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All Providers 
Medicare Disallowance Update 

On behalf of the Department of Health Care Policy and Financing (the 
Department), HMS issues regular Medicare disallowance 
listings to Colorado Medicaid providers. These listings 
identify claims paid by Medicaid for individuals with 
overlapping Medicare coverage on dates of service within 
the prior 12 month period. The disallowance listings instruct providers to 
submit the identified claims to Medicare for payment. Recoveries are made 
on the disallowance listings by HMS after the 60 day cycle is closed. 
Recoveries are shown as adjustments on the Provider Claim Report (PCR). 
These efforts help ensure Medicaid remains the payer of last resort as 
required by federal and state law. 
Beginning September 2013, HMS will enhance its Medicare disallowance 
process to include claims with overlapping, retroactive Medicare entitlement. 
While Medicare typically enforces a timely filing limit of 12 months, the 
Affordable Care Act of 2010 (ACA) provides certain exemptions to this 
requirement. Cases of retroactive Medicare entitlement are exempt from the 
timely filing rule. Upon notification by HMS of retroactive Medicare 
entitlement, a provider will have up to six (6) months to submit claims to the 
Medicare Administrative Contractor (MAC) for dates of service back to the 
initial date of the recipient’s entitlement (see Chapter 1, Section 70.7.2 of the 
Medicare Claims Processing Manual).  

Specifically, HMS will identify any claims falling under a retroactive 
entitlement period on the Medicare disallowance listing. HMS will 
provide additional guidance for processing these claims on the 

disallowance listing, as well as in the accompanying cover letter. The 
Department and HMS ask that providers continue to process all claims 
included in the disallowance cycle in a timely manner. Please note the 
deadline for responding to claims falling within a retroactive Medicare 
entitlement period will be adjusted to accommodate any additional 
processing time required by the MAC. Please contact the HMS Provider 
Relations team at 1-877-262-7396 with questions regarding this change. 

Medicare-Medicaid Enrollees  
Providers are reminded that Medicaid is always the payer of last resort. 
Services for Medicare-Medicaid enrollees, clients with both Medicare and  
Medicaid coverage, must be billed first to Medicare. Providers must be able 
to show documentation that claims for Medicare-Medicaid enrollees, where 
appropriate, have been denied by Medicare prior to submission to the 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program.

Provider Bulletin 
Reference: B1300341               September 2013 
       

 Did you know...? 
The following forms, Acknowledgement/Certification Statement for a 
Hysterectomy, Certification Statement for Abortion to Save the Life of the 
Mother, and Certification Statement for Abortion for Sexual Assault (Rape) or 
Incest formally known as Appendix J, K and L should be attached to any 
hysterectomy or abortion claim.  
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Per the Provider Participation Agreement, the documentation must be retained for six (6)  
years following the Medicare denial.  
The Colorado Medical Assistance Program requires a copy of the Medicare Standard Paper Remit (SPR) 
accompany any paper claims for Medicare-Medicaid enrollees that are submitted for reimbursement.  
Please contact the Department’s fiscal agent, Xerox State Healthcare, Provider Services at  
1-800-237-0757 with questions. 

National Correct Coding Initiative (NCCI) Impacts on Vaccine/Immunization, Adolescent 
Depression, and Vision Services  

This article is a correction to the July Provider Bulletin Article Titled: NCCI Impacts on 
Vaccine/Immunization Providers, Adolescent Depression Screening Providers, and Vision Service 

Providers 
Immunization Codes 
After further review of recent claims data, the Department has decided to delay implementing denials of 
preventive medicine counseling codes and behavior change intervention codes with a procedure-to-
procedure (PTP) edit until October 1, 2013. The codes will no longer be reimbursed by the Department 
when billed in conjunction with vaccine/immunization administration codes (90460-90474) unless it is 
appropriate in each individual circumstance to append the NCCI modifier. The preventive medicine 
counseling/behavior change intervention codes subject to this policy include, 99401 [individual 
preventive medicine counseling; 15 min], 99402 [individual preventive medicine counseling; 30 min], and 
99420 [administration and interpretation of a health risk assessment instrument – used for adolescent 
depression screening] among others. The Immunization Billing Manual will be updated to reflect these 
changes. 
Vision Codes 
The NCCI PTP editing will also be delayed until October 1, 2013 for CPT codes 
99172 [visual function screening], 99173 [screening test of visual acuity, 
quantitative, bilateral], and 99174 [ocular photo screening]. These codes will no 
longer be reimbursed by the Colorado Medical Assistance Program when billed in 
conjunction with general ophthalmological services codes (92002-92014). 
As a reminder, “Medically Unlikely Editing” (MUE) was effective August 1, 2013 for codes 92340, 92341 
and 92342 (fitting of spectacles, except for aphakia – monofocal, bifocal; and multifocal, other than 
bifocal). The maximum allowable units per date of service are now one unit.  
Modifiers 
When the use of a modifier is appropriate, refer to the CMS NCCI Policy Manual, Chapter 1, section E for 
specific guidance on proper use of modifiers.  
Please contact the Department’s fiscal agent at 1-800-237-0757 with questions. 

Medicaid Primary Care Physician (PCP) Supplemental Payment Program Update 
The Colorado Medical Assistance Program has made the PCP supplemental payments for the first two 
(2) calendar year quarters of 2013. The total amount of payments for the first two quarters exceeds $16 
million. Future payments will be made approximately four (4) weeks after the end of each quarter. The 
posting and depositing of payments follows the same financial cycle as other Medicaid payments. 
To review payments, please refer to the PCR, available on the Colorado Medical Assistance Program 
Web Portal (Web Portal), for each quarter’s payment. To access the reports login to the Web Portal, 
navigate to the File and Report Service, and select View Download Reports for the “77016 Provider 
Claims Report.” 

The PCP Supplemental Payment program will continue through calendar year 2014. 
Eligible physicians can attest their status as a PCP using the Physician Self-Attestation 
Form up until December 31, 2014. Only claims submitted after successful attestation will 
be evaluated for supplemental payment. Newly enrolled physicians must complete the 
attestation to participate in this program. 

To receive the maximum supplemental payment, the billed amount for each procedure must be at least 
as much as the Medicare rate. 
Please contact Richard Delaney at Richard.Delaney@state.co.us or 303-866-3436 for more information. 
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Additions to the Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System (HCPCS) / National Drug 
Code (NDC) Crosswalk for Billing Physician Administered Drugs 

The following HCPCS and NDC combinations have been added to the Colorado Medicaid HCPCS/NDC 
Crosswalk. When submitting electronic claims for these HCPCS, the eleven digit NDC is required for 
payment. 

HCPCS Short Description NDC ID 
J0178 INJECTION, AFLIBERCEPT, 1 MG 61755000502 
J2778 Ranibizumab injection 50242008201 
J9042 BRENTUXIMAB, 1MG 51144005001 
Q0090 Skyla 13.5mg 50419042201 

Please contact Richard Delaney at Richard.Delaney@state.co.us or 303-866-3436 with questions. 

Record Retention 
Providers must maintain records that fully disclose the nature and extent of services provided. Upon 
request, providers must furnish information about payments claimed for Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program services. Records must substantiate submitted claim information. Such records include, but are 
not limited to:  

• Treatment plans  
• Prior Authorization Requests (PARs)  
• Medical records and service reports  
• Records and original invoices for items, including drugs that are prescribed, 

ordered, or furnished 
• Claims, billings, and records of Colorado Medical Assistance Program 

payments and amounts received from other payers  
Each medical record entry must be signed and dated by the person ordering and providing the service. 
Computerized signatures and dates may be applied if the electronic record keeping system meets 
Colorado Medical Assistance Program security requirements.  
As stated above, records must be retained for at least six (6) years or longer if required by regulation or a 
specific contract between the provider and the Colorado Medical Assistance Program. 

Updated Provider Enrollment Applications 
Effective September 1, 2013, providers must submit the updated enrollment applications marked with a 
revision date of July 2013. Several changes have been made to both the standard and rendering 
provider applications due to federal rules and regulations. Applications received on or after September 1, 
2013 with a revision date other than July 2013 will not be processed and will be returned to the provider. 
Applications received prior to September 1, 2013 that have been processed and pended for missing 
documents will be denied and closed on September 1, 2013, requiring a replacement application with the 
revision date of July 2013. The new applications can be found on the Department’s website 
(colorado.gov/hcpf) Provider ServicesProvider Enrollment. Please contact the Department’s fiscal 
agent at 1-800-237-0757 with any questions about completing the application. 

September and October 2013 Holidays 
Labor Day Holiday  
Due to the Labor Day holiday on Monday, September 2, 2013, the claims processing cycle will include 
electronic claims accepted before 6:00 p.m. Mountain Time (MT) on Thursday, August 29, 2013. The 
receipt of warrants will be delayed by one (1) or two (2) days. State, the Department’s fiscal agent, and 

the ColoradoPAR Program offices will be closed on September 2, 2013. Offices will re-
open during regular business hours on Tuesday, September 3, 2013. 
Columbus Day  
Due to Columbus Day Holiday on Monday, October 14, 2013, the claims processing cycle 
will include electronic claims accepted before 6:00 p.m. MT on Thursday, October 10, 

2013. The receipt of warrants may be delayed by one (1) or two (2) days. State and the ColoradoPAR 
Program offices will be closed on Monday, October 14, 2013. The Department’s fiscal agent offices will 
be open during regular business hours. 
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Dental Providers 
Dental Benefit Update 

In Senate Bill (SB13-230), the Department was allocated dollars to acquire an Administrative Service 
Organization (ASO) to manage the Department’s current Children’s Dental Benefit. The Department is 
hosting a series of Dental Benefit Collaborative meetings to discuss services being offered in the current 
Medicaid Dental policies, which includes both the newly created Adult Dental Benefit (SB13-242) and a 
review of the Children’s Dental Benefit. The Department welcomes all stakeholder input. Please visit the 
Department’s websiteBoards & CommitteesBenefits Collaborative for a meeting schedule and 
additional information. 

Durable Medical Equipment (DME)/Supply Providers 
DME NCCI Edits 

The Colorado Medical Assistance Program compared a sample of claims to the NCCI edits and found 
that most claims are compliant with the Centers of Medicare and Medicaid Services’ (CMS) expectations. 
The potential exists that these edits may impact claims payments for DME.  
Medically Unlikely Edits 
The following procedure codes were identified in the NCCI MUEs to limit the 
number of units that could be billed for certain items on a single date of service.  
Please note the procedure codes and how they should be billed in order to be 
compliant with the Department’s billing procedures and NCCI regulations. 

 Procedure Code Maximum Allowable 
Units 

Notes 

E0463 and E0464 1 unit/month Clients may receive up to 2 units per month if a backup 
ventilator is required.  

B4088 and B4087 1 unit/month  
E0202 31 units/month 1 unit = 1 day. Claims may be date spanned using the 

KR modifier for the rental period. 
E0600 1 unit/month 1 unit = 1 month. Capped rental item. 
L1240 1  
L2275 2 Maximum allowable units are indicated for each lower 

extremity orthotic. 
Procedure to Procedure (PTP) Edits 
Please note that some wheelchair code combinations have been identified on the NCCI PTP edit list that 
may currently affect provider claims. 
The Department makes every effort to mitigate payment issues related to quarterly NCCI edit 
implementation. However, to ensure potential issues are not overlooked, we also ask that providers stay 
updated on the quarterly release of codes and notify the Department of any NCCI MUE or PTP edits that 
are anticipated to result in issues with payment or services provided to clients.  
Please refer to Medicaid.govMedicaidBy-TopicData and SystemsThe National Correct Coding 
Initiative in Medicaid web page for more information. 
Providers may contact the Department at DME_HCPF@hcpf.state.co.us with questions. 
Reminder: Prior authorization determinations are for medical necessity only and do not guarantee 
reimbursement for the requested number of units. This includes DME/supply codes that are manually 
priced. 

DME Wheelchair Billing Requirements 
The DME and Supply Billing Manual has been updated and is located in the Provider Services Billing 
Manuals section of the Department’s website. Please note the following updates regarding wheelchair 
billing requirements: 
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• Modifier 76 is not an allowable modifier for DME claims and should not be used. 
Beginning October 1, 2013, claims submitted with modifier 76 will be denied.  

• Primary equipment and backup equipment is identified by Make/Model/Serial number 
and the corresponding approved PAR ID. Effective October 1, 2013 the Department will 
begin to enforce that the above identifying information will be included on all new claims 
and claims for repair. Claims submitted without this information will be denied.  

Alternative and Augmentative Communication Devices (AACD)  
Benefit Coverage Standard 

The Department received final approval from the Medical Services Board (MSB) on the AACD Benefit 
Coverage Standard. This coverage standard will be effective September 30, 2013, and incorporated by 
reference into the Durable Medical Equipment and Disposable Medical Supplies section of the Code of 
Colorado Regulations. 
The AACD Benefit Coverage Standard contains two notable updates to coverage of communication 
devices: 

• Prior authorization requirements: Questionnaire #13 is no longer required for prior authorization 
submission. The ColoradoPAR Program does not require the questionnaire to determine medical 
necessity for communication devices. However, it will remain on the Department website for 
providers who would like to continue using it to capture evaluation information. 

• Tablet computers: Tablet computers have been approved for addition to the AACD coverage 
standards, and will be available for coverage beginning September 30, 2013. 

Please refer to the approved AACD Benefit Coverage Standard on the Department’s website for 
coverage guidelines, limitations, and requirements. 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Providers 
EPSDT Services that Require Prior Authorization 

Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment is the child health component of the Colorado 
Medical Assistance Program. Federal statutes and regulations state that children and teens ages 20 and 
under, who are enrolled in Medicaid are entitled to EPSDT benefits and that States must cover a broad 
array of preventive and treatment services. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment is 
designed to address problems early, ameliorate conditions, and intervene as early as possible.  
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment also provides coverage for treatment. All types 
of child health conditions — medical, dental, mental, developmental, acute, and chronic — must be 
treated, including pre-existing conditions. Coverage is set by a federal standard and goes beyond what 
State’s may cover for adults in Medicaid. Specifically, States are required 
by federal law to provide any additional health care services that are 
covered under the federal Medicaid program and found to be medically 
necessary regardless of whether the service is covered in a State’s 
Medicaid plan. Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment 
does not cover experimental or investigational diagnostic and treatment 
services. Some common EPSDT treatment and intervention services may 
be beyond what is typically covered for adults.   
The Colorado Medical Assistance Program will not cover treatment for an enrolled child unless it is 
considered to be medically necessary. In most private health plans, this means the service must be 
justified as reasonable, necessary, and/or appropriate, using evidence-based clinical standards of care. 
For children, federal Medicaid law requires coverage of “necessary health care, diagnostic services, 
treatment, and other measures . . . to correct or ameliorate defects and physical and mental illnesses 
and conditions.”  The EPSDT medical necessity standard assures a level of coverage sufficient not only 
to treat an already-existing illness or injury but also to prevent the development or worsening of 
conditions, illnesses, and disabilities. It is the responsibility of State’s to determine medical necessity on 
a case-by-case basis.With the exception of managed care reviews, the ColoradoPAR Program 
processes PARs for EPSDT services using Milliman Care Guidelines and applicable Colorado Medicaid 
policies including EPSDT medical necessity rules and policies.  

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalSubDocList.do?deptID=7&deptName=2505,1305%20Department%20of%20Health%20Care%20Policy%20and%20Financing&agencyID=69&agencyName=2505%20Medical%20Services%20Boar&ccrDocID=2922&ccrDocName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.500%20MED�
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/NumericalSubDocList.do?deptID=7&deptName=2505,1305%20Department%20of%20Health%20Care%20Policy%20and%20Financing&agencyID=69&agencyName=2505%20Medical%20Services%20Boar&ccrDocID=2922&ccrDocName=10%20CCR%202505-10%208.500%20MED�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1251570949255�
http://www.google.com/imgres?start=220&sa=X&rls=com.microsoft:en-us&biw=1024&bih=566&tbm=isch&tbnid=zl2WBOasNmCJlM:&imgrefurl=http://images.yourdictionary.com/checkup&docid=WhRG5mT-KVpQVM&imgurl=http://images.yourdictionary.com/images/definitions/lg/checkup.jpg&w=377&h=250&ei=IlEeUsfXG6XYsATxs4HIAw&zoom=1&iact=hc&vpx=488&vpy=82&dur=2609&hovh=183&hovw=276&tx=145&ty=124&page=12&tbnh=130&tbnw=157&ndsp=20&ved=1t:429,r:28,s:200,i:88�


B1300341 Page 6  

Improving health care access and outcomes for the people we serve while demonstrating sound stewardship of financial resources  
 colorado.gov/hcpf  September 2013 

Please refer to coloradopar.com for specific instructions, training schedules and information regarding 
PAR denials. Urgent requests may be submitted through CareWebQI (CWQI) or by contacting the 
ColoradoPAR Program at 1-888-454-7686.  
Please contact Gina Robinson at Gina.Robinson@state.co.us or at 303-866-6167 with questions.  

Family Planning Services Providers 
Skyla – Long-Acting Reversible Contraceptive Method 

Effective for claims with dates of service on or after July 1, 2013, providers should use HCPCS code 
Q0090, appropriate diagnosis codes, and the family planning modifier, FP, to receive reimbursement 
from the Colorado Medical Assistance Program for Skyla. Additionally, providers must include the 

following NDC, 50419042201, for Skyla on all claims.  
Note: When submitting claims for insertion of the device, please use the family 
planning modifier in addition to the appropriate CPT code. 
Please contact Kirstin Michel at Kirstin.Michel@state.co.us with questions. 

Hospice Providers 
This article is a correction to the June Provider Bulletin Article Titled: Medicaid Provider Rate Increases 

Effective July 1, 2013 

Hospice Rate Increase Update 
In the June Provider Bulletin (B1300338), the Department outlined the different provider rate increases 
for Medicaid services effective July 1, 2013.   
Included with this Provider Bulletin was an 8.26% provider rate increase to Routine Home, Continuous 
Home, Inpatient Respite, and General Inpatient Hospice services.  However, because rates for hospice 
services are set at the Federal level by CMS, Hospice agencies will not recieve the 8.26% rate increase.   
Please contact Jeff Wittreich at Jeff.Wittreich@state.co.us with questions.   

Laboratory Providers 
Changed Billing Requirements for Selected Pathology Codes 

Effective for claims with dates of service on or after October 1, 2013, procedure 
codes 88187, 88188, and 88189 will no longer require modifier 26 for 
reimbursement. The three (3) codes are all interpretations of the pathology, and 
by virtue of their narrative description, do not require the use of the 26 modifier. 
Claims for these codes submitted with the 26 modifier will deny. The 
reimbursement amount will not change. 
Please contact Richard Delaney at Richard.Delaney@state.co.us or 303-866-3436 with questions. 

Non-Medical Transportation (NMT) Providers 
Billing Errors for NMT Services 

The Department has recently become aware of billing errors for NMT services. As a result of these 
errors, several NMT providers were paid at a lower rate or had claims denied. As of August 13, 2013, all 
NMT billing errors have been identified and corrected. The Department apologizes for any inconvenience 
this has caused providers.  
Providers do not need to revise PARs to receive the new NMT rates. Please do not re-bill any claims 

that reimburse incorrect rates. An adjustment will be made for incorrect 
payments. Providers can expect to see the adjustment for rates paid incorrectly 
in the next two (2) weeks.  
All services provided on or after July 1, 2013 should reflect the rates listed below. 
Please ensure the modifiers are correct and present for each mileage band to 
pay appropriately. Please contact at Randie.Wilson@state.co.us with questions.  
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NMT Rate Schedule-EBD 

Service Type Procedure 
Code 

 Mod 
#1  

Mod 
#2 

Mod 
#3 

Mod 
#4  New Rate  Unit Value 

Non Medical Transportation                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
All types except Adult Day are limited to 208 trips, or 104 round trips per service plan year 
Taxi A0100 U1    PUC* 1 way Trip 
Mobility Van 
Mileage Band 1 (0-10 miles) A0120 U1  

 
 $        8.14 1 way Trip 

Mileage Band 2 (11-20 miles) A0120 U1 TT 
 

 $     14.98 1 way Trip 
Mileage Band 3 (over 20 miles) A0120 U1 TN 

 
 $     22.30 1 way Trip 

Wheelchair Van 
Mileage Band 1 (0-10 miles) A0130 U1 

   
$        9.65 1 way Trip 

Mileage Band 2 (11-20 miles) A0130 U1 TT 
  

$      18.06 1 way Trip 
Mileage Band 3 (over 20 miles) A0130 U1 TN 

  
$      24.59 1 way Trip 

Radiology Providers 
Radiology Prior Authorization Requests (PARs) 

Beginning October 1, 2013, claims submitted with radiology procedure codes which require a PAR will be 
denied if the PAR does not list the correct Billing Provider ID number, the procedure 
codes do not match, or there is no record of a PAR. Please see the March 2012 
Special Provider Bulletin (B1200318) for a complete list of radiology procedure codes 
which require a PAR. The Department will allow retroactive authorizations when 
imaging services must be modified after a PAR has been obtained. If a radiology 
procedure is prior authorized but the desired test was changed just prior to the time 
of the service, the provider is responsible for submitting a PAR revision with 
adequate documentation within 48 hours in order for the PAR to be processed by the ColoradoPAR 
Program. Prior Authorization Request revisions can only be submitted using the CWQI. Please contact 
the ColoradoPAR Program at 1-888-454-7686 for questions regarding how to process PAR revisions. 

Waiver Providers 
Update for Implementation of New Rates  

Medicaid provider rate increases were approved during the 2013-14 legislative session and were 
effective July 1, 2013. Please refer to the June 2013 Provider Bulletin (B1300338) for a list of affected 
benefits. The July and August 2013 Provider Bulletins (B1300339, B1300340) noted the rate increases 
cannot be implemented until the Department receives approval from CMS. However, the Department had 
already received CMS approval for all Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) in June 2013.  
All HCBS rate increases were implemented on July 1, 2013 and should be reflected on PARs and claims 
billed. The HCBS benefits for which rate increases have been implemented are listed below. For all other 
benefits, the Department is awaiting CMS approval.  
Current rates will continue to be paid until CMS approval is obtained. Once approved, the Department 
will retroactively adjust the claims with dates of service on or after July 1, 2013 to reflect new rates. 
Adjustments will be present on future PCRs. The Department of Human Services (DHS), Division for 
Developmental Disability (DDD) providers do not have to submit claims with the new rates to receive the 
increase.  
Claims submitted after July 1, 2013 with the old rates do not have to be adjusted by the provider. Please 
contact Randie Wilson at Randie.Wilson@state.co.us with any questions or concerns.  

• 8.26% increase for: 
o Some HCBS waivers including: 

 HCBS-Elderly, Blind, and Disabled (EBD); 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&childpagename=HCPF%2FDocument_C%2FHCPFAddLink&cid=1251617294976&pagename=HCPFWrapper�
http://coloradopar.com/�
http://coloradopar.com/�
http://coloradopar.com/carewebqi/carewebqi-portal-access�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&childpagename=HCPF%2FDocument_C%2FHCPFAddLink&cid=1251643031287&pagename=HCPFWrapper�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&childpagename=HCPF%2FDocument_C%2FHCPFAddLink&cid=1251643764617&pagename=HCPFWrapper�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&childpagename=HCPF%2FDocument_C%2FHCPFAddLink&cid=1251644682152&pagename=HCPFWrapper�
mailto:Randie.Wilson@state.co.us�
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 HCBS-Community Mental Health Supports (CMHS); 
 Children’s HCBS (CHCBS); 
 HCBS-Persons Living with AIDS (PLWA); 
 HCBS-Brain Injury (BI) 
 HCBS-Spinal Cord Injury (SCI); and 
 HCBS-Children with Life Limiting Illness (CLLI) 
 Colorado Choice Transitions (CCT) Qualified Services 

• 4% increase for: 
o DHS HCBS Waivers including: 

 HCBS-Developmentally Disabled (DD); 
 HCBS-Supported Living Services (SLS); 
 HCBS-Children’s Extensive Supports (CES); 

• 2% increase for: 
 HCBS-Children’s Habilitation Residential Program (CHRP) 

Pharmacy Providers 
Preferred Drug List (PDL) Update 

Effective October 1, 2013, the following will be preferred agents on the Medicaid PDL and will be covered 
without a prior authorization: 
Oral Anticoagulants: warfarin 
Oral Bisphosponates:  Alendronate (generic) 5mg, 10mg, 35mg, and 70mg tablets 
Biguanides:  Metformin generic 500mg, 850mg, and 1000mg tablets; metformin XR 500mg 
tablets (this does not include generic equivalents of Fortamet) 
Hypoglycemic Combinations:  None 
Meglitinides:  None 
TZDs:  None 

• Patients stabilized on Actos will continue to be able to receive the drug; however, a Prior 
Authorization (PA) will be required for new starts or interruptions in therapy. 

Newer Diabetic Agents:  Byetta, Januvia and Tradjenta 
Erythropoiesis Stimulating Agents:  Procrit and Aranesp 
Overactive Bladder Agents:  oxybutynin, oxybutynin ER and Toviaz 
Protease Inhibitors for Hepatitis C:  Victrelis 

• Patients taking Victrelis will be subject to meeting clinical requirements 
Stimulants and ADHD:  mixed amphetamine salts IR, Adderall XR (brand),  dexmethylphenidate, 
Focalin XR (brand), methylphenidate (generic Ritalin), methylphenidate SR (generic Ritalin SR), 
methylphenidate ER (generic Concerta), Strattera, Vyvanse 
The complete PDL and prior authorization criteria for non-preferred drugs are available on the PDL web 
page.  

Pharmacy &Therapeutics (P&T) Committee Open Positions Beginning 2014 
The Department is currently accepting curriculum vitae (CV) for the following P&T Committee positions:  

• Four (4) Physicians  
• Two (2) Pharmacists  
• One (1) Client Representative 

 These positions will serve a two year term from January 2014 through December 2015.  
If interested in serving or know someone who would that is qualified, please submit a CV along with a 
completed Conflict of Interest form to:  
Colorado Department of Health Care Policy and Financing  
Attn: Robert Lodge  
1570 Grant Street Fax: 303-866-3590 
Denver, CO 80203-1818 Email: Robert.Lodge@state.co.us 
  

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/HCPF/HCPF/1197969485609�
mailto:Robert.Lodge@state.co.us�
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The Conflict of Interest form can be found on the Pharmacy & Therapeutics web page.  
Submission deadline is November 15, 2013. Please contact Robert Lodge at Robert.Lodge@state.co.us 
or 303 866-3105 with questions.  

P&T Committee Meeting 
Tuesday, October 8, 2013 
1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. 
University of Colorado School of Pharmacy 
Anschutz Medical Campus 
Education 2 South Auditorium, Building 28 
Room 1102 
12631 E. 17th Ave. 
Aurora, CO 80045 

Average Acquisition Cost (AAC) Rate Update Date Shift 
As of August 12, 2013 the Department moved the day that the AAC reimbursement rate updates, used 
for outpatient pharmaceutical product prescriptions, from Wednesday to Friday of the previous week. The 
Department chose to move the rate update to the previous week’s Friday, five (5) days earlier, to 
increase response to changing pharmaceutical product cost and to better align Medicaid reimbursement 
to costs incurred by Colorado pharmacies. Please refer below for an example of the change. 

New AAC 
Rate 

Update  
 Days Removed From Rate Update Process 

Previous 
AAC Rate 

Update    

Friday 
(8/16) Saturday Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday 

(8/14) Thursday 

New AAC 
Rate 

Update  
 Days Removed From Rate Update Process 

Previous 
AAC Rate 

Update    

Friday 
(8/23) Saturday Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday 

(8/21) Thursday 

September and October 2013 Provider Workshops 
Provider Billing Workshop Sessions and Descriptions 
Provider billing workshops include both Colorado Medical Assistance Program billing instructions and a 
review of current billing procedures.  
The current and following month’s workshop calendars are included in this bulletin.  
Class descriptions and workshop calendars are also posted in the Provider Services Training & 
Workshops section of the Department’s website. 

Who Should Attend? 
Staff who submit claims, are new to billing Medicaid services, need a billing refresher course, or 
administer accounts should consider attending one or more of the following Provider Billing Workshops. 
Courses are intended to teach, improve, and enhance knowledge of Colorado Medical Assistance 
Program claim submission.  

 
  

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite?c=Document_C&childpagename=HCPF%2FDocument_C%2FHCPFAddLink&cid=1251645290472&pagename=HCPFWrapper�
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September 2013 
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
8 9 10 

Beginning Billing – 
CO -1500   
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P  
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
 

11  
Beginning Billing –  
UB-04  
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837I 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
Dialysis  
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

12  
Provider Enrollment 
9:00 AM-11:00 AM   
*WebEx – 
IP/OP 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

13  
*WebEx –  
Beginning Billing – 
CO -1500   
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P  
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 

14 
 

October 2013 
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday 
6 7 8 

Beginning Billing – 
CO -1500   
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837P  
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
Vision  
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

9  
Beginning Billing –  
UB-04  
9:00 AM-11:30 AM 
Web Portal 837I 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM 
Nursing Facility  
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

10 
Dental Billing 
9:00 AM-11:00 AM 
Web Portal 837D 
11:15 AM-12:00 PM 
Pharmacy 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 
*WebEx – 
IP/OP 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

11  
Basic Billing 
Waiver Providers 
 9-11:30 
Web Portal 
11:45 AM-12:30 PM           
Practitioner 
1:00 PM-3:00 PM 

12 
 

Reservations are required for all workshops 
Email reservations to: 
workshop.reservations@xerox.com 

Or Call the Reservation hotline to make reservations: 
1-800-237-0757, extension 5. 

Leave the following information: 
• Colorado Medical Assistance Program provider 

billing number 
• The date and time of the workshop 

• The number of people attending and their names 
• Contact name, address and phone number 

All the information noted above is necessary to process reservations successfully. Look for a 
confirmation e-mail within one week of making a reservation.  

Reservations will only be accepted until 5:00 p.m. the Friday prior to the training workshop to ensure 
there is adequate space available.  

If a confirmation has not been received at least two business days prior to the workshop, please contact 
the Department’s fiscal agent and talk to a Provider Relations Representative. 

All Workshops presented in Denver are held at:  
Xerox State Healthcare 
Denver Club Building 

518 17th Street, 4th floor 
Denver, Colorado 80202 

*Please note: For WebEx training, a meeting notification containing the website, phone number, meeting 
number and password will be emailed or mailed to those who sign up. 

The fiscal agent's office is located in the Denver Club Building on the west side of Glenarm Place at 17th 
Street (Glenarm is a two-way street). 

Free parking is not provided and is limited in the downtown Denver area. Commercial parking lots are 
available throughout the downtown area. The daily rates range between $5 and $20. Carpooling and 
arriving early are recommended to secure parking. Whenever possible, public transportation is also 
recommended.  
  

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
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Some forms of public transportation include the following: 

Light Rail – A Light Rail map is available at: http://www.rtd-denver.com/LightRail_Map.shtml.  

Free MallRide – The MallRide stops are located on 16th St. at every intersection between the Civic 
Center Station and Union Station. 

Please direct questions about Colorado Medical Assistance Program billing or the information in 
this bulletin to 

Xerox State Healthcare Provider Services at 1-800-237-0757. 
Please remember to check the Provider Services section of the Department’s website at 

colorado.gov/hcpf for the most recent information.  
 
 

http://colorado.gov/hcpf�
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