
X-ray machines on loan from a sales or service company 

Occasionally, an x-ray machine supplier/service company will “loan” an x-
ray machine to a facility for evaluation or during repair. These machines 
must be reported to the x-ray certification unit on a 2579 or report of 
assembly as a new install. The facility has 90 days to have the machine 
inspected by a Colorado registered qualified inspector. At the end of the 90 
days, the machine must either be inspected or an R-61 Disposition of 
Radiation Machine form completed indicating the machine is disabled or no 
longer at that facility. If the machine is replaced with another machine, a 

report of assembly must be completed for the new machine. 

In any case, all non-mammography x-ray producing machines must be inspected within 90 days from the 
installation date. Newly installed mammography machines may not be used for patient exams at all until a 

physicist’s survey is completed on that unit. 

All companies loaning, leasing or selling machines to facilities in Colorado must be registered with the x-ray 

certification unit as an x-ray service company prior to any activity in the state. 

From the desk of Brian Vamvakias, Unit Leader  

Shielding designs reviewed during machine installation  

A shielding design is required to be 
completed prior to installation of 
many types of x-ray producing 
machines. For details about 
shielding design requirements, 
refer to the Colorado Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to 
Radiation Control part 6, section 
6.3.2  
 
Service Company Registrant 
Responsibilities outlined in the 
Regulations state: 
2.7.1 No person shall certify or 
declare that a radiation machine or 
component is ready for its intended 
use, until: 2.7.1.1 The shielding 
design has been completed as 
required by 6.3.2, as documented 
by a comment on Form FDA 2579 or 
a signed and dated notification to 
the department. 
 
When completing a report of 
assembly for an installation of a 
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machine that requires a shielding 
design, the technician or 
engineering shall make a note in 
the comments section of the 2579 
or Report of Assembly that says 
something like: "Unit installed 
based on shielding design 
completed on (insert date) by 
(insert QE name).” 
 
The X-ray Certification Unit shall 
be notified in some fashion that 
the installation service technician 
or engineer reviewed the shielding 
design and who created the 
shielding design.  The department 
does not maintain files of shielding 
designs. Therefore, the x-ray 
service company must ask the 
facility for the shielding design to 
complete the install, and the 
qualified inspector must verify 
that the shielding design is on site 
at the facility and was followed 
during the machine installation.  

The shielding design is required 
to be kept at the facility site 
during the time that the x-ray 
machine is installed at that 
facility. 
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Have you missed an copy of the Service Company Rayport? 

If you have missed the past issues or accidentally deleted the email that brought it to you, All past 
issues of the Qualified Inspectors Rayport are available on the x-ray unit’s website: Service Company 
Rayports. 
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Contact Information 
Fax:  303-691-7841 

 
Email:  cdphe_xray_qisc@state.co.us 

 
Comments:  cdphe.hmxraycomments@state.co.us 

 
Website:  www.colorado.gov/cdphe/xray 

 
Radiation Regulations:  www.colorado.gov/cdphe/radregs 
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