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The Driver’s Manual is intended to give the driver
important information on his/her responsibilities
while using a state vehicle. It is intended to be
informational and concise, providing guidelines
conforming to Central Services Rules. It is not
intended to be an all-inclusive operations manual.

This manual can be accessed at
www.colorado.gov/dcs/fleet-getting-started

Central Services Rules can be accessed at
www.colorado.gov/dcs/dcs-rules-statutes
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Section |
Quick Reference

A: Important Phone Numbers

Colorado State Fleet Management
1001 E. 62nd Ave., Rm. A-18
Denver, CO 80216

Main Phone: 1-800-723-8023 or
303-866-5222

Fax: 303-866-5511 or 303-866-5580

Call Center — Authorizations for Repair
1-800-356-3846 or 303-866-5566

(The Help-Desk will answer phone after normal
business hours)

Towing Services in Denver Metro Area
(24 hours a day, 7 days a week)
Joe’s Towing—303-428-9242

Towing Services after Business Hours
5:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. Weekends call the
National Auto Club—1-866-329-3471

Division of Risk Management
1313 Sherman St., Suite 114
Denver, CO 80203
303-866-3848 or
1-800-268-8092 (Colorado only)

Fuel Card (Wright Express)
Customer Service 24/7
1-866-544-5796

If the card will not swipe, have the fuel
vendor call Wright Express Vendor Help Line
at 1-800-842-0071

www.wrightexpress.com

Fuel Card Replacements
State Fleet Management 1-800-723-8023
or 303-866-5222

Police 911
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C. State Operated Garages

ALAMOSA
Adams State College
208 Edgemont
Phone: 719-589-7951

BUENA VISTA
Buena Vista Correctional Facility
Phone: 719-395-2404

DELTA
Delta Correctional Facility
1140 E. 10 Road
Phone: 970-874-7614

DENVER METRO
Fort Logan Mental Health
3520 W. Oxford Avenue
Phone: 303-762-4045

Colorado State Patrol
15203 W. 12th Avenue
Golden, CO 80401
Phone: 303-273-1666

Department of Transportation
4201 E. Arkansas Avenue
Denver, CO 80222

Phone: 303-757-9260

GRAND JUNCTION
DOHS Grand Junction Regional
Center Garage
2800 D Road
Phone: 970-255-5897

PUEBLO
Pueblo Mental Health
1600 W. 24th Street
Phone: 719-546-4257

RIFLE
DOC Rifle Correctional Center
200 County Road 219
Phone: 970-625-1700



Section Il
Driver’s Responsibility

All items listed in this section
are the RESPONSIBILITY of the
STATE DRIVER!

A. Monthly Mileage Notification

It is the driver’s responsibility to report the
actual ending odometer reading each month to
the vehicle coordinator for their agency before
month-end.

B. Preventive Maintenance (PM)
Schedule

It is MANDATORY to follow the preventive
maintenance schedule for your individual
vehicle as prepared by SFM. Call the SFM Call
Center at 303-866-5566 or 1-800-356-3846

for clarification. Have the listed services
performed when due—as close as possible

to each scheduled interval. SFM policy will

not approve services prior to the scheduled
mileage or scheduled date unless the vehicle is
equipped with a computer-controlled indicator.
If your vehicle is used in “severe service”
situations, ask your vehicle coordinator to call
SFM to approve a shorter service interval.

Repairs required due to lack of preventive
maintenance may be billed to the Using
Agency and could increase your agency’s
operating expenses.

C. Emissions Test &

Registration Renewals

It is the driver’s responsibility to keep the
following items with each state vehicle they
drive:

o Current emissions compliance
(New vehicles are exempt for 7 years)

 Current registration in the vehicle
« Vehicle packet



For registration renewal instructions, contact
the Colorado Department of Revenue
at 303-205-5607.

Tickets issued because of expired registrations
are the responsibility of the driver.

D. Fuel Card & Types of Fuel

1. FUEL CREDIT CARD: Cards are assigned
to vehicles, not drivers. Enter accurate
odometer readings when using the fuel
card, do not enter the “tenths” digit.
Please call your vehicle coordinator if you
forgot your PIN number or have a damaged
card. Report lost cards to your vehicle
coordinator immediately. NOTE: The fuel
card is not to be used for any product or
service not sold at the fuel pump island.
(Washes, oil, washer fluid are okay.)

Do not leave cards in an unlocked vehicle
at any time. In the summer, heat will warp
the cards; please keep them in the vehicle
packet locked in the glove box. Do not
write PIN numbers on the fuel cards or
packets, keep in a safe place like a billfold,
purse or cellphone.

2. Drivers should be purchasing fuel

at State fueling systems wherever
practicable. Drivers should purchase the
lowest cost per gallon fuel whenever
practicable when using retail outlets.

Use “best price locators” in advance of your
trip to save time and money.

3. REGULAR FUEL: Drivers shall use self-
service, regular grade gasoline wherever
available for vehicles that cannot operate
on alternative fuels. Premium grades of
fuel and full-service fuel may not be
purchased by the driver.

4. ALTERNATIVE FUEL: Drivers are required
to purchase and use alternative fuel
whenever practicable for State vehicles
that are equipped to operate on E-85,
propane, natural gas, and bio-diesel. SFM



recommends a bio-diesel blend of B-5 for
winter use, and B-20 for the rest of the
year. Unleaded fuel is available at the
downtown Motor Pool fuel pump located
at 1525 Sherman Street in the alley.

Contact the Motor Pool to register your
fuel card at 303-866-3030. Contact SFM for
assistance.

E. Daily Care of Vehicles

Drivers are responsible for the day-to-day care
of their vehicles. Drivers are responsible for the
security of the vehicle. Park in safe areas and
lock the vehicle. No state employee is permitted
to drive a vehicle that is unsafe or to ignore

an unsafe condition. Follow the advice listed
below to keep your vehicle in a safe, operable
condition.
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1. FLUIDS: Check the under hood fluids on
your vehicle weekly. Fill as necessary but
have your vehicle checked if you are low on
engine oil, automatic transmission or power
steering fluid, brake and clutch hydraulic
fluid, or engine coolant. In order to prevent
freeze-up, do not add plain water to the
radiator, coolant reservoir or windshield
washer container.

2. LEAKS: Look on the ground under
the vehicle for fluid leaks. Call SFM
immediately about any leakage.

3. TIRES: Visually inspect the tires daily,
look for embedded nails, and check
regularly for uneven wear and for proper
air pressure. Correct air pressure is the
major contributor to extended tire life and
increases fuel economy. Recommended tire
pressure is usually found on the driver’s
doorpost.

4. DAMAGE: Check the vehicle frequently
for body damage. Report any damage
promptly to SFM (See procedures and
definition of an accident in the Accident
section.)



5. IMPROPER USE: Do not drive your truck or
sport utility through rivers, creeks, or streams
that will exceed the limits of your vehicle. Do
not drive sedans on four-wheel drive roads.
Drivers and/or their agencies are responsible
for the full amount of any damage caused by
improper use of their vehicle.

6. FLAT TIRES: Drivers are responsible for
replacing a flat tire with the spare.

DO NOT drive the vehicle with a flat tire as it
will ruin the tire and/or the rim. Your agency
may be held responsible for the damages.

7. LIGHTS: Check exterior lights and turn
signals regularly for proper operation.

8. NOISES: Be alert for unusual noises that
could signal mechanical problems. Call SFM
immediately to schedule an appointment if
needed.

9. GAUGES: If the temperature gauge reads

abnormally hot, the oil pressure gauge reads
low, or the red critical Engine Light is “ON,”
STOP THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY and call SFM
Maintenance Assistance at 1-800-356-3846 or
at 303-866-5566. For after hours repair refer
to (pg20) for further guidance.

If the amber caution light (check/service
engine light, power loss light or emissions
light) in late model vehicles is “ON,” it
indicates a potential problem. Have the
vehicle checked as soon as possible. Vehicles
less than three years old with less than
36,000 miles will be directed to the most
convenient dealership for warranty repairs.

Vehicles under the new vehicle warranty
that are non-operable are covered under a
nation-wide roadside assistance program.
Call the appropriate number for assistance.

10. ENGINE IDLING: An idling vehicle gets
zero miles per gallon, causes excessive
engine wear, and pollutes the air.

Please refrain from idling your vehicle
unnecessarily.

11



F. Accident Procedures

In the event of an accident, drivers are required
to follow all procedures in the Accident section.

G.

Use of Vehicle

As the operator of a State vehicle the driver
is responsible for its proper use, service, and
protection and must be familiar with the
following guidelines:

12

1. USE OF A STATE VEHICLE: State vehicles
are to be used for official state business
only and may not be used for personal
errands, transporting family members or
pets. State vehicles may not be loaned to
or driven by any unauthorized individual.
This authorization can be applied for by
completing the driver authorization form
held by DPA's Risk Management on the State
Fleet web site.

2. DRIVERS LICENSE: Driver must possess

a valid U.S. driver’s license for the class of
vehicle operated. (Responsibility for making
this determination rests with the agency
employing the driver).

3. SEAT BELTS: Seat belts must be worn by
drivers and all passengers in a state vehicle.

4. NO SMOKING: Smoking is not allowed in
state vehicles.

5. PARKING: State vehicles are prohibited
from using the Regional Transportation
District (RTD) Park and Ride parking lots
unless you are using RTD transportation
services. All state vehicles will be parked at
the agencies home office or satellite office
locations. Parking state vehicles overnight
or on weekends at any RTD Park and Ride
facility is not allowed. If the driver is an
approved commuter, the vehicle must

be parked at the driver’s residence or an
official state office location when not being
used for official state business. Personal
use of state vehicles is not allowed.



H.

6. ALCOHOL/DRUGS: State-owned vehicles
under no circumstances may be operated by
any individual who is under the influence of
alcohol or drugs.

7. COMMUTING: The use by a state
employee of any state-owned vehicle
for commuting must be requested
and approved in accordance with DCS
Administrative Rule 3.0.

Personal use is never allowed.

8. KEYS: SFM does not keep extra vehicle
keys. Drivers must pay directly for extra
keys or expenses to open a locked vehicle.
Replacement keys for most late-model
vehicles contain an embedded computer
chip, are available only from dealerships,
and cost in excess of $100.

SFM has key codes available for most 1998
and newer vehicles.

Travel Outside of Colorado
1. Other States

a. Must be approved by the agency
employing the driver.

b. The Fuel Card is accepted anywhere
in the USA and Canada including Alaska
& Hawaii. However, the driver should
verify the card’s acceptance prior to the
sale when at an unfamiliar vendor.

2. Outside of the Continental United States:

Requires prior written notification and
explanation from the state agency to the
State Fleet Manager. The letter should
include a license plate number, dates and
your acknowledgment of these procedures.

a. Agencies must purchase all necessary
additional liability and collision insurance
before the vehicle is taken out of the
United States. This expense will not be
subject to reimbursement by SFM.

b. The Fuel Card cannot be used outside of
the USA. The state agency must pay all bills

13



and keep track of receipts and present them
to SFM for reimbursement upon return.

The driver should contact his or her agency
and SFM before incurring an extraordinary
expense. SFM is expected to reimburse for
normal charges only. Should the vehicle
become inoperable while out of the country,
the agency must contact SFM. The agency
must then deal with the foreign authorities,
and return the vehicle to the United States.

c. The vehicle should be parked in a secure
location and not left unattended while out
of this country.

d. Taking a state vehicle to Mexico is
strongly discouraged.

I. Vehicle Turn-In Requirements

When a vehicle is returned to SFM, we
require the following:
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1. No appointment necessary. Turn-in
vehicles are accepted Mon-Fri, 8:00 a.m. to
4:30 p.m. If you have questions call 1-800-
723-8023 or 303-866-5222.

2. Please verify with your Fleet
Coordinator that the loan obligation for
the turn-in vehicle has been met. If not,
your agency will be billed for the remaining
balance on the loan term.

3. Remove all 2-way radios, cell phones and
hands free equipment, security cages, law
enforcement lighting equipment, or any
other special equipment. Any agency that
has not removed all additional equipment
prior to turn-in, may incur additional direct
billed expenses.

4. Remove all decals or emblems from the
vehicle. Any agency that has not removed
all additional branding prior to turn-in, may
incur additional direct billed expenses.

5. Remove undercover plates and install
original state plates on the vehicle. You
must have state plates on the vehicle and
the current registration to turn in. This



is the agency's responsibility. The vehicle
should be reasonably clean or washed
before turning in.

6. If the vehicle is in an “enhanced
emission area,” please get an emissions
test if the test is over 9 months old. Bring
in the original Vehicle Inspection Report
when turning the vehicle in.

Enhanced emission areas include: The
full counties of Boulder, Broomfield,
Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson, as well as
the partial counties of Adams, Arapahoe,
Larimer and Weld. If you are coming to SFM
from outside of the enhanced emissions
area and have time please get an emissions
test done. Call SFM at 1-800-723-8023 for
locations and hours of operation or the Air
Care Colorado Hotline at 303-456-7090.

7. Vehicle should be cleaned out; remove
all personal items, trash, food, papers, etc.

8. Vehicle should have at least a ¥ tank of
gas at time of turn-in.

9. When you arrive at SFM:

a. Park the vehicle in any available
space in the public parking lot.

b. Record the odometer reading,
gather all keys, fuel credit card,
and vehicle packet with current
registration and go to Room A-18.

10. At SFM’s front desk:

a. Fill out the Vehicle Turn-in sheet by
recording the odometer reading and
vehicle description.

b. Identify any known or suspected
problems the vehicle may have.

J. Public Perception

SFM receives citizen complaints regarding
state vehicles being driven improperly.
These complaints may result in a disciplinary
action against the driver by his or her

15



agency. State drivers should be concerned
about the image of state employees and

state vehicles as perceived by the public. As
drivers represent the State of Colorado, it is
extremely important that they present a
positive image. State vehicles are highly visible
and represent a valuable resource.

Section IlI
Maintenance & Repair

PLEASE NOTE: Vehicles under new vehicle
warranty that are non-operable are covered
under a nation-wide roadside assistance program.

For assistance, call the appropriate number:
Ford: 1-800-241-3673

Chevrolet/GMC: 1-800-243-8872
Plymouth/Dodge: 1-800-521-2779

Toyota: 1-800-331-4331

Please have the VIN number and odometer
reading available before calling. The VIN
number can be located on driver side door jam
sticker, or can be read through the windshield
on drivers side of the vehicle on the dashboard.

A. Emissions Test Procedures

SFM vehicles that are located in designated AIR
CARE COLORADO program areas are required to
have an emissions test and obtain a “Vehicle
Inspection Report.” It is the driver’s responsibil-
ity to have the emissions test performed when
required if their vehicle is registered within the
program area. For questions and locations, call
the AIR CARE COLORADO hotline at 303-456-
7090. In Longmont call 303-684-0111.

Vehicles that are less than 7 years old are
exempt from taking an emissions test.
There should be a sticker on windshield that
indicates this.

B. Tires & Glass

Tires and windshield replacement are state
awarded items and should never be installed
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without a purchase order from the SFM Call
Center. Call SFM for the closest approved vendor.

Tires should be replaced when the tread is
worn to 4/32 of an inch or less. Replacement
tires will be of original equipment type
(all-season tread) and size. Exceptions are

authorized by SFM on an individual basis.

1. All Season Mud & Snow Tires:

All season tires are rated “M&S,” meaning
they meet the USDOT and State Patrol
winter tread requirement for hazardous
driving conditions. They will outperform
all other tires in overall safety, handling,
braking, and performance.

Traditional large element tread design
snow tires outperform all season tires
only in deep, non-compacted snow. These
tires increase braking distances and
adversely affect handling when used on
dry pavement. The tires are also often
physically larger than the original tires,
causing problems with odometer readings
and anti-lock brake systems. SFM does not
approve oversized tires.

Tire chains are allowed for rear-wheel
drive 2WD vehicles which drive daily on
mountain passes that frequently have the
“Chains Only” condition. Drivers and their
agencies are responsible for the full amount
of expenses on any vehicle damage caused
by chains.

Tire studs are not approved for any
vehicle due to the abnormal wear caused
on the highways and the negative effects
on vehicle handling and anti-lock braking
systems.

2. Glass Repair/Replacement: Windshield
repairs should be attempted before
replacement. It is important to have chips
and small cracks repaired promptly. Call
SFM for an approved vendor in your area.
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C. Preventive Maintenance: When to
Contact the SFM Call Center

1. For all routine maintenance, no
advance call to SFM is required. Please
have the vendor contact SFM prior to
performing chargeable services. Vehicle
operators are strongly encouraged to use
state garages whenever possible.

2. A SFM Call Center Specialist can:

a. Inform you what preventive
maintenance needs to be performed on
your vehicle.

b. Inform you if your vehicle requires
warranty work.

c. Help you locate a vendor upon request.

D. Vehicle Repair/Preventive
Maintenance & Towing Procedures
During Normal Business Hours
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1. State driver calls SFM at
1-800-356-3846 or 303-866-5566
DURING NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS:
7:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m. MONDAY-FRIDAY.

a. ldentify your vehicle license plate
and current odometer reading.

b. Describe the vehicle’s problem or
needed PM per the SFM PM schedule
to the experienced SFM Call Center
Specialist. Driver comments will be
entered into the CARS system.

e SFM will recommend the nearest
approved vendor.

e Warranty Repairs at new car
dealers: A SFM Call Center
Specialist will review the SFM
files and recommend the nearest
authorized dealer for warranty
repairs. New vehicle warranty is
usually for 3 years/36,000 miles,
with some drive train warranties
extended up to 100,000 miles.



2. TAKE the Vehicle to the Agreed Upon
Private Repair Facility.

a. Identify your vehicle as part of the
SFM Maintenance Program.

b. Give the private repair facility your
name, phone number and instruct them
to call SFM at 1-800-356-3846, or 303-
866-5566 prior to their performing any
chargeable work on the state vehicle.

c. Sign the delivery receipt after making
sure everything listed was performed.

d. If repairs are not satisfactory, contact
the SFM Call Center immediately.

E. After-Hours Emergency Repairs

(During the following times: 5:00 p.m. to 7:00
a.m. Monday-Friday, all day Saturday/Sunday.)

If emergency repairs must be performed
immediately, call the Help Desk at 1-800-356-
3846 for the location of the nearest garage.

Have the garage vendor call the SFM Call Center
at 1-800-356-3846 or 303-866-5566 and give the
garage vendor’s name, phone number, state
license Plate # and odometer reading, and then
perform the required emergency repair.

The SFM Call Center will contact the vendor to
complete the required documentation during
normal business hours.

1. After Hours Towing in the Denver Metro
Area: If the vehicle creates a definite road
hazard and must be moved immediately,
call Joe’s Towing at 303-428-9242.

The vendor will tow your vehicle to State
Fleet Management at 1001 East 62nd Ave in
Denver, or to a repair facility located in the
Denver Metro area that will work on your
vehicle.

Please call the Call Center during normal
business hours.
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2. After Hours Towing Outside of Denver
Metro Area: If the vehicle creates a
definite road hazard and must be moved
immediately, call the Help Desk at 1-800-
356-3846 or the Colorado State Patrol. Or
you can call one of the towing vendors
listed in this manual and request a tow to
the nearest repair facility.

A list of local awarded tow vendors
appears in the Quick Reference Section.

Any local tow vendor from the Yellow Pages
who will accept a procurement card
(MasterCard) may also be used when
necessary if an awarded vendor cannot
respond.

Call the Help Desk for assistance. Out of
State breakdowns can be handled through
the local Goodyear, Pep Boys, Sears, or
Firestone dealer. Vehicle manufacture
specific dealerships may be used nation-
wide for those related products.

Section IV
Accident Information

PLEASE READ THIS INFORMATION
BEFORE ANY ACTION IS TAKEN.

An accident is described as ANY incident
occurring that may have caused damage to a

SFM vehicle, another vehicle, or private property.

Accident damages include: Damage caused by
another vehicle, road hazard, wildlife, weather
(wind, rain, hail, etc.), and vandals (this includes
glass, tires, body damage, stolen vehicles, etc.).

NOTE: Stolen vehicles must be reported

immediately to ensure that fixed and variable
rates are suspended until the vehicle is found

and repaired.

If you are in doubt, please call the Accident

section of SFM at 1-800-356-3846 or
303-866-5565.
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A. Accident Procedures

At the scene of an accident involving a SFM
vehicle, the driver must:

a. Stop immediately and aid any
injured persons.

b. NOTIFY THE LOCAL POLICE by
calling 911.

c. If the local police will not send an
officer to the scene, file a counter
report at the local police station or
State Patrol station.

d. DO NOT leave the scene or move
the vehicle until the law enforcement
agency has completed its investigation,
or until they have asked you to move it.

e. If the vehicles create a definite
hazard, please mark the location of
each vehicle involved, then move the
vehicle.

f. CALL YOUR SUPERVISOR.

g. DO NOT ADMIT FAULT OR MAKE ANY
COMMITMENTS TO THE OTHER PARTY.

DO NOT MAKE ANY STATEMENTS ABOUT

THE ACCIDENT EXCEPT TO THE POLICE
OR YOUR SUPERVISOR.

h. Present the State of Colorado
Insurance Card, located inside the back
cover of this booklet.

i. Write down ALL information required
on the other driver listed below:

« Name
o Address

« Drivers license number and state,
expiration date, Date of Birth

» Home and work phone numbers

« Year, make, model and license of
vehicle
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« Insurance company and policy
number

« Injured parties name(s)

« Witnesses names, addresses and
phone numbers

» Take pictures of the damage

J. Write notes concerning the accident.
These notes will help when you complete
the accident report.

k. Do not tell the other driver to call
State Fleet for repairs to their vehicle!

I. Towing

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO DRIVE AN UNSAFE
VEHICLE OR A VEHICLE WITH FLUID
LEAKS.

a.) In the Denver Metro Area: Use
a towing vendor from the Quick
Reference section located on page 4.

« Have the vehicle towed to:
State Fleet Management
1001 E. 62nd Avenue
Denver, CO 80216

b.) Outside the Denver Metro Area:
See the Quick Reference section for
a list of vendors.

» Have the vehicle towed to their
place of business for safekeeping.
Instruct the vendor to contact
SFM the next business day.

« DO NOT HAVE THE VEHICLE
TAKEN TO A BODY SHOP OR
INSURANCE COMPANY!

e The state driver must call the
SFM Accident section the same
day or the next business day to
give location of the vehicle and
potential storage charges. If this
is not done, the storage charges
will be the responsibility of the
state driver’s agency.



B. Reporting an Accident to SFM

1. Call the Division of Risk Management
immediately, if the accident involves
serious injury and/or damage to OTHER
persons or property. Phone 303-866-3848.

2. Call SFM within one business day to
report the accident. Provide the state
vehicle’s license number, the state driver’s
name, and the date of accident.

Do Not Admit Fault.

3. Complete the “ACCIDENT PACKET”” with
ALL of the forms listed below WITHIN 10 DAYS
OF THE ACCIDENT. Make sure your Vehicle
Coordinator receives a copy of the packet.

e POLICE REPORT: Include one clean,
legible copy of the INVESTIGATOR’S
TRAFFIC ACCIDENT REPORT from the
police department that investigated the
accident. (It is the driver’s responsibility
to acquire a police report). Please do
not expect the accident section of SFM
to acquire the report for you.

e RISK MANAGEMENT VEHICLE ACCIDENT
REPORT (DRM-01): This form is found

in the state driver’s VEHICLE PACKET.
(Additional forms can be downloaded
from the website.) Please complete

each section of the accident report as
precisely as possible and make sure it is
legible. If the information on the other
driver is missing, the state driver has a
responsibility to acquire this information.

* The state driver must have their
signature as well as their supervisor’s
on the accident report before sending
to SFM. Please be sure to write in the
license number (State Plate—not the
undercover plate) where directed. If
the license number is not visible, it will
hinder authorization of the body repairs
of your vehicle.
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4. REPAIR ESTIMATES: Include ONE
estimate if damage is UNDER $1,200 or
THREE estimates if the damage is OVER
$1,200. Use body shops that are convenient
for you or call SFM for suggested shops.

* DO NOT go to an insurance company
to have an estimate done.

* GLASS AND TIRES should be noted on
the estimates.

EVEN THOUGH THE ACCIDENT IS MINOR
AND THE STATE DRIVER DOES NOT SEE ANY
DAMAGE, AN ESTIMATE IS STILL REQUIRED.

C. Obtaining Authorization for:
1. Body repairs

» Once the completed “accident packet”
is received by the accident section of
SFM, the accident personnel will call

or email the state driver or vehicle
coordinator with the name of the vendor
chosen to complete the body repairs.

e The state driver then makes an
appointment with said vendor.

« After the vehicle is taken to the
vendor for repairs, the state driver will
then inform the vendor to call SFM for
authorization number for payment of
the repairs.

» When the vehicle is completed to
the state drivers satisfaction, the state
driver signs the invoice or work order.
Do not accept inferior repairs!

DO NOT TAKE THE INVOICE FROM THE
VENDOR—HAVE THE VENDOR SEND
ORIGINAL INVOICE TO SFM.

2. For back glass, door glass, vent glass,
rearview mirrors (inside and outside),
windshields broken by vandals or tires
slashed by vandals, this damage is not
considered usual wear and tear. The state
driver must:
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* Make a photocopy of the DRM-01
form. Fill out the copy and explain
the reason the glass was broken, tires
slashed, etc.

» Refer to the website for sending
forms to SFM under FAQ/accident
procedures.

« Call the AWARDED glass or tire vendor
to schedule for replacement (see the
TIRE AND GLASS section in this manual).

* Have the vendor call accident section
of SFM for authorization. The glass and/
or tires will be authorized provided the
state driver faxes or sends the photocopy
of the accident report (DRM-01) at a
later time.

3. Mechanical repairs (accident damage
such as running over something causing a
hole in oil pan, gas tank, etc.):

» Follow the bodywork instructions for
accident mechanical repairs.
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STATE OF COLORADO
INSURANCE CARD
THIS CARD MUST BE CARRIED IN STATE VEHICLES

FOR PRODUCTION UPON DEMAND. LIABILITY IS
PROVIDED PURSUANT TO LAW.

INSURED STATE OF COLORADO
AND ITS EMPLOYEES

POLICY NUMBER .... DRM-24301510, NO
EXPIRATION DATE

VEHICLES ALL STATE-OWNED
VEHICLES

DIVISION OF RISK
MANAGEMENT
303-866-3848

IF YOU HAVE AN ACCIDENT:
. Do notify police and State Fleet Management.
. DO NOT admit fault or make commitments.

. DO PROVIDE RISK MANAGEMENT PHONE NUMBER
TO OTHER PARTY.

. Write down names, license number, and phone number
of persons involved and witnesses.

. DO NOT discuss the accident with anyone except police
or State investigators.

. Notify the State Risk Management office promptly (form
DRM-01, or call if it is a serious situation).

This form does not constitute any part of CRS 24-10-101,
et seq. or CRS 24-30-1501, et seq.
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