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The Keep Jobs in Colorado Act requires that Colorado labor be employed to perform at least 80% of the work on a public works project. 

The law applies to new contracts for which invitations for bids or the request for proposals were issued on or after January 1, 2014.  

For more information, visit www.colorado.gov/cdle/kjica 

Applies to contractors who are working on 

public works projects funded in whole or in 

part by counties, school districts, or 

municipalities of the State of Colorado, and 

the project is undertaken in the State of 

Colorado.   
 

 The Division does not have authority to 

assist you if:  
 

1. The project is not a public works project. 

2. The public works project is financed 

with any amount of federal money. 

3. A waiver of the 80% Colorado labor 

requirement was granted by the 

governmental body overseeing the 

public works project. 

4. The public works project was bid on 

and/or completed before January 1, 

2014. 

5. The public works project was completed 

more than 90 days prior to filing the 

complaint. 

COVERAGE  

§ 8-17-101(1) & § 8-17-107 
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Whenever any public works project 

financed in whole or in part by funds of the 

state, counties, school districts, or 

municipalities of the State of Colorado are 

undertaken in this state, Colorado labor 

shall be employed to perform at least 80% 

of the work. 

CORE REQUIREMENT 
§ 8-17-101(1)  

"Public works project" shall have the same meaning as "public project" as defined in § 8-

19-102(2). In accordance with § 8-19-102(2), C.R.S., and § 24-92-102(8), C.R.S., “public 

works project” is defined as: 
 
i. any construction, alteration, repair, demolition, or improvement of any land, building, 

structure, facility, road, highway, bridge, or other public improvement suitable for and 

intended for use in the promotion of the public health, welfare, or safety and any 

maintenance programs for the upkeep of such projects, including any such project 

awarded by any county, including any home rule county, municipality, as defined in § 31

-1-101(6), C.R.S., school district, special district, or other political subdivision of the 

state for which appropriation or expenditures of moneys in the aggregate fiscal year may 

be reasonably expected to exceed $500,000. 

ii. any project under the supervision of the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) 

for which appropriation or expenditures of moneys in the aggregate fiscal year may be 

reasonably expected to exceed $150,000. 

iii. any highway or bridge construction, whether undertaken by the department of 

transportation or by any political subdivision of the state of Colorado for which 

appropriation or expenditures of moneys in the aggregate fiscal year may be reasonably 

expected to exceed $50,000. 

iv. any project for construction entered into by a governmental body of the executive branch 

of Colorado which is subject to the “Procurement Code.” (§§ 24-101-101 through 24-112

-101, C.R.S.). 

 

"Colorado labor" means any person who is a resident of the state of Colorado, at the time of 

the public works project, without discrimination as to race, color, creed, sex, sexual 

orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, age, or religion except when sex or age is 

a bona fide occupational qualification.  

 

i. A resident of the state of Colorado is a person who can provide a valid Colorado driver's 

license, a valid Colorado state-issued photo identification, or documentation that he or 

she has resided in Colorado for the last thirty days. 

 

The terms “site of the project” and “worker” are not defined in the law. Davis Bacon 

definitions are utilized for each of the terms.  

 

“Site of the project” is the physical place or places where the building or work called for in 

the contract will remain; and any other site where a significant portion of the building or 

work is constructed, provided that such site is established specifically for the performance of 

the contract or project. It does not included permanent home offices, branch plant 

establishments, fabrication plants, tool yards, etc., of a contractor or subcontractor whose 

location and continuance in operation are determined wholly without regard to a particular 

public works contract or project.    

DEFINITIONS 
§ 8-17-101(2)(a)-(b), § 8-19-102(2), § 24-92-102(8) 

Keep Jobs in Colorado Act (KJICA) 

COMPLIANCE 
§ 8-17-105 & § 8-17-101(2)(a) 

In order for a contractor to be found in 

compliance, 80% of total taxable wages 

plus fringe benefits must be paid to workers 

who satisfy the definition of Colorado labor 

and are employed directly on the site of the 

public works project. 

http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/labor
http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/kjica


 

This fact sheet is provided by the Colorado Division of Labor. Its condensed and simplified content is for general informational purposes only, and does not 
constitute legal advice. For more information, contact the Division, an attorney, or a human resources professional.  

. 

May 2014 

The 80% Colorado Labor Requirement 

§ 8-17-101, et. seq., C.R.S. 

Keep Jobs in Colorado Act (KJICA) 

The governmental body financing a public works project shall waive 

the 80% Colorado labor requirement if there is reasonable evidence 

to demonstrate insufficient Colorado labor to perform the work of 

the project and if compliance with the law would create an undue 

burden that would substantially prevent a project from proceeding to 

completion. 

 

A governmental body that allows a waiver shall post notice of the 

waiver and a justification for the waiver on its website. A 

governmental body shall not impose contractual damages on a 

contractor for delay in work due to the waiver process. 

WAIVER of the 80% COLORADO LABOR REQUIREMENT 
§ 8-17-101(1) 

CONTRACTOR OBLIGATIONS 
§ 8-17-104(1) & § 8-17-105  

In the event of an investigation, the contractor shall provide the 

following documentation to the Division of Labor within 14 days of 

a request, unless additional time is granted at the Division’s 

discretion: 

 

i. Total taxable wages plus fringe benefits for each covered 

worker on the public works project; AND 

ii. The required residency documentation for each covered worker 

on the public works project. 

 

Upon request by the contractor, each subcontractor on the public 

works project shall provide the required documentation listed above 

to the contractor. Each subcontractor shall retain the required 

documentation for at least 180 days after the completion of the 

entire public works project. 

“Worker” is defined pursuant to the Davis Bacon Act, 29 C.F.R. § 

5.2. Workers are those whose duties are manual or physical in 

nature (including those workers who use tools or who are 

performing the work of a trade), as distinguished from mental or 

managerial. The term does not apply to workers whose duties are 

primarily administrative, executive, or clerical, rather than manual. 

DEFINITIONS (continued) 
§ 8-17-101(2)(a)-(b), § 8-19-102(2), § 24-92-102(8) 

CONTRACT PROVISION 
§ 8-17-102 

All contracts let for public works financed in whole or in part by 

funds of the state, counties, school districts, or municipalities of the 

State of Colorado shall contain provision for the preference in 

employment of Colorado labor. 

In order for a worker to satisfy the residency requirement, the 

worker must provide documentation that he or she has resided in 

Colorado for the last 30 days prior to his or her first date of work on 

the public works project. Workers who establish residency during 

the course of the project may also qualify pursuant to the Division’s 

determination. 

 

Examples of acceptable residency documentation include a valid 

Colorado driver’s license, or a valid Colorado state-issued photo 

identification. 

 

Examples of potentially acceptable residency documentation may 

include, but not be limited to, Colorado voter registration, utility 

bill, rental lease, state income tax returns, ownership of residential 

real property, and additional documentation which establishes proof 

of residency in the State of Colorado. 

RESIDENCY DOCUMENTATION 
§ 8-17-101(2)(a) 

PENALTIES 
§ 8-17-104(2)(a)-(d) 

After conducting an investigation of a complaint, if the Division 

determines that a contractor has knowingly violated the requirements 

of the law, the Division shall impose a fine on such contractor as 

follows: 

i. First violation: $5,000 or an amount equal to 1% of the cost of 

the contract, whichever is less; 

ii. Second violation: $10,000 or an amount equal to 1% of the cost 

of the contract, whichever is less; 

iii. Third violation or any thereafter: $25,000 or an amount equal to 

1% of the cost of the contract, whichever is less. 

 

If the Division has imposed three fines on a contractor within 5 years 

and finds the violations to be egregious, the Division may initiate the 

process to debar the contractor pursuant to § 24-109-105, C.R.S. 

 

The Division may dismiss a complaint at its discretion if, after 

conducting an investigation, the Division determines that the 

circumstances that led to the complaint were the result of a minor 

paperwork violation. 

COMPLAINTS 

A person who alleges a potential violation may file a written 

complaint with the Division, using the Division-approved form. 

Anonymous complaints will not be accepted. The complaint shall 

include the complainant’s signature, contact information, and basis 

for the complaint. Failure to include this information may result in 

administrative dismissal of the complaint. 

 

Complaint instructions and the form are available at 

www.colorado.gov/cdle/kjica 

http://www.colorado.gov/cdle/kjica

