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o What's New for the 2015 Income Tax Year ¢»

Five new checkoffs appear on the 2015 Colorado Income Tax Form

+ American Red Cross Colorado Disaster Response, Readiness, and
Preparedness Fund

++ Colorado for Healthy Landscapes Fund

% Colorado Youth Corps Association Fund

+« Habitat for Humanity of Colorado Fund

s Special Olympics of Colorado Fund

Organizations Removed from Checkoff Program

s Alzheimer’s Association Fund
+»+ Colorado Cancer Fund

% Colorado Healthy Rivers Fund

++ Colorado Multiple Sclerosis Fund

s Make-A-Wish Foundation of Colorado Fund
+»» Unwanted Horse Fund

Taxpayer Security Awareness, Refund Fraud Prevention and Refund
Processing Expectations

This income tax season, the Taxation Division will provide information to taxpayers to
assist them in determining whether they are a victim of identity theft before they file their
income tax return; in taking steps to prevent identity theft and in learning what the
Department does to protect state tax dollars from refund fraud criminals and how the
Department communicates with taxpayers to verify their identities.

A new Web page on the Taxation Web site entitled Taxpayer Security Awareness and
Reporting Identity Theft will launch the week of January 11.

The Department will put out messaging throughout the income tax filing season to
inform taxpayers about what they can do before they file and what to expect during the
filing season regarding refund fraud detection and prevention.

Additionally, the following key issues for the 2016 income tax filing season will be
featured on the Taxation Web site: www.TaxColorado.com:

« TABOR Refund Eligibility

« Consumer Use Filing on the Individual Income Tax Return

« Colorado Earned Income Tax Credit

« Refund Status — Identity Verification Correspondence from the Department
« Refund Status — Where’s My Refund?
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Changes to 2015 income tax filing
Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) 529 Account

Distributions for disability expenses that qualify as exempt from federal income tax are
also exempt from state income tax. The expenses are already taken out of the federal
taxable income, which is the amount taxpayers enter when they start completing the
Colorado return.

Amended Returns

Send only the NEW supporting documents with the amended return and ALL the
schedules. In the past, we asked for all supporting documents even if they were already
submitted.

Business Personal Property Credit for Individual Business Owners

This credit is only available if business personal property tax was paid to a Colorado
county in 2015 and the business had business personal property of $15,000 or less.

A copy of the assessor’s statement must accompany the return.
Colorado Earned Income Tax Credit (COEITC)

Persons with low to moderate income may be able to claim a federal earned income tax
credit when they file their federal income tax return.

Full-year and part-year Colorado residents who claimed the EITC on their federal return
are allowed the Colorado EITC. The Colorado EITC is 10 percent of the federal tax
credit. Nonresidents do not qualify for the Colorado EITC.

Consumer Use Tax

Every state that has a sales tax has a “companion” tax for purchases made outside the
state through online, telephone or catalog ordering services. In Colorado, this tax is
called “use tax.” To be compliant with tax laws, the purchaser of goods from outside
Colorado must report and pay use tax when sales tax is not collected by the seller on a
taxable item, such as clothing, electronics, appliances or other tangible property.

Beginning with the 2015 individual income tax return (104), use tax may be reported
and paid when filing an individual income tax return, either electronically or on paper.

The state consumer use tax rate is the same as the state sales tax rate, both are 2.9
percent. Use tax is also collected by some special districts such as the metropolitan
Denver Regional Transportation District (RTD) and the metropolitan Scientific and
Cultural Facilities District (SCFD).
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Driver License or ID Information

The Colorado Department of Revenue's request for driver license or ID number
information on the Colorado individual income tax return came out of the national
electronic filing standards established by the Tax Implementation for Group E-
Commerce Requirements Standardization (TIGERS). Additionally, the Department may
use the information in its security measures to detect and prevent refund fraud. Omitting
any of this information may delay return and refund processing. However, if the
information is not provided on the return, that will not stop Colorado income tax return
and refund processing because providing the information is optional.

Emancipation Day
The federal individual income tax filing deadline for 2016 will be April 18.

In most years, the filing deadline is April 15. In some years, the District of Columbia’s
observance of Emancipation Day can affect the nation’s filing deadline (District of
Columbia holidays impact tax deadlines in the same way that federal holidays

do). Because Emancipation Day falls on Saturday, April 16, in 2016 it will be observed
on Friday, April 15, which pushes the tax filing deadline to the next business day for
federal and Colorado income tax — Monday, April 18, 2016.

Enterprise Zone Credits

The 2015 Enterprise Zone Credit and Carryforward Schedule (DR 1366) requires more
information than in previous tax years about credits to be carried forward. Taxpayers
and tax professionals will now be required to specifically report the amount the plan to
carry forward (apply) to future tax years, not just the amounts carried back or claimed
for the current tax year. When reviewing the form, note that new fields and lines have
been added to the Enterprise Zone Schedule DR 1366 to report the carryforward
amounts. Reporting the future amounts will assist taxpayers with future tax year filings.
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Estimated Tax Payments and Prepayments

Taxpayers who have made estimated tax payments should carefully review their
payment records before completing this line on their return. We suggest that you review
Revenue Online account information. Revenue Online will allow you to verify the
payment(s) received by CDOR. Additionally, the 104 form requires a separate
designation of each payment type. Please take care to properly enter amounts on the
correct lines of the individual income tax return as follows:

Prior-year Estimated Tax Carryforward; line 39

Estimated Tax Payments; line 40

Extension Payment; line 41

Other Prepayments (104BEP, DR 0108 and DR 1079); line 42

O
O
O
O
If you choose not to verify your estimated payments via Revenue Online, then we
suggest you carefully review all of your financial records for payments made to the
Colorado Department of Revenue. Taxpayers may generally make estimated payments
from a checking account, but once a year may make a payment from a savings or other
account. Errors in properly accounting for estimated payments made to the Colorado
Department of Revenue will delay processing your return and issuing a potential refund.
Estimated tax credit lines of other income tax type returns (corporation, partnership) will
vary. See the corresponding tax booklets for details.

Food Contributed to Hunger-Relief Charitable Organizations

Contributions made on or after January 1, 2015 may be claimed as a credit on the
Colorado income tax return. The maximum credit is 25% or $5,000, whichever is less. A
copy of the form DR 0346 (Hunger-relief food contribution certification) must be
submitted with any Colorado income tax return claiming this credit. If multiple donations
are made within a taxable year, the credit shall be the sum of all amounts contained in
Box A of the certification forms (DR 0346), subject to the limitation described above.

Taxpayers cannot claim this credit if they claim a Colorado Corporation income tax
credit for crop or livestock contributions or if they claim the Individual income tax
deduction for qualifying charitable contributions.
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Gross Conservation Easement Income Tax Credit

Income Tax credits that may be claimed by taxpayers against their income tax liability
for donated conservation easements donated to only approved charitable or
governmental organizations. An income tax credit may be claimed by a taxpayer who
donates to a government entity or eligible charitable organization all or part of the value
of a perpetual conservation easement in gross real property. This credit is refundable up
to a maximum of $50,000 during a TABOR year and can be carried forward for up to 20
years.

Refundable Renewable Energy Credit for Enterprise Zones

A renewable energy company with Enterprise Zone Investment Tax Credits (ITC) may
elect to receive a refund of the credit for projects completed on or after January 1, 2015.

The amount of the refund is equal to 80 cents for every one dollar of ITC credit, and the
refund is capped at $750,000 per tax year. The taxpayer may elect to receive a refund
beginning with their 2015 income tax filing.

Rural Jump-Start

A tax benefit for approved new businesses that locate inside a distressed county and
establish a relationship with a state institution of higher education located in the
distressed county. The business must be new to the state, hire at least eight new
employees, and not directly compete with the core function of a business that is already
operating in the state.

A qualified business within a rural Jump-Start zone and their employees will receive the
following state tax benefits in addition in addition to county and municipality incentives:

e a refundable income tax credit equal to 100 percent of the income taxes imposed
on the income derived from the new business activities in the tax-friendly zone;
and

e a sales and use tax refund on the purchase of all tangible personal property
acquired by the new business and used exclusively within the tax-friendly zone.

In addition, new employees of the new business are entitled to receive a 100 percent
refundable income tax credit on their wages.
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TABOR Sales Tax Refund

Due to Colorado’s current revenue surplus, under the Taxpayer’s Bill of Rights (TABOR)
any excess funds must be distributed back to Colorado’s residents.

Eligibility

Anyone applying for this refund must be domiciled (made their home) in Colorado from
January 1 through December 31, 2015 and must be age 18 or older as of January 1,

2015.

Full-year residents under the age of 18 qualify for the refund only if they are required to

file a Colorado return because of a federal income tax filing requirement.

The amount of the refund depends of the taxpayer’s modified (for Colorado income tax
purposes) federal adjusted gross income (AGI) and whether the taxpayer files single or

married

Modified AGI Tiers for State Sales Tax Refund

If Line 25 | $36,000 | $36,001 | $77,001 $120,001 | $163,001 | $204,001 or
of the or less to to to to more

2015 104 $77,000 | $120,000 | $163,000 | $204,000

Form is:

Single $13 $18 $21 $23 $24 $41

Filers

Joint $26 $36 $42 $46 $48 $82

Filers
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Tax Fraud Detection and Prevention

As part of our security measures to protect taxpayers against refund fraud, tax returns
now require the last four digits of the taxpayer's driver license or ID number, as well as
the state of issuance.

Additionally, the Colorado Department of Revenue has joined in an historic, nationwide
partnership with the federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS), state revenue departments
and the entire tax industry to redouble efforts to safeguard personally identifying
information contained in tax records and battle tax return and refund fraud caused by
identity theft.

Refund fraud detection tools are in place. The Department will contact taxpayers by U.S.
Postal mail to get their assistance in confirming their identity and intent to file a return.
Taxpayers are urged to respond timely to this correspondence speed the process of
getting the Colorado income tax refund to which they are entitled.

See the Colorado Taxation Web page Taxpayer Security Awareness and Reporting
Identity Theft for tips before and during the income tax filing process.

For income tax years starting on or after January 1, 2016 (not this filing
season)

Active Duty Military Income Tax Exemption

This is a state income tax exemption for active duty military income earned by an
individual in the United States armed forces who reacquired residency in Colorado.
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Income Tax Statistics

For Colorado Fiscal Year (FY) 2015 (July 1, 2014 — June 30, 2015)

v" The department processed more than 2.8 million individual income tax returns.
v" The department issued nearly 1.6 million individual/personal income tax refunds.
v Average individual income tax refund during FY 2015: $467, of which:

e 90% processed within 21 days.*

e 96% processed within 45 days.*

*These are refunds where the return did not have errors and no potential refund fraud
risk.

v Total refunds to corporations: $117 million.
v Average corporation income tax refund: $28,189.

v Total income tax refunds to individuals and fiduciaries (estates and trusts): $782
million.

v' Gross tax collected in FY 2015 (withholding, estimated tax payments, and cash with
returns) -- From individuals: $7.14 billion. From corporations: $786 million.

v Net income tax collections after refunds. From individuals: $6.35 billion. From
corporations: $668 million.

2015 Electronic Filing Statistics

Electronic Filing Method Number of returns filed
Fiscal Year 2015

Federal/State Electronic 2,068,421

Filing**

DOR’s Revenue Online service 122,479

Total Electronic Returns 2,190,900

** Federal/State Electronic Filing refers to those returns filed using IRS e-file via tax
preparer (submitted by electronic transmission) or tax preparation software (submitted
online).
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Colorado e-file

It's Fast, Easy, and Accurate!

The Colorado Department of Revenue encourages taxpayers to file their taxes
electronically. Electronic filing, or “e-filing,” has revolutionized filing state and federal
income tax returns. Preparing and submitting returns can be easier and less time-
consuming than ever. Various Internet and tax preparation services provide individuals
with choices to fit their lifestyles. Whether you prepare forms yourself or use a
professional, there is an electronic filing option for you. During 2015, nearly 85 percent
of Colorado taxpayers submitted their taxes electronically and received their refund
faster.

Revenue Online

With Revenue Online you can sign up for account access, much the same way you sign
up for online banking. Once you have access to Revenue Online, you can send us a
Secure Message and correspond online with us about your tax issues.

It takes just a few minutes to sign up for Revenue online but, once you sign up through
Revenue Online www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline you can:

File current and previous returns (2009 and forward)
Amend current and previous returns (2009 and forward)
Use Direct Deposit to receive refunds quicker

Get refund status

Pay tax

Access your income tax account

Get your refund status

Upload documents related to your tax return

Add power of attorney

Balance Inquiry

Copy of a Return (2009 and forward)

File a protest

Request a payment plan

View 1099-Gs issued by the department

View letters from the department

Send questions to department staff about your account
Add third party access to the account

10
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General Filing Information

What is a W-2 Form?

A W-2 is a “Wage and Tax Statement” given to employees by their employers indicating
total earnings and taxes withheld during a calendar year. Employers are required by
federal law to provide the form to employees every year by January 31. Be sure your
social security number on your W-2 is correct. If it is incorrect take the W-2 to your
employer. The employer needs to make the necessary changes to the W-2 statement
before you file your income tax return so you get proper credit for taxes paid.

If you did not receive a W-2 from an employer, you should:

e Contact your employer to obtain a copy.

e Contact the Colorado Department of Revenue Tax Information Call Center at
(303) 238-7378. W-2 information submitted by employers to the Department of
Revenue may not be available before April.

e If the first three options fail, contact the IRS. The IRS may have both federal and
state W-2 information.

Attach all W-2s with Colorado Withholding to the 104 Return at the
Appropriate Place on the Return

When filing a paper return, all W-2s must be attached (stapled) to the form. When the
W-2s don’t add up to the withholding claimed on the Individual return (Line 38 of Form
104), return processing will stop. We will ask the taxpayer to send us the W-2s. While
there is no requirement to electronically attach scanned W-2s to an e-filed return, we
recommend submitting these electronically should any questions arise during return
review and we discover an entity has submitted a W-2 with Colorado withholding for a
taxpayer. Documents may be submitted in Revenue Online. Click on Submit an e-Filer
Attachment.

Pay stubs are not W-2s

Pay stubs do not usually have the employer’'s FEIN on them. The FEIN is required when
taxpayers file their income tax — whether electronically or on paper. The Colorado
Department of Revenue verifies the FEINs to ensure the employer has paid the
taxpayer’s withholding tax. When there is no FEIN with the income tax filing or the
FEIN is incorrect, the taxpayer will be required to communicate with CDOR to
verify withholding, which will delay refund processing.
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What is a 1099-G Statement?

Year-end 1099 statements are mailed by February 1 to inform recipients about income
they received during the previous year. The 1099-G is a document issued by
government agencies such as the Department of Revenue for use in filing out the
federal and State of Colorado income tax returns. Only taxpayers who itemized their
deductions using Schedule A on the prior year’s federal return should receive a
Colorado Department of Revenue 1099-G in the mail.

The amount shown on the Colorado 1099-G includes:

Any Colorado income tax refund received the prior year

Any overpayment credited to the following year’s estimated tax
Any overpayment applied to a prior year’s balance due

Any overpayment intercepted by a state agency

Any contributions to the voluntary checkoff funds.

Taxpayers can see 1099-G amounts for refunds received from the Department of
Revenue by signing up for tax account access in Revenue Online.

FEINs on W-2s/1099s

Review, compare and verify Federal Employer Identification Numbers (FEINS) when
entering them into e-file software. Make sure the numbers entered in the software
match what is on the paper W-2 or 1099. If the FEIN entered into the tax software
doesn’t match the FEIN on the W-2 or 1099 submitted by the employer, the taxpayer
will be asked later to submit paper copies of the W-2s/1099s.

Confirm Social Security Numbers

SSN(s) on your W-2 form must be correct. If the SSN is incorrect contact your employer
so a correct W-2 can be issued prior to filing your Colorado income tax return. Avoid
transposing numbers within the nine-digit number. If social security numbers (SSN) are
not correct on returns, the new system will flag the account as listing an invalid SSN and
not allow refunds to be issued until the SSN is corrected. If a joint return is filed, use the
same SSN as the primary/first number on each year’s Colorado filing.

12
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Filing on Behalf of a Deceased Taxpayer

If you are a surviving spouse or legal representative of someone who died during 2015,
you may file a return on the deceased’s behalf. Write “deceased” in large letters across
the top of the return, check the box after the deceased person’s name. Additionally, you
must sign the return and write “filing as surviving spouse” or “filing as legal
representative” by your signature. Any person other than the surviving spouse who files
a return and requests a refund on behalf of a deceased person must file form DR 0102,
“Claim for Refund on Behalf of Deceased Taxpayer,” and a copy of the death certificate
with the return.

How is Colorado Residency Determined?

A Colorado resident is a person who has made a home in Colorado, or a person whose
intention is to be a Colorado resident.

As evidence of a person’s intentions, the Department of Revenue will consider, among
other factors, Colorado voter registration, Colorado vehicle registration, Colorado
driver’s license, school registration, property ownership, and residence of spouse and
children.

Filing Requirements for Full-Year Residents who Work in a Non-Taxing
State

A Colorado resident must continue to file Colorado returns as a full-year resident no
matter how long he or she worked outside of Colorado. Most such individuals are
working on temporary assignments and are still residents of Colorado. If the Colorado
resident is working in a non-taxing state, all income will be taxed by Colorado.

Filing Requirements for Part-Year Residents

A part-year resident is an individual who was a resident of Colorado for only part of the
tax year. This includes anyone who moved into Colorado with the intention of making
his/her home here or a Colorado resident who moved out of Colorado with the intention
of making his/her home elsewhere any time during the tax year.

A part-year resident is required to file a Colorado income tax return if he/she:

e isrequired to file a federal income tax return, and
« has taxable income during that part of the year he/she was a Colorado resident,
or had Colorado-source taxable income any time during the year.

A part-year resident of Colorado will complete the Colorado individual income tax return,
Form 104, and the 104PN part-year resident/nonresident tax calculation schedule.
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Filing Requirements for Nonresidents

A nonresident is an individual who did not consider his/her home to be in Colorado at
any time during the tax year even though the person may have temporarily resided
and/or worked in Colorado. A nonresident is required to file a Colorado income tax
return if he/she:

e isrequired to file a federal income tax return, and
o has Colorado-source taxable income.

A nonresident of Colorado will complete the Colorado individual income tax return, Form
104, and the 104PN part-year resident/nonresident tax calculation schedule.

14
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O Special Types of Tax Claims O
Capital Gain Subtraction

The department will make every effort to verify required documentation was included in
the filing of the return before contacting the taxpayer for more information. That is why it
is important the following supporting documents be submitted with the return.

e ADR 1316 form, “Colorado Source Capital Gain Affidavit” must be completed
and included with the return (electronic or paper). With e-filed returns, attaching
the form to the electronic return or submitting it as an E-Filer Attachment in
Revenue Online is not sufficient. For electronic returns, the information must be
data entered on the DR 1316 portion of the return.

e A copy of the closing statements for both the purchase and sale of the property,
or official documentation from the county detailing purchase date and price and
sale date and price

e Copies of the first two pages of the corresponding federal return, Schedule D and
any Schedule D attachments

e If the capital gain was received via a pass-through entity, documentation that the
interest in the underlying business satisfies the required five-year holding period

Child Care Contribution Credit

When a taxpayer claims the Child Care Contribution Tax Credit, the DR 1317, “Child
Care Contribution Tax Credit Certification” must be completed by the organization/entity
that receives the donation from the taxpayer. Then the organization gives the completed
form to the taxpayer. A copy of this form MUST be submitted with the return that claims
this tax credit. The taxpayer may complete the Social Security/Colorado Account
Number portion of the certification form after the organization completes the form.
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Enterprise Zone Credits

IMPORTANT: There is an electronic return filing requirement for all taxpayers who
claim these credits.

Paper returns may be filed ONLY if an electronic return would create a hardship for the
taxpayer. If your software product does not support the DR 1366, “2015 Enterprise
Zone Credit and Carryforward Schedule,” we suggest you file using Revenue Online,
which has a document attachment feature. The total credit amount is calculated using
the DR 1366 schedule. Enter on line 36 of the 104 income tax return the sum of all
enterprise zone credits used (see the corresponding tax booklets for further instructions
regarding other types of returns). Both the DR 1366 and the applicable certification
form (or email printout from the Office of Economic Development and International
Trade) for each EZ credit claimed must accompany the income tax return, whether the
return is e-filed or submitted on paper.

Innovative Motor Vehicle Tax Credit

Legislation requires a new methodology for calculating the credit. The department has
developed form DR 0617, “Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit” schedule. Complete this
form and attach it to any income tax return claiming this credit. The department checks
a county motor vehicle database to verify ownership of these vehicles. If the registration
is not in the taxpayer’s name in this database, we will ask for copy of the purchase
invoice and proof of Colorado registration.

When in doubt, include attachments

Provide as much supporting documentation as you can. Follow the instructions for
supporting documentation. If your e-filer software does not support PDF submissions,
we strongly recommend using the E-Filer Attachment service in Revenue Online. When
a return is filed in Revenue Online, you may now submit the attachments during the
return completion process; there is no need to wait until after the return is filed to submit
the attachments. We recommend against using Form DR 1778 to submit
documentation. Using Form 1778 to submit supporting documentation can now delay
processing a minimum of six weeks. We created the DR 1778 in the early days of e-file
software availability when most software did not provide the file attachment option. We
are transitioning away from the DR 1778. Most MeF filing will allow for file attachments.
Alternatively, the “Submit an E-Filer Attachment” option in Revenue Online will
automatically direct the documents to your client’s account. The department can review
those documents concurrently with the return. For paper return submission, simply
attach the required documentation to the return before mailing.
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{3Filing Tips for Everyone{s
Certified Mail

Although certified mail gives you a return receipt and you may choose that option,
sending your tax return as certified mail may delay processing because the mail cannot
be run through any automated process. You may actually get your refund faster or get
the payment recorded in our system quicker with just a postmark on your envelope.

Check the Math

Simple calculation errors may result in the return being adjusted or the department
manually correcting the returns. Simply double checking the math may save time in
receiving a refund.

To avoid errors you can now file your return through our Revenue Online service,
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Revenue Online filing and other types of electronic
filing check for omissions and math errors.

Estimated Tax Payments and Prepayments

Taxpayers who have made estimated tax payments should carefully review their
payment records before completing this line on their return. We suggest that you review
Revenue Online account information. Revenue Online will allow you to verify the
payment(s) received by CDOR. Additionally, the 104 form requires a separate
designation of each payment type. Please take care to properly enter amounts on the
correct lines of the individual income tax return as follows:

Prior-year Estimated Tax Carryforward; line 39

Estimated Tax Payments; line 40

Extension Payment; line 41

Other Prepayments (104BEP, DR 0108 and DR 1079); line 42

O
O
O
O
If you choose not to verify your estimated payments via Revenue Online, then we
suggest you carefully review all of your financial records for payments made to the
Colorado Department of Revenue. Taxpayers may generally make estimated payments
from a checking account, but once a year may make a payment from a savings or other
account. Errors in properly accounting for estimated payments made to the Colorado
Department of Revenue will delay processing your return and issuing a potential refund.
Estimated tax credit lines of other income tax type returns (corporation, partnership) will
vary. See the corresponding tax booklets for details.
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Filing Requirements for Colorado Amended Returns

Amended returns replace the original tax return. Send only the NEW supporting
documents with the amended return and ALL the schedules. In the past, we asked for
all supporting documents even if they were already submitted. See the Amended Return
Quick Answer.

The 104X and schedules must be completed and submitted together, whether this is
done in Revenue Online or on paper. If a paper 104X is filed, do not re-submit the
original 104 form. This will only complicate and delay return processing.

Make sure you use the appropriate 104X version for the year you are amending
because the 104X is year-specific (for example, use a 2015 Form 104X for an
amended 2015 return).

Individual income tax returns from 2009 and forward may be amended electronically
through Revenue Online. Filing and amending returns in Revenue Online is a free
service. You may amend online even if the original return was filed on paper. Revenue
Online has all the information from the original return

there is no need to re-enter everything. If you do not have access to the Internet
and cannot amend online, you may file a paper Form 104X.

When changing the Colorado return because the IRS made changes to the federal
return, you must file Form 104X within 30 days of being notified by the IRS. When the
IRS makes changes to federal taxable income, the Colorado return MUST be
amended, even if there is no net change to the Colorado tax liability.

Fill out Forms Completely

Incomplete paper forms will result in a written request for documentation from the
department to the taxpayer. Be sure to sign the paper return. If filing a joint return, both
parties must sign the return. Filing electronically ensures all required information is
complete.

How Long do | keep my Income Tax Return?

Keep all papers you used in preparing your return until the statute of limitations runs out
for that return. This is usually four years from the date the return is due or filed. If your
return is audited, you must be able to provide back-up documents for all claims and
items listed on your return. Also, the Department of Revenue may request a copy of
your federal income tax return or other documentation in connection with your Colorado
return.
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Minor Child — Signing a Return

Minor children should sign their own tax return. If a child cannot sign his or her return, a
parent or guardian can sign the child’s name in the space provided at the bottom of the
tax return followed by “By (signature), parent (or guardian) for minor child.”

Payment Voucher — Use Correct Tax Year

To avoid errors you can make your payments through our Revenue Online service,
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Revenue Online allows convenient and secure
access to file your income tax return and make payments with the Department of
Revenue.

When mailing a payment separate from a form, be sure to mail the payment in with the
correct voucher for the correct tax year. Make sure the social security number and the
tax year of the payment are clearly written or typed on the check to ensure credit for the
payment. Sending a payment without the proper voucher form will create a processing
delay.

Proper postage on the envelope

The U.S. Postal Service will not deliver mail without the proper postage. If a filer mails in
a return without proper postage, it will be returned to sender. This is especially
important for those filing on or very near the filing deadlines of April 18 or October 15.

When you file your income tax return through our Revenue Online service,
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline you can save the postage and envelope and be
assured your return was received on time.

Read Instructions Carefully

Errors can be avoided if taxpayers understand the form and understand which lines may
or may not apply to them. When taxpayers are eligible for a credit they should read the
booklet instructions to assure they qualify for a specific credit and how to properly file for
that credit.
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Third Party Designee

When a taxpayer chooses to designate a Third Party to discuss a Colorado individual
income tax return with department staff, the designation has been expanded. The form
now states, “Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return and any other
information related to this return with the Colorado Department of Revenue?” The
added language accommodates situations where other tax years have an impact on the
return and allows the department to discuss the information with the designee.

We encourage e-filed returns because the Third Party designation is included in the
electronic return and our staff can see the name and phone number of the Third Party
Designee on the e-filed returns. On paper returns, we do not data enter any of the Third
Party Designee information as we do the return lines. Designee information from a
paper return is not available to us until the paper return is imaged and attached to the
taxpayer account, which could take a minimum of two weeks, depending on the time of
the year. During that time, it is possible the taxpayer may receive correspondence from
the department. If the Third Party Designee contacts the department about the letter, we
may not have access yet to the paper return image. In the case of a paper return,
customer service representatives may ask for a fax copy of the return with the designee
information before providing information to the tax professional.

Verify Where the Refund is to be Sent

When Direct Deposit is requested, accurate financial information should be submitted
with special attention to the account and routing numbers. The Colorado Department
of Revenue is not responsible for a lost refund if the account information entered
is incorrect.

If a taxpayer wishes to receive a refund by mail, addresses should be complete and
current, including city, state, zip code and other specific information such as apartment
numbers.

Changes can be made to a mailing address through our Revenue Online service. Go to
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Sign Up or Log In to manage your account.
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¢ Filing Information for Military Servicepersons <

Tax Deduction Available Beginning in Tax Year 2016

House Bill 15-1181 allows a person on active duty in the military who reacquires
Colorado residency to receive a tax deduction from his or her state taxable income. The
person's military home of record must be Colorado and he or she must have changed
his or her state of legal residence to Colorado after January 1, 2016, in order to be
eligible for the deduction.

Individuals who qualify for the tax deduction under the bill may claim an exemption from
Colorado withholding taxes. If his or her only source of income is military income, the
serviceperson is not required to file a Colorado income tax return.

Income Tax Modification for Military Family Relief Fund Grants

This establishes a deduction from taxable income for military families receiving a grant
from the Military Family Relief Fund. The total amount of the grant received by a family
is deductible from the taxable income reported on and transferred from the taxpayer’s
federal form, assuming the grant was reported as income.

The deduction takes effect for tax year 2014 and subsequent tax years.
GENERAL INFORMATION

A person in the military service remains a resident of the state in which he/she resided
at the time he/she entered the service unless he/she declares residency in another state.
The serviceperson would declare residency in another state by changing his/her
residency with the “Consolidated Base Personnel Office” or “Military Pay Office.”

Only the serviceperson’s home state may tax his/her military income. Every
serviceperson must have a home state.

Resident Serviceperson

A serviceperson who is a Colorado full-year resident is taxed in the same manner as
any other Colorado resident. Colorado resident servicepersons are those who are
Colorado residents when they enter the service or those who are from another state and
who choose to become Colorado residents.
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Nonresident Serviceperson

A nonresident serviceperson is not required to report his/her military income to
Colorado. However, if the serviceperson earned nonmilitary Colorado income, this
income must be reported to Colorado for income tax purposes. The serviceperson must
pay Colorado tax on:

nonmilitary Colorado salaries,

nonmilitary Colorado wages,

nonmilitary Colorado tips,

nonmilitary Colorado commissions,

income from a Colorado business,

income from rents, royalties and/or gains from the sale of tangible personal
property or real property located in Colorado.

Resident/Nonresident Spouses

The Colorado income tax filing status (joint or separate) must conform to the status
used for federal income tax filing purposes. For example, if a taxpayer and spouse filed
a joint federal return, they must file a joint Colorado return. If a taxpayer and spouse
filed separate federal returns, they must file separate Colorado returns.

Serviceperson Stationed Outside of the United States

A serviceperson who is a full-year Colorado resident who spends at least 305 days of
the tax year outside of the 50-state boundary of the United States of America while
stationed outside of the United States of America for active military duty may file as a
nonresident on their Colorado income tax return. The serviceperson's spouse may also
file as a nonresident if he or she accompanies the serviceperson outside of the country
for at least 305 days of the tax year while they are stationed there on active military duty.
A serviceperson or their spouse who meets the above criteria to file as a nonresident is
not required to do so and may continue to file as a Colorado resident if they wish. This
election must be indicated on form 104PN when the return is filed.
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Serviceperson Serving in a Combat Zone

Active duty pay earned in a combat zone that qualifies for the federal tax exemption is
not subject to Colorado income tax. However, to the extent income is included in federal
taxable income, Colorado tax will also be due on the income. Colorado law allows
military and support personnel stationed in a combat zone, as declared by the president,
to postpone filing and paying state income taxes until 180 days after their assignment in
the combat zone ends. Interest and penalty are deferred during this period. Because
most Colorado taxpayers receive a refund, affected taxpayers may want to plan ahead
to authorize someone else to file their income tax return for them using a Power of
Attorney Form (DR 0145). If the return is filed under this 180 day extension, write the
name of the applicable combat zone across the top of the Colorado Form 104.

Taxation of Military Retirement Benefits

Persons who were 55-64 years of age as of December 31 may exclude up to $20,000 of
their military retirement benefits received during the calendar year. Persons who were
65 years of age or older as of December 31, may exclude up to $24,000 of their military
retirement benefits received during the calendar year.

Tax year 2016 — Active Duty Military Tax Exemption

Active duty military income earned during 2016 will be exempt from Colorado income
tax when the individual reacquires Colorado residency. The exemption applies to 2016
returns filed beginning January 2017.
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!}Z Direct Deposit of Refunds M

No matter what filing method you choose, you can take advantage of Direct Deposit.
During 2015, nearly two-thirds of the refunds issued were delivered via Direct Deposit.

Direct Deposit is a fast and secure alternative to receiving a refund check. Since the
money is transmitted electronically directly into the taxpayer’s bank account — no
worries about a check getting lost in the mail or having to make a special trip to the
bank. Taxpayers may elect to use the Direct Deposit method for their income tax
refunds whether they file through the department's NetFile system, or after they use
Federal/State electronic filing, or a paper return.

Taxpayers provide their financial institution routing number, type of account and account
number through any one of the filing methods they may use. Taxpayers should make
certain to provide the correct U.S. financial institution routing and account numbers. If
for some reason the refund claim cannot be deposited directly into the account specified
and is rejected by the financial institution, the department will issue a paper check
through the mail. The Colorado Department of Revenue is not responsible for a lost
refund if you enter the wrong account information. To ensure you receive your refund,
always check and verify the bank routing and account numbers you enter for
accuracy. The Department of Revenue also advises that you use caution when
designating your Direct Deposit into an account other than your own.

You can monitor your refund status, through our Revenue Online service
www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Revenue Online is the convenient and secure way
to interact with the Department of Revenue. Through Revenue Online you will be able to
file a return, view your account status and history, and send questions to department
staff about your account. The messages you send to and from the Department of
Revenue are secure you must set up and access your Revenue Online account to send
messages and view responses from the department.
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‘/Ej Online Tax Payment ‘/Ej

Colorado taxpayers have another option when it comes to paying their Colorado
individual income tax. No matter how a Colorado income tax return is filed, taxpayers
can pay tax owed through Revenue Online, which can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7
days a week at www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline.

Our online tax payment service is available for personal income tax, estimated tax
payments, and past due amounts.

Taxpayers will be asked to provide their social security number to use the service,
which is on a secure server.

Colorado Department of Revenue, February 17, 2016
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M A Convenient Way to Make Donations to Worthy Causes M

Colorado’s individual income tax return provides a way for taxpayers to donate money
to non-profit programs designated by the Colorado Legislature.

Taxpayers may make contributions to these programs whether they are getting a refund
or they owe tax. Donations to the checkoff agencies can also be made directly to the
agency using information available at www.checkoffcolorado.com.

This year, there are 14 charitable causes listed on the Colorado 104 Individual Form.
This year’s voluntary "checkoff” Colorado programs are:

Nongame and Endangered Wildlife Cash Fund

Colorado Domestic Abuse Program Fund

Homeless Prevention Activities Program Fund

Western Slope Military Veterans Cemetery Fund

Pet Overpopulation Fund

Military Family Relief Fund

Public Education Fund

Roundup River Ranch Fund

9Health Fair Fund

American Red Cross Colorado Disaster Response, Readiness, and
Preparedness Fund NEW

Colorado for Healthy Landscapes Fund NEW

Habitat for Humanity of Colorado Fund NEW

Special Olympics of Colorado Fund NEW

Colorado Youth Corps Association Fund NEW

Facts about the Colorado Checkoffs

Colorado became the first state in the country to allow a taxpayer to “checkoff” a
voluntary contribution to a non-profit program. In 1977, the Colorado Nongame and
Endangered Wildlife Fund became the first state income tax checkoff fund in the United
States. Today there are hundreds of checkoff programs in nearly every state in the
country.

Every year, U.S. taxpayers contribute tens of millions of dollars to a diverse range of
programs. Checkoff contributions are typically voluntary donations from a taxpayer’s
refund. Nationwide, the most common funds support wildlife preservation, political
campaigns, child abuse and neglect prevention, and U.S. Olympic committees.

To be listed as a Colorado Income Tax Checkoff, each organization has to go through a
rigorous legislative process and has to be approved by the Colorado State Legislature.
The organizations must receive donations of $75,000 per year to remain on the form.

26
Colorado Department of Revenue, February 17, 2016


http://www.checkoffcolorado.com/

New checkoffs have a two-year exemption from this rule to get established.
Participation in the Tax Checkoff Program is generally limited to three years before an
organization comes before the legislature for review.

Checkoff Contribution Statistics for Tax Year 2014 (in highest dollar collected order)

FUND Contributions * |[Total Collected
Nongame and Endangered Wildlife 8247 $130,544.33
Cash Fund

Colorado Domestic Abuse Program 7182 $103,050.84
Fund

Military Family Relief Fund 5962 $101,040.60
Pet Overpopulation Fund 7416 $100,341.97
Homeless Prevention Activities 6339 $87,178.23
Program Fund

Alzheimer’s Association Fund 5495 $73,959.52
Make-A-Wish Foundation® of 5464 $67,869.08
Colorado Fund

The Unwanted Horse Fund 5331 $64,287.71
Colorado Healthy Rivers Fund 6062 $61,348.19
Public Education Fund 4107 $48,332.00
Colorado Multiple Sclerosis Fund 3463 $48,245.17
Colorado Cancer Fund 4458 $45,818.18
Roundup River Ranch Fund 6062 $33,478.00
9Health Fair Fund 2977 $31,762.00
Western Slope Military Veterans 2862 $24,619.75
Cemetery Fund

Totals 81,427 $1,021,875.57

* One return could have multiple donations.
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When to Expect Refunds

You can monitor refund status through the Revenue Online service
www.colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Once you sign up for account access through
Revenue Online you can, view your refund status, filing history and conduct other
common transactions with the department.

Filing state tax returns electronically or earlier in the year can result in quicker refunds!

Electronic filers: If a refund is “correct and complete,” taxpayers can expect their
refunds in about seven to 14 business days since the data is transmitted directly to the
DOR computer system.

Paper filers have a longer wait depending on when they file. Last year, the state issued
more than 1.5 million refunds from the more than 2.8 million individual income tax
returns filed. Each year almost half of state taxpayers wait until April to file. As the
volume of mail coming into the Department of Revenue increases toward the end of the
income tax filing season, processing time of income tax returns becomes longer. In fact,
in February the department receives more than 38,289 pieces of mail each business
day. In April, the daily average of received mail increases to more than 261,619 pieces
of mail each business day. The highest volume day is April 16", the day after the filing
deadline, with more than 74,934 pieces of mail received.

Refund Fraud Detection and Prevention

The Colorado Department of Revenue continues to take measures to ensure taxpayers’
personal information and Colorado tax refunds are secure. Colorado is partnering with
the IRS, other state revenue departments, private sector industry and tax professionals
to create new safeguards that detect circumstances where taxpayers’ personally
identifiable information is used to file fraudulent returns. The Department is preventing
issuance of these fraudulent refunds. Taxpayers should be aware that if a tax return
with their information fits the risk profile for a potentially fraudulent return, the
Department will communicate with them by U.S. Postal mail and will work with them to
verify whether they did indeed file the return. Some refunds that request Direct Deposit
may be converted to paper check as a measure to ensure the refund is delivered to the
taxpayer rather an another party who may have requested Direct Deposit into their
account, not the taxpayer’s account. If the taxpayer is not expecting that refund,
information on how to report the problem to the Department of Revenue is provided
along with the paper check.
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How Long Could it Take to Receive a Refund

Department of Revenue requirements for refund processing are contained in 839-22-
622 C.R.S. When an income tax return filing is “correct and complete,” by statute [839-
22-622 (4) C.R.S.] the Department of Revenue must process and issue refunds within

the below time frames:

However, “correct and complete” means the return/refund does not fall into the risk

profile for a fraudulent filing and fraudulent refund. If the return falls into that profile, that
return filing may have been submitted by someone else, it may take up to two months to

review and verify information and then communicate and exchange information with

taxpayers who are expecting a refund.

How soon can taxpayers receive their refund? It depends on how and when they file
their return and if the return is correct and complete.

Correct and Complete Income Tax Filing
Received in

Refund Made/Issued Within

January 14 days
February 21 days
March 28 days
April and later 45 days

Colorado Department of Revenue, February 17, 2016
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Q{> Intercepted Refunds Q>

The Department of Revenue will intercept a refund if back taxes are owed or a balance
is owed to another Colorado government agency or the IRS.

During 2015, 182,728 Colorado income tax refunds were intercepted for a total of
$25,869,799.97 to satisfy unpaid debts to Colorado agencies. Normally, the agency
initiating the intercept will have made several other attempts to collect the debt.

When a taxpayer’s refund is intercepted, the Department of Revenue sends a letter
explaining which agency initiated the intercept, the amount of the refund intercepted,
and who to contact for further information about the debt. When you check refund status
in Revenue Online www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline contact information for the
agency will also be provided. If the debt is smaller than the refund, the taxpayer will
receive the difference.

Examples of intercept programs:

Debts for child or spousal support;

Aid to Families with Disabled Children (AFDC);

Food stamps or other public assistance programs;

Debts due to overpayment of unemployment benefits;

Past debts to Colorado higher education, such as unpaid student loans or other

higher education financial obligations;

e Judicial fines, fees, cost or surcharges or judicial restitution including unpaid
parking tickets

e Any other unpaid debt to the state;

e Property Tax/Rent/Heat (PTC) rebates for low-income seniors

If a taxpayer believes the refund has been intercepted in error, the taxpayer must
contact the agency initiating the interception in order to clear up the problem. However,
if a joint return is filed and only one party is responsible for the unpaid debt, the injured
spouse (the one not in debt) may file an injured spouse form to claim his/her portion of
the refund.
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Injured spouse claims should be mailed to the department separate from the Colorado
income tax return. Claims must include a copy of the federal income tax return or
federal form 8379 and copies of all W-2, W-2G, or any 1099 statements received by
both parties.

Send all injured spouse claims to:

Colorado Department of Revenue
Injured Spouse Desk, Room 240
PO Box 17087

Denver, CO 80217-0087
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$ Failure to Pay is Costly $

If you owe taxes, you must pay them on or before April 18, 2016. When you don’t pay
what you owe by April 18, interest will be assessed. Interest rate for 2015 is 6 percent
on tax owed. A discounted rate of 3 percent is available if payment of tax is made, or an
agreement to pay is setup, within 30 days of the April 18 deadline. Penalty is 5 percent
of the balance due for the first month past the April 18 deadline plus 0.5 percent for
each additional month up to a maximum of 12 percent.

Taxpayers who file their 2015 income tax returns, and have a balance due on their
returns and do not submit payments will receive balance due notice in the mail. In all
cases where there is a delay in payment, penalty and interest will be charged on the
amount due.

Taxpayers have the option of paying the full balance due or setting up an installment
plan. If the taxpayer wishes to pay the full balance due, payment must be made by the
due date printed on the balance due notice in order to avoid further late fees.

Pay Electronically

Taxpayers can now pay online at www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. Online payments
reduce errors and provide instant payment confirmation. Revenue Online also allows
users to submit various forms and to monitor their tax account. A nominal fee for echeck
and credit card transactions will apply.

EFT Debit and EFT Credit options are free services offered by the department. EFT
services require pre-registration before payments can be made. Visit
www.Colorado.gov/revenue/eft for more information.

Form 158-1 (Extension payment Voucher) is not required if an online payment is made.
Please be advised that a nominal processing fee may apply to electronic payments.
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Pay by Paper

Payment can be made by attaching a check or money order to the payment voucher
that comes with the balance due notice and mailing it to:

Colorado Department of Revenue
Denver, CO 80261-0008

If the taxpayer is unable to pay the balance due in full, the taxpayer can request an
Agreement to Pay (ATP). Additional penalty will be assessed after the installment plan
is set up; interest will be added for the term of the plan. There is an automated method
to request an Agreement to pay plan. To apply for an ATP using our automated system,
the address we have on record must match your mailing address. Once the request is
received through our automated services, monthly payment coupons will be mailed
every 30 days.

e Colorado Revenue Online www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline

e If you do not have a login ID and Password under “Sign Up”
click on “Create a Login ID” and follow the prompts

¢ If you already have a login ID and Password type in your Login ID and Password to
access your account.
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< Taxpayer Service Center Offices Locations <&

Services include assistance with tax questions, registration of a new business, tax
publications and monthly sales tax classes and/or outreach to communities where no
service center is available.

Applying for a sales tax or wage withholding tax account? Apply online through
Colorado Business Express, www.colorado.gov/coloradobusinessexpress and get your
account set up immediately.

Note: Cash is not accepted at our service centers. All fees or tax payments must be
paid by check or money order. If you wish to pay by cash, you may do so at 1881 Pierce
St., Lakewood. However, taxpayer assistance is not available at the Pierce location.

Visit the list of Taxation Service Centers for updates on dates of operation before you
plan your visit.
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