Child Care Immunization Chart

2016-2017 Immunization Chart of Required Vaccines for
Child Care, Preschool and K-Entry

1. This chart is a “guide” for childcare providers or parents to determine which vaccines children are required to have
in order to be in compliance with state immunization requirements. Select the appropriate age range for the child
from the left hand column. The number of required doses are located in each of the columns and vaccines are
listed across the top of the page. Review the child’s immunization record with this chart to make sure they have
at least the number of doses required. Colorado Board of Health has accepted the Advisory Committee on
Immunization Practices (ACIP) schedule for those immunizations already “required” for attendance. Immunizations
that are not required but recommended include Rotavirus, Hepatitis A and Influenza vaccines.
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2. Please follow the ACIP Immunization Schedule for specific guidance on our webpage,
www.coloradoimmunizations.com, and click on Immunization Schedules.

3. If the child does not have the minimum number of doses, the parent is to be directly notified (in person, by phone,
or by mail) that their child does not have the required minimum number of vaccine doses. Within 14 days of direct
notification, the parent is to obtain the required vaccine(s) or makes a plan to do so providing written
documentation of that plan.

4. Colorado law allows for medical exemptions to be signed by a healthcare provider and non-medical exemptions
(religious or personal) to be submitted online by a parent or guardian.

# of required # of required # of required
doses . # of . # of required
DT. DTP. or # of required doses do§es required # of required doses
Age of ’ ’ doses MMR Hib doses
; DTaP . . doses ; PCV13
Child . . Polio Measles Haemophilus Varicella
Diphtheria, - - Hep B - Pneumococcal
T Polio Mumps influenzae L Chickenpox -
etanus Hepatitis B Disease
Pertussis Rubella type b
By 1 mo. - - - - 1ls - -
By 3 mos. 1 1 - 1 24 - 1~
By 5 mos. 2 2 - 2 25 - 2~
By 7 mos. 3 2 - 3/2e 24 - 3/2~
By 16 mos. 3 2 1+ 4/3/2/1w 24 1* 4/3/2~
By 19 mos. 4 3 1 4/3/2/1w 37 1 4/3/2~
By 2 years 4 3 1 4/3/2/1% 37 1 4/3/2/1~
K Entry
By 4 - 6yrs 5/4¢ 4/3% 2 37 2 -

The number of Hib doses required depends on the child’s current age and the age when the Hib vaccine was administered. If any dose is given at or
over 15 months, the Hib requirement is met. For children who begin the series before 12 months, 3 doses are required, of which at least 1 dose must
be administered at, or over, 12 months. If the 1°dose was given at 12 to 14 months, 2 doses are required. If the current age is 5 years or older, no
new or additional doses are required. The number of doses and the intervals may vary depending on the type of Hib vaccine.

The number of doses of pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV13) depends on the student’s current age and the age when the 1% dose was
administered. If the 1°* dose was administered between 2 to 6 months of age, the child will receive 3 doses (2, 4 & 6 months) at least 4 -8 weeks
apart, and booster dose between 12 - 15 months, at least 8 weeks after last dose. If started between 7 to 11 months of age, the child will receive 2
doses, at least 8 weeks apart, and a booster dose between 12 to 15 months of age. If the 1** dose was given between 12 to 23 months of age, 2 doses,
at least 8 weeks apart, is required. Any dose given at 24 months through 4 years of age, the PCV vaccine requirement is met. No doses are required
once the child turns 5 years of age.

The first dose of MMR, vaccine given more than 4 days before the 1% birthday is not a valid dose and cannot be accepted. ACIP recommends that the
1 dose of MMR be given between 12 -15 months of age. The student is out of compliance if no record of MMR at 16 months of age.

Five doses of pertussis, tetanus, and diphtheria vaccines are required at school entry in Colorado unless the 4th dose was given at 48 months of age or
older (i.e., on or after the 4th birthday) in which case only 4 doses are required. There must be at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and dose 2, at least
4 weeks between dose 2 and dose 3, at least 4 months between dose 3 and dose 4, and at least 6 months between dose 4 and dose 5. The final dose
must be given no sooner than 4 years of age (dose 4 may be given at 12 months of age provided there is at least 4 months between dose 3 and dose
4).

Four doses of polio vaccine are required at school entry in Colorado. There must be at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and dose 2, at least 4 weeks
between dose 2 and dose 3, and at least 6 months between dose 3 and dose 4. The final dose must be given no sooner than 4 years of age. A fourth
dose is not required if the 3" dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after the 2™ dose.

If a child has had chickenpox disease and it is documented by a health care provider, that child has met the varicella requirement. Varicella given
more than 4 days before the 1 birthday is not a valid dose and cannot be accepted. ACIP recommends 1° dose between 12 - 15 months. The student
is out of compliance if 1** dose not given at 16 months of age.

The Hep B vaccine is the only immunization that can be given as a birth dose. The 2™ dose of Hep B is to be given at least 4 weeks after the 1% dose;
3" dose to be given at least 16 weeks (4 months) after 1% dose; and last dose to be given at least 8 weeks after 2" dose and at (24 weeks) almost 6

months of aae or older.
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