
involving a radioactive or infectious material, or there 
is a release of a marine pollutant. 
 
Spills and incidents that have or may result in a spill 
along a highway must be reported to the nearest law 
enforcement agency immediately.  The Colorado 
State Patrol and CDPHE must also be notified as 
soon as possible.  In the event of a spill of hazardous 
waste at a transfer facility, the transporter must notify 
CDPHE within 24 hours if the spill exceeds 55 gallons 
or if there is a fire or explosion. 
 
The National Response Center should be notified as 
soon as possible after discovery of a release of a 
hazardous liquid or carbon dioxide from a pipeline 
system if a person is killed or injured, there is a fire or 
explosion, there is property damage of $50,000 or 
more, or any nearby water body is contaminated. 
 
The National Response Center and the Colorado 
Public Utilities Commission Gas Pipeline Safety 
Section must be notified as soon as possible, but not 
more than two hours after discovery of a release of 
gas from a natural gas pipeline or liquefied natural 
gas facility if a person is killed or injured, there is an 
emergency shutdown of the facility, or there is 
property damage of $50,000 or more.  The Colorado 
Public Utilities Commission should also be notified if 
there is a gas leak from a pipeline, liquefied natural 
gas system, master meter system or a propane 
system that results in the evacuation of 50 or more 
people from an occupied building or the closure of a 
roadway. 
 
Oil and Gas Exploration 
All Class I major events on federal lands, including 
releases of hazardous substances in excess of the 
CERCLA reportable quantity and spills of more than 
100 barrels of fluid and/or 500 MCF of gas released, 
must be reported to the Bureau of Land Management 
(BLM) immediately.  Spills of oil, gas, salt water, toxic 
liquids and waste materials must also be reported to 
the BLM and the surface management agency. 
 
Spills of exploration and production (E&P) waste on 
state or private lands in excess of 20 barrels, and 
spills of any size that impact or threaten to impact 
waters of the state, an occupied structure, or public 
byway must be reported to the Colorado Oil and Gas 
Conservation Commission as soon as practicable, but 
not more than 24 hours after discovery.  Spills of any 

size that impact or threaten to impact waters of the 
state must be reported to CDPHE immediately.  Spills 
that impact or threaten to impact a surface water 
intake must be reported to the emergency contact for 
that facility immediately after discovery.  Spills of 
more than five (5) barrels of E&P waste must be 
reported in writing to the Oil and Gas Conservation 
Commission within 10 days of discovery. 
 
 

REPORTING NUMBERS 
 

National Response Center (24-hour) 
1-800-424-8802 
 
CDPHE Colorado Environmental Release and 
Incident Reporting Line (24-hour) 
1-877-518-5608 
 
Radiation Incident Reporting Line (24-hour) 
303-877-9757 
 
Colorado State Patrol (24-hour) 
303-239-4501 
 
Division of Oil and Public Safety  
(business hours) 
303-318-8547 
 
Oil and Gas Conservation Commission 
(business hours) 
303-894-2100 
 
Colorado Public Utilities Commission Gas 
Pipeline Safety Section (business hours) 
303-894-2851 
 
Local Emergency Planning Committees  
(to obtain list, business hours) 
720-852-6603 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

When a release of a hazardous material or other 
substance occurs to the environment, there are 
a number of reporting and notification 
requirements that must be followed by the 
company or individual responsible for the 
release.  Most spills are covered by more than 
one reporting requirement, and all requirements 
must be met. In addition to verbal notification, 
written reports are generally required. This 
brochure briefly explains the major 
requirements.  A more detailed description is 
provided in the “Reporting Environmental 
Releases in Colorado” Guidance Document, 
available on the web. 
 
Releases that must be reported to the Colorado 
Department of Public Health and Environment 
(CDPHE) may be reported to the Colorado 
Environmental Release and Incident Reporting 
Line. 

Environmental 
Spill Reporting 

Colorado Department of Public 
Health and Environment 
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South 
Denver, CO  80246-1530 
 
http://www.colorado.gov/cdphe 
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ENVIRONMENTAL SPILL REPORTING 
 
CERCLA, EPCRA and RCRA 
The Comprehensive Environmental Response, 
Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA) and the 
Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know 
Act (EPCRA) require that a release of a reportable 
quantity or more of a hazardous substance to the 
environment be reported immediately to the 
appropriate authorities when the release is 
discovered.   
 
Under CERCLA, reportable quantities were 
established for hazardous substances listed or 
designated under other environmental statutes.  
These include: 
 
 all hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) listed under 

Section 112(b) of the Clean Air Act. 
 all toxic pollutants designated under Section 

307(a) or Section 311(b)(2)(A) of the Clean 
Water Act. 

 all Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 
(RCRA) characteristic and listed hazardous 
wastes. 

 any element, compound, or substance 
designated under Section 102 of CERCLA. 

 
EPCRA established a list of extremely hazardous 
substances (EHS) that could cause serious 
irreversible health effects from accidental releases.  
Many substances appear on both the CERCLA and 
EPCRA lists.  EPCRA extremely hazardous 
substances that are also CERCLA hazardous 
substances have the same reportable quantity (RQ) 
as under CERCLA.  EPCRA extremely hazardous 
substances that are not listed under CERCLA have a 
reportable quantity that is equal to their threshold 
planning quantity (TPQ).  A list of CERCLA reportable 
quantities is included in 40 CFR Section 302.4.  A list 
of EPCRA threshold planning quantities is included in 
40 CFR Part 355 Appendices A & B. 
 
CERCLA-reportable releases must be reported 
immediately to the National Response Center (NRC), 
while EPCRA-reportable releases must be reported 
immediately to the National Response Center, the 
State Emergency Response Commission (SERC) and 
the affected Local Emergency Planning Committee 
(LEPC).  If the release is an EPCRA extremely 

hazardous substance, but not a CERCLA hazardous 
substance, and there is absolutely no potential to 
affect off-site persons, then only the State Emergency 
Planning Commission (represented by CDPHE for 
reporting purposes) and the Local Emergency 
Planning Committee need to be notified. 
 
In the case of a release of hazardous waste stored in 
tanks, RCRA-permitted facilities and large quantity 
generators must also notify CDPHE within 24 hours of 
any release to the environment that is greater than 
one (1) pound. 
 
Radiation Control 
Each licensee or registrant must report to the 
Radiation Incident Reporting Line in the event of lost, 
stolen or missing licensed or registered radioactive 
materials or radiation machines, releases of 
radioactive materials, contamination events, and fires 
or explosions involving radioactive materials.  
Releases of radionuclides are reportable under 
CERCLA. 
 
Clean Water Act 
The Clean Water Act requires the person in charge of 
a facility or vessel to immediately report to the 
National Response Center all discharges of oil or 
designated hazardous substances to water.  Oil 
means oil of any kind or form.  Designated hazardous 
substances are included in the CERCLA list. 
 
The Clean Water Act also requires that facilities with a 
National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 
(NPDES) permit report to the National Response 
Center within 24 hours of becoming aware of any 
unanticipated bypasses or upsets that cause an 
exceedance of the effluent limits in their permit and 
any violations of their maximum daily discharge limits 
for pollutants listed in their permit. 
 
A release of any chemical, oil, petroleum product, 
sewage, etc., which may enter waters of the state of 
Colorado (which include surface water, ground water 
and dry gullies and storm sewers leading to surface 
water) must be reported immediately to CDPHE.  Any 
accidental discharge to the sanitary sewer system 
must be reported immediately to the local sewer 
authority and the affected wastewater treatment plant. 
For additional regarding releases to water, please see 
“Guidance for Reporting Spills under the Colorado 

Water Quality Control Act and Colorado Discharge 
Permits” at 
http://www.cdphe.state.co.us/op/wqcc/Resources/Gui
dance/spillguidance.pdf. 
 
Clean Air Act 
Hazardous air pollutants (HAPs) are designated as 
hazardous substances under CERCLA.  If a facility 
has an air permit but the permit does not allow for or 
does not specify the release of a substance, or if the 
facility does not have an air permit, then all releases 
in excess of the CERCLA / EPCRA reportable 
quantity for that substance must be reported to the 
National Response Center and CDPHE.  If the facility 
releases more of a substance than is allowed under 
its air permit, the facility must also report the release.  
Discharges of a substance that are within the 
allowable limits specified in the facility’s permit do not 
need to be reported. 
  
Regulated Storage Tanks 
Owners and operators of regulated storage tank 
systems must report a release or suspected release 
of regulated substances to the Division of Oil and 
Public Safety at the Colorado Department of Labor 
and Employment within 24 hours.  Under this 
program, the reportable quantity for petroleum 
releases is 25 gallons or more, or any amount that 
causes a sheen on nearby surface water.  Spills of 
less than 25 gallons of petroleum must be 
immediately contained and cleaned up.  If cleanup 
cannot be accomplished within 24 hours, the Division 
of Oil and Public Safety must be notified immediately. 
 
Spills of hazardous substances from tanks in excess 
of the CERCLA or EPCRA reportable quantity must 
be reported immediately to the National Response 
Center, CDPHE and the local fire authority, and to the 
Division of Oil and Public Safety within 24 hours. 
 
Transportation and Pipelines 
The person in physical possession of a hazardous 
material must notify the National Response Center 
as soon as practical, but not to exceed 12 hours after 
the incident, if as a direct result of the hazardous 
material, a person is killed or injured, there is an 
evacuation of the general public lasting more than an 
hour, a major transportation artery is shut down for an 
hour or more, the flight pattern of an aircraft is altered, 
there is fire, spillage or suspected contamination 


