I TAXPAYER SERVICE DIVISION

FYI - For Your Information

Filing on Unearned Income For a Minor

Child

GENERAL INFORMATION

Parents of children with gross unearned
income greater than $900 but less than
$9,000 are given the option to report their
child’s income on their federal income tax
return, Form 1040, by completing and
attaching Form 8814 to the Form 1040.
Form 8814 is for children under the age of
18 at the end of the tax year who received
unearned income consisting of interest or
dividends.

When Form 8814 is used, the child’s
unearned income greater than $900 but
not greater than $1,800 is not included in
the parents’ federal taxable income
because it is not subject to the parents’
marginal tax rate.

The proper way to handle this situation
for Colorado income tax purposes is for
the parents to include the missing income
on the “other additions” line of their
Colorado 104 Form. The explanation
would be “unearned net taxable income of
minor child.” The amount to enter is the
smaller of: a) $900 or b) the total taxable
income from form 8814 minus $900 for
each child for whom a Form 8814 is
completed.

This directive does not apply when the
child is filing his/her own income tax
return.

SIGNATURE

If a minor child files a tax return, he/she
should sign the return. If a child cannot
sign his or her return, a parent or guard-
ian can sign the child’s name in the space
provided at the bottom of the tax return
followed by “By (signature), parent (or
guardian) for minor child.”

A parent or guardian who signs the
return on a child’s behalf may handle any
matter regarding the return with the
Department of Revenue. [§39-22-601(1)(b),
C.R.S.]

FURTHERINFORMATION

FYIs, commonly used forms and
additional tax information are available on
the Web at www.taxcolorado.com

For additional income tax information
visit the “T'ax Information Index” which
covers a variety of topics including links
to forms, publications, regulations,
statutes and general questions and
answers. The “Tax Information Index” is
located on the Web at
wwuw.taxcolorado.com

FYIs provide general information concerning
a variety of Colorado tax topics in simple and
straightforward language. Although the
FYIs represent a good faith effort to provide
accurate and complete tax information, the
information is not binding on the Colorado
Department of Revenue, nor does it replace,
alter or supersede Colorado law and regula-
tions. The Executive Director, who by
statute is the only person having authority to
bind the Department, has not formally
reviewed and/or approved these FYTs.

Colorado Department

of Revenue

Taxpayer Service Division
1375 Sherman St.
Denver, Colorado 80261

Forms and other services:
(303) 238-FAST (3278)
Assistance:

(303) 238-SERV (7378)

www.taxcolorado.com
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