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Welcome to the Colorado Department of Labor and Employment’s Employer Newsletter. In this issue you will 
find tips on proper worker classification, managing your premiums account online, requesting advisory opinions 
and Workforce Development month. 

New Unemployment Outreach Presentations

We are reaching out to Colorado’s employer community to help Colorado 
businesses comply with UI laws and regulations. We are conducting 
outreach through education presentations to Colorado employers, 
employer representative groups and chambers of commerce. 

Presentations cover topics including:
•	 Correct wage reporting 
•	 How premiums and benefits are calculated 
•	 Accurate premium payments 
•	 Using online tools to manage unemployment premium accounts
•	 Proper classification of workers as employees or independent 

contractors
•	 Understanding the unemployment insurance appeal process.

To schedule a presentation call 303-318-9100, Option 4

colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers 
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TIPS

Manage Your Unemployment Premium Account

http://coloradoui.gov/myUIEmployer
Register for MyUI Employer

MyUI Employer offers 24/7 online access to your employer account, including online tracking of your wage and premium reports, 
convenient account access, and answers to many questions about your account.

You can do almost everything you need to do online, such as:
•	 Review rate information
•	 Access forms
•	 Submit wage data
•	 File premium reports
•	 View account balance
•	 Make payments
•	 Review payment history

Online

Business changes. If you have changed 
your address, acquired, sold or closed 
your business, you must notify the Division 
within 10 days by submitting a form UITL-2, 
Employer Change Request available at 
colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers.

No wages to report. If you have no wages 
to report, you are still required to file your 
quarterly reports timely each quarter. A 
$50.00 per quarter penalty will be assessed 
for each quarter the report is late.

If you use QuickBooks, it is not supported 
by our system and does not transfer 
electronic submission of reports and 
payments through QuickBooks. Your 
submissions can only occur by registering 
for MyUI Employer for online filing or 
by sending us your paper reports and 
payments.

Premium overpayments.  To request 
a refund of an overpayment of 
unemployment insurance premiums, 
submit a request in writing and send it via 
mail or fax to 303-318-9013. 

Forms. Our employer forms may be down-
loaded from our website, at 
colorado.gov/cdle/businesses-employers.



Manage Your Unemployment Premium Account
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 Hiring Events Customized for You

Advisory Opinions are available to employers seeking advice on proper 
classification of workers. If you would like to request an advisory opinion regarding 
whether you should classify individuals as employees or independent contractors, 
please complete the request form below and include a nonrefundable check in 
the amount of $100 made payable to the Colorado Department of Labor and 
Employment.

Go to coloradoui.gov/properclassification to Request an Advisory Opinion.

Request an Advisory Opinion

While the definition of employment in Colorado law is broad and 
inclusive, it is not limited to the common-law relationship of master and 
servant (as used by the Internal Revenue Service).

The two main concepts used to determine the status of a worker, as 
stated in Colorado law, are:

•	 Whether or not the individual is free from control and direction in 
the performance of the service, both under the contract for the 
performance of service and in fact.

•	 Whether or not the individual is customarily engaged in an 
independent trade, occupation, profession, or business related to 
the service performed.

Some examples of these circumstances may include any written 
agreements that are in existence, the day to day relationship between 
the worker and the company, the actual directions given, the use of 
tools, advertising, type of payments and a myriad of other everyday 
issues. Overall, it is the totality of circumstances that is the basis of the 
decision. 

Ensure Proper Classification
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Labor Laws for Final Paychecks

When an employer terminates an employee, any earned wages 
and compensation for labor or service that are unpaid are due 
and payable immediately. There are some exceptions depending 
on where checks are normally drawn.

For example, when the employer’s accounting unit, responsible 
for the drawing of payroll checks, is not regularly scheduled to 
be operational, then the wages owed to the separated employee 
must be available to the employee no later than six hours 
after the start of said employer’s accounting unit’s next regular 
workday.

If the accounting unit is located away from the work site, the 
employer must deliver the check for wages due no later than 
twenty-four hours after the start of the employer’s accounting 
unit’s next regular workday to one of the following locations 
selected by the employer: a) the work site; b) the employer’s local 
office; c) the employee’s last-known mailing address.

When an employee voluntarily quits or resigns, they are to 
receive their wages and compensation, due and payable, 
upon the next regular payday. They may be paid by check, 
cash, or by direct deposit as on any other payday.

For more information about final payment of wages, 
contact the Division of Labor at 303-318-8441 or 
coloradolaborlaw.gov.  

In September, the Department of Labor and Employment 
and Workforce Centers across the state will celebrate the 
almost 3 million Colorado workers and the more than 166,000 
companies that employ them.  Workforce Development Month 
is a month-long focus on the resources and services we offer to 
help businesses and workers succeed.

A major focus of Workforce Development Month 2015 will be 
two website redesigns that will improve services to job seekers 
and businesses.  The first is a redesign of our virtual job fair 
platform which saw overwhelming support when launched in 
2012.  The virtual job fair was built around a robust online job 
board but this redesign takes the model much further.  The 
redesign will allow users to walk through the virtual recruiting 
process step by step, with individual booths and “chatrooms.”  
The graphical look is professional and allows job seekers to 
easily join in and participate in workshops, job interviews and 
other features that convey a sense of a real gathering.

Enhanced Online Services to be Introduced During Workforce Development 

Another improvement to debut during Workforce 
Development Month is a redesign of the Department of 
Labor and Employment’s job board called Connecting 
Colorado.  The new site is more than merely a site to post 
jobs, it is a portal to a wide array of unparalleled business 
services including recruiting and screening, training, cost 
savings, downsizing assistance and much more.  Most 
importantly, Connecting Colorado connects you with a 
Business Services professional.

Workforce Development Month focuses on the services 
that create a stronger and more competitive Colorado.  
To learn more about everything to be offered in 
September, visit our website and check in with us on 
Facebook and Twitter.


