The Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry

Patient Application Process

The Colorado Medical Marijuana
Registry processes over 1,000
patient requests per day which
include new patient applications,
renewals, and changes to current
registration information.

Currently, the application process is
paper based and completed via
mail. Patients receive their medical
marijuana card within
approximately 15-20 days of mail
date received at the Registry.

A new online registration system is
being developed and is expected to
go live in the summer of 2016. This
new system will allow patients to
complete the application process
online for a more efficient
turnaround time. The system will
also allow physicians and patients
to access certain documentation
online and will have many built in
security features ensuring data
remains confidential and accurate,
while allowing patients and
physicians to access their accounts
online with ease.

To receive email updates from the Medical Marijuana Registry please visit
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/medicalmarij
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Medical Marijuana Registry Statistics

As of June 2015

There are approximately 113,000 active
patients on the Registry.

32,000 patients have selected to have a
medical marijuana center cultivate their
medical marijuana.

4,600 patients have selected to have a
caregiver cultivate their medical marijuana.

The average medical marijuana patient is
42.5 years old.

Approximately 220 physicians recommend
medical marijuana to patients each month.

Physicians may recommend increased plant
counts to their patients, above the standard 6
plants and 2 ounces.16.4% of patients have an
increased recommended plant count.
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Additional Roles and
Responsibilities

In the Fall of 2014, the Medical
Marijuana Registry was approved
to utilize $9 million to fund The
Medical Marijuana Research
Grant Program. The program has
funded 10 observational studies
on the effects and efficacy of
marijuana used for medical
treatment. The Research Grant
Program will continue to monitor
the progress of studies over the
course of the next several years.

The Registry may refer physicians
to the Department of Regulatory
Agencies for investigation, if the
Registry identifies a need for
referral based on current
Registry policies.

The Registry reviews petitions to
add new debilitating medical
conditions to the list of qualified
medical conditions for the use of
medical marijuana.
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Facts About Medical Marljuana

Does Colorado accept Medical
Marijuana Cards from other States?
No. Only valid Colorado Medical Marijuana

Cards can be used to obtain Medical Marijuana
in Colorado.

Do other states accept Colorado
Medical Marijuana Cards?
No. Please refer to other state’s laws and

regulations regarding the use of medical
marijuana.

How do patients obtain medical
marijuana once they receive their
Medical Marijuana Card?

Medical marijuana patients may purchase
marijuana from a licensed medical marijuana
center, a primary caregiver, or grow it
themselves.

How do patients apply for a
Medical Marijuana Card?

To start the application process, patients
must first be diagnosed with a debilitating
medical condition by a licensed physician who
recommends medical marijuana. During the
exam, the physician must complete a
Physician Certification and provide it to the
patient. The patient must submit the
physician certification with an application, a
copy of their Colorado ID and a $15 processing
fee to the Registry.

What is the difference between
Medical and Retail Marijuana?

Medical marijuana is sold by licensed medical
marijuana centers or a caregiver. Medical
marijuana patients are permitted to purchase
the amount recommended by their physician
which can exceed 6 plants 2 oz. Medical
marijuana purchases are subject to the 2.9%
state sales tax and any local sales taxes.

Retail marijuana is sold by licensed retail
marijuana stores. Colorado residents age 21
and older may possess up to 1 ounce of
marijuana. Non-residents age 21 and older
can purchase up to % ounce. Retail marijuana
purchases are subject to the 10% state
marijuana tax, 2.9% state sales tax and a 15%
excise tax, plus any local sales taxes.

Marijuana in any form cannot be
consumed in public.

To receive email updates from the Medical Marijuana Registry please visit
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/medicalmarijuana

Is medical marijuana allowed
to be used at work or in
school?

Schools, universities and employers
establish their own policies for medical
marijuana use in the workplace.
Individuals are encouraged to check with
their employers or school administration
for more information.

Can marijuana be carried in
cars?

Yes. Marijuana may be carried in cars
as long as it is in closed containers and
within state lines. It is illegal to use or
consume marijuana in a vehicle or
drive under the influence of
marijuana.
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