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Re: Mobile Home 

  
 
Dear XXXXXXXXXXXX, 
  
You (“Taxpayer”) submitted a request for guidance regarding the application of sales tax to the 
sale of a mobile home. 
  
The Colorado Department of Revenue (“Department”) issues general information letters and 
private letter rulings.  A general information letter provides a general overview of the relevant tax 
issues, but is not binding on the Department. A private letter ruling provides a specific 
determination for a specific set of facts, is binding on the Department but not on the taxpayer, 
and requires payment of a fee.  For more information about general information letters and 
private letter rulings, please see Department Rule 1 CCR 201-1, 24-35-103.5. 
  
The Department treats this request as a general information letter.  It is important to remember 
that general information letters, such as this one, are general discussions of tax law and are not 
binding on the Department.  If Company would like the Department to issue a private letter 
ruling on the issue raised here, Company can submit a request and fee in compliance with 
Department Rule 1 CCR 201-1, 24-35-103.5. 
  

Issue 
 

What is the tax base on which sales tax is calculated for the sale of a mobile home that is 
placed either on a permanent or temporary foundation? 

 

Background 
 

Taxpayer owns a mobile home park in Colorado.  Taxpayer represents that its park has empty 
spaces that are difficult to fill because owners of mobile homes rarely move the home.  
Taxpayer states that it is considering becoming a retailer of mobile homes in order to fill these 



 

 

empty spaces in the park.  Taxpayer intends to purchase a new mobile home from a 
manufacturer and incur a variety of expenses in order to make the home ready for sale.  
Taxpayer will retain ownership of the land in most cases and install the mobile home on jacks 
which will serve as the foundation.  However, Taxpayer may sell a mobile home to a person who 
owns the land, in which case the mobile home will be placed on a permanent foundation.  
Taxpayer offers as an example the following scenario.  Taxpayer purchases a new mobile home 
from a manufacturer for $50,000 plus $5,000 to ship the home to the park.  Taxpayer then 
incurs various costs, such as $1,000 in materials, on which Taxpayer pays sales tax to the 
retailer, and $4,000 in labor costs for setting the home and installing utility service.  Taxpayer 
then offers the home for sale for a lump sum price of $100,000, which does not separately set 
forth charges for the mobile home, shipping, installation labor, and other installation materials.  
 

Structure of Analysis 
 

To determine the tax base on which tax is calculated, the Department will examine the following 
questions: 

1. Is there a sale of tangible personal property under § 39-26-104, C.R.S.? 

1. Does the mobile home qualify as a manufactured home pursuant to § 39-26-721, 

C.R.S.? 

2. Is the mobile home real or tangible personal property at the time of sale to the 

homeowner? 

i. If the mobile home is tangible personal property when sold to the ultimate 

homeowner, what is the tax base and who pays the tax? 

ii. If the mobile home is real property at the time of the sale to the ultimate 

homeowner, what is the tax base and who pays the tax? 
 

Discussion 
 

Colorado imposes sales tax on the sale of a manufactured home.1  Sales tax on a manufactured 
home is based on 52% of the sale price from the seller to the buyer.2   
 

The manufactured home may be designed for installation on a temporary or permanent 
foundation3.  A mobile home qualifies as a manufactured home if it is constructed in compliance 
with the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, 42 
U.S.C. § 5401 et seq., factory-built residential requirements, or mobile home standards4.  
 

In determining how and when tax is calculated and collected, it is important to distinguish 
between, on the one hand, tangible personal property that is so permanently attached to the real 
property at the time of the sale to the homeowner that it is treated as real property and, on the 
other hand, tangible personal property that retains its character as tangible personal property at 
the time of the sale even though it rests on real property. 
 

1. Mobile Home on Temporary Foundation. 

                                                           
1
 See, §§ 39-26-104 and 721 and § 24-32-3302(10), C.R.S. 

2
 § 39-26-721, C.R.S. 

3
 See § 24-32-3302(20), C.R.S. 

4
 See definitions in §§24-32-3302(10) (factory-built residential structure), 3302(20) (manufactured home) and 

3302(24) (mobile home), C.R.S. 



 

 

In the case where the mobile home rests on temporary foundations, the person selling the 
mobile home to the ultimate homeowner is treated as a retailer selling tangible personal 
property.  The sale from the mobile home manufacturer to the retailer is a nontaxable sale for 
resale.  If the retailer purchases other materials used for installation, those purchases are also a 
nontaxable wholesale purchase for resale if the materials are transferred to the ultimate 
homeowner.  If those materials are not transferred to the buyer, the sale from the material 
supplier to the retailer is subject to sales tax.  When the retailer sells the mobile home to the 
ultimate homeowner, sales tax is calculated on 52% of the sales price ($100,000).  Retailer 
must collect the tax from the ultimate homebuyer. 
 

2. Mobile Home on Permanent Foundation. 

In the case of a sale of a mobile home installed onto a permanent foundation, the person 
purchasing the mobile home from the manufacturer will likely be viewed as a contractor making 
changes to real property and special tax rules apply.  A contractor, who uses a lump sum 
contract (i.e., a contract where the price for labor and materials are not separately stated) to sell 
the mobile home is treated as the consumer of the tangible personal property, including the 
mobile home itself, used to fulfill that construction contract.  Because the contractor is deemed 
the consumer of all materials, the purchase from the mobile home manufacturer is treated as a 
retail sale and the contractor must pay sales tax to the manufacturer (or use tax to the 
Department if the sale takes place outside Colorado).  The tax is based on 52% of the price 
charged by the manufacturer.  If the manufacturer’s shipping costs are optional (contractor can 
use another shipping company or pick up the mobile home from the manufacturer), then the 
transportation charge is not included in the sales tax calculation for the mobile home.5  If the 
manufacturer’s shipping costs are mandatory, then the shipping charge is included in the sales 
tax calculation (which means that only 52% of that transportation charge is subject to tax) for the 
mobile home.6 Contractor’s labor costs for installing the mobile home on the foundation are not 
included in the calculation of the tax paid to the manufacturer.  Because the only exemption 
applicable here is that 48% of the manufactured home price is exempt from sales tax, any 
additional  purchases of other materials from suppliers (other than from the manufacturer) are 
subject to tax at 100% of the price for the materials.  The contractor does not collect any tax 
from the homeowner. 
 

Miscellaneous 
 

 This letter represents the good faith opinion of Department personnel who are knowledgeable 
on state taxes issues.  However, the Department does not make a specific determination here 
on any of the issues raised and the Department is not bound by this general information letter. 
  
The Department administers state and state-administered local sales and use taxes.  This letter 
does not address sales and use taxes administered by home-rule cities and home-rule counties.  
You may wish to consult with local governments which administer their own sales or use taxes 
about the applicability of those taxes.  Visit our web site at www.colorado.gov/tax for more 
information about state and local sales taxes. 
  
Enclosed is a redacted version of this letter.  Pursuant to statute and regulation, this redacted 
letter will be made public within 60 days of the date of this letter.  Please let me know in writing 

                                                           
5
 Department Rule 1 CCR, 201-5, Special Regulation 18. 

6
 Ibid. 



 

 

within that 60 day period whether you have any suggestions or concerns about this redacted 
letter. 
 

Sincerely, 
 
 
 

Neil Tillquist 
Colorado Department of Revenue 

Office of Tax Policy & Analysis 
 

 


