Insurance Guidelines

Requirements When Submitting a Professional Liability Insurance Policy and Certificate of Insurance

as a Condition of Licensure for a Health Care Facility

Certificate of Insurance:

1.

The name of the owner of the business operating the facility must match the name listed on the
insurance policy and the most recent license renewal application.

The “Doing Business As” (DBA) name of the facility as licensed by the State of Colorado must
be listed on the certificate and match what was submitted with the most recent license renewal
application. If there are multiple facilities - each facility must be listed on the certificate.

The full facility address as licensed by the State of Colorado must match what is listed on the
insurance policy.

The correct amounts of coverage as required under the Health Care Availability Act (HCAA)
for professional liability insurance must be listed on the certificate.

The insurer affording coverage for the professional liability insurance must be listed on the
certificate and must be a Colorado authorized company registered with the Division of
Insurance. Please visit: http://cdilookup.asisvcs.com/CompanySearch.aspx

The policy number, effective date and expiration date must be listed on the certificate.

The State of Colorado Health Facilities and Emergency Medical Services Division, 4300
Cherry Creek Drive South, Denver, CO 80246 must be listed as the certificate holder.

Professional Liability Insurance Policy:

1.

9.

10.
11.

The entire policy must be submitted; including the declarations page, endorsements, etc. All
forms submitted must accurately reference one another.

The policy must identify each health care institution separately licensed with the State of
Colorado.

Each health care institution listed on the policy must meet the minimum amounts of coverage
as outlined in section 13-64-301, C.R.S. ($500,000 per incident and $3,000,000 annual
aggregate per year).

All policies submitted to the Department must have a $0 dollar deductible and no self-insured
retention.

The policy must list the owner of the business operating the facility.

The owner of the business listed on the policy must be the same as owner of the business listed
on the most recent license application.

If a trade name or “doing business as” (DBA) is listed on the most recent license renewal
application, it must also be listed on the policy and match what is listed on the certificate.

The policy must list the entire facility address as licensed by the State of Colorado and match
what is listed on the certificate and most recent license application.

The policy number must be listed along with the effective date and the expiration date.

The policy number and insurer affording coverage must match what is listed on the certificate.
If the named insured is the management company and not the owner of the business; the
following additional documentation is required:
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a. A copy of the executed management agreement which states the licensee is assigning
the professional liability insurance responsibility to the management company and the
management company must maintain the insurance throughout the duration of the
license.

b. The facility must identify what page and paragraph of the management agreement the
above information is located.

c. Provide the relationship between the licensee and the management company, including
the percentages owned by both entities.

12. To ensure compliance with the HCAA when multiple locations are listed on one policy, the
language listed below may expedite the approval process:
a. The commercial professional liability insurance policy # xxxxxx coverage is for the
following 2 health care institutions:

I. XYZ, LLC dba XYZ ambulatory surgical center located at XXXxxxx
ii. XYZ, LLC dba ABC convalescent care center located at XXxXxXxxxx

b. Each of these health care institutions has coverage in the minimum indemnity amounts
of $500,000 per incident and $3,000,000 annual aggregate per year.
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