
Breastfeeding Info at a Glance 

 

 Colorado law requires business of one or more employees to: 

o Provide reasonable time for mothers to express milk at work – this can be unpaid 

break time or paid break and/or meal time.  

o Make reasonable efforts to provide suitable, private space with an electrical outlet for 

moms to express milk at work – this cannot be a toilet stall. 

o Not discriminate against women for expressing milk in the workplace. 

o ** Colorado state law is stronger than the Federal law because it applies to employees 

with one or more employees (Federal law is 50 or more employees) and protects by 

allowing her to express breast milk at work for up to 2 years after a child’s birth 

(Federal law is 1 year). 

 Businesses benefit because breastfeeding brings a 3:1 return on investment by: 

o Decreasing healthcare costs 

o Decreasing employee absenteeism rates due to healthier babies 

o Lowering turnover rates 

o Increasing employee productivity and loyalty  

o Enhances business image in the eyes of customers, employees and community 

 Breastfeeding health facts – Compared to formula fed babies, breastfed babies are: 

o Less likely to suffer from ear infections and respiratory illnesses 

o Less likely to develop asthma, diabetes, allergies, and childhood cancers 

o Less likely to die of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) 

o Breastfeeding moms are less likely to develop diabetes and breast and ovarian cancer 

 The longer a mom breastfeeds her baby, the more benefits baby and mom receive! 

 The more supportive of breastfeeding a workplace or school is, the more likely she will 

continue to breastfeed. 

 The more support, information and resources a mom receives about breastfeeding and tips for 

returning to work or school, the more likely she will continue to breastfeed. 

 Get information and support from WIC, a healthcare provider or lactation consultant 

prenatally 

 Prenatally or before returning to work or school, suggest mom: 

o Talk to her supervisor to discuss breastfeeding plans. Determine a place and time to 

express breast milk 

o Plan a pumping schedule for the workday 

o Begin expressing and storing breast milk  

o Feed baby breast milk in a bottle at least once a week (after baby is 3-4 weeks old) to 

help baby get used to feeding from a bottle 

o Find a childcare provider that supports breastfeeding  

o Get support from coworkers, friends, family, your healthcare provider and WIC 

educator 

o Plan to get a pump and learn the tips for successful pumping from your WIC educator 

 Invite ALL moms to a breastfeeding class prenatally. Invite mom to attend a breastfeeding 

class after birth to get support and provide information to prenatal moms.  

 Involve dads, grandmothers, friends and other support persons in prenatal breastfeeding 

education and breastfeeding activities.  


