
 

Frequently Asked Questions for X‐ray Facility Registration Fees 

Q.  What is the X‐Ray Facility Registration Fee? 

A. The X‐Ray Facility Registration fee is a new annual fee required by the Colorado Rules and 

Regulations Pertaining to Radiation Control (6 CCR 1007‐1).  The rule was approved by the 

Colorado Board of Health in February 2015 and went into effect on March 30, 2015.  This $50 fee is 

charged to each x‐ray machine facility in Colorado and is due by April 30 of each year.  This fee is 

separate from the x‐ray machine certification fee that is paid each time an x‐ray machine is 

inspected. 

 

Q.  Why are businesses using x‐ray machines being charged this fee? 

A. Colorado x‐ray machine certification fees have not changed since 2001 and the cost of registering 

over 5000 facilities and 15,000 x‐ray machines has increased dramatically over 14 years.  Prior to 

2015, the only revenue received by the X‐Ray Certification Unit was from the Radiation Machine 

Certification Label fee.  At the current rate, the X‐Ray Certification Unit requires an increase of 

revenue to continue to operate in compliance with state laws.  An alternative fee structure that 

only increased the Radiation Machine Certification Label fees was determined to put an 

unacceptable burden on large facilities.    The current fee structure allows a moderate increase in 

Radiation Machine Certification Label fees (from $50 to $60) with a $50 X‐ray Facility Registration 

fee that is the same for all facilities, regardless of how many x‐ray machines are registered with 

that business. 

 

Q.  Is this x‐ray facility registration fee legitimate?  

A. Yes, the Colorado Board of Health approved fee increases for the Radiation Program to be effective 

March 30, 2015. As part of these fee increases, a new annual X‐ray Facility Registration fee was 

created. The invoicing for those facility fees were sent to each facility on record with the X‐ray 

Certification Unit.  

 

Q.  What is my X‐ray Facility Registration number?  

A. There are several places to find your registration number.   

On the X‐ray Facility Annual Registration fee invoice, the facility registration number can be found 

in two places: 

● Following the “Alt Cust#  on the top portion of the invoice.  The facility registration 

number is the number following “XRAY”. 

● In the center portion of the invoice letter, following the words “X‐ray Annual Fee, Reg #” 

If you have a machine that has a blue/silver radiation machine certification label on it, your 

registration number should be written in the box labeled “Registration #” at the top of the label. 



 
Also, most correspondence sent to you from the department lists your facility’s registration 

number on the letter. 

Q. Which R‐4 Registration of Facility forms do I complete? 

A. There are two forms R‐4 Registration of Facility for Healing Arts and R‐4 Registration of Facility for 

Non‐Healing Arts. If you use your x‐ray machine to image living human beings or animals as a 

physician, chiropractor, podiatrist, dentist or veterinarian, you are a healing arts facility. If you use 

your x‐ray producing machine to image inanimate objects, you are a non‐healing arts facility. 

 

Q. Who do I make a check for fee payment out to? 

A. Make the check payable to “CDPHE” and put the invoice number on the check.  The invoice number 

is located in the top section of the invoice, following “Inv#” and starts with the letters “INV”. 

 

Q. I sold my practice to someone years ago. Do I need to pay the facility fee? 

A. If you received an invoice, the X‐ray Certification Unit database currently has your facility registered 

as possessing a radiation machine. If the entire practice was sold with the x‐ray machines, please 

forward the invoice to the new owner. If the machines were sold independently from an office, 

please complete an R‐61 Disposition of Radiation Machine Form to notify the X‐Ray Certification 

Unit with regards to the x‐ray machine transfer. If you still have an x‐ray machine in your 

possession, even in storage, you are required to pay the facility fee.  

 

Q. I have the machine in my office in storage but have not used it in years. Do I need to pay the facility 

fee? 

A. You are required to pay the facility fee if you have an x‐ray machine in your possession, even if they 

are not currently in use. If you do not have the machines in your possession, you must complete an 

R‐61 Disposition of Radiation Machine Form to notify the X‐Ray Certification Unit with regards to 

the x‐ray machine transfer. 

 

Q. I have more than one x‐ray machine in my office but I only received one invoice. Will I be receiving 

an invoice for each machine?  

A. This is a “per‐facility” fee. Whether there is one machine or many at a facility, the facility pays one 

X‐Ray Facility Registration fee. The definition of facility from the Colorado Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Radiation Control is as follows: 

“Facility” means the location within one building (or vehicle, or under one roof, or at one address) 

and under the same administrative control, at which a radiation machine is or was installed, 

operated and/or located. 



 
Q.  We received several invoices at one address for multiple facilities. Why? 

A. Each invoice was sent to the facility mailing address present in our database.  Some registered 

facilities that are part of a corporation have requested that mail for each facility under their 

management be sent to the corporate headquarter mailing address.  Also, some registered facilities 

share the same street address, but our database does not have a suite number for a particular 

business.  It is possible that your facility received an invoice intended for a neighboring business.  

You should check that each invoice you have received belongs to your company.   

 

Q. Where do I mail the payment? 

A. Please use the business reply envelope to mail your payment.  Payments will be automatically 

routed to the proper recipient. 

If the business reply envelope is not available, please send your payment to: 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 
Shawna Schmalholz ‐ HMWMD‐B2 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO 80246‐1530 

 
Q. When I am completing the R‐4 Facility Registration form, do I check New Application or Annual 

Facility Registration? 

A. If you received an invoice from the department, please select “Annual Facility Registration.”   

  


