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Income 51: Estimated Income Tax  
 
Individuals and C corporations that receive non-wage income may be required to make quarterly estimated income 
tax payments. In general, Colorado law requires the payment of tax on income received throughout the tax year. In 
the case of wage income, the employer withholds the applicable amount of tax and remits it to the department on 
the employee’s behalf. For other types of income, such as business income, capital gains, interest, dividends, and 
rents, the payer generally does not withhold any state tax. Consequently, taxpayers that receive these other types of 
income generally must remit quarterly estimated tax payments in order to pay tax as they receive income throughout 
the year. Taxpayers that do not remit required estimated payments are subject to an estimated tax penalty. Estates, 
trusts, and pass-through entities are not generally required to make estimated payments, but may elect to do so.    

ESTIMATED TAX PAYMENTS FOR INDIVIDUALS 

In general, an individual (or married couple, if filing jointly) must remit Colorado estimated tax payments if his or her 
total Colorado tax liability, less withholding and credits, exceeds $1,000. Colorado taxpayers who remit federal 
estimated tax payments to the IRS with federal Form 1040-ES typically must pay estimated tax to the Colorado 
Department of Revenue as well. The amount a taxpayer must remit for estimated payments is based upon the 
taxpayer’s net Colorado income tax liability for either the current or prior year.  

Net Colorado tax liability 

For the purpose of calculating required estimated tax payments, a taxpayer’s net Colorado income tax liability is the 
total tax determined on the taxpayer’s return or by any subsequent amendment or assessment minus certain credits. 
For this calculation, total tax includes Colorado tax, alternative minimum tax, and any recapture of prior year credits. 
The credits subtracted in this calculation consist of all credits other than wage withholding, non-resident real estate 
withholding, sales tax refund credits, and any payments remitted by the taxpayer. This calculation is illustrated below. 

Calculation of Net Colorado Tax Liability 

Total tax including: Minus Certain credits Equals  

 Colorado tax 

 Colorado alternative minimum tax 

 Recapture of prior year credits 

(-) 

All credits EXCEPT: 

 Wage withholding 

 Non-resident real estate withholding 

 Sales tax refund credit 

 Payments remitted by the taxpayer 

(=) Net Colorado 
tax liability 

Determining required payment amounts 

Taxpayers required to make estimated payments typically must make four equal quarterly payments. Each required 
quarterly payment is 25% of the total required annual payment. The total required annual payment is either 70% of 
the taxpayer’s net tax liability for the current tax year or 100% of the taxpayer’s net tax liability for the preceding 
tax year (110% if the taxpayer’s federal adjusted gross income (“AGI”) for the preceding year was more than 
$150,000 or, if married filing separately (“MFS”), more than $75,000). The taxpayer cannot base their total required 
annual estimated payment on their liability for the prior year if the taxpayer did not file a Colorado income tax 
return for the prior tax year or if the taxpayer’s prior tax year was a short year (less than 12 months).  

Total Required Annual Payment 

Prior year AGI under 
$150,000 or $75,000 if MFS 

Prior year AGI over 
$150,000 or $75,000 if MFS 

70% of current year liability 70% of current year liability 

100% of prior year liability* 110% of prior year liability* 

* A taxpayer’s total required annual payment can be 
based upon prior year liability only if the taxpayer’s prior 
tax year was 12 months and if the taxpayer filed a 
Colorado return. 

Annualized income installment method 

The annualized income installment method allows taxpayers who do not receive income evenly throughout the year 
(for example, taxpayers who own a seasonal business or receive a lump sum payment late in the year) to calculate 
the amount of each quarterly estimated payment separately, based upon the income actually received in the months 
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preceding the payment due date. Taxpayers may use the annualized income installment method only if they also use 
the annualized income installment method to compute their federal estimated tax payments.  

Individual taxpayers can use the following schedule, taken from Part 4 of Form 204, to calculate their required 
quarterly estimated payments using the annualized income installment method. In determining each required 
quarterly payment amount, the taxpayer must calculate their Colorado taxable income for the annualization period, 
which, for calendar year filers, runs from January 1 through the end of the month preceding the due date of the 
payment. Generally, a taxpayer must first complete the federal annualized installment schedule (Schedule AI of Form 
2210 or the Annualized Estimated Tax Worksheet from IRS Publication 505) in order to calculate their Colorado 
taxable income for each annualization period. Part-year residents and non-residents will also need to apportion their 
income to determine their Colorado taxable income (please see FYI Income 6 for information about apportionment). 
Taxpayers must retain records detailing the calculation of their quarterly estimated payments and provide those 
records to the department upon request.    

Annualized Installment Method Schedule 

Quarterly payment due date* April 15th June 15th 
September 

15th 
January 15th 
of next year 

Annualization period* 
January 1 to 

March 31 
January 1 
to May 31 

January 1 to 
August 31 

January 1 to 
December 31 

1. Colorado taxable income during annualization 
period …………………………………………………………………… 1.     

2. Annualization factor .…………………………………………… 2. 4 2.4 1.5 1 

3. Annualized taxable income (line 1 times line 2) … 3.     

4. Annualized Colorado tax (line 3 times 4.63%) .…… 4.     

5. Applicable percentage ………………………………………… 5. 17.5% 35% 52.5% 70% 

6. Installment payment amount due (line 4 times 
line 5, minus any amounts entered on line 6 for 
any earlier quarters) …………………………………………… 6. 

    

* The due dates and annualization periods listed here are for calendar year filers and must be adjusted to the 
corresponding dates and periods for any fiscal year filer. 

Remitting estimated payments 

Taxpayers must remit any required quarterly estimated 
payments by the applicable due dates. Estimated tax 
payments are generally due on April 15, June 15, September 
15 of the tax year and January 15 of the following year. 
Please see the table to the right for due dates for both 
calendar year filers and fiscal year filers. If a required 
payment is not remitted or is underpaid, the department 
will first credit any subsequent payments to resolve the 
underpayment, regardless of when the payment is received.  

Taxpayers may remit estimated payments through Revenue 
Online or via EFT. Taxpayers remitting estimated payments 
by check must include a Colorado Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Form (104EP) with their payment to ensure proper 
crediting of their account. 

Any taxpayer who jointly files their estimated tax with the 
IRS must also jointly file estimated tax with the State of 
Colorado. Please exercise care when remitting joint 
estimated payments and when filing joint returns to ensure 
that the taxpayers’ Social Security numbers are entered in 
the same order on all submitted forms. The department credits estimated tax payments to the account associated 
with the Social Security number that is listed first on the 104EP payment voucher. If, by mutual agreement between 
spouses or in the case of a surviving spouse, the payment needs to be applied in a manner other than originally 

Due dates for quarterly estimated payments* 

Quarter 
Calendar year 

filers** Fiscal year filers** 

1st April 15th 15th day of fourth month 

2nd June 15th 15th day of sixth month 

3rd September 15th 15th day of ninth month 

4th 
January 15th of 
the next year 

15th day of first month of 
the next tax year 

* If any due date listed here falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment will be due on 
the next business day. 

** Most individuals are calendar year filers, meaning 
they file tax returns for calendar years (from January 
1 through December 31). Rarely do individuals file 
their taxes on a fiscal year basis. 
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requested on the 104EP, the taxpayer(s) must make a written request to the department prior to the filing of the 
Colorado Income Tax Return (Form 104). 

Estimated tax penalty 

If a taxpayer fails to remit required estimated payments or underpays their required estimated tax, the taxpayer will 
owe an estimated tax penalty. The penalty is actually an assessment of interest, calculated on the unpaid or 
underpaid amount, from the due date of the payment until the date of payment is made or the date the annual 
income tax return is due, whichever is later. See Form 204 and FYI General 11 to determine the applicable interest 
rate. Taxpayers can calculate the estimated tax penalty they owe using Form 204. 

In calculating the penalty, a taxpayer’s wage withholding and nonresident real estate withholding are treated as a 
payment toward estimated tax, with 25% allocated to each quarter unless the taxpayer establishes the dates on 
which the amounts were actually withheld.  

Under certain circumstances a taxpayer may be exempt from the requirement to remit estimated payments. A 
taxpayer will owe no estimate tax payments and owe no estimated tax penalty if either of the following conditions 
apply: 

1. the taxpayer’s net Colorado tax liability minus all credits, withholding, and any sales tax refund (but not any 
payment the taxpayer remits), is less than $1,000; or 

2. the taxpayer was a full-year resident for the preceding 12-month tax year and filed a Colorado income tax 
return for the preceding year and had no net Colorado tax liability for the preceding year. 

If the tax return is filed and any tax due is paid by January 31 of the following tax year, no penalty will be due for 
any underpayment of the fourth quarter installment payment. 

Farmers and fishermen 

Special rules apply for the calculation and remittance of required estimated payments for farmers and fisherman. A 
taxpayer is considered a farmer or fisherman subject to these special rules if at least 2/3 of their gross income is 
from farming or fishing for the tax year or for the preceding tax year. See IRS Publication 505 for assistance in 
calculating gross income from farming and fishing.  The department verifies taxpayers’ farming and fishing income 
with the IRS. 

Three special rules apply to estimated tax payments for farmers and fisherman: 

1. A farmer or fisherman’s required annual payment, based upon his or tax liability for the current year, is 50% 
of actual net Colorado tax liability (rather than 70%). 

2. Farmers and fisherman are not required to make four quarterly payments, but rather are only required to 
make one payment, due January 15 of the following tax year, for the entire required annual amount. 

3. A farmer or fisherman owes no estimated tax penalty if he or she files a return and remits full payment of any 
tax due by March 1 of the following tax year. 

C CORPORATION ESTIMATED TAX 

In general, a C corporation must remit Colorado estimated tax payments if its net Colorado tax liability for the tax 
year exceeds $5,000.  

Net Colorado tax liability 

For the purpose of calculating required estimated tax payments, a C corporation’s net Colorado income tax liability is 
the total tax determined on the C corporation’s return or by any subsequent amendment or assessment minus certain 
credits. For this calculation, total tax includes Colorado tax plus any recapture of prior year credits. The credits 
subtracted in this calculation consist of all credits other that wage withholding, non-resident real estate withholding, 
and any payments remitted by the taxpayer. This calculation is illustrated below 

Calculation of Net Colorado Tax Liability 

Total tax including: Minus Certain credits Equals  

 Colorado tax 

 Recapture of prior year credits 

 

(-) 

All credits EXCEPT: 

 Wage withholding 

 Non-resident real estate withholding 

 Payments remitted by the taxpayer 

 

(=) 

 

Net Colorado 
tax liability 

 



 

Page 4 of 6  (01/17) 
 

Determining required payment amounts 

C corporations required to make estimated payments typically must make four quarterly estimated payments, each of 
which is 25% of the total required annual payment (for tax years that are less than 12 months, see “short tax years” 
below). The total required annual payment is either 70% of the C corporation’s net tax liability for the current year 
or, if the C corporation meets certain qualifications, 100% of the C corporation’s net tax liability for the preceding 
year. A C corporation can base its estimated payments on its preceding year’s liability only if all of the following 
conditions are met:  

1. the C corporation’s preceding tax year was 12-month; 

2. the C corporation filed a Colorado return for the preceding tax year; and 

3. the corporation does not meet the IRS definition of a “large corporation” for estimated tax purposes. 

In general, a C corporation is a “large corporation” if it (or any predecessor corporation) had a federal taxable 
income of $1,000,000 of more for any of the three immediately preceding tax years (see 26 U.S.C. 6655 and 
associated regulations for additional information). A large corporation must base its estimated payments on its tax 
liability for the current year. A large corporation can initially base its first quarter estimated tax payment on 25% of 
the previous year’s tax liability, but must subsequently recalculate the required amount based upon its current year 
liability and include with its second quarter payment any additional amount due for the first quarter. The large 
corporation must calculate the required estimated payments for the second, third, and fourth quarters based upon 
the current year net tax liability. 

Annualized income installment method  

The annualized income installment method allows taxpayers who do not receive income evenly throughout the year 
to calculate the amount of each quarterly estimated payment separately, based upon the income actually received in 
the months preceding the payment due date. Taxpayers may use the annualized income installment method only if 
they also use the annualized income installment method to compute their federal estimated tax payments.  

C corporations can use the following schedule, taken from Part 4 of Form 205, to calculate their required quarterly 
estimated payments using the annualized income installment method. In determining each required quarterly 
payment amount, the taxpayer must calculate their Colorado taxable income for the annualization period, which runs 
from the first day of the tax year through the end of the month preceding the due date of the payment. Generally, a 
taxpayer must first complete the federal annualized installment schedule (Part II of Schedule A of either Form 1120-
W or Form 2220) in order to calculate their Colorado taxable income for each annualization period. Taxpayers with 
business activity both inside and outside Colorado must calculate apportionment factors for each annualization period 
and may not use estimated apportionment factors or apportionment factors from a prior year. Taxpayers must retain 
records detailing the calculation of their quarterly estimated payments and provide those records to the department 
upon request.    

Annualized Installment Method Schedule 

Quarterly payment due date (within tax year) 
15th day of 
4th month 

15th day of 
6th month 

15th day of 
9th month 

15th day of 
12th month 

Annualization period (within tax year) 
Months 1 
through 3 

Months 1 
through 5 

Months 1 
through 8 

Months 1 
through 11 

1. Colorado taxable income during annualization 
period …………………………………………………………………… 1.     

2. Annualization factor .…………………………………………… 2. 4 2.4 1.5 1.091 

3. Annualized taxable income (line 1 times line 2) … 3.     

4. Annualized Colorado tax (line 3 times 4.63%) .…… 4.     

5. Applicable percentage ………………………………………… 5. 17.5% 35% 52.5% 70% 

6. Installment payment amount due (line 4 times 
line 5, minus any amounts entered on line 6 for 
any earlier quarters) …………………………………………… 6. 
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Remitting estimated payments  

Taxpayers must remit any required quarterly estimated 
payments by the applicable due dates. Estimated tax 
payments are due on 15th day of the fourth, sixths, ninth, 
and twelfth months of the tax year. See the table to the 
right for due dates for both calendar year filers and fiscal 
year filers. If a required payment is not remitted or is 
underpaid, the department will first credit any subsequent 
payments to resolve the underpayment, regardless of when 
the payment is received. 

Taxpayers may remit estimated payments through Revenue 
Online or via EFT. Taxpayers remitting estimated payments 
by check must include a Corporate Estimated Income Tax 
Payment Form (112EP) with their payment to ensure proper 
crediting of their account. 

For estimated tax purposes, all C corporations included in a combined and/or consolidated return are considered a 
single taxpayer. Estimated payments should be remitted using the same parent account number under which they will 
ultimately be claimed. If a taxpayer remits payments using a different account number, such as the account number 
for a subsidiary company, the taxpayer must notify the department in writing prior to the filing of the tax return 
upon which the payment will be claimed.  

Short tax years  

In the case of a short tax year (a tax year of less than 12 months), estimated payments are due on the 15th day of the 
fourth, sixth, and ninth months of the year, if the year is of sufficient length to include such months, and the 15th day 
of the final month of the tax year. Consequently, taxpayer filing for a short tax year may not be required to remit a 
full four estimated payments, but rather only one, two, or three, depending on the length of the short tax year. The 
amount of each required payment is an equal share of the total required annual payment. For example, a taxpayer 
with an eight-month tax year must remit three estimated payments, each equal to 33% of the total required annual 
payment, by the 15th day of the fourth, sixth, and eighth months of the short tax year. See the following table for 
details regarding the amounts and due dates for estimated payments for short tax years.  

Payment amounts and due dates for short tax years 

 
Tax years consisting 
of 4 months or less 

Tax years consisting 
of 5 or 6 months 

Tax years consisting 
of 7, 8, or 9 months 

Tax years consisting 
of 10 or 11 months 

No. of required 
estimated payments 

1 2 3 4 

Required amount of 
each payment 

100% of total required 
annual payment 

50% of total required 
annual payment 

33% of total required 
annual payment 

25% of total required 
annual payment 

Due date of 1st 
estimated payment 

15th day of final 
month of tax year 

15th day of fourth 
month of tax year 

15th day of fourth 
month of tax year 

15th day of fourth 
month of tax year 

Due date of 2nd 
estimated payment 

N/A 
15th day of final 

month of tax year 
15th day of sixth 

month of tax year 
15th day of sixth 

month of tax year 

Due date of 3rd 
estimated payment N/A N/A 

15th day of final 
month of tax year 

15th day of ninth 
month of tax year 

Due date of 4th 
estimated payment 

N/A N/A N/A 
15th day of final 

month of tax year 

Estimated tax penalty  

If a C corporation fails to remit required estimated payments or underpays its required estimated tax, the C 
corporation will owe an estimated tax penalty. The penalty is actually an assessment of interest, calculated on the 
unpaid or underpaid amount, from the due date of the payment until the date of payment is made or the date the 
annual income tax return is due, whichever is later. See Form 205 and FYI General 11 to determine the applicable 
interest rate. C corporations can calculate the estimated tax penalty they owe using Form 205. 

Due dates for quarterly estimated payments* 

Quarter 
Calendar year 

filers Fiscal year filers 

1st April 15th 15th day of fourth month 

2nd June 15th 15th day of sixth month 

3rd September 15th 15th day of ninth month 

4th December 15th  15th day of twelfth month 

* If any due date listed here falls on a Saturday, 
Sunday, or legal holiday, the payment will be due on 
the next business day. 
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No estimated tax penalty is due if a C corporation’s net tax liability is less than $5,000. For short tax years, this 
$5,000 threshold will be prorated based upon the length of the tax year, by multiplying $5,000 times the number of 
months in the tax year and dividing by 12. For example, for a nine month tax year, a C corporation will owe no 
estimated tax penalty if its net tax liability is less than $3,750 ($5,000 times 9 divided by 12). 

ESTATES AND TRUSTS 

Colorado law does not require estimated tax payments for estates or trusts. However, a fiduciary may voluntarily make 
estimated payments for an estate or trust with the Estate/Trust Estimated Tax Payment Form (105EP). 

COMPOSITE RETURNS 

Partnerships and S corporations (collectively referred to as “pass-through entities) may file composite returns on behalf 
of some or all of their nonresident partners and shareholders (collectively referred to as “nonresident members”). Pass-
through entities are not required to make estimated payments, but individual nonresident members included in a 
composite return may be subject to the estimated payment requirements discussed in this FYI if their individual net 
Colorado tax liabilities exceed $1,000. Pass-through entities may use the Composite Nonresident Estimated Tax Payment 
Form (106EP) to remit payments on behalf of any nonresident member included in a composite who is subject to 
estimated payment requirements. Any estimated tax penalty due for a nonresident member included in a composite 
return will be computed on the individual level using the Form 204. 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 

 Colorado statutes and regulations 

o § 39-22-605, C.R.S. and Dept. Rule 39-22-605 (estimated payments for individuals) 

o § 39-22-606, C.R.S. and Dept. Rule 39-22-606 (estimated payments for C corporations) 

 Colorado forms, publications, and guidance  

o FYI General 11 (for annual interest rates) 

o Form 204 (for calculation of estimated tax penalty for individuals) 

o Form 205 (for calculation of estimated tax penalty for C corporations) 

o www.colorado.gov/revenueonline (to make estimated payments electronically) 

 Federal laws 

o 26 U.S.C. 6655 and 26 CFR 1.6655-4 (definition of “large corporation” for estimated tax purposes) 

 IRS forms, publications, and guidance 

o IRS Publication 505 (estimated tax for individuals) 

o IRS Form 2210 (federal estimated tax penalty for individuals) 

o IRS Form 2220 (federal estimated tax penalty for C corporations) 

o IRS Form 1120-W (estimated tax for C corporations) 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

FYIs provide general information concerning a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and straightforward language. Although the FYIs represent a good 
faith effort to provide accurate and complete tax information, the information is not binding on the Colorado Department of Revenue, nor does it 
replace, alter, or supersede Colorado law and regulations. The Executive Director, who by statute is the only person having the authority to bind the 
Department, has not formally reviewed and/or approved these FYIs. 


