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INSURANCE/LIABILITIES 

Assessing Liability  
 
Colorado Division of Insurance web site provides information and resources 
regarding all type of insurance, from workers compensation to automotive 
insurance to health insurance: 
http://www.dora.state.co.us/Insurance 
 
Districts need to assess their insurance needs according both to mandatory law and risk 
associated with their activities. They should consult with insurance professionals to do 
this. Part of the district board’s fiduciary responsibility is to ensure district legal insurance 
responsibilities are met and district finances, assets, personnel, partners and good 
standing are protected by adequate insurance. 
 
If using partners’ funds for activities– particularly government partners –Districts should read 
contracts carefully to ascertain if there are any stipulated insurance requirements, or if other 
parties need to be named as insured on District current insurance documents. Proof of insurance 
(copies of certificates furnished by insurance providers) may be required by partners, and the 
Districts should safeguard themselves by requiring proof of insurance from third-parties whom 
they engage – contractors for instance. Keeping track of when insurances expire will help ensure 
such documents are up-to-date and valid. 
 
Districts also should consider reducing their risk – for example by providing appropriate 
safety training, installing alarms, having maintenance schedules for equipment. Safety training 
participation and equipment maintenance should be documented, including signatures. 
 

Worker compensation for staff and board members. 
Mandatory Insurances: 

Unemployment insurance for staff 
Vehicle liability insurance (could include private vehicles) 
 

Public liability for staff/board decisions and actions 
Risk Assessed Insurances: 

Public liability associated with District services, events, and activities 
Public liability associated with providing hire equipment  
Public liability associated with engaging volunteers 
Public liability for buildings and property 
Theft/damage insurance for assets – buildings, property, equipment 
Protection against employee malfeasance   
Protection against pre-loss legal fees 
Other vehicle insurance (non-owned vehicles/uninsured motorist)  
 
Supplementary employee benefits 
 

– health and life insurances 

Governmental Immunity             
As a political sub-division of the state, Conservation Districts are covered by the Governmental 
Immunity Act (Title 24, C.R.S. Article 10) regarding liability claims. This act does not confer 
complete immunity against all types of claims. It does confer immunity against many tort (civil) 
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liability claims involving negligence and places an upper limit ($150,000 per person to maximum 
of $600,000 per occurrence) for some other claims.  
The most applicable areas where “sovereign immunity is waived” (and thus liability is 
incurred by the district up to the upper limits listed above) are operation of a motor vehicle 
and dangerous buildings. Dollar limits on claims does not apply outside the state of Colorado. 
 
The Governmental Immunity Act does not apply to: 

 Violations of federal law (such as workers compensation, civil rights cases) 
 Breach of contract claims 
 Criminal claims 

 

Any type of claim can be made against a District and in any individual case it will be the attorney’s 
involved who will ascertain whether the Governmental Immunity Act applies or not. In our litigious 

society, Districts are advised to consult with insurance professionals to ensure adequate 
coverage for their activities and risk, even with the Governmental Immunity Act in place. 

Caution: 

 
Link to Colorado Governmental Immunity Act (CRS Title 24, Article 10; 24-10-101-120 ):  CLICK 
HERE  
 

State Contracts And Insurance        
Government organizations need to protect themselves against insurance claims for work done by 
contractors, including districts – especially with the “deep pockets” potential claimants may 
believe government has. Government contracts generally have stated standard minimum 
insurance requirements that the contracted entity must carry. Districts are covered by the 
Governmental Immunity Act (see above) and for Colorado state contracts the act applies in terms 
of the required insurance limits. A copy of insurance certificates proving required insurance is in 
place is required to be sent to the state department contract officer awarding funds within 7 days 
of signed contracts or, with the agreement of the contract officer,  when work begins. It is also 
stated in the contracts that it is the responsibility of the district to send updated insurance 
certificates when the existing policy expires. Generally, an insurance provider can be requested 
by the district to send copies of the insurance certificates directly to the state department contract 
officer. 
 
For the Colorado Department of Agriculture the contract officer is: 
Rob Archer 
Colorado Department of Agriculture 
700 Kipling Street, Suite 4000 
Lakewood, CO 80215-8000 
Tel: 303 239 4130  
 
 
Mandatory Insurances: Board and Staff Injury 
- Workers Compensation 
 
 
 
Workers compensation is payment awarded if a board or staff member is injured while providing 
services for the District. It covers both medical expenses and lost wages. Workers compensation 
insurance is purchased through an insurance agent and must be entirely paid by the District. 
Options include: 
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 Your local insurance agent 
 Colorado Special Districts Association Property and Liability Pool (member-owned 

organization serving Colorado special district organizations) 
1-888-313-7322  

 Colorado Compensation Insurance Authority doing business as Pinnacol - (quasi-
independent organization set up by state law as a body corporate and political sub-
division to help meet state workers compensation requirements) 
 Denver: 303-361-4000 or toll-free 1-800-873-7242:   303 361 4005 (Spanish) 
 Grand Junction: 970 257-2330 

 
Information on employer legal requirements can be obtained from Colorado Division of 
Workers Compensation at: 
Web site: http://www.coworkforce.com/dwc/ 
Tel: 303 318-8700 or toll-free 888 390-7936 or 1-800-685-0891 (Spanish) 
 
Districts should check with their provider and inform their board/staff about how to report 
a potential workers compensation injury – time is often critical and there may be designated 
medical providers to inform. If the District has a policy book, how to deal with a workers 
compensation claim could be included. 
 

                                                                    
As special districts, conservation districts  must either provide workers compensation insurance 
for board members or an annual resolution and file for exemption for such coverage with 
Colorado Division of Workers Compensation not less than forty-five days prior to the start of the 
policy year for which exemption is being requested. Thus this must be done every year to 
remain in legal compliance if board member workers compensation is not purchased.  The 
form (WC44)is obtained form the Division of Workers Compensation (contact information above) 
and on their web site under the official forms list.  
Purchasing workers compensation for board members is relatively inexpensive – in 2009 one 
might have expected $200 for the entire board. 
 
The statute that sets out the workers compensation requirement for board members is C.R.S 
section 8-40-202(1)(a)(I)(B), 
 
CLICK HERE for an example of a resolution to exempt board members for workers compensation 
insurance. 
 

 
Workers compensation insurance rates for employees vary according to the type of job 
classification the insurer assigns an employee based on their job duties – with the highest risk 
duty, even if very occasional, dictating the job classification. Payment is typically charged at an 
amount per $100 of payroll. It is important that districts provide and keep their insurance carrier 
updated with any changes of job duties of their existing or new staff since if a claim was made 
and the person was undertaking a duty with a risk the level of insurance does not cover the 
district could be liable for expensive premium back payments or even worse, find that the 
insurance company refuses to pay the claim and the district is sued because workers 

Board Members                                                    

Employees   

http://www.coworkforce.com/dwc/�
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compensation is a mandatory insurance. Changes in your workers compensation payment with a 
new employee reflect the increase because amount paid is per $100 of payroll – you still need to 
let your insurer know if the new employee is doing different types of duties that could be higher 
risk and require extra insurance – driving a vehicle or ATV for example, or making field 
inspections.  Conversely the district should ensure it is not overpaying because its employee has 
been wrongly classified. Some job classifications carry high risk – in some jobs the workers 
compensation insurance can even be higher than the payroll! Agricultural workers carry an 
elevated risk and some districts have been overpaying by several hundreds of dollars because 
they have field technicians that have been classified as “agricultural workers” even though they 
do not operate any farm machinery or work with livestock (see “Workers Compensation rates and 
Pinnacol Insurance below). 

 

Many districts (or their agents) use Pinnacol Insurance for their employee workers compensation 
in Colorado. Pinnacol use the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) to classify 
jobs and their workers compensation insurance rates are expressed as a rate per $100 of payroll 
based on that classification. 

Workers Compensation Rates and Pinnacol Insurance 

 
Example 
A customer service representative at NCCI was given the following description of a district 
business and gave the following as a probable classification. A Pinnacol agent in Denver 
provided their rates for these classifications as of September 2005: 
 
Description of What District Does 
 A political subdivision of the state 
 District Manager who is office based 
 Undertakes educational outreach – workshops, schools, public meetings 

Employees drive vehicles (nb: NRCS insurance does not cover workers comp, only 
liability) 
Field technician does survey work and visits field job sites – does not operate field 
machinery 

 
NCCI Probable Classification of Jobs and Pinnacol quoted rates 
 Classification 8601: Architectural or Engineer Consultant 
 81c per $100 payroll 
 
 Classification 8810: Exclusively office based 
 39c per $100 payroll 
 
 
If you wish to contact the NCCI directly yourselves to discuss classification or rates in Colorado, 
then their customer service number is : 800 622 4123.  
 
For districts which are not using Pinnacol for their workers compensation, classification etc may 
be based on different sources. 

 
 

Mandatory Insurances: Unemployment Benefit 
 
 
 
 
 
Unemployment benefit claims may be made whenever an employee loses their job through 
“no fault of their own” – including temporary assignments of more than a few weeks, or 
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when grant funding runs out. It is very rare for employers to be granted exemption from 
unemployment insurance liability by the Division of Labor and Employment and request for 
exemption must be applied for before a position is filled. Claims for payment of unemployment 
benefits are assessed by the Division of Labor and Employment. Claim amounts are based on 
employment history and employer’s liability is typically shared over the previous sixteen months 
that the individual was employed. Claims are complex and case-specific and because of various 
timelines can cover a span of several years from filing a claim. 
 
How Unemployment Insurance Is Paid 
 
When a district has employees, it must register with the Division of 
Labor and Employment and select one of two options for employer 
unemployment benefit liability. 
Registered districts will be under the “taxing option” for registered unemployment insurance 
unless they have elected in the past to be under “reimbursement option”. If they have never had 
an employee they may never have registered and will need to do so as they employ someone. 
Taxing option (also known as “contribution option”) means that the district files and pays 
unemployment tax regularly at about 0.2 -0.3% of salary, depending on current set rates and 
whether they have any past claims. If a claim is made, the state insurance pool pays out the 
claim. Reimbursement option

 

 means that although the district still regularly files, it makes no 
payments. However, if a claim is made the district must pay the claim out from its own funds. 
Unemployment claims are case specific, but a full eligible unemployment claim is typically around 
60% of salary for up to six months within a maximum level ($12,350 in 2009). 

Because the districts are “Special Purpose Districts” their payments to the state for 
unemployment insurance are at a lower rate than most other organizations also covers the 
federal unemployment insurance liability (FUTA).. Sometimes districts are wrongly classified 
and charged excess unemployment insurance taxes – be sure to confirm that you are 
registered as a “Special District” if you are paying more than about 0.3% of payroll. (30c/ 
$100) under the taxing option. 
 
 

Obtain unemployment registration and coverage (taxing or reimbursement) through the 
Division of Labor and Employment, Unemployment Insurance Tax section at 303 318-
9000 or 1-800-480-8299 or through their on-line services: 
http://www.coworkforce.com/uib/information.asp 
 
A  well-written in-depth free booklet about unemployment insurance and benefits is 
available on request from the Division of Labor Unemployment Section – it is called the 
”Employers Handbook” and is form number UI-266. The web site above also has more 
information about unemployment insurance and benefits. 

Implications of Unemployment Liability and Changing Options

Once a district is registered for unemployment insurance it can only change from one method to 
the other from January 1st of the next year and if changing from reimbursement to taxing option it 
will take time for the reimbursement liability to phase out because claims are based on past 
earnings and coverage (see example below). Districts should carefully consider the low cost 
taxing option for reducing risk – particularly if they might experience staff expansion due 
to new positions, since it is not possible to be quickly adaptable should you wish to 
change to taxing option from reimbursement option. 

       ↔↨↔ 

 
What Might a Comparative Options Scenario Look Like? 
Example: a $30,000 per year salary 
Unemployment Insurance under Contribution Option at 0.3%: $90 per year 

http://www.coworkforce.com/uib/information.asp�
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Full Unemployment Claim Under Reimbursement Option: $9,000 
 
How Do Districts Change From Reimbursement To Contribution Option? 
State law requires that all employees of an organization are under the same employment option 
and that changes from one option to the other cannot be made mid-year. Changes can only be 
made from January 1st (except for seasonal employers*, when March is the deadline – since 
districts operate all year they are not ”seasonal employers”).  A written request to change must be 
submitted to the Department of Labor and Unemployment. The letter must be on letterhead and 
signed. It should include the district account number and account name, and make the formal 
request to change to the “contribution” or “taxing” option for unemployment from January 1st of the 
appropriate year. The letter must be sent in before March 1st of the year in which the change is to 
take effect – the reason it can be retroactive to January is because the first unemployment filing 
of the year is not due until April. This is in accordance with CRS 8-76-107 8(d). In theory, the 
letter may be sent at any time prior to March 1st but in practice it is recommended it not be sent 
before the previous mid-December because the Department of Unemployment software for the 
following year is not active until December. Letters sent before they can be entered into the 
software have an increased potential of being inadvertently overlooked.  It is recommended that 
you obtain confirmation that your letter was received and before March 1st check that the request 
for change was processed and you are correctly assigned “special district” status and rate. 
Districts have sometimes experienced difficulty getting registered if they have not confirmed the 
process is taking place. 
* Seasonal employERS  are defined by the Department of Labor and Unemployment and does not mean seasonal 
employEES.  
 

When Is The Reimbursement Liability Gone If I Change to Taxing Option? 

Because of the nature of unemployment claims, some reimbursement liability continues for up to 
three years after the change to contributions option is made. In practice, the longer the time since 
the claim is made, the more reduced the liability is likely to be.  
 
Eligible unemployment benefit claims are assessed on the first four of the last five quarters the 
employee worked. 
For example: Employee laid off July 2005  
Quarter 5 : April-June 2005 (this is the quarter not used in calculating benefits) 
Quarter 4: Jan – April 2005 
Quarter 3: Oct – Dec 2004 
Quarter 2: Jul – Sep 2004 
Quarter 1: Apr – June 2004 
 
Individuals also have up to a year to make a claim and up to a year to collect the claim, and 
sometimes claims are further delayed because the individual has special circumstances that 
prevented them temporarily from being available for work, such as a workers compensation 
claim.  
Therefore, because of the back timeframe on which a claim is calculated and future timeframe in 
which it may be paid out, the potential to claim on a reimbursement option may stretch up to three 
years, depending on circumstances. 
 
However, the employment history of an individual also has a bearing on liability who is liable for 
unemployment claims. This can be complex in figuring out, because it depends both on time and 
employer history. Once the eligible five quarters for calculating benefit are covered under the new 
contribution option, or by a different employer, then the reimbursement liability is gone. However, 
because of the time period over which claims may be made, as described above, the five 
quarters may not necessarily be the last calendar five quarters. 
 
Examples: 
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In the simplest situation, if an employer changed from reimbursement option to contribution option 
on January 1st 2006 and retains their employees, “reimbursement risk” is lost completely by the 
end of March 2007 (five eligible quarters have passed). However, the “risk” has also been 
reducing over time as each “eligible quarter “is passed. Claim liability is shared proportionately 
between the “contribution” and “reimbursement” quarters.  
 
For example: 
Employee changes from Reimbursement Option to Contribution Option Jan 1st 2006 
Employee laid-off Jan 1st 2007 
Q5: Oct- Dec 2006 – not included in calculation 
Q 2-4: Jan – Sept 2006 – paid out of contribution option (Dept. of Labor pool) 
Q1: Oct-Dec 2005 – paid out of reimbursement option. (Employer) 
 
The same kind of shared responsibility for paying out claims is made if the employee has different 
employers. As the five eligible quarters pass under a new employer, the risk of a claim being 
made against the previous employer decreases. Similarly, the liability of unemployment benefit 
stretches backwards to previous employers for new hires.  
An exception to this is when an employee makes an unemployment claim, starts with a new 
employer and then is laid off within a year and makes an unemployment claim again. Since any 
unemployment claim is “active “ for a year a new claim cannot be opened within a year of a claim 
made. In the scenario described, the second unemployment claim would be a reopening of the 
original claim and based on the same eligibility quarters as the original claim – disregarding the 
“new” employer period. 
 
 
Mandatory Insurances: Vehicle Public Liability 
 
 
 
 
 
Districts must obtain adequate legal insurance on their own vehicles as appropriate. They might 
also need to consider the implications of other vehicle use - private vehicles, hired vehicles, 
NRCS vehicles or uninsured motorist coverage. 
 

If staff or board members are using their private vehicles – as many do for board meetings etc – 
the District should consult an insurance professional about risk. The insurance company insuring 
a private vehicle may or may not contest paying out a claim if an accident occurs while the 
vehicle is being used in District related activities. Or, they may pay the claim then increase the 
individual insurance rate or refuse to reinsure them. Options to prevent the District being at risk of 
incurring accident claims or being found negligent in ensuring proper insurance are: 

Private Vehicles 

 Require individuals using private vehicles for District use to provide copy of their vehicle 
insurance – including a clause that the vehicle is insured for work-related travel 

 District purchase non-owned vehicle insurance to cover the use of private vehicles 
 

The NRCS has generously allowed for district employees (not board members) to drive NRCS 
vehicles for conservation business at the discretion of the NRCS district conservationist (DC). 
The NRCS has a local agreement that Districts must sign for use of NRCS vehicles – ensure 
this has been done (check with your DC if necessary) before using the vehicle. The DC has the 
authority to allow or deny NRCS vehicle usage depending on vehicle availability and use. NRCS 
vehicles can only be used for conservation purposes and if there is any doubt as to whether the 
activity falls under this description it should be cleared with D.C.   

NRCS Vehicles  
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• District staff driving NRCS vehicles must have a valid driver’s license and adhere to 
NRCS driving rules. If they are other than short-term temporary employees, they should 
hold a Colorado driver’s license. 

 
o In terms of passengers, only federal employees may ride in NRCS vehicles 

unless the person(s) is covered by an agreement. District employees can ride in 
NRCS vehicles while on conservation business. 

 
 The District Conservationist must be notified as soon as possible if an 

accident occurs: 
 

Accidental damage to the NRCS vehicle itself (other than deliberate wanton or willful) is covered 
by NRCS risk management protection and is not the districts’ responsibility. Wanton or willful is 
different than negligent. Negligent implies a genuine mistake or oversight – wanton or willful 
implies deliberateness. Insurance underwriters do not normally insure against wanton or willful 
behaviors. 

Insurance Requirements for District Staff Use of NRCS Vehicles 

 
 Workers compensation insurance provided by the district covers injury to their employee. 
Districts also need to provide personal injury and liability cover for damage to any third-party 
person or property when district staff is driving an NRCS vehicle. The minimum level of such 
insurance is stated in NRCS-District agreement for Use of NRCS Vehicle and is in line with state 
insurance regulations. However, districts may want to talk with their insurance agency about the 
risk and whether they should carry more insurance. Because districts are covered by the 
Governmental Immunity Act, their liability is limited to $150,000 per person and $600,000 per 
occurrence within the confines of the act. More information on the Governmental Immunity Act is 
contained in an above manual section. In addition, if the employee is using the NRCS vehicle in 
the service of another agreement – a DOW or CSCB program for example – then the district 
should ensure it has sufficient coverage for insurance requirements that may be part of that 
agreement.  
 
 

If a district owns it’s own vehicle then it will most likely be able to add the NRCS vehicle coverage 
to it’s existing vehicle policy. If it does not own a vehicle, then it will most likely need to add a 
“non-owned and hired auto rider” to it’s general liability insurance policy. It is important to note 
that not all non owned and hired auto insurance are the same and the district should discuss with 
their insurance provider what coverage is needed and provided. Only insurance professionals can 
advise on the insurance provisions of their policies, but some of the points to explore when 
obtaining coverage for use of NRCS vehicles by district staff are: 

Obtaining Insurance for District Staff Use of NRCS Vehicles 

 
1) Damage to the NRCS vehicle is covered by the vehicle owner (NRCS- federal agency 

that is self-insured) unless wanton or willful  
2) Medical expenses for the employee are covered by workers compensation 
3) If the vehicle is being used for work purposes only - not personal use - and the vehicle  

rarely if ever is taken home by the employee 
4) Coverage that is required is third-party bodily and property injury while driving a non- 

owned vehicle  
5) How often the district employee uses the vehicle (is it regular use) and who else  uses 

the vehicle (e.g. NRCS staff) 
 
 
Risk-Assessed Insurances – Board Decisions 
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Board members (not staff) are covered by the state’s Risk Management Fund for general liability 
for their official decisions so that they cannot be individually sued for the consequences of such 
official decisions. This coverage is intended to protect the personal assets of board members. It is 
also termed “Professional Liability” or  “Errors and Omissions” coverage. This coverage only 
applies when the individuals are acting as board – not to decisions made by individuals 
themselves or unofficial decisions. To ensure coverage, official decisions should be made by a 
quorum and recorded in meeting minutes. Board members who make decisions without their 
board approval risk their personal assets should a claim be made following a consequence of that 
decision. Board coverage by State Risk Management is pursuant to CRS 24-30-1502 and CRS 
35-70-107 
 
Examples of State Risk Management Scope
Board vote to reject a conservation plan - applies 

: 

Board sponsors a tour where a child is injured – does not apply 
Board member in personal vehicle hits pedestrian – does not apply 
Board recommends a faulty dust blowing solution – applies 
Board rents defective equipment -  does not apply 
Board holds sale involving diseased trees – does not apply 
Board identifies wrong area for weed treatment - applies 
 
District employees are not covered by the state Risk Management Fund for their decisions and 
neither are they covered for their actions – particularly important for field workers.  To protect the 
district against claims for the decisions or actions of it’s employees, the district needs to carry 
general liability insurance.  
 
 
 
Risk-Assessed Insurances – Other Liabilities 
 
In the insurance “Assessing Needs” section, various optional insurances are listed whose 
relevance depends on a district’s individual risk assessment. Notwithstanding the Governmental 
Immunity Act (also described in the overview) district’s should consult with insurance 
professionals about the risks they may be vulnerable to depending on their assets, personnel and 
activities. Insurance professionals are best placed to provide relevant and up-to-date insurance 
advice. 
 

Volunteer means unpaid people other than Board members. Volunteer waivers should be part of 
using volunteers for any activity – whether for a few hours at one event of for longer term help. 
Every volunteer should complete one before providing any service. Use of such waivers should 
be a part of District policy and although claims can always be made and will always be evaluated 
on their own merit, use of such waivers as standard operating procedure may significantly help 
protect districts if such a claim is made. 

Volunteer Insurance:  

A volunteer waiver form is available in the Reference Manual Handbook Forms and Publications 
page of our web site : CLICK HERE for link. 
 
Districts should note that if they place too much emphasis on “direction and control” of volunteers 
they may be obliged to purchase workers compensation for such individuals. Discuss this with the 
district insurance provider. 
 
 
Who Can Provide Liability Insurance? 
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There are numerous insurance companies who provide general liability insurance and they vary 
in their experience and knowledge of insuring “special districts” – which is the type of organization 
(as well as being a political sub-division of the state) that conservation districts are. Also, every 
district is different and has different needs. District boards should carefully consider the risk 
associated with their district operations and their duty as elected officials to safeguard the 
interests of the District.  
 

Brokers vary in the options and allegiances they may have with insurance providers and their 
knowledge of insuring special districts. In addition, the insurance companies a broker uses or a 
district selects for themselves, may have more or less experience and knowledge of working with 
special districts.  Since brokers are paid commission by the insurance companies they work with, 
their advice may be influenced by the range of insurance providers they work with. However, a 
good broker can provide good insurance advice and steer districts towards appropriate coverage. 
They can also act as a go-between for the District and the insurance company if they provide the 
coverage.  

Local Brokers and Insurance Companies 

 

An organization made up of special districts membership which has a general liability pool to 
negotiate insurance rates with insurance providers. The SDA has expertise and interest in 
meeting special districts needs. District must join the SDA to access the liability pool insurance 
(membership rate base on scale according to district budget) and must purchase all their liability 
insurance through the SDA liability pool (workers compensation excepted – this may be 
purchased or not through the SDA). Membership also provides for other benefits such as a 
newsletter about matters of interest to special districts, options for purchasing employee benefits 
at group rates and lease-purchase arrangements to construct, or purchase facilities or capital 
investments. 

Colorado Special Districts Association (SDA) 

 
SDA web site: http://www.sdaco.org/ 
Tel: 303 863-1733 
SDA Property and Liability Pool (McGriff, Siebels and Williams Inc as designated provider 2009):  
Tel: 503 943-6650 or toll-free 1-888-313-7322 
 
 
 
How much Does Liability Insurance Cost? 
 
It is impossible to provide an expected cost of general liability insurance because each 
conservation district is different and has different needs. CSCB has limited information on what 
districts pay for insurance, but in 2009 about 10 districts indicated a range of $300 - $1,600 per 
year for liability insurance with the median around $600. However, CSCB cannot indicate how 
comprehensive the purchased insurance was for the cost.  For those procuring non-owned and 
hired auto insurance the cost of the rider was typically around $300 added to a general liability 
insurance policy. 
 
 
SUPPLEMENTAL EMPLOYEE BENEFITS INSURANCE 
 
This information was provided through the Department of 
Regulatory Agencies (DORA) – the state regulatory body for 
insurance. 

 
Districts are not obliged to provide health coverage for their staff, but if 
they choose to they are bound by certain regulations.  

 

http://www.sdaco.org/�
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Districts fall under the “small employer” regulatory category of less than 50 employees. As 
such, they can provide insurance through a carrier of small group plans. These plans are obliged 
to insure employees regardless of health status, but are not generally available for employees 
who work less than 24 hours per week or are seasonal. In this instance the employees must find 
their own individual health benefit program. Districts can only pay premiums of group plans 
for insurance, they cannot make payments for individual health plans. It is not legal for 
employers to pay for, or provide employee payments towards, individual health benefit 
plans. 
 
If the District chooses to provide health insurance to its full time employees, Colorado statute 
dictates that the employer must contribute at least 50% to the premium of a Standard or 
Basic group health care plan for the employee (not their dependents). The structure of these 
plans is covered by certain regulations. Insurance carriers may offer other group plans and the 
conditions of contributions to these are set by the carrier. 
 
A contact list of group carriers is available on the DORA web site under “Small Employer 
Carriers”. (This web site also provides a list of individual health plan carriers under “Companies 
Writing Individual Health Plans”  - although these are not group plans and so the District itself 
cannot utilize or make payments to them).  
 
Life insurance and disability insurance are other insurance benefits districts may discuss with 
their carriers  
 
CLICK HERE for link to DORA Health Insurance page 
CLICK HERE for link to DORA Life Insurance page 
 
The customer service contact information for the DORA Division of Insurance is: 
  Tel: 303 894 7499 

Tel: 800 930 3745 (toll free) 
E-mail: insurance@dora.state.co.us 

 
What If the District can’t afford employee health benefits and wants to mitigate the lack of benefits 
to attract/retain employees? 
Districts may add a flat payment to salaries of employees to financially boost income to offset the 
lack of benefits. However, this must be treated the same as salary in terms of taxation and the 
employer cannot insist the employee purchases health insurance with the added payment. In 
order to avoid potential discrimination suits, the added payments should be made available to all 
employees in the same way that health benefits would be. In order not to violate insurance 
regulations against paying for personal health insurance it should also be granted without regard 
to whether the employee purchases health insurance or not. The additional payment is in effect 
simply an increased salary, but it is a way for districts to demonstrate good faith in trying to 
compensate their staff competitively when benefits are not an option.  

http://www.dora.state.co.us/INSURANCE/consumer/HealthMainPage.htm�
http://www.dora.state.co.us/INSURANCE/consumer/2007docs/lifeinsaug2107.htm�
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