
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Information Regarding the Insurance Regulations for Intra-State 

For-Hire Motor Carriers 
 

 

On August 6, 2009 HB 09- 1244 became law.  As written, the law removed any 
requirement for a property carrier to obtain a permit from the Public Utilities 
Commission.  By definition, a property carrier is one who transports the property of 
others for-hire.  The law did not remove the requirements for both Towing and 
Household Goods Movers regarding the permit issue.  Property carriers will no 
longer be required to file proper proofs of commercial insurance, purchase the 
$50.00 annual vehicle stamp, be subject to the Commission’s safety regulations 
(those operating vehicles under 26,001 GVWR), or maintain a permit..   
 
While the law indeed did de-regulate the above requirements, it did not eliminate 
the most important requirement- the requirement that motor carriers of property 
operating for-hire must have insurance meeting specified minimum requirements.  
In order to maintain federally mandated insurance requirements for all for-hire 
carriers of property, the new law mandated that the Colorado State Patrol adopt as 
rule and enforce insurance requirements for these carriers.  Consequently, the 
Colorado State Patrol recently enacted rules mandating minimum liability and cargo 
insurance levels that are consistent with federal law.   
 
For commercial carriers this means the following: 

 Commercial carriers must maintain the same levels of liability and cargo 

insurance that were previously required under the rules as enforced by the 

PUC.   

o The Colorado State Patrol did not change the minimum level of 

liability required for all for-hire motor carriers.  That level remains at 

$750,000 or more for certain higher risk commodities.  These are the 

same levels of liability that are required by federal regulation (49 CFR 

387.9).   

o Cargo liability insurance must also be maintained at the same levels 

as before.  The following is the rule regarding cargo liability minimum 

levels:   

 “Motor carriers subject to these rules shall carry a minimum 

level of cargo liability coverage of $10,000 for loss or damage 

to property carried on any one motor vehicle or an amount 

 

Chief James M. Wolfinbarger 
Colorado State Patrol 

700 Kipling St. 
Suite 1000 

Denver, CO 80215-5865 
(303) 239-4500 

TDD (303) 239-4505 
FAX (303) 239-4481 

Bill Ritter, Jr. 

GOVERNOR 

Peter A. Weir 

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR 

Colorado State 

Patrol 

Colorado Bureau 

of Investigation 

 

Division of 

Criminal Justice 

Office of Preparedness, 

Security, and Fire Safety 

 



adequate to cover the value of the property being 

transported, whichever is less, unless the shipper and the 

property carrier otherwise agree by written contract to a 

lesser amount.” 

 Carrier must document their compliance with the insurance rules by 

maintaining proof of insurance documenting the minimum levels of required 

insurance at the carrier’s principle place of business.  Colorado Law also 

requires proof of insurance to be maintained on all insured vehicles at all times. 

 These documents must also be made available to an enforcement officer upon 

demand.   

 As previously stated intrastate for-hire motor carriers of property are no longer 

required to pay the annual registration fee or report their insurance 

information to the PUC.   

 Special note for carriers that previously purchased Temporary Registrations for 

the Seasonal Movement of Unprocessed Agricultural Products;  

o Previously the PUC allowed haulers of seasonal unprocessed agricultural 

products to purchase 90 day registrations that allowed them to operate 

as for-hire motor carriers.  Essentially these registrations acted the same 

as the annual permits but were for a shorter time period.  With the 

elimination of the annual registration requirement there is no longer a 

need for carriers of unprocessed agricultural products to obtain a 

temporary permit.   

o Carriers of seasonal movement of unprocessed agricultural products 

must still maintain the minimum levels of insurance that are required  

by law.  Specifically, the minimum levels of insurance that were required 

under the temporary registrations for carriers of seasonal movement of 

unprocessed agricultural products remain the same.  These levels are 

listed above.    

For further information please contact the Colorado State Patrol-Motor Carrier Safety 
Section at:  
15075 South Golden Road 
Golden CO 80401 
303 273 1875  
Online at http://csp.state.co.us/mcsap.html 
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