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The Basics of 
Unemployment Insurance



Unemployment Insurance Summarized

What is Unemployment Insurance? 

Unemployment Insurance (UI) was 
implemented to stabilize the 
economy by providing temporary 
income to eligible and entitled 
workers. 

This is accomplished by placing the 
UI premiums paid by Colorado 
employers into a UI trust fund to 
pay weekly benefits to employees 
who have lost their job through no 
fault of their own. 

 

 



Unemployment Insurance Liability

You are required to register with th
UI Program when you have:  

Paid gross employee wages of $1,50
in a calendar quarter 

 - OR - 

Employed at least one person for 
some portion of a day in each of 
twenty different weeks in a calend
year. 
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Unemployment Insurance Liability

Agricultural Labor
Liable after $20,000 wages paid in a 
calendar quarter
- OR -
Wages paid to 10+ individuals.  

Domestic Labor
Liable after $1,000 wages paid in a 
calendar quarter. 

Nonprofit - 501(c)(3)
Liable if employed 4 or more 
employees for some portion of a day in 
each of 20 different weeks during a 
calendar year.

 

 
 

 

 



Employer 
Account Registration 

& Requirements

 



How to Register

Online  
Start your filing online using Color
Business Express. Complete an app
online at colorado.gov/cbe. 
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By Mail  
Use our printable application, 
Application for Unemployment Insurance 
Account, UITL-100, available at 
coloradoui.gov/employer.



Account Requirements

Filing of quarterly reports – online via MyUI 
Employer, or by mail: 

Premiums Report 
(Quarterly Report of Wages Paid and Premiums 
Owed, UITR-1)
Total wages, excess wages, amount due 

 

Wage Report 
(Report of Individual Employee’s Wages, UITR-1A)
List of employees and total wages.  

 

Reports are Due 
The last day of the month following the quarter’s 
end (i.e., January 31, April 30, July 31, October 
31). 



Calculating  
Premiums



Wages Explained
Total wages are gross wages less exempt wages.  

Exempt wages include cafeteria 125 plans, group term life insurance, health 
savings accounts, Medicare approved pre-tax deductions.  

Chargeable wages are wages paid to each employee that are subject to annual 
UI premiums.  

For 2015, the chargeable wage amount per employee is $11,800. 



MyUI Employer 

coloradoui.gov/myuiemployer

MyUI Employer offers 24/7 online access to 
employer premium accounts, including:  

- Rate information
- Forms
- Account balance
- Payment history 

You may also: 

- Submit wage data
- File premium reports
- Make payments (and soon change your 
address)

For general assistance through employer 
services and to reset your password, call 
303.318.9100. (Your User ID never changes.)

 
 

 

 
 

 
 



Rate Basics

New employers are assigned a standard rate as designated by the 
Colorado Employment Security Act.  

All other employers receive an experience rate that takes into account 
their premiums paid, benefits charged and payroll information.  

Combined rate for 2015 is based on Base Rate and Bond Principal Rate.  

Employer may request a redetermination of the premium rate for the 
current year within 20 calendar days of date on notice.



UI Premium 
Nonpayments 



UI Premium Nonpayment

● $50 penalty for each quarter a report is late 

● 1.5% interest assessed monthly 

●  Delinquent Premium Penalties  

Outstanding balances are reviewed annually on 
June 30th.  Employers with delinquent premiums 
have a penalty computed equal to the premiums 
owed or 1% of the chargeable wages in the previous 
calendar year, whichever is less.  

Interest will accrue until paid in full.  

Lien and levy may result. 

Payment plans are available.



UI Benefits Claim 



Effects of Missing or Incorrect Information

Possible effects on the employer 
- Higher UI premiums (higher rate)
- Improper charges to the account
- Fines and penalties  

 
 

Missing information or incorrect information  
- May cause improper payments to claimants
- Largest cause of improper payments 

 

Information requested includes:  
- New hires (newhire.state.co.us) 
- Earnings request
- Separation details

 
 



Request to Employer for Earnings Data 
 (Form UIB-144) 

• Verifies earnings for full time or 
part time workers.  

• You can respond online through a 
link on MyUI Employer, or by mail. 

• Top 3 industries in Colorado 
where claimants were improperly 
paid through UI: Construction, 
Hotel/Restaurants, and Temporary 
agencies 

• Earnings are based upon a Sunday 
through Saturday work week.



(Form UIB-2

•

•

•

•

Separation Details  
Request for Facts about a Former Employee's Employment 

90)

This form may be received if you 
employed this person within the past 
18 months.   

This is your chance to explain job 
separation details, report other types 
of pay, and indicate job-attached 
status.  

You can provide job separation 
information by enrolling online in the 
State Information Data Exchange 
System (SIDES)/E-response.  

If you do not provide information as 
requested, an entitlement decision is 
made using the available information.



Appeals



Appeals

If you do not agree with a benefits 
decision, it may be appealed. This 
may be done by mail, fax, or via MyUI 
Employer.  

If the claimant disagrees and appeals, 
the employer should attend the 
hearing in person or by phone.  

De Novo (New) Hearing – Hearing 
Officer will look at facts presented 
only in the hearing. 



Audits



Unemployment Insurance Audits

How is your business selected for an audit?  

Random 
USDOL requires Colorado to audit 1% of employers operating 
within the state.  

 

Focused  
- Federal 1099 Database  
- Secretary of State business registration records
- Tips and leads from other agencies (USDOL/IRS)
- Worker/employer classification complaint (HB1310)
- Noncompliant account
- Employers without a UI account

 
 

 
 



Unemployment Insurance Audits (continued)

Who must be present?  
Owner, officer, or employee of the company and/or designated 
representative (Power of Attorney) 

Which documents should you provide?  

All documents listed on the notification are needed to verify that wages 
reported for the workers are accurate, all appropriate reports are filed, 
and the UI account information is correct.  

If an electronic copy of the record is available, it may be supplied to the 
auditor in advance.



Employee Misclassification



Employee Misclassification

Defined as erroneously classifying a person as an independent contractor 
when the employer cannot show an exception to the general rule that 
service being performed for the employer is presumed to be employment.  

Regulated by the Colorado Employer Security Act (CESA) 

8-70-115:  Employee vs. Independent Contractor, 
two-part test and contracts  

8-70-116 through 142: Other exceptions and definitions 

8-72-114: Misclassification defined, filing complaints, and process for 
handling complaints

 



Employee vs. 
Independent Contractor (IC)

 

Two-Part Test 

Worker must be free from control and 
direction in the performance of the service, 
both under contract and in fact.  

-AND- 

Worker must be customarily engaged in an 
independent trade, occupation, profession, 
or business related to the service performed.



Control & Direction

To be an independent contractor, the employer does not… 

•Require the individual to work exclusively for the person for whom 
services are performed.  

•Set quality standards. Employer may provide plans and specifications 
but cannot oversee the actual work or provide specific instruction.  

•Pay a salary or hourly rate, but rather a fixed or contract rate.  

•Terminate the work unless the individual violates the terms of the 
contract. 

 

 



Control & Direction (continued)

To be an independent contractor, the employer does not… 

•Provide more than minimal training. 

•Provide tools or benefits to the individual. 

•Dictate the time of performance except for a completion schedule or 
mutually agreeable work hours. 

•Pay the individual personally but rather makes checks payable to a trade 
or business name. 

•Combine his business operations in any way with the individual’s business 
but instead maintains operations as separate and distinct.



Independent Engagement

Employer must show by/through a preponderance of evidence that an 
individual is customarily engaged in an independent trade, occupation, 
profession, or business related to the service performed (i.e., providing 
the same service to the general public).  

Evidence may include but is not limited to:  

•SOS registration, Certificate of Liability Insurance, Licensure (not 
provided by employer), various forms of public advertisement, letterhead 
invoices, physical business location 

•NOTE: A W-9 and/or “Declaration of Independent Contractor Status” 
form from the insurance carrier is not a form of evidence. 



Independent Engagement (continued)

Other Considerations: 

- Continuing services  
- Who hires/supervises assistants used by IC
- Worker’s financial investment in a separate business
- Ongoing business expenses
- If the worker does not have other clients/work, why not? 
- Is the worker actively looking for work? 
- All other relevant factors  

Division may supply questionnaires to worker to assist in fact finding to 
obtain business and financial information as it relates to the services 
performed.

 
 

 
 

 



Contracts

To create the rebuttable presumption of an IC relationship, the written 
document must contain the following: 

•Explanation of nine factors  

•A disclosure, in type which is larger than the other provisions in the 
document or in bold-faced type or underlined type, that the independent 
contractor is not entitled to unemployment insurance benefits. 

•Signature of both parties to show mutual agreement. 

•Must be “in fact.”



Audit Close Out



Audit Close Out
• Unemployment Poster, Notice to Employees, 502 

• Request to Employer for Earnings Data, UIB-144 

• Separation Details, Request for Facts About a Former Employee’s Employment, 
UIB-290 

• House Bill 1310 – The statute allows for the levy of a fine up to $5,000 per 
misclassified worker for the first offense of willful disregard for the law, and up to 
$25,000 per misclassified worker for any subsequent event.  

Liability Determinations – Official notification from the Division as it relates to any 
changes or corrections as a result from an audit.  

Appeals – If you do not agree with audit findings, you may appeal within 20 days of th
date mailed of the Liability Determination. Follow instructions under “Appeal Rights” 
on the Liability Determination to file a written appeal. 
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Questions?




