
X-ray machines on loan from a sales or service company 

Occasionally, an x-ray machine supplier/service company will “loan” an x-
ray machine to a facility for evaluation or during repair. These machines 
must be reported to the X-ray Certification Unit on a 2579 or report of 
assembly as a new install. The facility has 90 days to have the machine 
inspected by a Colorado registered qualified inspector. At the end of the 90 
days, the machine must either be inspected or an R-61 Disposition of 
Radiation Machine form completed indicating the machine is disabled or no 
longer at that facility. If the machine is replaced with another machine, a 

report of assembly must be completed for the new machine. 

In any case, all non-mammography x-ray producing machines must be inspected within 90 days from the 
installation date. Newly installed mammography machines may not be used for patient exams at all until a 

physicist’s survey is completed on that unit. 

All companies loaning, leasing or selling machines to facilities in Colorado must be registered with the X-ray 

Certification Unit as an x-ray service company prior to any activity in the state. 

From the desk of Brian Vamvakias, Unit Leader  

Shielding designs reviewed during machine installation  

A shielding design is required to be 
completed prior to installation of 
many types of x-ray producing 
machines. For details about 
shielding design requirements, 
refer to the Colorado Rules and 
Regulations Pertaining to 
Radiation Control part 6, section 
6.3.2  
 
Service Company Registrant 
Responsibilities outlined in the 
Regulations state: 
2.7.1 No person shall certify or 
declare that a radiation machine or 
component is ready for its intended 
use, until: 2.7.1.1 The shielding 
design has been completed as 
required by 6.3.2, as documented 
by a comment on Form FDA 2579 or 
a signed and dated notification to 
the department. 
 
When completing a report of 
assembly for an installation of a 
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machine that requires a shielding 
design, the technician or 
engineering shall make a note in 
the comments section of the 2579 
or Report of Assembly that says 
something like: "Unit installed 
based on shielding design 
completed on (insert date) by 
(insert QE name).” 
 
The X-ray Certification Unit shall 
be notified in some fashion that 
the installation service technician 
or engineer reviewed the shielding 
design and who created the 
shielding design.  The department 
does not maintain files of shielding 
designs. Therefore, the x-ray 
service company must ask the 
facility for the shielding design to 
complete the install, and the 
qualified inspector must verify 
that the shielding design is on site 
at the facility and was followed 
during the machine installation.  

The shielding design is required 
to be kept at the facility site 
during the time that the x-ray 
machine is installed at that 
facility. 

http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=3656&fileName=6%20CCR%201007-1%20Part%2006
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=3656&fileName=6%20CCR%201007-1%20Part%2006
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=3656&fileName=6%20CCR%201007-1%20Part%2006
http://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/GenerateRulePdf.do?ruleVersionId=3656&fileName=6%20CCR%201007-1%20Part%2006


Q.  What is the X-ray Facility Registration Fee? 

A. The x-ray facility registration fee is a new annual fee required by the 
Colorado Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Radiation Control (6 CCR 1007
-1).  The rule was approved by the Colorado Board of Health in February 
2015 and went into effect on March 30, 2015.  This $50 fee is charged to 
each x-ray machine facility in Colorado and is due by April 30 of each 
year.  This fee is separate from the x-ray machine certification fee that is 

paid each time an x-ray machine is inspected. 

Q.  Why are businesses using x-ray machines being charged this fee? 

A. Colorado x-ray machine certification fees have not changed since 2001 and 
the cost of registering over 5000 facilities and 15,000 x-ray machines has 
increased dramatically over 14 years.  Prior to 2015, the only revenue 
received by the X-ray Certification Unit was from the radiation machine 
certification label fee.  At the current rate, the X-ray Certification Unit 
requires an increase of revenue to continue to operate in compliance with 
state laws.  An alternative fee structure that only increased the radiation 
machine certification label fees was determined to put an unacceptable 
burden on large facilities.    The current fee structure allows a moderate 
increase in radiation machine certification label fees (from $50 to $60) with 
a $50 x-ray facility registration fee that is the same for all facilities, 

regardless of how many x-ray machines are registered with that business. 

Q.  What is my X-ray Facility Registration number? 

A. There are several places to find your registration number.   

 On the x-ray facility annual registration fee invoice the facility registration 

number can be found in two places: 

Following the “Alt Cust#”  on the top portion of the invoice.  The 
facility registration number is the number following “XRAY”; or 
 

In the center portion of the Invoice letter, following the words “X-ray 

Annual Fee, Reg #” 

 If you have a machine that has a blue/silver radiation machine certification 
label on it, your Registration number should be written in the box labeled 

“Registration #” at the top of the label. 

Also, most correspondence sent to you from the department lists your 

facility’s registration number on the letter. 

Q. Which R-4 Registration of Facility forms do I complete? 

A. There are two forms R-4 Registration of Facility for Healing Arts and R-4 
Registration of Facility for Non-Healing Arts. If you use your x-ray machine 
to image living human beings or animals as a physician, chiropractor, 
podiatrist, dentist or veterinarian, you are a healing arts facility. If you use 
your x-ray producing machine to image inanimate objects, you are a non-

healing arts facility. 
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Q. Who do I make a check for fee payment out to? 

A. Make the check payable to “CDPHE” and put the invoice number on the 
check.  The invoice number is located in the top section of the invoice, 

following “Inv#” and starts with the letters “INV”. 

Q. I sold my practice to someone years ago. Do I need to pay the facility fee? 

A. If you received an invoice, the X-ray Certification Unit database currently 
has your facility registered as possessing a radiation machine. If the entire 
practice was sold with the x-ray machines, please forward the invoice to the 
new owner. If the machines were sold independently from an office, please 
complete an R-61 Disposition of Radiation Machine Form to notify the X-ray 
Certification Unit with regards to the  x-ray machine transfer. If you still 
have an x-ray machine in your possession, even in storage, you are required 

to pay the facility fee. 

Q. I have the machine in my office in storage but have not used it in years. 

Do I need to pay the facility fee? 

A. You are required to pay the facility fee if you have an x-ray machine in your 
possession, even if they are not currently in use. If you do not have the 
machines in your possession, you must complete an R-61 Disposition of 
Radiation Machine Form to notify the X-ray Certification Unit with regards 

to the  x-ray machine transfer. 

Q. I have more than one X-ray machine in my office but I only received one 

invoice. Will I be receiving an invoice for each machine? 

A. This is a “per-facility” fee. Whether there is one machine or many at a 
facility, the facility pays one x-ray facility registration fee. The definition of 
facility from the Colorado Rules and Regulations Pertaining to Radiation 

Control is as follows: 

 “Facility” means the location within one building (or vehicle, or under 
one roof, or at one address) and under the same administrative control, 
at which a radiation machine is or was installed, operated and/or 

located. 

Q.  We received several invoices at one address for multiple facilities. Why? 

A. Each invoice was sent to the facility mailing address present in our 
database.  Some registered facilities that are part of a corporation have 
requested that mail for each facility under their management be sent to the 
corporate headquarter mailing address.  Also, some registered facilities 
share the same street address, but our database does not have a suite 
number for a particular business.  It is possible that your facility received an 
invoice intended for a neighboring business.  You should check that each 

invoice you have received belongs to your company.   
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Q. Where do I mail the payment to? 

A. Please use the business reply envelope to mail your payment.  Payments 

will be automatically routed to the proper recipient. 

If the business reply envelope is not available, please send your payment 

to: 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
Shawna Schmalholz - HMWMD-B2 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246-1530 

 
Q. When I am completing the R-4 Facility Registration form, do I check 

 New  Application or Annual Facility Registration? 

A. If you received an invoice from the department, please select “Annual 
Facility Registration”.  

 
Additional information about these fees was presented in the January 2015 
edition of the Qualified Inspectors Rayport. You can access that edition using 
the following link: January 2015 Qualified Inspectors Rayport. 
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The X-ray Certification Unit encourages mailing Certification Evaluation (CE) 
labels to qualified inspectors in order to better streamline the process. 
Requests for CE labels should sent by email to 
cdphe_xray_qisc@state.co.us. 
 
In April, the department began shipping all CE labels using FedEx.  Each 
shipment will be tracked and a signature will not be required.  The Qualified 
Inspector does not need to be present for the package to be delivered. 
 
If a label order must be picked up in person, the QI must receive 
acknowledgement of the label purchase request from the X-ray Certification 
Unit a full 24 hours prior to the scheduled pick up time. 

Shipping Certification Evaluation labels 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/xray-monthly-reports
http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe/xray
mailto:cdphe_xray_qisc@state.co.us


Have you missed an copy of the Qualified Inspectors Rayport? 

If you have missed the past issues or accidentally deleted the email that brought it to you, All past is-
sues of the Qualified Inspectors Rayport are available on the x-ray unit’s website: Qualified Inspectors 
Rayports. 

X-Ray Certification Program 

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, Colorado 80246 
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Contact Information 
Fax:  303-691-7841 

 
Email:  cdphe_xray_qisc@state.co.us 

 
Comments:  cdphe.hmxraycomments@state.co.us 
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Radiation Regulations:  www.colorado.gov/cdphe/radregs 
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