
Homemade Trailer Requirements 

1. Weight Slip (Can be obtained at Cargill - $5.00 fee or Mitcheks - $3.00 fee.) 

2. VIN Inspection - If the weight is over 2,000 lbs., it must be a certified VIN Inspection (Certified 

VIN inspections can be obtained at the Sheriff's Department, Sterling Police Department 

(Monday, Wednesday & Friday 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m.) Regular VIN Inspections 

can be done by or any licensed dealership. 

3. Dimensions (Example:  8 feet long by 6 feet wide.) 

4. Value (How much the trailer is worth) 

5. Secure and verifiable identification.  

Title Requirements 

OUT OF STATE – Moving to Colorado 

1. If no lien - need title for vehicle. 

2. If there is a lien - need current registration & lien holder name and address. 

3. VIN inspection form - filled out by a Colorado law officer or licensed dealership. 

4. Proof of insurance. 

5. Secure and verifiable identification.  

NEW PURCHASE – Out of State Title 

1. Out of state title or MSO. 

2. Bill of sale. 

3. Security agreement - if lien on vehicle. 

4. Proof of insurance. 

5. VIN inspection. 

6. Secure and verifiable identification.  

NEW PURCHASE – In State From Dealer 

1. Title or MSO. 

2. Sales tax receipt -If vehicle was not purchased in Sterling or Logan County, county, city and RTA 

sales tax will be collected, if applicable. 

3. Dealer bill of sale. 

4. If transferring plates, you need to have the old plates.  If getting new plates, old plates must be 

surrendered to our office if credit, where applicable, is to be given toward new plates 

5. Proof of insurance. 

6. Secure and verifiable identification.  

 

 



NEW PURCHASE – In State From Dealer – Lien 

1. Paperwork might be in "hold" box or on computer.  If not, you need the following: 

a. Need title papers. 

b. Security agreement. 

c. Proof of insurance 

d. Secure and verifiable identification.  

 

NEW PURCHASE – From Individual 

1. Title 

2. Bill of Sale. 

3. Need to collect state, city (if applies), county and RTA taxes. 

4. Proof of insurance. 

5. If title is from out of state, a VIN inspection will be required.  

6. Secure and verifiable identification. 


