
 

Immunization Frequently Asked 
Questions for K-12th Grades 
2015-2016 Colorado School Required Immunizations 

 
 

General Colorado Immunization Guidelines ............................................................................ 3 

What does is mean for a school to be “in compliance” with the School Immunization Law? ....... 3 

More detail “In-Process” and the 14 day rule. ............................................................... 3 

What is the difference between Colorado the school “required” immunizations and 
immunizations that are “recommended?” .................................................................... 3 

What is the “4 day grace period” for vaccines that are given earlier than the recommended age 
or interval between vaccines? ................................................................................... 3 

What is the official school immunization record? ............................................................ 4 

What should I know about the intervals between 2 live vaccines? ....................................... 4 

There are times when an immunization record will not include the complete date of vaccine 
administration. If a full date is not available, what is the “default date” for recording a vaccine 
in the record? ....................................................................................................... 4 

Varicella (Chickenpox) Disease and Varicella Vaccine ............................................................... 4 

Are all Colorado students required to have 2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)? ....................... 4 

A student who has had chickenpox disease is considered immune.  A student may have had 
chickenpox disease; however there is no documentation of that disease. What is the best course 
of action? ............................................................................................................. 5 

In obtaining a reliable history of chickenpox disease, the school nurse can complete a disease 
screening with the parent. Describe both primary infection and breakthrough disease to assist in 
the screening for chickenpox disease. ......................................................................... 5 

What kinds of questions would be useful in screening for a history of chickenpox disease? ........ 5 

If a parent reports that their child had chickenpox disease (no documentation of disease or has 
not been screened for history of disease), can the school accept the “parent report” of disease?
 ......................................................................................................................... 6 

DTaP/Tdap/Td Vaccines .................................................................................................... 6 

What is the DTaP vaccine requirement for Colorado students? ........................................... 6 

A student, 7 years of age or older, does not have a complete series of DTaP. What is the school 
requirement? ........................................................................................................ 6 

A student, 7 years of age or older, receives an “inadvertent” dose of DTaP. What is the required 
immunization schedule? .......................................................................................... 7 

What is the age requirement for Tdap (tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis)? ................................. 7 

Hepatitis B and the HBV Vaccine ......................................................................................... 7 

What is the requirement for Hepatitis B (Hep B) Vaccine? ................................................. 7 

Why are students who were compliant with Hep B in the past, now needing to get a dose? ....... 7 

Polio and IPV Vaccine ....................................................................................................... 8 

Revised March 7, 2016   1 |  
 



What is the polio requirement for Colorado students? ...................................................... 8 

What about those students who met the polio requirement prior to August 7th 2010. ............... 8 

Are students 19 years of age and older who are attending a Colorado school required to receive 
the full series of polio vaccines? ................................................................................ 8 

Measles, Mump, Rubella (MMR) and the MMR Vaccine ................................................................ 8 

What is the MMR requirement for students? .................................................................. 8 

Child Care and Preschool Required Vaccines .......................................................................... 9 

Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV) ....................................................................... 9 

What is the required pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV) immunization schedule for students 
in the child care and preschool settings? ...................................................................... 9 

Haemophilus influenzae Type b (Hib) .......................................................................... 9 

What is the required Hib immunization schedule for children in child care or preschool settings? 9 

ACIP-Recommended Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) Routine Vaccine Schedule ............... 9 

Medical Exemptions ....................................................................................................... 10 

Non-Medical (Personal Belief or Religious) Exemptions ............................................................ 10 

Personal Belief Exemptions ..................................................................................... 10 

Religious Exemptions ............................................................................................ 10 

Overview of Colorado Board of Health Rule regarding School Required Immunizations and School 
Immunization Resources ................................................................................................. 11 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revised March 7, 2016   2 |  
 



General Colorado Immunization Guidelines 
 
What does is mean for a school to be “in compliance” with the School Immunization Law? 
 

There are 3 ways that a school is “in compliance” with the school immunization law:  
 

1) A student is fully immunized (complete immunization records have been transcribed on to the 
Certificate of Immunization and is included in the student’s electronic or hard copy file.) 
 

2) A student is “In-Process” which means he/she is in the process of getting up-to-date on their 
immunizations (descriptive narrative explained in next question specific to “In-Process).  

 
3) A student has on file either a medical exemption (signed by a MD, DO or APN) or a non-medical 

exemption which is a religious or personal belief against receiving immunizations and is signed by 
the parent, guardian or student 18 years of age or older.  

 
More detail “In-Process” and the 14 day rule. 
 

When a school finds that a student is not up-to-date on their required immunizations, the school will 
notify parents of which vaccines are required for the student to attend school. Notification to the 
parent can include directly speaking to the parent in person, sending an email or letter, or 
contacting the parent by phone. CDPHE has developed “Notices” which schools may choose to send 
to parents. Notices are posted on the “School Immunization” page with other school immunization 
resources at www.coloradoimmunizations.com .           
 
The 14 day rule means the parent has 14 days to either get the required immunization(s) or to 
submit a written plan to the school as to when those vaccines will be administered.  Sometimes it 
can take a few weeks before a parent can make an appointment with the clinic or get time off to 
obtain the required immunizations. (If a parent chooses to use an “alternate” immunization schedule 
that does not follow the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) minimum intervals or 
ages, that parent will need to submit an exemption until the student is up-to-date on their required 
immunizations). 

  
What is the difference between Colorado the school “required” immunizations and immunizations that 
are “recommended?”  
            

The Colorado School “required” immunization schedule is the legislatively mandated immunization 
schedule required for attendance in Colorado schools. The immunizations that are required for 
school attendance for K through 12th grades include Hepatitis B, DTaP/Tdap, IPV, MMR and Varicella 
immunizations. 

 
The “recommended” immunization schedule is the “optimum” schedule approved by the  
Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) and includes additional vaccines that include 
Meningococcal, Hepatitis A, HPV and Influenza.                                 

  
What is the “4 day grace period” for vaccines that are given earlier than the recommended age or 
interval between vaccines?  
 

When reading an immunization record from a clinician’s office, ACIP allows a 4 day grace period for 
minimum intervals between vaccine doses and for the minimum age a vaccine can be administered. 
The exception is the minimum 28 day interval between the live vaccines MMR and Varicella. MMR and 
Varicella must have a full 28 days between doses. Vaccine doses administered more than 4 days 
before the minimum interval or age are not valid doses. For example, if MMR or Varicella vaccines 
are given more than 4 days before the 1st birthday, those doses are NOT valid doses and the school is 
not able to accept those invalid doses.  
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What is the official school immunization record? 
 

An official Certificate of Immunization or an Alternate Certificate of Immunization that has been 
approved by the Department of Public Health and Environment is required for all students in 
Colorado schools and is to include the dates and types of immunizations administered to a student. 

 
What should I know about the intervals between 2 live vaccines? 
 

Live vaccines, such as MMR, VAR, MMRV (Proquad) are typically given on the same day 
(simultaneously). If two of these live vaccines are not given (simultaneously) they must have at least 
a full 28 day interval. The reason for this is that the first live vaccine is building an antibody 
response. If another live vaccine is administered before the 28 day interval, the efficacy of the 
second live vaccine id diminished and the second vaccine must then be repeated. When 2 live 
vaccines are given on the same day there is no issue with the competing antibody response. 
Non-simultaneous administration of 2 live vaccines: 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/genrec.html  (Ch. 2, p. 12, 3rd paragraph) 
 

 
There are times when an immunization record will not include the complete date of vaccine 
administration. If a full date is not available, what is the “default date” for recording a vaccine in the 
record? 
 

Scenario #1: The vaccine administered is MMR or Varicella (live vaccines) and the dose in question 
was administered at 12 months during the birth month of the child (e.g. the parent’s record 
indicates a dose of MMR was administered on 12/2001 and the student’s birth date is 12/5/2000). 
 
Answer #1: The dose should only be counted as a valid dose if the month, day and year of the live 
vaccine administration are recorded. If the day the vaccine was administered is not noted, 
reasonable attempts should be made to obtain the exact day. If this information is not available and 
located, the dose SHOULD NOT BE COUNTED. The student should either have a lab titer drawn to see 
if they have antibodies or they should have the dose repeated. 
 
Scenario #2: If any other dose of vaccine is administered (other than MMR or Varicella) what is the 
default date? 
 
Answer #2: The dose should be counted and recorded in a new clinic record if the month, day and 
year of the vaccine administration are recorded. If the day the vaccine was administered is not 
noted, reasonable attempts should be made to obtain the exact day. If this information is not 
available/located, the date of the dose should be recorded as the 15th of the month (e.g. the 
parent’s record indicates a dose of Hepatitis B was administered on 12/2001. If the exact day the 
dose was administered cannot be obtained through reasonable efforts, the dose of Hepatitis B should 
be recorded as 12/15/2001). 

 
 
Varicella (Chickenpox) Disease and Varicella Vaccine 
 
 Are all Colorado students required to have 2 doses of Varicella (Chickenpox)? 

 
Yes, all students, Kindergarten through 12th grade, are required to have 2 valid doses of varicella 
vaccine. (A dose administered more than 4 days before the first birthday cannot be accepted as a 
valid dose). 
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It is recommended that for students less than 13 years of age there is a 3 month interval between 
the 2 doses of varicella. The school can accept an interval of 28 days.  
 

A student who has had chickenpox disease is considered immune.  A student may have had chickenpox 
disease; however there is no documentation of that disease. What is the best course of action?  
 

In cases where a parent reports the student had chickenpox disease but is not able to provide 
documentation of disease, a screening of chickenpox disease should be completed by a health care 
provider (MD, DO, RN, PA) and documented in the immunization record or Certificate of 
Immunization.  
 

In obtaining a reliable history of chickenpox disease, the school nurse can complete a disease screening 
with the parent. Describe both primary infection and breakthrough disease to assist in the screening for 
chickenpox disease.   
 

Primary Infection (Chickenpox): “In children, the rash is often the first sign of disease. The rash is 
generalized and pruritic (itching) and progresses rapidly from macules to papules to vesicular lesions 
before crusting. The rash typically appears first on the head, then on the trunk and then the 
extremities; the highest concentration of lesions is on the trunk. Lesions also occur on mucous 
membranes of the oropharynx, respiratory tract, vagina, conjunctiva, and the cornea. Lesions are 
usually 1 to 4 mm in diameters. The vesicles are superficial and delicate and contain clear fluid on 
an erythematous base. Vesicles may rupture or become purulent before they dry and crust. 
Successive crops appear over several days, with lesions present in several stages of development. 
Healthy children usually have 200 to 500 lesions in 2 to 4 successive crops and illness lasts, typically, 
5 to 10 days. The clinical course is generally mild, with malaise, itching and a temperature up to 102 
degrees F for 2 – 3 days.  
 
Breakthrough Disease: “A case of wild-type varicella infection occurring more than 42 days after 
vaccination. Such disease is usually mild with a shorter duration of illness, fewer constitutional 
symptoms, and fewer than 50 skin lesions. Breakthrough cases with fewer than 50 lesions have been 
found to be one third as contagious as varicella in unvaccinated persons with 50 or more lesions, but 
breakthrough cases with 50 or more lesions can be just as contagious as cases in unvaccinated 
persons.” 
 
 If the nurse (or other health care provider) does not feel that the report of disease is reliable, 
provide education and refer to clinic for vaccine. A lab test (titer) can be done to see if protective 
antibodies are present.  

 
Additional information about Varicella and other vaccine preventable disease can be found in the 
“13th edition of “Epidemiology and Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases” 
 
Please note: Since you must have chickenpox disease in order to get shingles, a diagnoses of shingles 
is evidence of chickenpox disease.  

 
What kinds of questions would be useful in screening for a history of chickenpox disease? 
 

1) What were the symptoms your child experienced?  
a) Typical signs and symptoms include rash, fever, cough, fussiness, headache, decreased 

appetite. 
 

2) Describe the rash your child had. 
a) Rash usually develops on the scalp and trunk of the body and then spreads to face arms and 

legs.  
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3) About how many lesions (pox) did your child have and describe the characteristics? 
a) Typically 200 – 500 hundred pox form and they are itchy. They also appear in successive 

crops. Illness for about 5 – 10 days.  
 

4) Did other children in the school, neighborhood, or community have chickenpox disease? 
a) Chickenpox is very contagious. If the parent relates that their child was exposed to other kids 

with disease, this is helpful in screening for disease  
 
If a parent reports that their child had chickenpox disease (no documentation of disease or has not 
been screened for history of disease), can the school accept the “parent report” of disease? 
 

No. If there is no documentation of the student having had chickenpox disease, an MD, DO, RN or PA 
must screen for the history of chickenpox disease and determine that the child had disease.  

            
 
DTaP/Tdap/Td Vaccines 
 
What is the DTaP vaccine requirement for Colorado students?  
 

DTaP is the pediatric vaccine licensed for children 6 weeks through 6 years of age. 5 doses of DTaP 
vaccines are required at school entry unless the 4th dose was given at 48 months of age (i.e. 4 years 
of age) in which case only 4 doses are required. There must be at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and 
2, at least 4 weeks between dose 2 and dose 3, at least 4 months between dose 3 and 4 and at least 
6 months between dose 4 and dose 5. The final dose must be given no sooner than 4 years of age 
(dose 4 may be given at 12 months of age provided there is at least 4 months between dose 3 and 4). 
If a child has received 6 doses of DTaP before the age of 7 years, no additional doses are required. 
DTaP is NOT licensed to be administered once a student turns 7 years of age. 

 
A student, 7 years of age or older, does not have a complete series of DTaP. What is the school 
requirement?  
 

Important Note: DTaP & DT is only licensed through 6 years of age and is not to be given to a child 
once they turn 7 yrs of age. Tdap and Td is licensed for individuals 7 years of age or older and should 
not be given before 7 years of age.  (Tetanus/diphtheria containing vaccines include DTaP, DT, Tdap 
and Td. The “p” indicates that pertussis antigen is added). 
 
As it relates to the tetanus/diphtheria requirement, DT or DTaP (given at 6 weeks through 6 years 
of age) and Td or Tdap (given at 7 yrs of age or older) in combination can be used when reading the 
immunization record to make sure they have met the requirement.  If the 1st dose of DTaP or DT 
was given before 1 year of age, there should be a total of 4 appropriately spaced doses of 
tetanus/diphtheria containing vaccine to meet the requirement (at least 4 weeks between dose 1 
and 2, at least 4 weeks between dose 2 and 3, at least 6 months between dose 3 and 4). If the 1st 
dose of vaccine was given on or after the 1st birthday, 3 appropriately spaced doses of a 
tetanus/diphtheria containing vaccine are given to meet the requirement (4 weeks between dose 1 & 
2 and 6 months between dose 2 & 3). http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.htm  (Ch. 
21, p. 348, 4th paragraph). One of those doses of vaccine should be a Tdap for a student between the 
ages of 11 through 12 years of age. If a student received a dose of Tdap as early as 7 years of age, 
that Tdap dose will meet the 11 through 12 year old requirement for school attendance. 
 
As it relates to the pertussis requirement, children 7 through 10 years of age who are not fully 
vaccinated against pertussis (defined as having received fewer than 4 doses of DTaP, or having 
received 4 doses of DTaP but the last dose was given prior to age 4 years) and who do not have a 
contraindication to pertussis vaccine are to receive a single dose of Tdap to provide protection 
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against pertussis. http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.htm  (Ch. 16, p. 270, 3rd 
paragraph) 

 
A student, 7 years of age or older, receives an “inadvertent” dose of DTaP. What is the required 
immunization schedule? 
 

There are times when DTaP may have been inadvertently administered to a student 7 years or older 
(remember that DTaP is only licensed for children through 7 years of age). “If DTaP is administered 
inadvertently to a child aged 7 through 10 years, this dose can count as the adolescent Tdap dose.  
(A clinician can administer a Tdap dose at age 11 through 12 years). 

                                        
What is the age requirement for Tdap (tetanus/diphtheria/pertussis)?  
 

One dose of Tdap vaccine is required for students between the ages of 11 – 12 years of age. If a 
student turns 13 years of age and has not received Tdap vaccine, they are out of compliance.  
 
If a student receives a Tdap on or after 7 years of age (required for students under 7 years of age 
who did not complete the DTaP series) they have met the Tdap requirement for students in 6th 
through 12th grades.   

  
If DTaP is administered inadvertently to an adolescent aged 11 through 18 years, that dose will meet 
the Tdap requirement. 

 
 
Hepatitis B and the HBV Vaccine 
 
What is the requirement for Hepatitis B (Hep B) Vaccine? 
 

In the 3 dose series of hepatitis B vaccine there must be at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and 2, 8 
weeks between dose 2 and 3 and 16 weeks between dose 1 and 3. The final dose must be 
administered at least 24 weeks of age (just under 6 months of age) in order to be counted as a valid 
dose in the 3 dose hepatitis B series. The data shows that when the final dose is given at 24 weeks of 
age or older, there is a better immune response. 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.htm  (Ch. 10, p. 161, 2nd paragraph & Table)  
 
Sometimes, you will see a student with 4 doses of Hepatitis B in an immunization record. This could 
be because the Hep B component was part of a combination vaccine, such as Pediarix. Sometimes 
with a combination vaccine that contains Hep B an additional Hepatitis B vaccine will be required in 
order to meet the age and interval requirement. If a dose does not meet the intervals between doses 
and does not include a final dose at 24 weeks of age or older, it is not a valid dose. 

 
There is a 2 dose series available for students 11 to 15 years of age. If the 2 dose series is 
administered it is required that a student provides written documentation that the student has 
received two doses of Recombivax Hepatitis B vaccine using the adult dose (1.0 ml containing 10 μg 
of hepatitis b surface antigen), with the second dose given 4 to 6 months after the first dose. The 
specific name of the vaccine, the exact dose of antigen per injection, and the dates of 
administration must be included as part of the documentation. 

 
Why are students who were compliant with Hep B in the past, now needing to get a dose? 
 

Prior to the incorporation of the ACIP schedule for schools in 7/1/2015, the school required 
immunizations schedule was not current with the ACIP schedule. With the incorporation of the best 
practice ACIP schedule, students should receive a final dose at 24 weeks or older. Clinical data show 
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that a dose of Hep B at 24 weeks or older provides a better immune response, providing optimum 
protection from Hepatitis B disease.  
 
 

Polio and IPV Vaccine 
 
What is the polio requirement for Colorado students?  
 

Four doses of polio vaccine are required at school entry in Colorado. There must be at least 4 weeks 
between dose 1 and dose 2, at least 4 weeks between dose 2 and 3 and at least 6 months between 
dose 3 and 4. The final dose must be given at least at 4 years of age and there must be at least 6 
months between the last 2 doses.   

 
Three doses of polio will meet the requirement if there are at least 4 weeks between dose 1 and 2 
and at least 6 months between dose 2 and 3 and the final dose was administered at or over 4 years of 
age.   

 
It is required that the final dose of IPV be given at or over 4 years of age, regardless of the number 
of doses administered prior to 4 years of age.  
 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.html (Ch. 18, p. 304) 

 
 
What about those students who met the polio requirement prior to August 7th 2010. 
 

For students who completed the polio requirement prior to August 7th 2010, (received four doses of 
IPV separated by at least 4 weeks even if under 4 years of age or received 3 doses separated by at 
least 4 weeks and the last dose was given at or after 4 yrs of age) are in compliance with the 
Colorado school requirement for polio.  They do NOT need an additional dose at or over 4 years of 
age. 

 
Are students 19 years of age and older who are attending a Colorado school required to receive the full 
series of polio vaccines? 
 

No. Once a student turns 18 years of age, there is no polio requirement.  
                                            
 
Measles, Mump, Rubella (MMR) and the MMR Vaccine 
 
What is the MMR requirement for students?  
 

All Colorado students are required to receive 2 doses of MMR. (There are students from other 
countries who will have evidence of single antigen measles, mumps and rubella).  

 
A dose of MMR that is given more than 4 days before the first birthday is not a valid dose and cannot 
be accepted by the school as meeting the school immunization requirement.  

  
The minimum interval between 2 doses of MMR is at least 28 days. The 4 day grace period does not 
apply to the minimum interval between the 2 doses. 
 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.html (Ch. 13, pp. 218 -219) 
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Child Care and Preschool Required Vaccines  
 
Pneumococcal Conjugate Vaccine (PCV) 
 
What is the required pneumococcal conjugate vaccine (PCV) immunization schedule for students in the 
child care and preschool settings?  
  

• If the first dose of PCV was administered before 6 months of age, the child is required to receive 3 
doses at least 4 weeks apart and an additional dose between 12 – 15 months of age at least 8 weeks 
after the 3rd dose. 
  

• If started between the ages of 7 – 11 months of age, the child is required to receive 2 doses, 8 weeks 
apart and an additional dose between 12 – 15 months of age, at least 8 weeks after the previous 
dose. 

 
• For any student who received the 3rd dose on or after the 1st birthday, and 8 weeks after the 2nd 

dose, a 4th dose is not required.  
 

• If the 1st dose was given at 12 to 23 months of age, 2 doses are required given 8 weeks apart. If any 
dose was given at 24 months through 4 years of age, the PCV requirement has been met.  

 
• If the current age is 5 years or older, no new or additional doses are required. 

 
Haemophilus influenzae Type b (Hib) 
 
What is the required Hib immunization schedule for children in child care or preschool settings?  
 

• For students who began the series before 12 months of age, 3 doses are required of which at 
least 1 dose must have been administered at 12 months of age or older (i.e., on or after the 1st 
birthday) and 8 weeks after the previous dose. 

• If the 1st dose was given at 12 to 14 months of age, 2 doses given 8 weeks apart are required.  
• If the current age is 5 years or older, no new or additional doses are required. 
• If one dose was given at 15 months of age or older, the Hib vaccine requirement is met. 
• The Hib schedule may vary slightly depending on with formulation was administered. 

 
ACIP-Recommended Haemophilus influenzae type b (Hib) Routine Vaccine Schedule 
 

Type Vaccine 2 
Months 

4 
Months 6 Months 12-15 

Months 

PRP-T 

ActHIB X (1st) X (2nd) X (3rd) X 

Pentacel* X (1st) X (2nd) X (3rd) X 

Hiberix^ - - - X 

MenHibrix° X (1st) X (2nd) X (3rd) X 

PRP-OMP 
PedvaxHIB X (1st) X (2nd) - X 

COMVAX X (1st) X (2nd) - X 
 

 
 

 
 

* The recommended age for the 4th dose of Pentacel is 15-18 months, but it can be given as early as 12 months, provided at least 6 
months have elapsed since the 3rd dose. 

^ Hiberix is approved only for the last dose of the Hib series among children 12 months of age and older. The recommended age is 15 
months, but to facilitate timely booster vaccination it may be given as early as 12 months. 

° The recommended age for the 4th dose of MenHibrix is 12-18 months. 
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Medical Exemptions 
 

 
A medical exemption is indicated when a student is unable to receive vaccine due to an allergy to a 
component of the vaccine or receiving vaccine would be contraindicated due to a medical condition. 
A medical exemption is only signed by a physician (MD or DO) or an advanced practice nurse (APN) 
licensed to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine in any state or territory of the United States. 
The medical exemption form is located on page two of the Certificate of immunization and once 
signed by the health care provider, is to be maintained in the student’s file.  
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/PW_Imm_Certificate-of-Immunization.pdf  

 
Non-Medical (Personal Belief or Religious) Exemptions  
 
Personal Belief Exemptions 
 

By submitting a personal belief exemption signed by the parent(s), guardian(s), emancipated student 
or student 18 years of age or older, indicating that they have a personal belief that is opposed to 
immunizations, the student is in compliance with the School Immunization Law. The personal 
exemption form is located on the second page of the Certificate of Immunization. Once the personal 
belief exemption is signed the school will maintain that exemption in the student’s file. 

           https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/PW_Imm_Certificate-of-Immunization.pdf  
 

Religious Exemptions 
 

By submitting a religious exemption signed by the parent(s), guardian(s), emancipated student or 
student 18 years of age or older, indicating that they have a religious belief that is opposed to 
immunizations, the student is in compliance with the School Immunization Law. The religious 
exemption form is located on the second page of the Certificate of Immunization. Once the personal 
belief exemption is signed the school will maintain that exemption in the student’s file. 
https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/sites/default/files/PW_Imm_Certificate-of-Immunization.pdf  
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Overview of Colorado Board of Health Rule regarding School Required 
Immunizations and School Immunization Resources 
 
The Colorado Immunization School Law, 6 CCR 1009-2, was incorporated in 1978 to protect children in 
school environments and to protect the public’s health against specific vaccine-preventable diseases. 
 
The Colorado Board of Health incorporates by reference the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 
(ACIP) immunization schedule.  Colorado child cares and schools can only accept immunizations as valid if 
they meet both the minimum age and minimum intervals as defined by ACIP.  
ACIP Immunization Schedules for Persons Aged 0 Through 18 Years of Age 
 
Schools can only meet the compliance requirements of the immunization law by accepting immunization 
records of fully immunized students (according to the ACIP schedule), or written documentation from the 
parent that, a) the student is “in-process” of getting up-to-date on required immunizations or b) the student 
has a signed medical or non-medical exemption. (Positive lab titer documents showing protection against 
specific vaccine preventable diseases are accepted and become part of the student’s immunization record). 
 
If students do not meet the criteria outlined in the previous paragraph, they are not permitted to attend 
school as stated in the School Immunization Law and the Colorado Board of Health Rules.  
 
If you have questions about the ACIP immunization schedule, or a dose of vaccine that is marked as invalid, 
the Colorado Immunization Branch provides a nurse on call Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. through 5 p.m. 
at 303-692-2700.  Additionally, there are two great resources where you can search for answers to specific 
immunization questions that may arise: 
 
CDC’s 13th edition of the Epidemiology & Prevention of Vaccine-Preventable Diseases 
http://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/pubs/pinkbook/index.html 
 
The Immunization Action Coalition: Ask the Experts 
http://www.immunize.org/askexperts/  
 
To communicate via email with the CDC Experts at the National Immunization Program 
nipinfo@cdc.gov  
 
If you have questions regarding the School Immunization Law or interpretation of the Colorado Board of 
Health Rules, please don’t hesitate to reach out to me at 303-692-2957.  
 
Thank you, 
 
Jamie D’Amico, RN, MSN, CNS  
Public Health Nurse Consultant, Colorado Immunization Branch 
303-692-2957 
jamie.damico@state.co.us  
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