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Purpose of this Guidance

This guidance is intended to provide an overview of various reporting
requirements for a variety of releases to the environment. Please check all of
the possible requirements for reporting. This guidance does not cover all
potential release scenarios. This guidance is not intended to modify or replace
statutes or regulations, which undergo periodic revisions. In the event of a
conflict between this guidance and statutes or regulations, the statutes and
regulations govern.

Some reporting requirements are complex and overlapping, and this guidance
does not go into details of all situations. If a release situation is not described
in this guidance, or if clarification is desired, please obtain an official
interpretation from the governing agency enforcing the statute or regulation.
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Contact Information
Release Reporting Numbers

National Response Center (NRC)
24-hour reporting

Colorado Environmental Release and Incident Reporting Line
24-hour reporting

Radiation Incident Reporting Line
24-hour reporting

Colorado State Patrol
24-hour reporting

US EPA Region 8 Emergency Response Spill Report Line
24-hour reporting

Division of Oil and Public Safety (Dept. of Labor and Employment)
Fax

Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (Dept. of Natural Resources)
Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety (Dept. of Natural Resources)

Colorado Public Utilities Commission Gas Pipeline Safety Section
(Dept. of Regulatory Agencies)

Local Emergency Planning Committee (Dept. of Local Affairs)
Business hours only - to obtain a list of LEPC contacts

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Mailing Address:

Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South

Denver, CO 80246-1530

Office Hours:

Monday — Friday, except holidays  8:00 am —5:00 pm

Environmental Divisions

Air Pollution Control Division
Website
Email

Consumer Protection Division
Website
Email

Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division
Website
Email

Water Quality Control Division
Website
Email

1 (800) 424-8802
1 (877) 518-5608
(303) 877-9757
(303) 239-4501
(303) 293-1788

(303) 318-8547
(303) 318-8546
(303) 894-2100
(303) 866-3567
(303) 894-2851

(720) 852-6603

(303) 692-3100
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/apcd
comments.apcd@state.co.us
(303) 692-3620
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/dehs
comments.cpd@state.co.us
(303) 692-3300
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/hm
comments.nmwmd@state.co.us
(303) 692-3500
www.colorado.gov/cdphe/wqcd
comments.wqcd@state.co.us
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Colorado Environmental Release Reporting

When a release of a hazardous material or other substance occurs to the environment, there are a

number of reporting and notification requirements that must be followed by the company or

individual responsible for the release. Environmental releases must be reported to the appropriate

authorities so that necessary response actions are taken in a timely fashion to ensure maximum

protection of human health and the environment.

However, taking appropriate and timely response actions ; i

do not relieve you of your responsibility to report a release may be found in permits, licenses,
. . N . ' reglstratlons, contlngency and

In addition, the responsible party is always liable for any pollution prevention plans, fire

damages that may result from a release, and is responsible codes, and local ordinances.

for appropriate clean up actions whether or not the release

IS required to be reported.

Additional reporting requirements

There is no penalty for over-reporting, but there are for failing to report a release. If you are unsure
if a release needs to be reported, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (the
Department) recommends that releases be reported immediately even if the quantity of the release
has not yet been determined. Your follow-up report will provide details that explain why the
release was or was not reportable.

“Release” includes any spilling, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, discharging,
injecting, escaping, leaching, dumping, or disposing into the environment, including abandonment
or discarding of barrels, containers, and other closed receptacles containing any hazardous
substance, pollutant, or contaminant.

"Environment™ is generally defined as any surface water, ground water, drinking water supply, land
surface, subsurface strata, or ambient air. Releases into containment devices and those completely
contained within a building or other structure are not releases into the environment as long as the
hazardous substance does not volatilize into the ambient air or
Most spills and releases are otherwise have the potential to enter the environment (e.g.,
covered by more than one through the floor or cracks in the floor). Releases of a substance
reporting requirement, and all . . .
requirements must be met. into a storm drain or sewer, or onto a parking lot or roadway, are
considered to be releases to the environment.

Release reporting requirements are based on the type of material released and/or the situation under
which the release occurred. Additional reporting requirements may be found in permits, licenses,
registrations, contingency and pollution prevention plans, fire codes, and local ordinances. Please
check all of the possible requirements for reporting. Most spills and releases are covered by more
than one reporting requirement, and ALL requirements must be met. Enforcement action may be
taken against those who fail to provide required notifications or reports.

A. Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act
(CERCLA)

The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, commonly known
as Superfund or CERCLA, provided broad Federal authority to respond directly to releases or
threatened releases of hazardous substances that may endanger public health or the environment.
This Act also enabled revision of the National Contingency Plan, which provides the guidelines and
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procedures needed to respond to releases and threatened releases of hazardous substances,
pollutants, or contaminants.

Under CERCLA, the US EPA was directed to establish reporting quantities for all hazardous
substances. The term "hazardous substance™ is defined in CERCLA Section 101(14). These are
defined by reference to substances that are listed or designated under other environmental statutes.
They include:

all hazardous air pollutants (HAPS) listed under Section 112(b) of the Clean Air Act (CAA).
Radio-nuclides are hazardous substances because EPA designated them generically as
hazardous air pollutants under Section 112(b) of the Clean Air Act. Even though the source
of their listing is the Clean Air Act, releases of radionuclides to all media, not just to air, are
covered by CERCLA's reporting requirements.

toxic pollutants that are subject to pretreatment standards under Section 307(a) of the Clean
Water Act (CWA) and toxic pollutants that present an imminent danger to public health
when discharged to waters of the United States as designated under Section 311(b)(2)(A) of
the Clean Water Act. All Clean Water Act hazardous substances are CERCLA hazardous
substances, but only some CERCLA hazardous substances are Clean Water Act hazardous
substances.

wastes that are regulated as listed and/or characteristic

Report releases at or above

hazardous wastes under the Resource Conservation and the reportable quantity (RQ)
Recovery Act (RCRA). This includes thousands of within 24 hours:

hazardous wastes that are not specifically listed but that e Hazardous air pollutants
exhibit one or more of the characteristics of ignitability, érl]gaer: iﬁ‘fg? 112(b) of

reactivity, corrosivity or toxicity. A material is

. Toxic pollutant: de
considered to be a release of a CERCLA hazardous * XIC po Llents Uncey

Section 307(a) or under

substance if the material was a waste prior to release, or if Section 311(b)(2)(A) of
the substance is not cleaned up for reuse and thus must be Clean Water Act
disposed of as a RCRA hazardous waste after release. * RCRA hazardous wastes
any element, compound, mixture solution or substance ° E'%mte”tsv Comg’ougdst,()f
H : supstances unaer section
designated under Section 102 of CERCLA that may 102 of CERCLA

present substantial danger to public health or welfare or
the environment.

any imminently hazardous chemical substance or mixture that EPA has taken action against
under Section 7 of the Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA). Any hazardous chemical
substance or mixture that EPA has taken action against under this Act would automatically
become a hazardous substance. To date, EPA hasn't designated any hazardous substances
under the Toxic Substances Control Act.

The person in charge of a facility or vessel must immediately report a release to the National
Response Center (NRC) as soon as they have knowledge of a release to the environment of a
CERCLA hazardous substance at or above the reportable quantity assigned to that substance within
a 24-hour period. If the release is a mixture or solution of hazardous substances, it must be reported
if the reportable quantity for any hazardous constituents is met or exceeded. If the responsible party
doesn't know the quantity of one or more of the hazardous constituents contained in a mixture or
solution, they must report the release if the total amount of the mixture or solution released equals
or exceeds the reportable quantity for the hazardous constituent with the lowest reportable quantity.

Reporting is also required if a non-CERCLA substance is released into the environment and rapidly
degrades into a CERCLA hazardous substance in an amount that equals or exceeds the reportable
quantity for the newly formed CERCLA hazardous substance.
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These notification and reporting requirements are included in 40 CFR Part 302. A list of CERCLA
hazardous substances is included in Table 302.4 of these regulations.

B. Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA)

The Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 reauthorized the Comprehensive
Response, Compensation and Liability Act to continue cleanup activities around the country.
Several amendments, definitions, clarifications and technical requirements were added to the
legislation, including additional enforcement authorities. Title 111 of the Superfund Amendments
also authorized the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), which
established the community's right to information about the chemicals that are stored, used at and/or
released from local facilities. It also established a framework for developing emergency plans for
responding to releases and reporting requirements for facilities.

A list of EPCRA threshold Under this Act, owners or operators of facilities at which a

planning quantities (TPQ) is || hazardous substance or extremely hazardous substance is produced,
included in 40 CFR Part used or stored must provide immediate notification to the National
355 Appendices A & B. Response Center (NRC), the State Emergency Response

Commission (SERC) and the affected Local Emergency Planning
Committee (LEPC) when there is a release of a hazardous substance or extremely hazardous
substance with the potential to affect off-site persons that equals or exceeds its reportable quantity
within a 24-hour period. If the release is an EPCRA extremely hazardous substance, but not a
CERCLA hazardous substance, then only the SERC and LEPC need to be notified. Note — there
may be more than one SERC and/or LEPC potentially affected by a release. Don’t wait until there
is a release to contact the SERC and LEPC(s) to ensure that the correct contacts will be made in the
event of a spill. For a list of LEPCs, contact the Colorado Department of Local Affairs.

The owner or operator of the facility must report a release as soon as they know about it. In
addition to immediate telephone notification, the responsible party must also send a follow-up
written report as soon as practicable after the release to both the State Emergency Response
Commission (in this case, to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment) and the
Local Emergency Planning Committee. This report must describe the release, associated response
actions taken, and any known or anticipated health risks associated with the release.

Although EPCRA requires notification only for
releases that have the potential to affect persons beyond

A table of CERCLA reportable quantities
(RO) is included in 40 CFR Section 302.4.

the facility boundary, EPA and the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment strongly encourage facilities to report onsite releases
if there is ANY potential for the release to migrate offsite. The burden of proof is on the facility to
show that any release into the environment of a reportable quantity or more of a hazardous
substance or extremely hazardous substance has NO POTENTIAL for offsite migration (e.g., via
groundwater, the wind or getting tracked offsite by workers and vehicles).

The State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) in Colorado is called the Colorado
Emergency Planning Commission (CEPC). It consists of representatives of the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment — Hazardous Materials and Waste Management
Division, the Colorado Department of Local Affairs — Colorado Division of Emergency
Management and the Division of Local Government, the Colorado Department of Public Safety —
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Fire Safety Division, and the Colorado State Patrol. The Commission also includes representatives
of affected industries, local governments, public interest or community groups and the Local
Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) community. The Colorado Department of Public Health
and Environment represents the Commission for reporting purposes.

Reportable Quantities Under CERCLA and EPCRA

All reportable quantities are listed in pounds (except radionuclides, which are in curies). Congress
established a one pound reportable quantity for all hazardous substances and extremely hazardous
substances until EPA could evaluate each substance and adjust the reportable quantity to a level
more appropriate for the substance. During this assessment, each hazardous substance was
evaluated for six primary criteria: aquatic toxicity, mammalian toxicity, ignitability, reactivity,
chronic toxicity, and potential carcinogenicity. Reportable quantities for CERCLA hazardous
substances are listed in 40 CFR Section 302.4.

EPCRA extremely hazardous substances that are also hazardous substances under CERCLA have
the same reportable quantity that is applicable under CERCLA. If not also listed as a CERCLA
hazardous substance, extremely hazardous substances have a reportable quantity equal to the
EPCRA threshold planning quantity (TPQ) for that substance. The threshold planning quantity is
the quantity designated for each chemical in 40 CFR Part 355 Appendices A and B that triggers
notification by facilities to the State Emergency Response Commission that those facilities are
subject to emergency planning requirements.

For convenience, reportable quantities for hazardous substances and extremely hazardous
substances can also be found in the EPA List of Lists (EPA 550-B-01-003). Bear in mind that
because this document is only updated periodically, it may not contain recently added substances.

All concurrent releases of the same substance from a single facility must be combined to determine
if a reportable quantity has been met or exceeded. Releases of different substances from a single
facility should not be combined for purposes of determining if the releases need to be reported.
Rather, each substance should be evaluated separately to determine if one or more reportable
quantities have been met or exceeded. For example, spilling a mixture containing half the

reportable quantity of one hazardous substance and
EPCRA extremely hazardous substances that half th tabl titv of ther h d
are also CERCLA hazardous substances have a € reportable qu_an Ity or ano ?r azaraous
the same RQ as under CERCLA. substance does not trigger the reporting
requirement. Releases from separate facilities
EPCRAI.eXthemeéy thEaé%OLUAS ﬁUbStanCReg that should be treated as separate releases and should
are not listed under ave an i H H

: not be combined to determine if a reportable

equal to their TPQ under EPCRA. . P

quantity has been met or exceeded.

Mixtures

Most hazardous substances and extremely hazardous substances are not used or stored in pure form,
but are mixtures or solutions. If a mixture of hazardous substances or extremely hazardous
substances is released and the concentration of all hazardous substances and extremely hazardous
substances in the mixture is known, then you must calculate the amount of each hazardous
substance and extremely hazardous substance that has been released. If there is more than one
hazardous substance or extremely hazardous substance in a mixture, you must check the reportable
quantity for each substance. The release must be reported if the reportable quantity for any
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hazardous substance or extremely hazardous substance has been met or exceeded. If the
concentrations of the hazardous substances or extremely hazardous substances in the mixture are
not known, then the release must be reported when the total amount of the mixture released equals
or exceeds the reportable quantity for the constituent with the lowest reportable quantity.

Radionuclides

Releases of radionuclides in a mixture are additive. These releases are subject to reporting:

« if each radionuclide in a released mixture or solution is known, then the ratio between the
quantity released and the reportable quantity for the radionuclide must be determined for
each radionuclide. If the sum of the ratios for the radionuclides in the mixture or solution
released is equal to or greater than one, it must be reported.

« ifall of the radionuclides in the mixture are known but the quantity released of one or more
of the radionuclides is unknown, it must be reported if the total quantity released is equal to
or greater than the lowest reportable quantity of any one radionuclide in the mixture.

« if one or more radionuclides in the mixture is unknown, it must be reported if the total
quantity released is equal to or greater than either one curie or the lowest reportable quantity
of any of the known radionuclides in the mixture (whichever is lower).

Exceptions and Exclusions

Petroleum Products

Under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA),
petroleum products are excluded from the definition of hazardous substance. "Petroleum product"
includes crude oil, any fraction of crude oil that is not specifically listed as a hazardous substance,
natural and synthetic gases, and mixtures of natural and synthetic gases. EPA interprets petroleum
as including those amounts of hazardous substances, like
benzene, that are indigenous to crude oil or its fractions or A release of a petroleum product
that are normally added during the refining process. containing a reportable quantity of
Hazardous substances added to the petroleum or increased an EPCRA extremely hazardous

. . . . substance is reportable.

in concentration solely as a result of contamination during

use are not included in the petroleum exclusion.

Unlike the petroleum exclusion under CERCLA, extremely hazardous substances that are naturally
occurring in petroleum products or that are normally added during refining are subject to reporting
under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA). Therefore, a release
of a petroleum product containing a reportable quantity of one or more extremely hazardous
substances is reportable to the Colorado Emergency Planning Commission (CERC) and the Local
Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) if a reportable quantity is met or exceeded.

The responsible party is always Note: releases of oil and petrolet_Jm to water are also covered
responsible for appropriate clean under the Clean Water Act (Section E of this document).

up actions whether or not the Releases of petroleum from regulated storage tanks are covered
release is required to be reported. || under the Colorado storage tank regulations (Section H of this
document).
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Metals

Under normal handling and use, solid forms of most metals present few health hazards. Metal fines
and metal dust may cause irritation of the eyes, skin, and respiratory system, and fine particles of
certain metals, including antimony, arsenic, beryllium, cadmium, chromium, copper, lead, nickel,
selenium, silver, thallium, or zinc, dispersed in the air can be an explosion and/or health hazard.
EPA has determined that releases of these metals with particles larger than 100 micrometers would
not normally require response action due to the unlikely inhalation of such large particles.
However, notification of the release of a reportable quantity of antimony, arsenic, beryllium,
cadmium, chromium, copper, lead, nickel, selenium, silver, thallium, or zinc is required if the mean
diameter of the particles released is less than 100 micrometers (0.004 inches). An exception to this
is a release of a metal classified as a radionuclide, which does not qualify for this exemption even if
the particles meet the size criteria.

Naturally Occurring Radionuclides

Notification of the release of naturally occurring radionuclides from large land holdings, like parks
or golf courses, is not required. EPA broadened this exemption to include land containing ore
reserves even if the undisturbed ores contain elevated natural concentrations of radionuclides, and
to land disturbance activities including farming, construction, and disturbance incidental to
extraction activities at all mines except uranium, phosphate, tin, zircon, hafnium, vanadium,
monazite, and rare earth mines. Land disturbance incidental to extraction activities includes land
clearing, overburden removal and stockpiling, and excavating, handling, transporting and storing
ores and other raw materials. Land disturbance incidental to extraction also includes replacing
materials in mined-out areas as long as those materials have not been processed and don't contain
elevated radionuclide concentrations. Notification of the release of naturally occurring
radionuclides from sites where coal and coal ash (fly ash, bottom ash, boiler slag) are stored or
disposed is also not required.

Federally Permitted Releases

Releases that are regulated under one or more of the following programs are exempt from CERCLA
and EPCRA reporting requirements:
« permitted discharges under the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES);
« permitted dredge and fill discharges under Section 404 of the Clean Water Act;
« permitted and interim status hazardous waste units under the Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act;
« permitted discharges under the Marine Protection, Research and Sanctuaries Act;
« permitted injection of fluids under the Underground Injection Control (UIC) program in
accordance with the Safe Drinking Water Act;
« air emissions subject to permit or control regulations under the Clean Air Act;
« permitted or allowed injection of fluids to develop crude oil or natural gas supplies;
« discharges of contaminants to Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW) if in compliance
with pretreatment requirements under the Clean Water Act;
« releases of certain nuclear materials if in compliance with a license, permit, regulation or
order issued in accordance with the Atomic Energy Act.

Registered Pesticides

The normal application of a pesticide product registered under the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide
and Rodenticide Act (FIFRA) is exempt from CERCLA and EPCRA reporting. This exemption
includes the handling and storage of the product by an agricultural producer, but does not include
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any spills of the pesticide. Pesticide spills are reportable if the amount spilled meets or exceeds the
reportable quantity.

Continuous Releases

A continuous release is a release that occurs without interruption or abatement or that is routine,
anticipated, intermittent, and incidental to normal operations or treatment processes. When a
release of this type occurs, officials do not have to be notified each time. Instead, the facility can
report it as a continuous release to the National Response Center, the Colorado Emergency Planning
Commission and the Local Emergency Planning Committee(s) by telephone. This should be
followed by a written report submitted to EPA Region 8, the Colorado Department of Public Health
and Environment and the Local Emergency Planning Committee within 30 days of the initial
telephone call. The written report should provide information about the source, composition, and
normal range of the release. Periodic follow-up reports may also be required. Any release that
exceeds the normal range (called a “statistically significant increase”) must be reported immediately
to the National Response Center, the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and
the Local Emergency Planning Committee as if they were new release events. The normal range is
determined by the amount of a hazardous substance released over any 24-hour period under normal
operating conditions during the preceding year. Only releases that are both continuous and stable in
quantity and rate can be included in the normal range.

Continuous release of an extremely hazardous substance that is not a CERCLA hazardous substance
need only be reported to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment and the Local
Emergency Planning Committee. A written report should also be sent to these two agencies within
30 days and any statistically significant increases in the release should be reported to both agencies.
Periodic follow-up reports may also be required.

C. Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)

All Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA) listed and characteristic hazardous wastes
are designated as hazardous substances under the Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA). For more information on listed and characteristic
hazardous wastes, please review the Hazardous Waste Identification Guidance Document from the
Hazardous Materials and Waste Management Division.

The reportable quantity for F- and K-listed hazardous wastes is based on the hazardous waste code.
If the composition and concentrations of all included constituents is not known, the reportable
quantity would be as listed for the waste code in 40 CFR Section 302.4. If the waste is analyzed
and the concentrations of ALL of its hazardous constituents are identified, then reportable quantities
of the specific constituents can be used to determine when reporting is required. For example, if a
release of an FOO5 listed hazardous waste occurred and the concentrations of the constituents
making up the waste were unknown, the reportable quantity would be 100 pounds. If it were known
that the FOO5 waste was comprised of 50% toluene (reportable quantity 1000 pounds) and 50%
methyl ethyl ketone (reportable quantity 5000 pounds), then the release would be reported when
2000 pounds of the mixture were released. [Since the reportable quantity for toluene is less than
that for methyl ethyl ketone, the amount of toluene released will determine when the release must
be reported. Since the mixture is 50% toluene, it would take 2000 pounds of the mixture to meet
the reportable quantity of 1000 pounds for toluene.]
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P- and U-listed hazardous wastes are reported based on the reportable quantity for the hazardous
substance that the waste is listed for. For example, the reportable quantity for hazardous waste code
U122 (formaldehyde) is 100 pounds. For the purposes of release reporting, it doesn't matter if the
formaldehyde is used or unused or is the "sole active ingredient™ in order to be reportable. (Related
note: Colorado's hazardous waste regulations (6 CCR 1007-3) do not include the footnote regarding
sole active ingredients. In Colorado, chemicals may have more than one active ingredient and still
meet the listing description.)

Unlisted hazardous wastes exhibiting the characteristics of

, ignitability, corrosivity and/or reactivity have a reportable
hazardous wastes are designated . .
as hazardous substances under quantity of 100 pounds unless the concentrations of all the
CERCLA. constituents in the waste are known. If the waste is analyzed
and the concentrations of ALL its hazardous constituents are
identified, the reportable quantities of the specific constituents should be used to determine when
reporting is required. For example, a corrosive-only waste of unknown composition has a
reportable quantity of 100 pounds. If the waste is analyzed to determine that it was a 50% solution
of hydrochloric acid in water, then the reportable quantity of the solution would be 10,000 pounds.
[The reportable quantity for hydrochloric acid is 5000 pounds. Therefore it would take 10,000
pounds of the 50% solution to meet the reportable quantity for hydrochloric acid.]

All RCRA listed and characteristic

Unlisted hazardous wastes that exhibit toxicity have reportable quantities specific to the constituent
on which the characteristic of toxicity is based. The reportable quantity applies to the waste itself,
not just to the toxic contaminant. If an unlisted hazardous waste exhibits toxicity on the basis of
more than one contaminant, the reportable quantity for the waste is the lowest of the reportable
quantities for those contaminants. For example, if a waste exhibits toxicity characteristics for the
heavy metals lead (D008) and selenium (D010), with reportable quantities of 10 and 100 pounds
respectively, the reportable quantity would be 10 pounds of the waste, or the lower of the two
reportable quantities. If a waste exhibits a toxicity characteristic and one or more other hazardous
waste characteristics, the reportable quantity for that waste is the lowest of the applicable reportable
quantities.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 40 CFR Part 302,

Permitted and Interim Status Treatment, Storage and Disposal Facilities and Large
Quantity Generators of Hazardous Waste

Large quantity generators of hazardous waste and hazardous waste treatment, storage and disposal
facilities (TSDF) are required to have and implement a contingency plan that describes the actions
facility personnel must take in response to fires, explosions, or any unplanned sudden or non-
sudden release of hazardous waste or hazardous waste constituents to air, soil, surface water or
groundwater at the facility. Whenever there is an imminent or actual emergency situation,
appropriate State and local agencies with designated response roles as described in the contingency
plan must be notified immediately. Appropriate local authorities and the National Response Center
or government official designated as the regional on-scene coordinator must be notified
immediately if the facility's emergency coordinator determines that the facility has had a release,
fire, or explosion that could threaten human health or the environment outside the facility. A
treatment, storage, and disposal facility's permit generally requires reporting to the Colorado
Department of Public Health and Environment — Hazardous Materials and Waste Management
Division of any release, fire or explosion, even if the amount of the release is less than an otherwise
reportable quantity.
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The Department and local authorities must be notified when the facility is back in compliance and
ready to resume operations. In addition, the facility must send a written report to both the EPA
Regional Administrator and the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment within 15
days of any incident that requires implementation of the facility contingency plan.

In the case of a release of hazardous waste stored in tanks, the facility must notify the Hazardous
Materials and Waste Management Division within 24 hours of a release to the environment of more
than one pound. A leak or spill of hazardous waste that is less than or equal to one pound from a
tank or tank system does not need to be reported if the release is immediately contained and cleaned
up. Within 30 days of the release, a written report must be submitted to the Division.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 6 CCR 1007-3 Sections 264.56 and
265.56 and Sections 264.196(d) and 265.196(d).

D. Radiation Control

The state of Colorado has specific reporting requirements for stolen, lost or missing licensed or
registered sources of radiation. Each licensee or registrant must report to the Colorado Department
of Public Health and Environment by telephone in the event of lost, stolen or missing licensed or
registered radioactive materials, a lost, stolen, or missing radiation machine, releases of radioactive
materials, contamination events, and fires or explosions involving radioactive materials. Incidents
should be reported to the Radiation Incident Reporting Line. Based on the severity of the event,
notification may be required immediately, within 24 hours or within 30 days. A follow-up written
report must also be submitted to the Department within 30
days of initial notification. The licensee must also report any
additional substantive information regarding a loss or theft
incident within 30 days after learning of such information.

Releases of radionuclides are
reportable under CERCLA.

These release and notification requirements are contained in 6 CCR 1007-1 Sections 4.51 - 4.53.

E. Clean Water Act

The Clean Water Act (CWA) requires the person in charge of a facility or vessel to make an
immediate report to the National Response Center of discharges of harmful quantities of oil to
navigable waters as soon as they have knowledge of the release. In this case, oil means oil of any
kind or in any form including, but not limited to, petroleum, fuel oil, sludge, oil refuse, and oil
mixed with wastes other than dredged spoil. Discharges of oil that violate applicable water quality
standards and those that cause a film, sheen or discoloration of the surface of the water or adjoining
shorelines, or cause a sludge or emulsion to be deposited beneath the surface of the water or on
adjoining shorelines must be reported. In effect, this means that any discharge of oil to waters of
the United States must be reported to the National Response Center. These release and notification
requirements are contained in 40 CFR Part 110.

The Clean Water Act (CWA) also requires the person in charge of a facility or vessel to report to
the National Response Center the discharge of a designated hazardous substance from the vessel or
facility to waters of the United States in quantities that equal or exceed the reportable quantity as
soon as they have knowledge of the release. Under the Act, the US EPA was directed to establish
reporting quantities for all hazardous substances listed in Table 116.4 A and B (40 CFR Part 116),
which were designated as hazardous substances in accordance with Section 311(b)(2)(A) of the
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Clean Water Act. This designation includes any isomers and hydrates as well as any solutions and
mixtures containing these substances. Each of these substances is included in the CERCLA list of
hazardous substances (40 CFR Part 302 Table 302.4) and is assigned the reportable quantity listed
in Table 302.4 for that substance. These release and notification requirements are contained in 40
CFR Parts 116 and 117.

Under the Clean Water Act, anyone that has a National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
(NPDES) permit must report to the National Response Center within 24 hours of becoming aware
of any unanticipated bypasses or upsets that cause an exceedance of the effluent limits in their
permit and any violation of their maximum daily discharge limits for any pollutant listed in the
permit. A written report must be provided within five days. Other instances of noncompliance
must be reported when monitoring reports are submitted.

The Clean Water Act also requires all industrial users of Publicly Owned Treatment Works
(POTWs) to notify their treatment plant immediately if they have a discharge that could cause
problems at the treatment plant.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 40 CFR Parts 122 and 403.
State Requirements

A spill of any chemical, oil, petroleum product, sewage, etc., which may enter waters of the state of
Colorado (which include surface water, ground water, and dry gullies and storm sewers leading to
surface water) must be reported immediately to the Colorado Department of Public Health and
Environment. Any accidental discharge to the sanitary sewer system must be reported immediately
to the local sewer authority and the affected wastewater treatment plant. If a release occurs at a
mining operation, the Division of Reclamation, Mining and Safety should also be notified.

For more information regarding State reporting requirements under 25-8-601(2) CRS, please refer

to the “Guidance for Reporting Spills under the Colorado Water Quality Control Act and Colorado
Discharge Permits” adopted by the Water Quality Control Division. This policy is available on the
Water Quality Control Division website.

F. Safe Drinking Water Act

The owner or operator of a public water system (community water systems, non-transient non-
community water systems, and transient non-community water systems) must immediately report
any credible threat to the water supply system to the Colorado Environmental Release and Incident
Reporting Line and to the local emergency manager. The local emergency manager may be the
county sheriff or a member of the fire department. A list of local emergency managers is available
from the Colorado Department of Local Affairs.

G. Clean Air Act

Hazardous air pollutants (HAPS) listed in Section 112(b) of the Clean Air Act (CAA) are designated
as hazardous substances under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and
Liability Act (CERCLA). Hazardous air pollutants are known or suspected to cause cancer or other
serious health effects or adverse environmental effects. Health effects can include immunological,
neurological, reproductive, developmental, and respiratory problems. In some cases, hazardous air
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pollutants can be deposited onto soils or other surfaces, where they are taken in by plants and
animals and can accumulate in organic tissue or pass up the food chain due to the inability of
organisms to process the substance.

The release (or air emission) of a hazardous air pollutant that is allowed and less than any limit
specified in a facility's air permit is considered to be a federally permitted release. If the facility
releases more than is allowed under its air permit within a 24 hour period, the facility must report
the release if the quantity released exceeded the facility's permitted level by a reportable quantity or
more. For example, if a facility has an air permit that allows the release of 30 pounds of a
hazardous substance and that substance has a reportable quantity of 100 pounds, the facility would
have to report all releases of 130 pounds or more of that substance. Releases of less than 130
pounds would not need to be reported under CERCLA or EPCRA because even though the facility
exceeded its permit limit, the amount released did not exceed the permitted level by its reportable
quantity (in this case, 100 pounds) or more. If the air permit does not allow or does not specify the
release of a hazardous air pollutant, then releases in excess of the CERCLA / EPCRA reportable
quantity for that substance must be reported. Please be aware that other reporting requirements are
triggered, however, based on the facility's air permit. The Clean Air Act (CAA) requires that
permits for stationary air sources have language requiring prompt reporting of any emergencies,
upsets and deviations from what is allowed in the permit. Releases must be reported to the National
Response Center and to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. Contact the
Air Pollution Control Division for details on additional air-related requirements that may also apply.

Hazardous air pollutants are included in the CERCLA list of hazardous substances in 40 CFR Part
302 and are assigned the reportable quantity listed in Table 302.4 for each substance.

State Requirements

In the case of excess emissions during an emergency or malfunction, the owner or operator must
notify the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment as soon as possible, but no later
than noon of the next working day, and provide a written follow-up report to the Air Pollution
Control Division by the end of the facility’s next reporting period.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 5 CCR 1001-2 Section II.E and 5
CCR 1001-5, Regulation 3 Part C, Section VII.C.

H. Underground Storage Tanks (USTs) and Aboveground Storage Tanks
(ASTs)

. Owners and operators of regulated storage tank systems

The reportable quantity for petroleum | st report a release or suspected release of regulated

from a regulated storage tank system oL ] .

is 25 gallons. substances to the Division of Oil and Public Safety at _the
Colorado Department of Labor and Employment within 24

hours by telephone or facsimile. If outside normal working hours or on a weekend or holiday and

emergency assistance is needed, the release can be reported to the Colorado Environmental Release

and Incident Reporting line at the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment. Any

suspected release or release of unknown quantity is a reportable quantity unless the owner/operator

can conclusively show the release is less than the reportable quantity for the released substance.
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Under this program, the reportable quantity for petroleum releases is 25 gallons or more from
regulated aboveground and underground storage tank systems, or any amount that causes a sheen on
nearby surface water. This is interpreted to include releases from fuel pumps and fuel delivery
trucks while connected to the petroleum storage tank system. Releases of less than 25 gallons from
regulated petroleum storage tank systems, or a release of a hazardous substance that is less than the
CERCLA reportable quantity, do not need to be reported to the Division of Oil and Public Safety if
they are immediately contained and cleaned up. If cleanup cannot be accomplished within 24
hours, the Division of Oil and Public Safety must be notified immediately.

Spills or releases of hazardous substances in excess of the CERCLA reportable quantity from
regulated underground storage tanks must also be reported to the National Response Center and the
local fire authority immediately. Any release, regardless of quantity, that has or may impact waters
of the state (including surface water, groundwater, dry gullies leading to surface water or storm
sewers) must also be reported to the Colorado Environmental Release and Incident Reporting line
immediately.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 7 CCR 1101-14 Article 4, 8-20.5-208
CRS and 25-8-601 CRS.

I. Hazardous Materials Transportation

Highway, Aircraft, Rail and Vessel

Federal hazardous materials transportation regulations cover the transportation of hazardous
materials by highway, aircraft, rail, and vessel. Transportation includes activities related to
transportation like loading, unloading, and temporary storage. "Hazardous material™ includes
hazardous substances, hazardous wastes, marine pollutants, elevated temperature materials as
defined in 49 CFR Section 171.8, materials designated as hazardous in the Hazardous Materials
Table in 49 CFR Section 172.101 and materials that meet the criteria for hazardous classes and
division in 49 CFR Part 173.

The person in physical possession of the hazardous material during transportation must notify the
National Response Center as soon as practical, but not more than 12 hours after an incident, if as a
direct result of a hazardous material:
« aperson is killed or is injured and requires hospitalization,
« there is an evacuation of the general public that lasts more than an hour,
« amajor transportation artery or facility is shut down for an hour or more,
« the operational flight pattern or routine of an aircraft is altered,
« there is fire, breakage, spillage, or suspected contamination involving a radioactive material,
« there is fire, breakage, spillage, or suspected contamination involving an infectious
substance other than a regulated medical waste,
« there is a release of a marine pollutant in a quantity exceeding 119 gallons for liquids or 882
pounds for solids,
« Or any situation that, in the judgment of the person in possession of the hazardous material,
should be reported even though it doesn't meet the above criteria.

Notice of incidents involving an infectious substance may be given to the Director of the Centers

for Disease Control and Prevention (1-800-232-0124) instead of notifying the National Response
Center.
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The person in possession of the hazardous material at the time of the incident must submit a written
report within 30 days of the incident to the US Department of Transportation. In addition, a written
report must be submitted if there is an unintentional release of a hazardous material or the discharge
of any quantity of hazardous waste even though verbal notification may not be required. If the
incident involves air transportation, a copy of the report must also be submitted to the Federal
Aviation Administration Security Field Office nearest the location of the incident.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 49 CFR Sections 171.15 and 171.16.
State Requirements

The State also has specific requirements for reporting incidents involving hazardous materials or
nuclear materials as cargo during transportation. The driver of a motor vehicle involved in a spill of
hazardous material from a fuel tank that provides fuel for the vehicle and/or equipment on that
vehicle must immediately notify the nearest law enforcement agency. The driver of a vehicle
transporting nuclear or hazardous materials as cargo that is involved in a spill, or an incident which
may result in a potential spill, must immediately notify the nearest law enforcement agency. As
soon as possible after the initial notification of the spill or incident to the nearest law enforcement
agency, the driver or a company representative must notify the Colorado State Patrol and the 24-
hour Colorado Environmental Release and Incident Reporting Line. In addition, the driver of a
motor vehicle transporting nuclear materials as cargo must immediately notify the Colorado State
Patrol if the vehicle is involved in a crash, whether or not there is damage to the vehicle.

If the incident involves the release of hazardous Report releases along a highway to the

WaSte, the transporter mUSt nOtIfy the C0|0I’ad0 National Response Center, nearest local
Department of Public Health and Environment and law enforcement agency, Colorado State
report the ultimate disposition of the waste to the Patrol, and Colorado Environmental

Department in addition to the notifications above. In || Release and Incident Reporting Line.
the event of a spill of hazardous waste at a transfer
facility, the transporter must notify the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
within 24 hours of a spill exceeding 55 gallons or if there is a fire or explosion. A written report
must be sent to the Department within 15 days after the incident.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 8 CCR 1507-25 Parts | and 1V and 6
CCR 1007-3 Part 263.

Pipelines

In Colorado, the US Department of Transportation Office of Pipeline Safety inspects, regulates, and
enforces interstate gas pipeline safety requirements. They also inspect, regulate, and enforce both
intra- and interstate liquid pipeline safety requirements in this state. Through certification by the
Office of Pipeline Safety, the Gas Pipeline Safety Division of the Colorado Public Utilities
Commission regulates, inspects, and enforces intrastate gas pipeline safety requirements. Pipeline
facilities include transmission, distribution, regulated gathering, master metered, liquefied natural
gas, and propane gas systems. Be aware that these regulations are primarily for pipeline safety. Be
sure to review other environmental release reporting requirements.

Hazardous Liquids and Carbon Dioxide
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Federal hazardous materials transportation regulations cover the transportation of hazardous liquids
and carbon dioxide by pipeline. In this case, hazardous liquid is limited to petroleum, petroleum
products, and anhydrous ammonia in a non-gaseous state. Petroleum includes crude oil,
condensate, natural gasoline, natural gas liquids, and liquefied petroleum gas. Petroleum product
includes flammable, toxic or corrosive products obtained from distilling and processing of crude oil,
unfinished oils, natural gas liquids, blend stocks, and other miscellaneous hydrocarbon compounds.

As early as practicable following discovery of a release of a hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide
from a pipeline system, the operator must notify the National Response Center by telephone if:

« aperson is killed or is injured and requires hospitalization,

« there is a fire or explosion not intentionally set by the operator,

« there is estimated property damage (including cost of cleanup and recovery, value of lost
product, and damage to property) exceeding $50,000,

« there is pollution of any stream, river, reservoir, or other body of water that violated
applicable water quality standards, caused a discoloration of the surface of the water or
adjoining shoreline, or deposited a sludge or emulsion beneath the surface of the water or
adjoining shoreline, or

« there is any situation that, in the judgment of the operator, should be reported even though it
doesn't meet the above criteria.

A written accident report must be submitted to the US Department of Transportation Office of
Pipeline Safety as soon as practicable, but not later than 30 days after discovery of a release. A
supplemental report must be submitted within 30 days if the operator receives any updates or
additions to the information originally reported.

These notification and reporting requirements are included in 49 CFR Part 195.

Natural Gas and Liquefied Natural Gas

Federal hazardous materials transportation regulations also cover the transportation of natural gas
by pipeline and activities occurring at a liquefied natural gas (LNG) facility where natural and
synthetic gas are liquefied, transferred or stored.

As early as practicable following discovery of a release of gas from a pipeline or of liquefied natural
gas or gas from a liquefied natural gas facility, but generally not to exceed two hours after
discovery, the operator must notify the National Response Center and the Colorado Public Utilities
Commission Gas Pipeline Safety Section by telephone if:
« aperson is killed or is injured and requires hospitalization,
« there is estimated property damage (including value of lost product and damage to property)
of $50,000 or more,
« there is an event that results in an emergency shutdown of a liquefied natural gas facility, or
« there is any situation that, in the judgment of the operator, should be reported even though it
doesn't meet the above criteria.

As early as practicable, but not later than 30 days after discovery and verbal report of a release, the
operator must submit a written report to the US Department of Transportation Office of Pipeline
Safety. A supplemental report must be submitted within 30 days if the operator receives relevant
updates or additions to the information originally reported.
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These notification and reporting requirements are included in 49 CFR Part 191 and 4 CCR 723-4
Sections 4900 - 4914,

State Requirements

If there is a leak on a gas pipeline, a liquefied natural gas system, a master meter system, or a
propane system that results in the evacuation of 50 or more people from a normally occupied
building or results in the closure of a roadway, the operator must contact the Colorado Public
Utilities Commission Gas Pipeline Safety Section by telephone within two hours of discovery.

This notification requirement is contained in 4 CCR 723-4 Section 4911.

J. Oil and Gas Exploration and Production

Federal oil and gas lease surface operations are managed by the US Department of the Interior
Bureau of Land Management (BLM) in cooperation with the appropriate Federal surface
management agency or non-Federal surface owner. On National Forest System lands, the Forest
Service has approval authority for the surface use portion of Federal oil and gas operations and for
appeals related to Forest Service decisions and approvals. The BLM considers the Bureau of Indian
Affairs to be the surface management agency for all Indian lands unless a Tribe has contracted the
Bureau of Indian Affairs realty function for its lands.

“... All spills or leakages of oil, gas, salt water, toxic liquids or waste materials, blowouts, fires,
personal injuries, and fatalities shall be reported by the operator to the BLM and the surface
management agency in accordance with the requirements of Notice to Lessees NTL-3A; Reporting
of Undesirable Events, and in accordance with any applicable local requirements.

The BLM requires immediate reporting of all Class | major events, such as spills of more than 100
barrels of fluid/500 MCF of gas released; fires that consume 100 bbl or more oil or 500 MCF gas;
life threatening or fatal injury/loss of well control; release of reportable quantities of hazardous
substances; spill, venting, or fire in sensitive areas, such as parks, recreation sites, wildlife refuges,
lakes, reservoirs, streams, and urban or suburban areas” ... “Volumes discharged during any of the
above incidents will be estimated as necessary. Operators must take immediate action to prevent
and control spills and the BLM, the surface management agency, and other applicable regulatory
authorities must be consulted prior to treating or disposing of wastes and spills. Operators should
become familiar with local surface management agency requirements for reporting and managing
spills and leaks. ...” (BLM “The Gold Book,” Fourth Edition, Revised 2007)

State Requirements
Spills and releases of Exploration and Production (E&P) waste and produced fluids should be

controlled and contained immediately upon discovery. Impacts resulting from spills and releases
should be investigated and cleaned up as soon as practicable.

The rules and regulations for oil and If there is a spill or release of more than 20 barrels of

gas exp|oration and production have E&P WaSte, |t mUSt be Vel’ba”y reported tO the CO|OI’adO
recently been revised. Most of these Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (COGCC) as soon
changes become effective May 1, as practicable, but not more than 24 hours after discovery.

2009 on federal land and April 1, 2009 | |f there js a spill or release of any size that impacts or
on all other land.
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could impact waters of the state, a residence or an occupied structure, livestock or a public byway, it
must be verbally reported to the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation Commission as soon as
practicable, but not more than 24 hours after discovery. Spills or releases of any size that impact or
threaten to impact any surface water supply area must be reported to the Colorado Oil and Gas
Conservation Commission and to the Colorado Environmental Release and Incident Reporting Line.
If the release impacts or threatens to impact a surface water intake, it must be verbally reported to
the emergency contact for that facility immediately after discovery. The operator must notify the
affected surface owner or their appointed tenant of all reportable spills as soon as practicable, but
not more than 24 hours after discovery.

Chemical spills and releases must be reported in accordance with all applicable state and federal
laws, including the Emergency Planning and community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), the
Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA), the Qil
Pollution Act, and the Clean Water Act.

Releases of more than 5 barrels of E&P waste, and all other reportable releases, must also be
reported on COGCC Form 19 and submitted to the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation
Commission within 10 days after discovery of the release.

These notification requirements are contained in the Colorado Oil and Gas Conservation
Commission 900-Series Rules.

K. Polychlorinated Biphenyls

Polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) are managed under the Toxic Substances Control Act.
Substances with concentrations greater than or equal to 50 parts per million PCBs are regulated
under 40 CFR Part 761, which is implemented by the US Environmental Protection Agency. If a
spill of the substance directly contaminates surface water, sewers, drinking water supplies, grazing
lands, or vegetable gardens and/or the spill exceeds 10 pounds of PCBs by weight, the responsible
party must notify the EPA within 24 hours. In Colorado, contact the Region 8 Emergency Response
Spill Report Line. If the spill involves 10 pounds or less of PCBs and does not involve any of these
resources, the spill must still be cleaned up, but notification to EPA isn't required. Unless
commingled with a hazardous waste, releases of substances containing less than 50 parts per million
PCBs are regulated under Colorado's solid waste regulations 6 CCR 1007-2. The solid waste
regulations do not have specific release reporting requirements at this time.

The Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) has set
the reportable quantity for PCBs at one (1) pound. Any release of oil or other substance containing
greater than or equal to one pound of PCBs must be reported to the National Response Center as
soon as the release is discovered. In addition, if the release impacts waters of the state of Colorado,
the release must be reported as per the Water Quality Control Division’s reporting policy (see
“Guidance for Reporting Spills under the Colorado Water Quality Control Act and Colorado
Discharge Permits”, available on the Water Quality Control Division website).
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Abbreviations & Definitions

CAA - Clean Air Act

CCR - Code of Colorado Regulations

CDPHE - Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
CEPC - Colorado Emergency Planning Commission

CERCLA - Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act
CFR - Code of Federal Regulations

CRS - Colorado Revised Statues

CWA - Clean Water Act

EPA — United States Environmental Protection Agency

EPCRA - Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act
LEPC - Local Emergency Planning Committee

NRC — National Response Center

RCRA - Resource Conservation and Recovery Act

SERC - State Emergency Response Commission

SDWA - Safe Drinking Water Act

EPA's List of Lists is a compendium of the lists of chemicals subject to reporting requirements
under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA), the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) and chemicals listed under
section 112(r) of the Clean Air Act (CAA). Lists are also provided of Resource Conservation and
Recovery Act (RCRA) hazardous wastes and radionuclides reportable under the Comprehensive
Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act. These lists should be used as reference
tools, not as a definitive source of compliance information. Reporting requirements for the
Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act and the Comprehensive Environmental
Response, Compensation and Liability Act are published in the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR),
40 CFR Parts 302 and 355 respectively. Compliance information for the Clean Air Act section
112(r) is published in 40 CFR Part 68. The List of Lists is available on the Internet at
http://yosemite.epa.gov/oswer/lol.nsf/homepage.

Exploration and production (E&P) wastes are associated with operations to locate or remove oil
or gas from the ground or to remove the impurities from oil or gas.

Extremely Hazardous Substances (EHS) are chemicals that present the most serious hazards
during release (in terms of toxicity, reactivity, volatility, combustibility, and flammability) and are
regulated under the Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA). The
extremely hazardous substances list consists of approximately 360 substances and is included in
EPA’s List of Lists.

Facility means any building, equipment, structure, installation, containment structure, pipe, other
stationary feature, motor vehicle, rolling stock, or aircraft. Facility also includes any site where a
hazardous substance is or has been located.

Hazardous Materials are chemicals posing a hazard to human health or the environment when
transported (49 USC 5103). They include hazardous substances, hazardous wastes, marine
pollutants, elevated temperature materials, all materials in the Hazardous Materials Table (49 CFR
172.101), and materials meeting the criteria for hazard classes in part 173 of subchapter C of 49
CFR 172.101.
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Hazardous Substances are chemicals posing a hazard to human health or the environment and are
regulated under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act
(CERCLA). The hazardous substance list is included in EPA’s List of Lists.

Reportable Quantity (RQ) is a term that applies to the amount of hazardous substances or
extremely hazardous substances released within a 24-hour period. Note that the 24-hour period is
the time frame for measuring the quantity released, not the time frame for reporting a release.

Threshold Planning Quantity (TPQ) is a term that applies to the amount of an extremely
hazardous substance that must be present onsite in concentrations greater than 1% by weight of a
compound or mixture at which the facility must meet all emergency planning requirements. If not
also listed as a CERCLA hazardous substance, extremely hazardous substances have a reportable
quantity equal to the threshold planning quantity for that substance.

“Waters of the State of Colorado” are any and all surface waters and subsurface waters
(groundwater) that are contained in or flow in or through the state of Colorado. This includes lakes,
rivers, streams, creeks, wetlands, irrigation ditches, storm drains, livestock ponds, borrow ditches,
and dry gullies. This does not include waters in sewage systems, waters in treatment works of
disposal systems, waters in potable water distribution systems, or water withdrawn for use until use
and treatment have been completed.

18



