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Dedicated to protecting and improving the health and environment of the people of Colorado

Dear School Nurse,

The School Required Immunization Law follows the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP) for
those immunizations that the Colorado Board of Health (BOH) requires for school entry.

Anyone can review the rules for “School Immunizations” by going to the State’s Immunization Branch
website at www.coloradoimmunizations.com. The FAQs for School Required Immunizations under School
Professional Services provides detailed school immunization guidance and explanation of the ACIP and
school rules.

Several vaccine schedules cause confusion. Some examples are Polio, Hepatitis B, MMR and Varicella. This
letter contains information on those vaccines, but the Colorado Immunization Branch (CIB) is happy to hear
from you if you have questions.

The current ACIP schedule for IPV includes a final dose of IPV (polio vaccine) for students 4 years of age or
older, and 6 months after the previous dose (implemented August 7, 2010). Students who had 4 doses, 4
weeks apart before the age of 4 years and prior to the date of the change (August 7*" 2010), meet the ACIP
and Colorado school requirement. All students who have had 3 doses of polio vaccine with the 3rd dose at 4
years of age or older and six months after the previous dose also meet the ACIP and Colorado requirement.

Hepatitis B vaccine has very specific intervals between doses. The final dose must be administered on or
after 24 weeks of age (about 6 months). This final dose age requirement provides an optimal immune
response to the disease and therefore is recommended by ACIP guidelines.

ACIP guidelines for MMR and Varicella vaccines state that the vaccines should be administered no more than
4 days before the 1°* birthday. This age requirement provides an optimal immune response. If the 1** doses
of MMR and/or Varicella vaccines are administered more than 4 days before the first birthday they do not
meet the ACIP guidelines and are not considered valid doses. School requirements include two doses of MMR
and two doses of Varicella given on or after the first birthday and at least 4 weeks apart.

Schools are required by law to only accept valid doses according to the ACIP schedule. It is ultimately the
responsibility of the parent to work with their health care provider to insure that the student follows the
ACIP guidelines and is in compliance with the School Immunization Rule or otherwise meets school
immunization compliance by being officially in progress or having a sighed exemption on file.

Respectfully,
Jamie

Jamie D'Amico, RN, MSN, CNS

Public Health Nurse Consultant

Schools and Community Program

Colorado Immunization Branch
303-692-2957 or jamie.damico@state.co.us
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