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Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) 28 

 Low Income Radon Mitigation Assistance (LIRMA) Program  29 

 30 

PROGRAM DESCRIPTION 31 

 32 

The CDPHE, Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division (HMWMD), Radiation Program, shall use 33 

designated funds from Colorado Revised Statute (CRS) 25-11-114 to provide financial assistance to low-34 

income individuals for radon mitigation services. The intent of the program is to enhance a safe living 35 

environment for low income homeowners in Colorado.   36 

 37 

LIRMA RESTRICTIONS 38 
 39 

1.   Homeowners must occupy the property as their primary (principle) residence, be a Colorado resident 40 

and qualify as a low income household at the time of application.   41 

 42 

2. The maximum level of funding available is as follows: 43 

 44 

1. Funding assistance not to exceed $1,500.00 for installation of radon mitigation system and post- 45 

mitigation testing.  Costs exceeding $1,500.00 must be approved by the LIRMA Program.  46 

2. A person may not apply for assistance more than one time in a calendar year.  47 

 48 

3. Current EPA guidelines recommend mitigation when radon concentrations inside of a home exceed an 49 

annual average of 4 picoCuries of radon per liter of air (4pCi/L).  A radon test (short term test 2-90 days 50 

or a long term test of 91 days-year) using a certified, accurately conducted test kit will be used as the 51 

determining factor for consideration. 52 

 53 

4. Following mitigation system installation, a post-mitigation test showing levels have been reduced below 54 

4pCi/L will be required for reimbursement to the mitigation contractor.  55 

 56 

5. Funding is limited and will be provided from July 1-June 30 annually- until expended for the state fiscal 57 

year. 58 

6. Once funding has been expended for the current state fiscal year, the LIRMA program will cease 59 

accepting applications until additional funding becomes available.  If funding is not available at the time 60 

of application, the applicant may request that the LIRMA program hold the application (for up to 45 61 

days) while the program awaits additional funding. Unless otherwise indicated, the LIRMA program 62 

will not hold applications for longer than 45 days while waiting for funding.  If it has been longer than 63 

45 days since the application was received by the LIRMA program, the applicant will be required to 64 

reapply and resubmit all necessary documentation. 65 

7. Rental units and/or properties listed for sale are NOT eligible for this program. 66 

8. Homes with mitigation systems currently installed are NOT eligible for mitigation assistance funding or 67 

reimbursement under this program. 68 

 69 
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 72 

LIRMA PROGRAM ELIGIBILITY GUIDELINES 73 

 74 

 75 

CONTRACTOR ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 76 
In order to participate in the LIRMA program, a radon mitigation contractor must complete an application,  77 

meet defined requirements, provide necessary documentation and be approved by the LIRMA program.   78 

 79 

PROPERTY ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 80 
The following types of homes are eligible for the LIRMA program: 81 

 82 

1. Single Family dwelling unit; 83 

2. One-to Four unit buildings.  The unit occupied by the owner is eligible for mitigation assistance under 84 

the program;  85 

3. Condominium or cooperative unit; or 86 

4. Manufactured homes.  87 

 88 

OCCUPANCY REQUIREMENTS 89 
1. Occupancy is established by the owner(s) living in the dwelling as their primary residence and by 90 

signature on the application certifying such occupancy. 91 

 92 

OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENTS  93 
1. Having proof of ownership to the subject property. 94 

 95 

INCOME ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 96 
The applicant must be considered a low-income household and meet the low income limits specified in the 97 

income table (Appendix A).  Annual income based on total Adjusted Gross Income from previous years federal 98 

income taxes. 99 

 100 

DETERMINATION OF ELIGIBILITY 101 
Verification of ownership and income levels will be conducted as part of the review process. 102 

 103 
 104 

 105 

 106 

 107 

 108 

 109 

 110 

 111 

 112 

 113 

 114 
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PROCEDURES 115 

 116 

P1 – RADON CONTRACTOR ELIGIBILITY LIST 117 
 118 

1. Contractors who want to be considered for the eligibility list must be certified and in good standing with 119 

the National Radon Proficiency Program (NRPP) or the National Radon Safety Board (NRSB). 120 

2. Contractors must register with the Colorado Vendor Self Service System (VSS).  Information and 121 

registration is at www.colorado.gov/vss 122 

3. Contractor completes and signs Radon Contractor’s LIRMA Application form LC1 and submits required 123 

documentation to the LIRMA Program: 124 

a. Certificate of Fact of Good Standing from the Colorado Secretary of State 125 

(http://www.sos.state.co.us/) 126 

b. W-9 127 

c. Copy of NRPP or NRSB Certificate or Certification Card 128 

d. A valid liability insurance certificate - Insurance certificate on Accord form must have: 129 

i. $1,000,000 Commercial/General Liability coverage per occurrence  130 

ii. $1,000,000 Auto Liability coverage 131 

iii. $1,000,000 Worker's Comprehensive coverage  132 

 133 

4. The LIRMA Program will review the application for completeness and eligibility within 30 days of 134 

receipt. 135 

5. The LIRMA Program may request missing, incomplete or additional information from the applicant. 136 

These requests must be fulfilled within 30 days of the CDPHE request or the application will be 137 

abandoned.   138 

6. If approved, the Radon Contractor will be notified via telephone and/or email, or if rejected, the Radon 139 

Contractor will be notified via certified mail with explanation of rejection.  Contractor will not be 140 

eligible to reapply for one year after the date of rejection. 141 

7. Contractor applications may be submitted throughout the year. Approved applicants will be added to the 142 

eligibility list within 30 days of approval.  143 

8. Contractors may "OPT OUT" of the eligibility list at any time by notifying the LIRMA Program. 144 

9. The LIRMA Program may remove any contractor from the list for noncompliance with LIRMA 145 

program.   146 

10. Any lapse in insurance and/or certification and the contractor will be removed from the eligibility list (it 147 

is the contractors' responsibility to send applicable insurance, certification, or other updates to the 148 

LIRMA Program). 149 

 150 

P2 - SUBMISSION OF LIRMA APPLICATION BY APPLICANT 151 
 152 

1. The homeowner shall complete and sign the Homeowners LIRMA Application form H1 and submit the  153 

required documentation: 154 

 155 

a. Radon test results > 4 pCi/L in the home within 12 months of application; 156 

b. Proof of home ownership – copy of a Warranty Deed or Deed of Trust; 157 

c. Copy of a current mortgage statement; 158 

d. Copy of homeowners previous years Federal Income Tax Form filed with the Internal Revenue 159 

Service (IRS);  160 

f. Copy of a current Colorado Driver’s License, Identification Card or Military Identification Card. 161 

 162 



 

 5 

 163 

P3 - APPLICANT ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION AND APPROVAL 164 
 165 

1. All applications are processed on a first-come, first-served basis. 166 

2. The LIRMA Program will review the application for completeness and eligibility within 30 days of 167 

receipt. 168 

3. The LIRMA Program may request missing, incomplete or additional information from the applicant. 169 

These requests must be fulfilled within 30 days of the CDPHE request or the application will be 170 

abandoned.   171 

4. If approved, the homeowner will be notified via telephone and/or email, or if rejected, the homeowner 172 

will be notified via certified mail with an explanation of rejection.  173 

5. All award decisions by the LIRMA program are final and not subject to appeal or further review. 174 

However, any applicant may provide feedback on the LIRMA Program implementation and processes at 175 

any time in order to facilitate continuous improvement, efficiency, and effectiveness of the program. 176 

 177 

P4 – MITIGATION SYSTEM DESIGN APPROVAL AND INSTALLATION 178 
 179 

1. Upon receipt and approval of the homeowner application, the LIRMA Program will provide the 180 

homeowner with a list of LIRMA eligible contractors. 181 

2. The homeowner requests bids from LIRMA eligible contractors of their choice. 182 

3. The LIRMA contractor conducts an onsite assessment of the home to determine the optimum location 183 

for installation.   184 

4. The LIRMA contractor determines the need to conduct additional diagnostics that would be sufficient 185 

for the contractor to provide a guarantee to reduce indoor radon levels to less than 4.0 pCi/L.  186 

5. LIRMA contractor submits mitigation bid to homeowner. 187 

6. The homeowner selects their contractor of choice. 188 

7. The LIRMA contractor submits mitigation plan to homeowner and the LIRMA Program.  Mitigation 189 

plans must include: 190 

a. A guarantee that the system will reduce radon levels below 4PCi/L; 191 

b. A minimum 5 year warranty on the fan and workmanship; 192 

c. Compliance with contractor declared mitigation standards; 193 

d. A Lien Waiver for the home; and 194 

e. Home Owners Association (HOA) approval-if applicable. 195 

8. Contractor must obtain any permits required by the local jurisdiction. 196 

9. The LIRMA Program reviews the mitigation plan for compliance with standards and requirements (It is 197 

the intent of this program to assist as many low income homeowners as possible with limited funding; 198 

therefore, the mitigation cost must be justifiable). 199 

10. The LIRMA Program provides the contractor with a Statement of Work (SOW) (Form C2) for a firm 200 

fixed price. 201 

11. The LIRMA eligible certified radon mitigation contractor installs the system within 60 days of approval 202 

according to SOW and the mitigation plan and provides a certified post-mitigation test kit to 203 

homeowner. 204 

12. The contractor removes construction waste and debris generated during installation. 205 

 206 

P5 - POST INSTALLATION AND PAYMENT 207 
  208 

1. The homeowner conducts the contractor provided radon test no sooner than 24 hours after installation 209 

and within one week of installation.  Test results must be provided to the LIRMA program within 30 210 

days post installation. 211 
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2.  If test results confirm levels <4pCi/L, the LIRMA eligible contractor submits an invoice and post- 212 

installation photos of the system to the LIRMA Program (photos should consist of crawl space 213 

cover/slab penetration (or other suction point location), labeling and manometer on system, fan, wiring 214 

and termination point). 215 

2. The LIRMA Program has the right to randomly inspect systems for compliance. 216 

3. The LIRMA Program pays the contractor. 217 

 218 

P6 – MITIGATION CLOSEOUT 219 
 220 

1. The LIRMA Program adds pertinent information to the LIRMA applicant database. 221 

2. All applicable applications, forms and documentation will be filed. 222 



Appendix A:  CDPHE LIRMA PROGRAM LOW INCOME LIMITS 

# PERSONS IN HOUSEHOLD 
1 

PERSON 
2 

PEOPLE 
3 

PEOPLE 
4 

PEOPLE 
5 

PEOPLE 
6 

PEOPLE 
7 

PEOPLE 
8 

PEOPLE 

COUNTY 
        Adams County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Alamosa County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Arapahoe County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Archuleta County 35,750 40,850 45,950 51,050 55,150 59,250 63,350 67,400 

Baca County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Bent County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Boulder County 46,000 52,600 59,150 65,700 71,000 76,250 81,500 86,750 

Broomfield County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Chaffee County 34,300 39,200 44,100 48,950 52,900 56,800 60,700 64,650 

Cheyenne County 36,750 42,000 47,250 52,500 56,700 60,900 65,100 69,300 

Clear Creek County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Conejos County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Costilla County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Crowley County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Custer County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Delta County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Denver County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Dolores County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Douglas County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Eagle County 46,000 52,600 59,150 65,700 71,000 76,250 81,500 86,750 

El Paso County 39,800 45,450 51,150 56,800 61,350 65,900 70,450 75,000 

Elbert County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Fremont County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Garfield County 39,050 44,600 50,200 55,750 60,250 64,700 69,150 73,600 

Gilpin County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Grand County 42,800 48,900 55,000 61,100 66,000 70,900 75,800 80,700 

Gunnison County 38,550 44,050 49,550 55,050 59,500 63,900 68,300 72,700 

Hinsdale County 43,700 49,950 56,200 62,400 67,400 72,400 77,400 82,400 

Huerfano County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Jackson County 34,900 39,900 44,900 49,850 53,850 57,850 61,850 65,850 

Jefferson County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Kiowa County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Kit Carson County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

La Plata County 39,600 45,250 50,900 56,550 61,100 65,600 70,150 74,650 

Lake County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Larimer County 43,800 50,050 56,300 62,550 67,600 72,600 77,600 82,600 

Las Animas County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Lincoln County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Logan County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Mesa County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Mineral County 39,350 44,950 50,550 56,150 60,650 65,150 69,650 74,150 

Moffat County 39,550 45,200 50,850 56,500 61,050 65,550 70,100 74,600 



Montezuma County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Montrose County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Morgan County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Otero County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Ouray County 41,550 47,450 53,400 59,300 64,050 68,800 73,550 78,300 

Park County 44,900 51,300 57,700 64,100 69,250 74,400 79,500 84,650 

Phillips County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Pitkin County 49,750 56,850 63,950 71,050 76,750 82,450 88,150 93,800 

Prowers County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Pueblo County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Rio Blanco County 42,650 48,750 54,850 60,900 65,800 70,650 75,550 80,400 

Rio Grande County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Routt County 42,850 49,000 55,100 61,200 66,100 71,000 75,900 80,800 

Saguache County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

San Juan County 35,200 40,200 45,250 50,250 54,300 58,300 62,350 66,350 

San Miguel County 45,050 51,450 57,900 64,300 69,450 74,600 79,750 84,900 

Sedgwick County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Summit County 46,000 52,600 59,150 65,700 71,000 76,250 81,500 86,750 

Teller County 42,200 48,200 54,250 60,250 65,100 69,900 74,750 79,550 

Washington County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 

Weld County 38,450 43,950 49,450 54,900 59,300 63,700 68,100 72,500 

Yuma County 33,600 38,400 43,200 48,000 51,850 55,700 59,550 63,400 
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LIRMA PROGRAM RADON CONTRACTOR APPLICATION FOR ELIGIBILITY LIST 

 

 

Business Name                  VSS Number 

 

 

Doing Business As (if applicable)    Business Owner Name  
 

  

Business Address      City    State Zip Code 

       

  

Mailing Address (if different than above)  City    State Zip Code 

 

 

Mitigation Contractor Name   NRPP/NRSB Certification # Expiration Date 
                   

  

Phone Number   Fax Number   Email Address 

 

Mitigation standard to be followed:  

  

       ____ EPA Radon Mitigation Standards 

 ____ ASTM 2121 – 13 

 

The undersigned does hereby certify that all information above is true, accurate and complete; and does 

hereby authorize the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to make independent 

investigations necessary to verify any information provided on the Contractor Application Form. 

 

 

Mitigation Contractor Signature          Date 

 

 

Include the following documents with the application: 

a. Certificate of Fact of Good Standing from the Colorado Secretary of State 

(http://www.sos.state.co.us/); 

b. A current Internal Revenue Service W-9 form; 

c. A copy of the NRPP or NRSB Certificate or Certification Card; 

d. A valid liability insurance certificate – Insurance certificate on Accord form must have: 

i. $1,000,000 Commercial/General Liability coverage per occurrence  

ii. $1,000,000 Auto Liability coverage 

iii. $1,000,000 Worker’s Comprehensive coverage  

 

Mail completed form and all attachments to: 

 

Chrystine Kelley 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

HMWMD 

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 

Denver, CO  80246-1530 

LIRMA FORM C1 



 

 

 

 

 
LIRMA PROGRAM RADON CONTRACTOR STATEMENT OF WORK (SOW) 

 

 

                     

Business Name (and dba name, as applicable)     VSS Number 

               

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

Mitigation Contractor Name  NRPP/NRSB Certification #         Expiration Date 

 

             

Homeowner Name        

       

             

Mitigation Address     City           State         Zip Code 

                    

    

Date of Installation 

 

 

 

Terms & Conditions 

 

1. This is a Fixed Price Agreement.  CDPHE agrees to pay the Contractor the sum of $______.__. 

2. The Contractor agrees to adhere to all contents of the approved mitigation plan. 

3. The Contractor agrees to adhere to all policies and procedures in the LIMA Manual. 

4. The Contractor agrees to adhere to all local permit requirements. 

5. The Contractor will conduct pre-installation diagnostics on home to determine optimum location 

for installation. 

6. The Contractor guarantees the mitigation system will reduce the radon levels below 4pCi/L 

(picocuries per liter). 

7. The Contractor shall provide a minimum 5 year warranty on the fan and workmanship. 

8. To receive payment the Contractor shall: 

a. Submit a single invoice for the fixed price to CDPHE within 30 days of receiving post 

mitigation test results from laboratory via email to chrys.kelley@state.co.us. 

b. The invoice must be accompanied by a copy of post-mitigation test results from 

laboratory and post-mitigation system photos. 

c. Provide other documentation as requested by CDPHE to support the invoice. 

 

The undersigned accepts and agrees to the Terms & Conditions above and does hereby acknowledge that 

the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment may, at any time, make an independent 

inspection of the system to confirm compliance with the submitted mitigation plan or other requirements 

of the LIMA program.   

 

 

             

Mitigation Contractor Name      Date 

             

LIRMA FORM C2 
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LIRMA PROGRAM HOMEOWNER APPLICATION  

 

 

Homeowner Last Name  First   M.I.   Date of Birth  

 

 

Co-Homeowner Last Name  First   M.I.   Date of Birth  

 

 

Address    City   County   Zip Code 

       

 

Phone Number   Alternate Phone Number Email Address 

                    

HOUSEHOLD INFORMATION: 

1. Number of adults living in household ____   

a. # disabled? ____ 

b. # elderly (62 years of age or older)  ____ 

2. Number of children (less than 18 years of age) living in household ____ 

a. # disabled ____ 

3. Household gross annual income ____________ 

 

PROPERTY INFORMATION: 

1. Type of dwelling (select one): 

a. Single family house ____ 

b. Manufactured home ____ 

2. One-to four unit building 

a. Townhouse ____  

b. Condominium ____ 

3. Foundation type (select one): 

a. Crawlspace ____ 

b. Basement (on concrete slab) ____ 

c. Slab on grade (concrete slab, same level as ground) ____ 

d. Combination slab/crawlspace ____ 

e. Raised subfloor ____ 

f. Do not know ____ 

4. Date home was purchased __________ 

5. Purchase price _____________ 

6. Year home was built  ___________ 

7. My home is ____  is not ____   (select one) under the governance of a home owners association 

(HOA).  (If yes, you will need the approval of the mitigation plan from the HOA.) 

8. Total amount presently owed on the home ____________ 

(Include first and second mortgages, loans, liens, etc.) 

 

INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS WITH YOUR APPLICATION: 

1. Copy of radon test results showing radon levels are more than 4 pCi/L (picocuries per liter) 

2. Proof of ownership – copy of a Warranty Deed or Deed of Trust 

3. Copy of the most recent mortgage statement 

4. Copy of the homeowners previous years federal income tax form (Form 1040, 1040EZ, etc.) filed 

with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS)  

LIRMA FORM H1 
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5. Photocopy of a current Colorado driver’s license, state of Colorado issued identification card or 

military identification card 

 

 

The undersigned does hereby certify that all information above is true, accurate and complete; and does 

hereby authorize the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment to make independent 

investigations necessary to verify any information provided on the application form.   The applicant also 

understands that the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment does not accredit, certify, 

recommend or endorse individual contractors and is not responsible for work done or liability incurred 

by the individuals. 

 

 

Homeowner’s Signature            Date 

 

 

Co-Homeowner’s Signature           Date 

 

 

Mail completed form and all attachments to: 

 

Chrystine Kelley 

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment 

HMWMD 

4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 

Denver, CO  80246-1530 

 


