
 
December 2014 
 
Dear Parents of Students in Colorado Schools, K through 12th Grades (School Year 2015-16), 
 
Colorado law requires that children going to school be immunized against vaccine-preventable disease. Colorado 
follows the immunization schedule approved by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and other 
physician groups who recommend that health care providers follow this schedule. It is called the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices or the ACIP schedule. 
 
For those students who have not been vaccinated according to the ACIP schedule in the past, they will need to get 
up-to-date on immunizations that give the best protection against vaccine preventable disease. Changes that some 
parents may notice for the 2015-16 school year may include: 

• 2 doses of Varicella (chickenpox) vaccine are now required for all K through 12th grade students.  
• 3 doses of Hepatitis B vaccine must follow correct spacing between vaccines as well as correct ages. 
• MMR and Varicella – first doses must be given no more than 4 days before the first birthday. If vaccine is 

given more than 4 days before the 1st birthday they are NOT valid and are to be repeated.  
• The chart on page 2 is your guide to the specific vaccines that are “required” for school attendance as well 

as those that are “recommended.”  Please share this letter with your health care provider who is 
familiar with the ACIP schedule. 

 
NEW: A new House Bill (HB14-1288) was passed in May 2014 and requires schools and childcares to calculate 
immunization and exemption rates for their enrolled students. Anyone can now call the school and ask for those 
rates. Many parents, especially those with children too young to be vaccinated or whose child can’t be vaccinated 
due to a medical issue, would like to know which schools are best protected against vaccine preventable disease.  
 
Parents often have concerns or want more information about children’s immunizations and vaccine safety.  A 
resource developed for parents with frequently asked questions about the safety and importance of vaccines can be 
located at: www.ImmunizeForGood.com. The Colorado Immunization Section’s website is located at: 
www.ColoradoImmunizations.com. 
 
Please discuss your child’s vaccination needs with your child’s health care provider or local public health agency. 
(To find your local public health department’s contact information call the Family Health Line at 1-303-692-2229 or 
1-800-688-7777).  Please bring your child’s updated immunization records to the school each time your child 
receives an immunization. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
Colorado Immunization Branch  
 303-692-2700 
 

                                                                                                                                                                                    

http://www.immunizeforgood.com/
http://www.coloradoimmunizations.com/


 

MINIMUM NUMBER OF DOSES REQUIRED FOR CERTIFICATE OF IMMUNIZATION  
Kindergarten through Grade 12, 2015-16 Required for School Attendance. 

 
RECOMMENDED VACCINES FOR THE BEST PROTECTION AGAINST VACCINE-

PREVENTABLE DISEASE 

VACCINE 

Number of 
Doses 

Grades K-12 (5-18 Years of Age)  

VACCINE 
Number of 

Doses 

Grades K-12 (5-18 Years of Age)  
Vaccines administered ≤ 4 days before the minimum 

age are valid Vaccines administered ≤ 4 days before the minimum age are valid  

Pertussis 
DTaP only licensed 
through 6 yrs of age. 

5 to 6 

5 DTaP ( if dose 4 was administered on or after 
the 4th birthday, the requirement is met).  The final 
dose of DTaP must be administered no sooner 
than 4 years of age.  Tdap req. 6th through 12th 

grades. 

 Influenza 
(Flu) 1 to 2 

2 doses initially if under 9 yrs of age with a 
minimum interval of 28 days between doses, then 
1 dose annually, thereafter. Recommended for 
children 6 months of age and older. 

Tetanus/Diphtheria 
DT only licensed through 6 
yrs of age. 

3 to 5 

5 DT ( if dose 4 was administered on or after the 
4th birthday, the requirement is met).  If child is 7 
yrs of age or older, must have 3 appropriately 
spaced tetanus/diphtheria containing vaccines 
(DTaP, DT, Td, Tdap) -  4 wks between dose 1 & 
2 and 6 mos between dose 2 & 3 

 
Meningococcal 
Meningitis 
(MCV) 

1 to 2 Adolescents 11-18 years of age 

 
Human 
Papillomavirus 
(HPV) 

3 Adolescents 11-18 years of age. 

Polio (IPV) 3 to 4 
4 IPV (or 3 doses if 3rd dose given on or after 4th 
birthday) following ACIP guidelines. Students 
who were compliant with 3 or 4 doses prior to 
August 2010  have met the polio requirement. 

 Hepatitis A 
(Hep A) 2 All children 1 year and older 

Measles/Mumps/Rubella 
(MMR) 
1dose of Rubella meets 
requirements 

2 
The 1st dose cannot be administered more that 4 
days before the 1st birthday, 2 doses are required 
for children entering K through 12th grade. 

 For REQUIRED vaccines:  A laboratory test showing immunity is acceptable. 

You must provide one of the following to your child's school in order to comply with the law: 
1. A completed Certificate of Immunization certifying that the student has received minimum 
immunizations or an Immunization record from your health care provider. 
2. If a student’s Certificate of Immunization is not up to date, the parent/guardian or 
emancipated student has 14 days after direct notification to provide documentation that the 
next required immunization was administered and submit a written plan completion of any 
additional required immunizations. If the plan is not completed, the student shall be excluded 
from school for non-compliance. Exception to this rule is a shortage of vaccine. 
3. Statement of Exemption to Immunization - Colorado Department of Public Health and 
Environment Certificate of Immunization: 
a) a medical exemption signed by licensed physician stating that the student's physical 
condition is such that immunizations would endanger life or health or is otherwise medically 
contraindicated; or 
b) a religious exemption signed by the parent, guardian, or emancipated student that the 
student adheres to a religious belief opposed to immunizations; or 
c) a personal exemption signed by the parent, guardian, or emancipated student that the 
student adheres to a personal belief opposed to immunizations. 

Varicella (Chickenpox) 
Documentation of disease 
from a health care 
provider (Physician, RN or 
PA) is required 

2 
The 1st dose cannot be administered more than 4 
days before the 1st birthday.  2 doses are required 
for children entering K through 12th grade. 

 

Hepatitis B 
Students must follow the 
minimum intervals 
recommended by the 
Advisory Committee on 
Immunization  
Practices (ACIP) 

3 

The second dose must be administered at least 4 
weeks after the first dose. The third dose must be 
administered at least 16 weeks after the first dose 
and at least 8 weeks after the second dose. The 
final dose is to be administered no sooner than 24 
weeks (6 mos) of age.  The 2-dose series is 
acceptable for ages 11-15 years. 2 doses can only 
be accepted using the approved vaccine for the 2-
dose series with proper documentation (name of 
the vaccine, dosage, dates, and interval). 

 

Immunization requirements will be strictly enforced for all students. Students who do not meet the requirements will be denied attendance according 
to Colorado Revised Statutes 25-4-902. 

Call about free or low cost vaccines at Family Health Line at 303-692-2229 or 1-800-688-7777 
 


