
 

*
 

*
 

*
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Colorado 1500 Paper Claim Reference Table 
The following paper form reference table shows required, optional, and conditional fields and detailed 
field completion instructions for the Colorado 1500 claim form. 

Instructions for completing and submitting electronic claims are available through the X12N Technical 
Report 3 (TR3) for the 837P (wpc-edi.com), 837P Companion Guide (in the Provider Services 
Specifications section of the Department’s Web site), and in the Web Portal User Guide (via within the 
portal). 

Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

Invoice/Pat Acct 
Number 

Up to 12 
characters:  
letters, 
numbers or 
hyphens  

Optional 
Enter information that identifies the patient or claim in the 
provider’s billing system.  Submitted information appears 
on the Provider Claim Report. 

Special Program 
Code 
 

2 digits Not required 

1. Client Name 
 

Up to 25 
characters:  
letters & 
spaces 

Required 
Enter the client’s last name, first name, and middle initial.  

2. Client Date of 
Birth 
 

Date of Birth 
8 digits 
(MMDDCCYY) 

Required 
Enter the patient’s birth date using two digits for the month, 
two digits for the date, two digits for the century, and two 
digits for the year.  Example:  07012010 for July 1, 2010. 

3. Medicaid ID 
Number (Client 
ID Number) 
 

7 characters, a 
letter prefix 
followed by six 
numbers 

Required 
Enter the client’s Colorado Medical Assistance Program ID 
number.  Each person has his/her own unique Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program ID number. Example:  
A123456 

4. Client Address 
Telephone 
Number 

Characters:  
numbers and 
letters 

Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system.  

5. Client Sex 
 

Check box 
Male     
Female  

Required 
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the correct box to indicate 
the client’s sex. 

6. Medicare ID 
Number  
(HIC or SSN) 
 

Up to 11 
characters: 
numbers and 
letters 

Conditional 
Complete if the client is eligible for Medicare benefits.  
Enter the individual’s Medicare health insurance claim 
number. 
The term “Medicare-Medicaid enrollee” refers to a person 
who is eligible for both Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program and Medicare benefits. 

http://www.wpc-edi.com/
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1218102958082
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

7. Client 
relationship to 
Insured 
 

Check box  
Self   Spouse 
        
Child   Other 
        

Conditional 
Complete if the client is covered by a commercial health 
care insurance policy.  Enter a check mark or an “x” in the 
box that identifies the person’s relationship to the 
policyholder. 

8. Client is 
covered by 
Employer 
Health Plan 
 

Text Conditional  
Complete if the client is covered by an employer health 
plan as policyholder or as a dependent.  Enter the 
employer name policyholder’s name and group number.  
Also complete fields 9 and 9A. 

9. Other Health 
Insurance 
Coverage   
 

Text Conditional  
Complete if the client has commercial health insurance 
coverage.  Enter the name, address, policy number, and 
telephone numbers, if known, of the commercial health 
care insurer. 

9A. Policyholder 
Name and 
Address   
 

Text Conditional  
Complete if the client has commercial health insurance 
coverage.  Enter the name, address, and telephone 
number, if known, of the policyholder. 

10. Was condition 
related to 
 

Check box  
A. Client 
Employment 
Check box  
B. Accident 
6 digits:  
MMDDYY 
C. Date of 
accident 
6 digits:  
MMDDYY 

Conditional  
Complete if the condition being treated is the result of 
employment, an automobile accident, or other accident.   
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the appropriate box.  Enter 
the date of the accident in the marked boxes. 

11. CHAMPUS 
Sponsors 
Service/SSN 
 

10 digits Conditional  
Complete if the client is covered under the Civilian Health 
And Medical Plan of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS).  
Enter the sponsor’s service number or SSN. 

Durable Medical 
Equipment 
Model/serial number 
(unlabeled field) 

Not required Leave Blank 

12. Pregnancy 
HMO 
Nursing Facility 

Check box  

Check box  

Check box  

Not required 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

13. Date of illness 
or injury or 
pregnancy 
 

6 digits:  
MMDDYY 

Complete if information is known.  Enter the following 
information as appropriate to the client’s condition: 

Illness Date of first symptoms 

Injury Date of accident 

Pregnancy Date of Last Menstrual Period 
(LMP) 

 

14. Medicare Denial 
 

Check box 
  Benefits 
Exhausted 

  Non-
covered 
services 

Conditional 
Complete if the client has Medicare coverage and Medicare 
denied benefits or does not cover the billed services. 
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the Benefits Exhausted box 
if a Medicare payment voucher shows that Medicare has 
denied payment because a limited benefit is exhausted.  A 
copy of the Medicare denial notice must be provided upon 
request.  
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the Non-covered Services 
box if a Medicare publication or denial notice shows the 
billed service(s) is/are not a Medicare covered benefit.  A 
copy of the Medicare denial or Medicare publication 
showing that the service is not covered must be provided 
upon request.  
Bill claims for Medicare denied services and Medicare 
crossover claims separately.   

14A. Other Coverage 
Denied 
 

Check box 
No  
Yes   
Pay/Deny Date 
6 digits:  
MMDDYY 

Conditional  
Complete if the client has commercial health care 
insurance coverage. 
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the “No” box if the other 
coverage has paid a portion of the billed charges.  
If the other coverage payment amount is the same or more 
than the Colorado Medical Assistance Program benefit, the 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program will not make 
additional payment.   
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the “Yes” box if the other 
coverage carrier has denied payment or has applied all of 
the allowed benefit to a deductible. 
Enter the date of the other coverage payment or denial.   

15. Name of 
supervising 
physician   
Provider 
Number  
 

Text 
8 digits 

Conditional  
Complete if the individual who performs the service 
(rendering provider) is a non-physician practitioner who 
requires on-premises supervision by a licensed physician 
(see Provider Participation).   
Enter the eight digit Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
provider number assigned to the on-premises supervising 
physician. 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

16. For services 
related to 
hospitalization 
 

6 digits:  
MMDDYY 

        

Admitted MM DD YY Discharged MM DD YY 

Conditional  
Complete for services provided in an inpatient hospital 
setting.  Enter the date of hospital admission and the date 
of discharge, if known.  If the client is still hospitalized, the 
discharge date may be omitted.  This information is not 
edited. 

17. Name and 
address of 
facility where 
services 
rendered   
Provider 
Number 
 

Text   
(address is 
optional) 

8 digits 

Conditional  
Complete for services provided in a hospital or nursing 
facility.  Enter the name of the hospital or nursing facility.  
This information is not edited. 

Complete for services provided in a hospital or nursing 
facility.  Enter the Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
provider number of hospital or nursing facility, if known. 
This information is not edited. 

17A. Check box if 
laboratory work 
performed 
outside 
physician’s 
office  
 

Check box   Conditional  
Complete if all laboratory work was referred to and 
performed by an outside laboratory.  If this box is checked, 
no payment will be made to the physician for lab services.  
Do not complete this field if any laboratory work was 
performed in the office.   
Practitioners may not request payment for services 
performed by an independent or hospital laboratory. 

18. ICD-9-CM 
 

1  
2  
3  
4  
Codes:  3, 4, 
or 5 
characters.  
1st character 
may be a 
letter. 

Required 
At least one diagnosis code must be entered.  
Enter up to four diagnosis codes starting at the far left side 
of the coding area.   
Do not enter the decimal point.   Do not enter zeros to fill 
the spaces when the diagnosis code is fewer than 5 digits.    
 Example (May require 4th or 5th digit): 

ICD-9-CM description Code Claim 
Entry 

Cerebral Palsy     434.9 4 3 4 9 
 

Diagnosis or nature 
of illness or injury  

Text  Optional 
Written description is not required.  If entered, the written 
description must match the code(s). 

Transportation 
Certification 
attached 

Check box  N  
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

Prior Authorization 
No. 
 

6 characters:  
Letter plus 5 
digits  

Conditional 
If the procedure requires prior authorization, enter the prior 
authorization from the approved Prior Authorization 
Request (PAR).  Do not combine services from more than 
one approved PAR on a single claim form. Do not attach a 
copy of the approved PAR unless advised to do so by the 
authorizing agency or the fiscal agent.  

19A. Date of Service 
 

From:  
6 digits 
MMDDYY 
To: 
6 digits 
MMDDYY 

Required 
The field accommodates the entry of two dates:  a 
“beginning” or “from” date of service and an “ending” or “to” 
date of service. 
Single date of service 

From To 

01 01 2012    
 

Or 

From To 

01 01 2012 01 01 2012 
 

Span dates of service 

01 01 2012 01 31 2012 
 

 
Single Date of Service:  Enter the six digit date of service in 
the “From” field. Completion of the “To” field is not required.  
Do not spread the date entry across the two fields. 
Span billing:  Span billing is permissible if the same service 
(same procedure code) is provided on consecutive dates. 

 

19B. Place of Service 
 

2 digits Required 
Enter the Place Of Service (POS) code that describes the 
location where services were rendered.  The Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program accepts the CMS place of 
service codes.  
04 Homeless Shelter 
11 Office  
12 Home  
15 Mobile Unit 
20 Urgent Care Facility 
21 Inpatient hospital  
22 Outpatient hospital  
23 Emergency room hospital 
25 Birthing Center 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

19B. Place of Service 
(continued) 

2 digits 26 Military Treatment Center 
31 Skilled Nursing Facility 
32 Nursing facility  
33 Custodial Care Facility 
34 Hospice 
41 Transportation Land 
51 Inpatient Psychiatric Facility 
52 Psychiatric Facility Partial  Hospitalization 
53 Community mental health center 
54 Intermediate Care Facility - MR 
60 Mass Immunization Center 
61 Comprehensive IP Rehab Facility 
62 Comprehensive OP Rehab Facility 
65 End Stage Renal Dialysis Trtmt Facility 
71 State-Local Public Hlth Clinic 
99 Other Unlisted 

19C.  Procedure Code 
(HCPCS)  
 

5 characters: 
5 digits or 1 
letter plus 4 
digits or 2 
letters plus 3 
digits 

Required 
Enter the HCPCS procedure code that specifically 
describes the service for which payment is requested. 
All procedures must be identified with codes in the current 
edition of Physicians Current Procedural Terminology 
(CPT).  CPT is updated annually. 
HCPCS Level II Codes 
The current Medicare coding publication (for Medicare 
crossover claims only). 
Only approved codes from the current CPT or HCPCS 
publications will be accepted. 

Modifiers 
 

2 characters:  
Letters or 
digits 
May enter up 
to two 2 
character 
modifiers  

Enter the appropriate procedure-related modifier that 
applies to the billed service.  
Enter two (2) characters in each field.  
Modifiers 
GO – Occupational Therapy 
GT – Physical Therapy  
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

19D. Rendering Provider No.   
 

8 digits Required 
Enter the eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number assigned 
to the individual who actually performed or 
rendered the billed service.  This number 
cannot be assigned to a group or clinic. 

19E. Referring Provider No.   
 

8 digits Conditional 
Complete for clients enrolled in the Primary 
Care Physician (PCP) program if:  
The rendering or billing provider is not the 
primary care provider and  
The billed service requires PCP referral. 
Enter the PCP’s eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number.  Entry of 
the PCP’s provider number represents the 
provider’s declaration that he/she has a referral 
from the PCP. 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

19F. Diagnosis 
 

P S T
 

1 digit per column 

Required 
Each billed line must have at least one primary 
diagnosis referenced.  At least one diagnosis 
code must be entered.  
Enter up to four diagnosis codes starting at the 
far left side of the coding area.   
Do not enter the decimal point.   Do not enter 
zeros to fill the spaces when the diagnosis code 
is fewer than 5 digits. 
From field 18 To field(s) 19F 
Example: (May require 4th or 5th digit) 

1 7 8 5 5 9      
           

2 8 2 4 X    P S T 
           

3 2 7 6 5 X  Line 1 1 2 3 
           

4 V 2 2 X   Line 2 2   
           

       Line 3 4 2  

For each billed service, indicate which of the 
diagnoses in field 18 are Primary, Secondary, 
or Tertiary.  
In the example above, for services reported on 
line 1, the primary reason for the service 
(diagnosis) was diagnosis 785.59, the 
secondary reason was 276.5, and the tertiary 
reason was V22.  For the services reported on 
line 2, the primary (and only reason) was 824.  
On line 3, there were two reasons for the 
services, V22. primary and 824 secondary. 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

19G. Charges 
 

Up to 7 digits: 
Currency 
99999.99 

Required 
Enter the usual and customary charge for the 
service represented by the procedure code on 
the detail line.  
Some CPT procedure codes are grouped with 
other related CPT procedure codes. When 
more than one procedure from the same group 
is billed, special multiple pricing rules apply. 
The base procedure is the procedure with the 
highest allowable amount.  The base code is 
used to determine the allowable amounts for 
additional CPT surgical procedures when more 
than one procedure from the same grouping is 
performed. 
Submitted charges cannot be more than 
charges made to non-Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program covered individuals for the 
same service. 
Do not deduct Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program co-payment or commercial insurance 
payments from usual and customary charges. 

19H. Days or Units 
 

4 digits Required  
Enter the number of services provided for each 
procedure code. 
Enter whole numbers only.   
Do not enter fractions or decimals.  
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

19I. COPAY   
 

1 digit Conditional 
Complete if co-payment is required of this client 
for this service.  Enter one of the following 
codes: 
1-Refused to pay co-payment 
2-Paid co-payment 
3-Co-payment not requested 

19J. Emergency   
 

Check box  Conditional 
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the column to 
indicate the service is rendered for a life-
threatening condition or one that requires 
immediate medical intervention. 
If checked, the service on this detail line is 
exempt from co-payment and from PCP Program 
referral requirements. 

19K. Family Planning  
 

Check box  Conditional 
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the column to 
indicate the service is rendered for family 
planning. 
If checked, the service on this detail line is 
exempt from co-payment and from PCP Program 
referral requirements. 

19L. EPSDT   
 

Check box  Conditional  
Enter a check mark or an “x” in the column to 
indicate the service is provided as a follow-up to 
or referral from an EPSDT screening 
examination. 

Medicare SPR Date  
(unlabeled field) 
 

6 digits: MMDDYY Conditional 
Complete for Medicare crossover claims.  Enter 
the date of the Medicare Standard Paper Remit 
(SPR) or Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA).   
 Do not complete this field if Medicare denied 

all benefits. 
 Do not combine items from several 

SPRs/ERAs on a single claim form. 
 Bill for as many crossover items as appear 

on a single SPR/ERA up to a maximum of 6 
lines. Complete separate claim forms for 
additional lines on the SPR/ERA. 

 Providers must submit a copy of the 
SPR/ERA with paper claims. Be sure to 
retain the original SPR/ERA for audit 
purposes.   
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

20. Total Charges   
 

Up to 7 digits: 
Currency 
99999.99 

Required 
Enter the sum of all charges listed in field 19G 
(Charges).   
Each claim form must be completed as a full 
document.  Do not use the claim form as a 
continuation billing (e.g., Page 1 of 2, etc.). 

21. Medicare Paid   
 

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99 

Conditional  
Complete for Medicare crossover claims. 
Enter the Medicare payment amount shown on 
the Medicare payment voucher. 

22. Third Party Paid   
  

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99  

Conditional  
Complete if the client has commercial health 
insurance and the third party resource has made 
payment on the billed services. Enter the amount 
of the third party payment shown on the third 
party payment voucher.   
Do not enter Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program co-payment in this field or anywhere 
else on the claim form. 

23. Net Charge   
 

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99 

Required 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program claims 
(Not Medicare Crossover) 
Claims without third party payment.  Net charge 
equals the total charge (field 20). 
Claims with third party payment.  Net charge 
equals the total charge (field 20) minus the third 
party payment (field 22) amount. 
Medicare Crossover claims 
Crossover claims without third party payment.  
Net charge equals the sum of the Medicare 
deductible amount (field 24) plus the Medicare 
coinsurance (field 25) amount. 
Crossover claims with third party payment. Net 
charge equals the sum of the Medicare 
deductible amount (field 24) plus the Medicare 
coinsurance (field 25) amount minus the third 
party payment (field 22) amount. 

24. Medicare Deductible  
 

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99 

Conditional  
Complete for Medicare crossover claims.  Enter 
the Medicare deductible amount shown on the 
Medicare payment voucher. 
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Field Label Completion 
format Instructions 

25. Medicare Coinsurance  
 

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99 

Conditional  
Complete for Medicare crossover claims.  Enter 
the Medicare coinsurance amount shown on the 
Medicare payment voucher.   

26. Medicare Disallowed    
 

7 digits:  
Currency 
99999.99  

Conditional  
Complete for Medicare crossover claims.  Enter 
the amount Medicare disallowed, if any, shown 
on the Medicare payment voucher. 

27. Signature (Subject to 
Certification on 
Reverse) and Date   

 

Text Required 
Each claim must bear the signature of the 
enrolled provider or the signature of a registered 
authorized agent. 
A holographic signature stamp may be used if 
authorization for the stamp is on file with the 
fiscal agent.  
An authorized agent or representative may sign 
the claim for the enrolled provider if the name 
and signature of the agent is on file with the 
fiscal agent 
Unacceptable signature alternatives:   
Claim preparation personnel may not sign the 
enrolled provider’s name.  
Initials are not acceptable as a signature. 
Typed or computer printed names are not 
acceptable as a signature. 
“Signature on file” notation is not acceptable in 
place of an authorized signature.  

28. Billing Provider Name 
 

Text Required  
Enter the name of the individual or organization 
that will receive payment for the billed services. 

29. Billing Provider 
Number  

 

8 digits Required  
Enter the eight-digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number assigned 
to the individual or organization that will receive 
payment for the billed services. 

30. Remarks 
 

Text Conditional  
Use to document the Late Bill Override Date for 
timely filing. 
When applicable, enter the word “CLIA” followed 
by the number.  
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UB-04 Paper Claim Reference Table 
PT and OT outpatient hospital paper claims must be submitted on the UB-04 claim form. 

The information in the following Paper Claim Reference Table lists the required, optional and/or 
conditional form locators for submitting the UB-04 paper claim form to the Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program for PT and OT services.  It also provides instructions for completing Form Locators (FL) as they 
appear on the paper UB-04 claim form.  Instructions for completing the UB-04 claim form are based on 
the current National Uniform Billing Committee (NUBC) UB-04 Reference Manual.  Unless otherwise 
noted, all data FLs on the UB-04 have the same attributes (specifications) for the Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program as those indicated in the NUBC UB-04 Reference Manual.   

All code values listed in the NUBC UB-04 Reference Manual for each FL may not be used for submitting 
paper claims to the Colorado Medical Assistance Program.  The appropriate code values listed in this 
manual must be used when billing the Colorado Medical Assistance Program.  

The UB-04 certification must be completed and attached to all claims submitted on the UB-04 paper 
claim form.  A copy of the certification form is included with this manual.  Completed UB-04 paper 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program claims, including hardcopy Medicare claims, should be mailed to 
the correct fiscal agent address located in Appendix A of the Appendices section in Provider Services 
Billing Manuals.  

Do not submit “continuation” claims.  Each claim form has a set number of billing lines available for 
completion.  Do not crowd more lines on the form.  Billing lines in excess of the designated number are 
not processed or acknowledged.  Claims with more than one page may be submitted electronically. 

Form Locator and 
Label 

Completion 
Format Instructions 

1.   Billing Provider 
Name, Address, 
Telephone 
Number 
 

Text Required 
Enter the provider or agency name and complete 
mailing address of the provider who is billing for the 
services:   

Street/Post Office box 
City 
State 
Zip Code  

Abbreviate the state using standard post office 
abbreviations.  Enter the telephone number. 

2.  Pay-to Name, 
Address, City, 
State 

Text Required if different from FL 1. 
Enter the provider or agency name and complete 
mailing address of the provider who will receive 
payment for the services:   

Street/Post Office box 
City 
State 
Zip Code  

Abbreviate the state using standard post office 
abbreviations.  Enter the telephone number. 

   

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1201542320888
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Form Locator and 
Label 

Completion 
Format Instructions 

3a.  Patient Control 
Number 

Up to 20 
characters:  
Letters, numbers 
or hyphens 

Optional 
Enter information that identifies the client or claim in 
the provider’s billing system.  Submitted information 
appears on the Provider Claim Report.  

3b.  Medical Record 
Number  

17 digits Optional 
Enter the number assigned to the patient to assist in 
retrieval of medical records. 

4.  Type of Bill 
 

3 digits 
 

Required 
Enter the three-digit number indicating the specific 
type of bill.  The three-digit code requires one digit 
each in the following sequences (Type of facility, Bill 
classification, and Frequency): 

Digit 1 Type of Facility 

1 Hospital 

2 Skilled Nursing Facility 

3 Home Health 

4 Religious Non-Medical Health Care 
Institution Hospital Inpatient 

5 Religious Non-Medical Health Care 
Institution Post-Hospital Extended 
Care Services 

6 Intermediate Care 

7 Clinic (Rural Health/FQHC/Dialysis 
Center) 

8 Special Facility (Hospice, RTCs) 

Digit 2 Bill Classification (Except clinics & 
special facilities): 

1 Inpatient (Including Medicare Part A) 

2 Inpatient (Medicare Part B only) 

3 Outpatient 

4 Other (for hospital referenced 
diagnostic services or home health 
not under a plan of treatment) 

5 Intermediate Care Level I 

6 Intermediate Care Level II 

7 Sub-Acute Inpatient (revenue code 
19X required with this bill type) 
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Form Locator and 
Label 

Completion 
Format Instructions 

4.  Type of Bill 
 (continued) 

3 digits 
 

Required 
Enter the three-digit number indicating the specific 
type of bill.  The three-digit code requires one digit 
each in the following sequences (Type of facility, Bill 
classification, and Frequency): 

Digit 2 Bill Classification (Except clinics & 
special facilities): 

8 Swing Beds 

9 Other 
 

Digit 2 Bill Classification (Clinics Only): 

1 Rural Health/FQHC 

2 Hospital Based or Independent 
Renal Dialysis Center 

3 Freestanding 

4 Outpatient Rehabilitation Facility 
(ORF) 

5 Comprehensive Outpatient 
Rehabilitation Facilities (CORFs) 

6 Community Mental Health Center 

Digit 2 Bill Classification (Special Facilities 
Only): 

1 Hospice (Non-Hospital Based) 

2 Hospice (Hospital Based) 

3 Ambulatory Surgery Center 

4 Freestanding Birthing Center 

5 Critical Access Hospital 

6 Residential Facility 

Digit 3 Frequency: 

0 Non-Payment/Zero Claim 

1 Admit through discharge claim 

2 Interim - First claim 

3 Interim - Continuous claim 

4 Interim - Last claim 

7 Replacement of prior claim 

8 Void of prior claim 
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Label 
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5.  Federal Tax 
Number 

None Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

6.  Statement 
Covers Period – 
From/Through 

From: 
6 digits 
MMDDYY 
Through: 
6 digits 
MMDDYY 

Required 
(Note: OP claims cannot span over a month’s end) 
Enter the From (beginning) date and Through 
(ending) date of service covered by this bill using 
MMDDYY format. For Example:  January 1, 2011 = 
0101011 
This form locator must reflect the beginning and 
ending dates of service. When span billing for multiple 
dates of service and multiple procedures, complete FL 
45 (Service Date). Providers not wishing to span bill 
following these guidelines, must submit one claim per 
date of service.  "From" and "Through" dates must be 
the same.  All line item entries must represent the 
same date of service. 

8a. Patient Identifier  Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

8b. Patient Name Up to 25 
characters:  
Letters & spaces 

Required 
Enter the client’s last name, first name and middle 
initial. 

9a.  Patient Address 
 – Street  

 

Characters 
Letters & 
numbers 

Required 
Enter the client's street/post office box as determined 
at the time of admission. 

9b.  Patient Address 
– City 

Text Required 
Enter the client's city as determined at the time of 
admission. 

9c.  Patient Address 
– State  

Text Required 
Enter the client's state as determined at the time of 
admission. 

9d.  Patient Address 
– Zip  

Digits Required 
Enter the client's zip code as determined at the time of 
admission. 

9e.  Patient Address 
– Country Code 

Digits Optional 
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Label 
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10.  Birthdate 8 digits 
(MMDDCCYY) 
 

Required 
Enter the client’s birthdate using two digits for the 
month, two digits for the date, and four digits for the 
year (MMDDCCYY format).  Example:  01012010 for 
January 1, 2010.    

11. Patient Sex 1 letter Required 
Enter an M (male) or F (female) to indicate the client’s 
sex. 

12. Admission Date  6 digits Conditional 
Required for observation holding beds only 

13. Admission Hour 6 digits Conditional 
Required for observation holding beds only 

14.  Admission Type  
 

1 digit 
 

Required 
Enter the following to identify the admission priority: 
1 – Emergency 
Client requires immediate intervention as a result of 
severe, life threatening or potentially disabling 
conditions. 
Exempts inpatient hospital & clinic claims from co-
payment and PCP referral. 
Exempts outpatient hospital claims from co-payment 
and PCP only if revenue code 450 or 459 is present. 
This is the only benefit service for an undocumented 
alien. 
If span billing, emergency services cannot be included 
in the span bill and must be billed separately from 
other outpatient services. 
2 - Urgent 
The client requires immediate attention for the care 
and treatment of a physical or mental disorder. 
3 - Elective 
The client’s condition permits adequate time to 
schedule the availability of accommodations. 
4 - Newborn 
Required for inpatient and outpatient hospital. 
5 - Trauma Center  
Visit to a trauma center/hospital as licensed or 
designated by the state or local government authority 
authorized to do so, or as verified by the American 
College of Surgeons and involving trauma activation. 
Clinics 
Required only for emergency visit. 
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Form Locator and 
Label 

Completion 
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15. Source of 
Admission 
 

1 digit 
 

Required 
Enter the appropriate code for co-payment exceptions 
on claims submitted for outpatient services.  (To be 
used in conjunction with FL 14, Type of Admission). 

1 Physician referral 

2 Clinic referral 

3 Referred from HMO 

4 Transfer from a hospital 

5 Transfer from a skilled nursing facility 
(SNF) 

6 Transfer from another health care 
facility 

7 Emergency Room 

8 Court/Law Enforcement 

9 Information not available 

A Transfer from a Critical Access 
Hospital 

B Transfer from another Home Health 
Agency 

C Readmission to Same Home Health 
Agency 

Newborns 
1 Normal Delivery 

2 Premature Delivery 

3 Sick Baby 

4 Extramural Birth (Birth in a non-sterile 
environment) 

 

16.  Discharge Hour 2 digits Not Required 
Enter the hour the client was discharged from 
inpatient hospital care.  Use the same coding used in 
FL 13 (Admission Hr.) 

17.  Patient 
Discharge 
Status  

2 digits Conditional 
Enter patient status as of discharge date. 

01 Discharged to Home or Self Care 
(Dialysis is limited to code 01) 

02 Discharged/transferred to another 
short term hospital 
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17.  Patient 
Discharge 
Status  
(continued) 
 

2 digits 
 

70 Discharged/Transferd to Other HC  
Insitution  

71 Discharged/transferred/referred to 
another institution for outpatient 
services 

72 Discharged/transferred/referred to this 
institution for outpatient services 

Use code 02 for a PPS hospital transferring a patient 
to another PPS hospital. 
Code 05, Discharged to Another Type Institution, is 
the most appropriate code to use for a PPS hospital 
transferring a patient to an exempt hospital.   
**A PPS hospital cannot use Patient Status codes 30, 
31 or 32 on any claim submitted for DRG 
reimbursement.  The code(s) are valid for use on 
exempt hospital claims only. 
Interim bills may be submitted for Prospective 
Payment System (PPS)-DRG claims, but must meet 
specific billing requirements. 
For exempt hospitals use the appropriate code from 
the codes listed. Note: Refer to the “Interim” billing 
instruction in this section of the manual. 

18-28. Condition Codes 2 Digits Conditional 
Complete with as many codes necessary to identify 
conditions related to this bill that may affect payer 
processing. 
Condition Codes 

01 Military service related 

02 Employment related 

04 HMO enrollee 

05 Lien has been filed 

06 ESRD patient - First 18 months 
entitlement 

07 Treatment of non-terminal 
condition/hospice patient 

17 Patient is homeless 

25 Patient is a non-US resident 

39 Private room medically necessary 

42 Outpatient Continued Care not related to  
Inpatient   
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18-28. Condition Codes 
(continued) 

2 Digits 44 Inpatient CHANGED TO Outpatient  

51 Outpatient Non-diagnostic Service  
unrelated to Inpatinet admit 

60 DRG (Day outlier) 

Renal dialysis settings  

71 Full care unit 

72 Self care unit 

73 Self care training 

74 Home care 

75 Home care - 100 percent reimbursement 

76 Back-up facility 

Special Program Indicator Codes 

A1 EPSDT/CHAP 

A2 Physically Handicapped Children's 
Program 

A4 Family Planning 

A6 PPV/Medicare 

A9 Second Opinion Surgery 

AA Abortion Due to Rape  

AB Abortion Done Due to Incest  

AD Abortion Due to Life Endangerment  

AI Sterilization 

B3 
B4 

Pregnancy Indicator 
Admission Unrelated to Discharge 

PRO Approval Codes 

C1 Approved as billed 

C2 Automatic approval as billed - Based on 
focused review 

C3 Partial approval 

C4 Admission/Services denied 

C5 Post payment review applicable 

C6 Admission preauthorization 

C7 Extended authorization 
 

29.  Accident State  Optional 
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Completion 
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31-34. Occurrence 
Code/Date 
 

2 digits and 6 
digits 
 

Conditional 
Complete both the code and date of occurrence. 
Enter the appropriate code and the date on which it 
occurred.  Enter the date using MMDDYY format. 

Occurrence Codes: 
01 Accident/Medical Coverage 
02 Auto Accident - No Fault Liability 
03 Accident/Tort Liability 
04 Accident/Employment Related 
05 Other Accident/No Medical Coverage 

or Liability Coverage 
06 Crime Victim 
20 Date Guarantee of Payment Began 
24* Date Insurance Denied 
25* Date Benefits Terminated by Primary 

Payer 
26 Date Skilled Nursing Facility Bed 

Available 
27 Date of Hospice Certification or Re-

certification 
40 Scheduled Date of Admission (RTD) 
50 Medicare Pay Date 
51 Medicare Denial Date 
53 Late Bill Override Date 
55 Insurance Pay Date 
A3 Benefits Exhausted - Indicate the last 

date of service that benefits are 
available and after which payment can 
be made by payer A indicated in FL 50 

B3 Benefits Exhausted - Indicate the last 
date of service that benefits are 
available and after which payment can 
be made by payer B indicated in FL 50 

C3 Benefits Exhausted - Indicate the last 
date of service that benefits are 
available and after which payment can 
be made by payer C indicated in FL 50 

*Other Payer occurrence codes 24 and 25 must be 
used when applicable.  The claim must be submitted 
with the third party information 
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35-36. Occurrence 
Span Code 
From/ Through 

2 digits and 6 
digits 

Leave blank 

38.  Responsible 
Party Name/ 
Address 

None Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

39-41. Value Code- 
Code             
Value Code- 
Amount  

2 characters  
and 9 digits 

Conditional 
Enter appropriate codes and related dollar amounts to 
identify monetary data or number of days using whole 
numbers, necessary for the processing of this claim.   
Never enter negative amounts.   
If a value code is entered, a dollar amount or numeric 
value related to the code must always be entered.  

01 Most common semiprivate rate 
(Accommodation Rate) 

06 Medicare blood deductible 

14 No fault including auto/other 

15 Worker's Compensation 

30 Preadmission testing 

31 Patient Liability Amount 

32 Multiple Patient Ambulance Transport 

37 Pints of Blood Furnished 

38 Blood Deductible Pints 

40 New Coverage Not Implemented by HMO 

45 Accident Hour 
Enter the hour when the accident occurred 
that necessitated medical treatment.  Use 
the same coding used in FL 18 (Admission 
Hour). 

49 Hematocrit Reading - EPO Related 

58 Arterial Blood Gas (PO2/PA2) 

68 EPO-Drug 

80 Covered Days 

81 Non-Covered Days 
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39-41. Value Code- 
Code             
Value Code- 
Amount  
(continued) 

2 characters  
and 9 digits 

Enter the deductible amount applied by indicated 
payer: 

A1 Deductible Payer A 

B1 Deductible Payer B  

C1 Deductible Payer C  

Enter the amount applied to client’s co-insurance 
by indicated payer: 

A2 Coinsurance Payer A  

B2 Coinsurance Payer B  

C2 Coinsurance Payer C  

Enter the amount paid by indicated payer: 

A3     Estimated Responsibility Payer A  

B3     Estimated Responsibility Payer B  

C3     Estimated Responsibility Payer C 

Enter the amount paid by client: 

FC Patient Paid Amount 

For Rancho Coma Score bill with appropriate 
diagnosis for head injury. 
Medicare & TPL - See A1-A3, B1-B3, & C1-C3 above 

42.  Revenue Code  3 digits Required 
Enter the revenue code which identifies the specific 
accommodation or ancillary service provided.  List 
revenue codes in ascending order. 
A revenue code must appear only once per date of 
service.  If more than one of the same service is 
provided on the same day, combine the units and 
charges on one line accordingly. 
When billing outpatient hospital radiology, the 
radiology revenue code may be repeated, but the 
corresponding HCPCS code cannot be repeated for 
the same date of service.  Refer to instructions under 
FL 44 (HCPCS/Rates). 
Psychiatric step down 

Use the following revenue codes: 

0114 Psychiatric Step Down 1 

0124 Psychiatric Step Down 2 
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43.  Revenue 
Code 
Description   

Text Required 
Enter the revenue code description or abbreviated 
description. 
When reporting an NDC 
 Enter the NDC qualifier of “N4” in the first two 

positions on the left side of the field. 
 Enter the 11-digit NDC numeric code 
 Enter the NDC unit of measure qualifier (examples 

include): 
 F2 – International Unit 
 GR – Gram 
 ML – Milliliter 
 UN – Units 

 Enter the NDC unit of measure quantity 
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44.      HCPCS/Rates/ 
HIPPS Rate 
Codes  

5 digits Conditional 
Enter only the HCPCS code for each detail line.  Use 
approved modifiers listed in this section for hospital 
based transportation services. 
Complete for laboratory, radiology, physical therapy, 
occupational therapy, and hospital based transportation.  
When billing HCPCS codes, the appropriate revenue 
code must also be billed. 
HCPCS codes must be identified for the following 
revenue codes: 
 030X  Laboratory 
 032X  Radiology – Diagnostic 
 033X  Radiology – Therapeutic 
 034X  Nuclear Medicine 
 035X  CT Scan 
 040X  Other Imaging Services 
 042X  Physical Therapy 
 043X  Occupational Therapy 
 054X  Ambulance 
 061X  MRI 

HCPCS codes cannot be repeated for the same date of 
service.  Combine the units in FL 46 (Service Units) to 
report multiple services. 
The following revenue codes always require a HCPCS 
code.  Please reference the Provider Services Bulletins 
section of the Department’s Web site for a list of 
physician-administered drugs that also require an NDC 
code. 
When a HCPCS code is repeated more than once per 
day and billed on separate lines, use modifier 76 to 
indicate this is a repeat procedure and not a duplicate. 

0252 Non-Generic Drugs 

0253 Take Home Drugs 

0255 Drugs Incident to Radiology 

0257 Non-Prescription  

0258 IV Solutions 

0259 Other Pharmacy 

0260 IV Therapy General Classification 

0261 Infusion Pump 

0262 IV Therapy/Pharmacy Services 

0263 IV Therapy/Drug/Supply Delivery 
 

http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1246972411343


COLORADO MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM  PHYSICAL AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

Revised: 02/14 Page 39 

Form Locator and 
Label 

Completion 
Format Instructions 

44.      HCPCS/Rates/ 
HIPPS Rate 
Codes  

 (continued) 

5 digits 0264 IV Therapy/Supplies 

0269 Other IV Therapy 

0631 Single Source Drug 

0632 Multiple Source Drug 

0633 Restrictive Prescription 

0634 Erythropoietin (EPO) <10,000 

0635 Erythropoietin (EPO) >10,000 

0636 Drugs Requiring Detailed Coding 
 

45. Service Date 6 digits Required 
For span bills only 
Enter the date of service using MMDDYY format for each 
detail line completed. 
Each date of service must fall within the date span 
entered in the "Statement Covers Period" (FL 6). 
 Not required for single date of service claims. 

46. Service Units 3 digits Required 
Enter a unit value on each line completed.  Use whole 
numbers only.  Do not enter fractions or decimals and do 
not show a decimal point followed by a 0 to designate 
whole numbers (e.g., Do not enter 1.0 to signify one unit) 
The grand total line (Line 23) does not require a unit 
value. 
For span bills, the units of service reflect only those visits, 
miles or treatments provided on dates of service in FL 45. 

47. Total Charges 9 digits Required 
Enter the total charge for each line item.  Calculate the 
total charge as the number of units multiplied by the unit 
charge.  Do not subtract Medicare or third party 
payments from line charge entries.  Do not enter negative 
amounts.  A grand total in line 23 is required for all 
charges. 

48.  Non-Covered 
Charges 

9 digits Conditional 
Enter incurred charges that are not payable by the 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program. 
Non-covered charges must be entered in both FL 47 
(Total Charges) and FL 48 (Non-Covered Charges).  
Each column requires a grand total. 
Non-covered charges cannot be billed for outpatient 
hospital laboratory or hospital based transportation 
services. 
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50.  Payer Name   1 letter and text Required 
Enter the payment source code followed by name of 
each payer organization from which the provider might 
expect payment. 
At least one line must indicate The Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program. 

Source Payment Codes 

B Workmen's Compensation 

C Medicare 

D Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program 

E Other Federal Program 

F Insurance Company 

G Blue Cross, including Federal 
Employee Program 

H Other - Inpatient (Part B Only) 

I Other 

Line A Primary Payer 

Line B Secondary Payer 

Line C Tertiary Payer 
 

51.  Health Plan ID
  

8 digits Required 
Enter the provider’s Health Plan ID for each payer name. 
Enter the eight digit Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program provider number assigned to the billing 
provider. Payment is made to the enrolled provider or 
agency that is assigned this number. 

52.  Release of 
Information 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

53.  Assignment 
of Benefits 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

54.  Prior 
Payments   

Up to 9 digits Conditional 
Complete when there are Medicare or third party 
payments.  
Enter third party and/or Medicare payments.  
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55.  Estimated 
Amount Due  

Up to 9 digits Conditional 
Complete when there are Medicare or third party 
payments. 
Enter the net amount due from The Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program after provider has received other 
third party, Medicare or patient liability amount. 
Medicare Crossovers 
Enter the sum of the Medicare coinsurance plus 
Medicare deductible less third party payments and 
patient payments. 

56.  National 
Provider 
Identifier (NPI) 

10 digits Optional 
Enter the billing provider’s 10-digit National Provider 
Identifier (NPI). 

57.  Other 
Provider ID 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

58.  Insured’s 
Name 

Up to 30 
characters 

Required 
Enter the client's name on the Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program line. 
Other Insurance/Medicare 
Complete additional lines when there is third party 
coverage.   Enter the policyholder's last name, first name, 
and middle initial. 

60.  Insured’s 
Unique ID 

Up to 20 
characters 

Required 
Enter the insured's unique identification number assigned 
by the payer organization exactly as it appears on the 
health insurance card.  Include letter prefixes or suffixes 
shown on the card. 

61.  Insurance 
Group Name 

14 letters Conditional 
Complete when there is third party coverage. 
Enter the name of the group or plan providing the 
insurance to the insured exactly as it appears on the 
health insurance card. 

62.  Insurance 
Group 
Number 
 

17 digits 
 

Conditional 
Complete when there is third party coverage. 
Enter the identification number, control number, or code 
assigned by the carrier or fund administrator identifying 
the group under which the individual is carried. 

63.  Treatment 
Authorization 
Code  

Up to 18 
characters 

Conditional 
Complete when the service requires a PAR. 
Enter the authorization number in this FL if a PAR is 
required and has been approved for services. 
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64.  Document 
Control 
Number 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

65.  Employer 
Name 

Text Conditional 
Complete when there is third party coverage. 
Enter the name of the employer that provides health care 
coverage for the individual identified in FL 58 (Insured 
Name). 

66.  Diagnosis 
Version 
Qualifier   

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

67.  Principal 
Diagnosis 
Code 
 

Up to 6 digits Required 
Enter the exact diagnosis code describing the principal 
diagnosis that exists at the time of admission or develops 
subsequently and affects the length of stay.  Do not add 
extra zeros to the diagnosis code. 

67A- 67Q. Other 
Diagnosis  

Up to 6 digits Conditional 
Enter the exact diagnosis code corresponding to 
additional conditions that co-exist at the time of 
admission or develop subsequently and which effect the 
treatment received or the length of stay.  Do not add  

69.  Admitting 
Diagnosis 
Code 

Up to 6 digits Optional 
Enter the diagnosis code as stated by the physician at 
the time of admission. 

70.  Patient 
Reason 
Diagnosis 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

71.  PPS Code  Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 

72.  External 
Cause of 
Injury Code 
(E-code) 

Up to 6 digits Optional 
Enter the diagnosis code for the external cause of an 
injury, poisoning, or adverse effect.  This code must 
begin with an "E". 
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74.  Principal 
Procedure 
Code/ Date  

Up to 7 
characters  
or Up to 6 digits 

Conditional 
Enter the procedure code for the principal procedure 
performed during this billing period and the date on which 
procedure was performed.  Enter the date using 
MMDDYY format. 
Apply the following criteria to determine the principle 
procedure: 
The principal procedure is not performed for diagnostic or 
exploratory purposes.  This code is related to definitive 
treatment; and 
The principal procedure is most related to the primary 
diagnosis. 

74A.  Other 
Procedure 
Code/Date 

Up to 7 
characters  
or Up to 6 digits 

Conditional 
Complete when there are additional significant procedure 
codes. 
Enter the procedure codes identifying all significant 
procedures other than the principle procedure and the 
dates on which the procedures were performed.  Report 
those that are most important for the episode of care and 
specifically any therapeutic procedures closely related to 
the principle diagnosis.  Enter the date using MMDDYY 
format. 

76.Attending 
NPI – Conditional 
QUAL - Conditional 
ID - (Colorado 
Medical Assistance 
Provider #) – 
Required 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Attending- Last/First 
Name 

NPI - 10 digits 
 
QUAL – Text 
Medicaid ID - 8 
digits 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Text 

Colorado Medical Assistance Program ID Required 
NPI - Enter the 10-digit NPI and eight-digit Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program provider number assigned 
to the physician having primary responsibility for the 
patient's medical care and treatment.  This number is 
obtained from the physician, and cannot be a clinic or 
group number. 
(If the attending physician is not enrolled in the Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program or if the client leaves the ER 
before being seen by a physician, the hospital may enter 
their individual numbers.) 
Hospitals may enter the client’s regular physician’s 10-
digit NPI and Medical Assistance Program provider ID in 
the Attending Physician ID form locator if the locum 
tenens physician is not enrolled in the Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program. 
QUAL – Enter “1D “ for Medicaid 
Enter the attending physician’s last and first name. 
This form locator must be completed for all services. 

77.  Operating- 
NPI/QUAL/ID 

 Not required 
Submitted information is not entered into the claim 
processing system. 
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78-79. Other ID 
NPI – Conditional 
QUAL - Conditional 
ID - (Colorado 
Medical Assistance 
Provider #) – 
Conditional 

 
  
 
 
 

NPI - 10 digits 
QUAL – Text 
Medicaid ID - 8 
digits 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Conditional  – Colorado Medical Assistance Program ID 
(see below) 
Complete when attending physician is not the PCP or to 
identify additional physicians. 
NPI - Enter up to two 10-digit NPI and eight digit 
physician Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider 
numbers, when applicable.  This form locator identifies 
physicians other than the attending physician.  If the 
attending physician is not the PCP or if a clinic is a PCP 
agent, enter the PCP eight digit Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program provider number as the referring 
physician.  The name of the Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program client's PCP appears on the eligibility 
verification.  Review either for eligibility and PCP.  The 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program does not require 
that the PCP number appear more than once on each 
claim submitted. 
The attending physician’s last and first name are 
optional. 

80.  Remarks Text Optional 
Enter specific additional information necessary to 
process the claim or fulfill reporting requirements. 

81.  Code-Code 
QUAL/CODE/
VALUE (a-d) 

 Optional 
Submitted information is not entered into the 
claim processing system 
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Institutional Provider Certification  
This is to certify that the foregoing information is true, accurate and complete.  

This is to certify that I understand that payment of this claim will be from 
Federal and State funds and that any falsification, or concealment of material 
fact, may be prosecuted under Federal and State Laws.   

Signature:___________________________________________________  

Date:_________________________  

This document is an addendum to the UB-04 claim form and is required per 42 C.F.R. 445.18 (a)(1-2) to be 
attached to paper claims submitted on the UB-04.  
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Colorado 1500 OT/PT Claim Example 
 

 

 

 

 

 

  

Authorized Signature February 28, 2014 
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COLORADO MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM  PHYSICAL AND OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY 

Revised: 02/14 Page 48 

Late Bill Override Date 
For electronic claims, a delay reason code must be selected and a date must be noted in the “Claim 
Notes/LBOD” field. 

Valid Delay Reason Codes 

1 Proof of Eligibility Unknown or Unavailable 

3 Authorization Delays 

7 Third Party Processing Delay 

8 Delay in Eligibility Determination 

9 Original Claim Rejected or Denied Due to a Reason Unrelated to the Billing Limitation Rules 

11 Other 

 
The Late Bill Override Date (LBOD) allows providers to document compliance with timely filing 
requirements when the initial timely filing period has expired. Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
providers have 120 days from the date of service to submit their claim. For information on the 60-day 
resubmission rule for denied/rejected claims, please see the General Provider Information manual in the 
Provider Services Billing Manuals section.  

Making false statements about timely filing compliance is a misrepresentation and falsification that, upon 
conviction, makes the individual who prepares the claim and the enrolled provider subject to fine and 
imprisonment under state and/or federal law. 

Billing Instruction 
Detail Instructions 

LBOD Completion 
Requirements 

Electronic claim formats provide specific fields for documenting the LBOD. 
Supporting documentation must be kept on file for 6 years. 
For paper claims, follow the instructions appropriate for the claim form you are 
using. 
UB-04: Occurrence code 53 and the date are required in FL 31-34. 
Colorado 1500: Indicate “LBOD” and the date in box 30 - Remarks. 
2006 ADA Dental: Indicate “LBOD” and the date in box 35 - Remarks 

Adjusting Paid Claims If the initial timely filing period has expired and a previously submitted claim that 
was filed within the original Colorado Medical Assistance Program timely filing 
period or the allowed 60 day follow-up period was paid and now needs to be 
adjusted, resulting in additional payment to the provider. 
Adjust the claim within 60 days of the claim payment. Retain all documents 
that prove compliance with timely filing requirements. 
Note: There is no time limit for providers to adjust paid claims that would result 
in repayment to the Colorado Medical Assistance Program. 
LBOD = the run date of the Colorado Medical Assistance Program Provider 
Claim Report showing the payment. 
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Billing Instruction 
Detail Instructions 

Denied Paper Claims If the initial timely filing period has expired and a previously submitted paper 
claim that was filed within the original Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
timely filing period or the allowed 60 day follow-up period was denied. 
Correct the claim errors and refile within 60 days of the claim denial or 
rejection. Retain all documents that prove compliance with timely filing 
requirements. 
LBOD = the run date of the Colorado Medical Assistance Program Provider 
Claim Report showing the denial. 

Returned Paper Claims A previously submitted paper claim that was filed within the original Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program timely filing period or the allowed 60 day follow-up 
period was returned for additional information. 
Correct the claim errors and re-file within 60 days of the date stamped on 
the returned claim. Retain a copy of the returned claim that shows the receipt or 
return date stamped by the fiscal agent. 
LBOD = the stamped fiscal agent date on the returned claim. 

Rejected Electronic 
Claims 

An electronic claim that was previously entered within the original Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program timely filing period or the allowed 60 day follow-up 
period was rejected and information needed to submit the claim was not 
available to refile at the time of the rejection. 
Correct claim errors and refile within 60 days of the rejection. Maintain a 
printed copy of the rejection notice that identifies the claim and date of rejection. 
LBOD = the date shown on the claim rejection report. 

Denied/Rejected Due 
to Client Eligibility 

An electronic eligibility verification response processed during the original 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program timely filing period states that the 
individual was not eligible but you were subsequently able to verify eligibility. 
Read also instructions for retroactive eligibility. 
File the claim within 60 days of the date of the rejected eligibility verification 
response. Retain a printed copy of the rejection notice that identifies the client 
and date of eligibility rejection.  
LBOD = the date shown on the eligibility rejection report. 

Retroactive Client 
Eligibility 

The claim is for services provided to an individual whose Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program eligibility was backdated or made retroactive. 
File the claim within 120 days of the date that the individual’s eligibility 
information appeared on state eligibility files. Obtain and maintain a letter or 
form from the county departments of social services that: 
Identifies the patient by name 
States that eligibility was backdated or retroactive 
Identifies the date that eligibility was added to the state eligibility system. 
LBOD = the date shown on the county letter that eligibility was added to or first 
appeared on the state eligibility system. 
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Billing Instruction 
Detail Instructions 

Delayed Notification of 
Eligibility 

The provider was unable to determine that the patient had Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program coverage until after the timely filing period expired. 
File the claim within 60 days of the date of notification that the individual had 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program coverage. Retain correspondence, 
phone logs, or a signed Delayed Eligibility Certification form (see Appendix H of 
the Appendices in the Provider Services Billing Manuals section) that identifies 
the client, indicates the effort made to identify eligibility, and shows the date of 
eligibility notification. 
Claims must be filed within 365 days of the date of service. No exceptions are 
allowed. 
This extension is available only if the provider had no way of knowing that the 
individual had Colorado Medical Assistance Program coverage.  
Providers who render services in a hospital or nursing facility are expected to 
get benefit coverage information from the institution. 
The extension does not give additional time to obtain Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program billing information. 
If the provider has previously submitted claims for the client, it is improper to 
claim that eligibility notification was delayed. 
LBOD = the date the provider was advised the individual had Colorado Medical 
Assistance Program benefits. 

Electronic Medicare 
Crossover Claims 

An electronic claim is being submitted for Medicare crossover benefits within 
120 days of the date of Medicare processing/ payment. (Note: On the paper 
claim form (only), the Medicare SPR/ERA date field documents crossover 
timely filing and completion of the LBOD is not required.) 
File the claim within 120 days of the Medicare processing/ payment date 
shown on the SPR/ERA. Maintain the original SPR/ERA on file. 
LBOD = the Medicare processing date shown on the SPR/ERA. 

Medicare Denied 
Services 

The claim is for Medicare denied services (Medicare non-benefit services, 
benefits exhausted services, or the client does not have Medicare coverage) 
being submitted within 60 days of the date of Medicare processing/denial. 
Note: This becomes a regular Colorado Medical Assistance Program claim, not 
a Medicare crossover claim. 
File the claim within 60 days of the Medicare processing date shown on the 
SPR/ERA.  Attach a copy of the SPR/ERA if submitting a paper claim and 
maintain the original SPR/ERA on file.  
LBOD = the Medicare processing date shown on the SPR/ERA. 
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Billing Instruction 
Detail Instructions 

Commercial Insurance 
Processing 

The claim has been paid or denied by commercial insurance. 
File the claim within 60 days of the insurance payment or denial. Retain the 
commercial insurance payment or denial notice that identifies the patient, 
rendered services, and shows the payment or denial date. 
Claims must be filed within 365 days of the date of service. No exceptions are 
allowed. If the claim is nearing the 365-day limit and the commercial insurance 
company has not completed processing, file the claim, receive a denial or 
rejection, and continue filing in compliance with the 60-day rule until insurance 
processing information is available. 
LBOD = the date commercial insurance paid or denied. 

Correspondence LBOD 
Authorization 

The claim is being submitted in accordance with instructions (authorization) 
from the Colorado Medical Assistance Program for a 60 day filing extension for 
a specific client, claim, services, or circumstances. 
File the claim within 60 days of the date on the authorization letter. Retain the 
authorization letter. 
LBOD = the date on the authorization letter. 

Client Changes 
Providers during 
Obstetrical Care 

The claim is for obstetrical care where the patient transferred to another 
provider for continuation of OB care. The prenatal visits must be billed using 
individual visit codes but the service dates are outside the initial timely filing 
period. 
File the claim within 60 days of the last OB visit. Maintain information in the 
medical record showing the date of the last prenatal visit and a notation that the 
patient transferred to another provider for continuation of OB care. 
LBOD = the last date of OB care by the billing provider. 
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PT and OT Therapy Revisions Log 

Revision 
Date 

Additions/Changes Pages Made by 

04/22/2009 Drafted Manual All jg 

09/14/2009 Updates and formatting Throughout jg 

10/19/2009 LBOD 44 jg 

01/12/2010 Updated Web site links Throughout jg 

02/10/2010 Changed EOMB to SPR 23 & 46 jg 

03/04/2010 Added link to Program Rules 2 jg 

07/14/2010 Updated date examples for field 19A 
Updated Colorado 1500 claim example UB-04 claim 
example 

19 
49 & 50 

jg 

07/15/2010 Added Electronic Remittance Advice (ERA) to Special 
Instructions for Medicare SPR Date field, to Electronic 
Medicare Crossover Claims and to Medicare Denied 
Services in Late Bill Override Date section 

23 
 

46 

jg 

08/30/2011 Deleted CFMC information and added ColoradoPAR 
fax number and address 

8 crc 

09/13/2011 Updated Par Reference Table to reflect changes to 
PAR form 

 vr 

09/15/2011 Updated PAR Form Examples  jg 

12/06/2011 Replaced 997 and 999 
Replaced wpc-edi.com/hipaa with wpc-
edi.com/Replaced Implementation Guide with 
Technical Report 3 (TR3) 

5 
3 
3 

 
ss 

05/18/2012 Redrafted Manual 
Removed all Speech Therapy references 
Added in contact information, etc for ColoradoPAR 

Throughout akb 

10/01/2012 Updated Global information such as Electronic Claim 
Submission and LBOD 

3 
54 

vr 

10/01/2012 Reformatted 
Updated TOC 

All 
i 

jg 

10/03/2012 Reformatted 
Updated TOC 

All 
i 

jg 

02/7/2014 Significant changes through. Added Habilitation 
Therapy content. 

All as 
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Revision 
Date 

Additions/Changes Pages Made by 

02/27/2014 UB-04 Paper Claim Reference Table Update: 
17- Added discharge status of 65, 66, 70  
18-28- Added condition codes 42, 44, 51;  

Added special program indicator AA, AB, AD, AI  
Removed A7 and A8  

35-63- Added 74 and 75  
39-41- Added value code/amount 30  

Added FC to enter amount paid by client  
42- Removed 0134 from psychiatric step down  
44- Added zero to HCPCS 

 
34-35 

36 
37 
37 
39 
40 
40 
40 

42-43 

cc 

02/07/2014 Updated TOC 
Formatted 
Updated PAR Examples 
Updated Claim Examples 

i 
Throughout 

12 & 13 
46 & 47 

jg 

Note: In many instances when specific pages are updated, the page numbers change for the entire 
section. Page numbers listed above, are the page numbers on which the updates/changes occur.  
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