
1 

TECHNICAL GUIDANCE – EMPLOYEE STATUS WITHIN THE STATE 
PERSONNEL SYSTEM 

 
Prepared by the Division of Human Resources in the Department of Personnel & Administration.  Revised January 2013.   

 
GENERAL 
 
The purpose of this technical guidance is to address topics related to employee status.  The 
Colorado Constitution, Colorado Revised Statutes and the State Personnel Board Rules and 
Personnel Director’s Administrative Procedures (hereafter referred to as the Rules) identify and 
define these various types of status.  The Rules define status as categories that determine the 
rights of an employee under the state personnel system.    
 
TYPES OF STATUS 
 
Probationary 
The State Personnel Board has established a probationary period of no more than 12 months for 
all persons initially appointed to a position within the state personnel system.  The Rules define 
probationary as a person who is not a current certified employee and who has been selected from 
a referral list for a permanent position, but has not yet been certified to the class for that position.   
The probationary period is intended to give the appointing authority a reasonable period of time 
to observe the employee’s performance and determine if it is satisfactory prior to the employee 
becoming certified in the class.  (Certified status is addressed later in this document.)  
Appointing authorities also have the discretion to require reinstated certified employees to serve 
a probationary period.   
 
Employees in probationary status may be terminated for unsatisfactory performance at any time 
during the probationary period and do not have the right to appeal such termination to the State 
Personnel Board.  Appointing authorities have the discretion to administer corrective or 
disciplinary action to employees in probationary status in lieu of termination.  Employees in 
probationary status may petition the State Personnel Board for a discretionary hearing in non-
disciplinary matters.  However, employees in probationary status do not have the right to be 
granted a period of time to improve performance, the right to a pre-disciplinary meeting, the 
right to be placed on a reemployment list or the privilege of reinstatement.   
 
The Rules require that an employee’s probationary period be extended beyond 12 months by the 
number of days of any unpaid leave and allow such extensions for periods of paid leave.  Note 
that the circumstances under which probationary periods must or may be extended are extremely 
limited.  If the employee is at work continuously throughout the year, or uses only negligible 
amounts of paid leave, the probationary period should not be extended.  In all other cases, 
including if a selection appeal is pending, the employee is certified at the end of the 12 month 
period. 
 
When an employee transfers, promotes, or demotes during his or her probationary period, the 
probationary period continues from the date of the initial appointment, so only the remaining 
time in probationary status carries over to the employee’s new position. For example, an 
employee in probationary status as an Administrative Assistant II who promotes to an 
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Administrative Assistant III after completing 10 months of the probationary period remains in 
probationary status for only two months before becoming certified to the Administrative 
Assistant III class.   
 
Employees whose employment ends via resignation, termination, or layoff while in probationary 
status cannot be granted certified status retroactively.  
 
Trial Service 
The State Personnel Board has established a probationary period for certified employees 
promoted into a different position or in a position reallocated to a higher pay grade.  This period 
is known as trial service and is limited to six months.  Appointing authorities have the discretion 
to require a current certified employee who voluntarily transfers to serve a trial service period.  
The Rules define trial service as the status of a current certified employee or reemployment 
applicant who promotes and, unless the appointing authority requires a probationary period, a 
reinstated applicant.  (The exception to this is when an employee is reinstated to the class in 
which he/she was placed on a departmental reemployment list; in such cases, the Rules mandate 
that the employee remains in certified status.)   Similar to the intent of probationary status, the 
trial service period is intended to give the appointing authority a reasonable period of time to 
observe the employee’s performance in the new position and determine if it is satisfactory prior 
to the employee becoming certified to the class.   
 
An employee in trial service status who fails to perform satisfactorily may be disciplined or 
reverted.  Reversion consists of placing the employee in a vacant position for which the 
employee qualifies in the previously certified class in the current department or, if there is no 
existing vacancy, of determining an eligible employee’s retention rights, if any.  Additionally, 
appointing authorities have the discretion to administer corrective action to an employee in trial 
service status who fails to perform satisfactorily, and it is recommended that appointing 
authorities consider administering progressive discipline in lieu of reversion (see additional note 
at the end of this section).   
 
As in the case of probationary status, the Rules require an employee’s trial service period be 
extended beyond six months by the number of days of any unpaid leave and allow such 
extensions for periods of paid leave.  As in the case of probationary status, note that the 
circumstances under which trial service periods must or may be extended are extremely limited.  
If the employee is at work continuously throughout the year, or uses only negligible amounts of 
paid leave, the trial service period should not be extended.  In all other cases, including if a 
selection appeal is pending, the employee is certified at the end of the 6 month period. 
 
The Rules also allow trial service periods to be extended beyond six months when there is a 
selection appeal pending.  It is recommended that departments institute this practice as a matter 
of course.  
 



3 

*A note on trial service reversion 
Administering reversion can have unintended negative consequences for the department.  For 
example, if there is no vacancy within the department in the previously certified class of the 
employee being reverted, and the employee being reverted is eligible for retention rights, such 
rights may be to an occupied position in which the current employee is performing satisfactorily.  
In this example, if the employee in trial service status chose to exercise his retention right, he 
would ‘bump’ an employee who is likely performing satisfactorily.  Thus, appointing authorities 
considering administering reversion should consult with the department’s professional human 
resources staff in order to become fully informed and understand the potential consequences.        
 
Certified 
After an employee satisfactorily completes any probationary period the employee is certified.  
The Rules define certified as the status of an employee who has successfully completed a 
probationary or trial service period.  Employees in certified status have certain rights, including 
but not necessarily limited to the right to corrective action prior to discipline unless the act is so 
flagrant or serious that immediate discipline is proper, the right to a meeting to exchange 
information about the possible need for discipline before a decision whether or not to administer 
discipline is made, and the right to a mandatory hearing before the State Personnel Board when 
appealing an action affecting their base pay, status, or tenure.  Former certified employees who 
left state employment in good standing and current employees previously certified in the same or 
similar class are eligible for the privilege of reinstatement.  The department’s professional human 
resources staff determines similar classes for the purposes of reinstatement.               
 
As stated earlier in this document, the Rules give appointing authorities discretion to allow a 
current employee in certified status who voluntarily transfers to another position to remain in 
certified status or to require the employee to serve a trial service period.  However, the Rules 
require that a current employee in certified status who involuntarily transfers or who demotes, 
whether voluntarily or involuntarily, remains in certified status.   
 
Conditional 
The Rules define a conditional appointment as the temporary (not to exceed nine months) 
promotion of a qualified certified employee to a permanent position or vacancy for which no 
eligible list exists and outline additional parameters for employees in conditional status.  
(Temporary status is further addressed later in this document.)       
 
Provisional 
The Rules define a provisional appointment as the temporary (not to exceed nine months) 
appointment of a qualified person outside the state personnel system to a permanent position or 
vacancy for which no eligible list exists and outline additional parameters for provisional 
employees.  A provisional appointment may be made only if a position cannot be filled 
conditionally.  Provisional employees do not have the rights and benefits provided to classified 
employees within the state personnel system.   
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Temporary 
The State Personnel Director has authorized temporary employment of persons for up to nine 
months in any 12 month period; thus, any individual who works nine months as a temporary 
employee have at least a three-month break before beginning to work as a temporary again.  This 
applies to individuals working directly for the state personnel system.  The Rules state that 
temporary employees are employed at will and do not have the rights and benefits provided to 
permanent employees and outline additional parameters for temporary employees.  Reference the 
Technical Guidance-Temporary Employees for additional information on this topic. 
 
EARLY CERTIFICATION 
 
Department heads have the discretion to certify employees prior to the end of the 12-month 
probationary or six-month trial service period.  Such early certification approval should be in 
writing. Early certification shall not take place if a selection appeal is pending. 
 
One circumstance where early certification may be appropriate is when certifying an employee 
during his/her probationary status would result in allowing the employee to serve a full six-
month trial service period in a new position.  For example, when an employee earns a promotion 
ten months through the probationary period, the employee would serve only two months of 
probationary status in the higher class and then become certified in the higher class.  However, if 
the employee were certified prior to his/her promotion, the employee would be required to serve 
a full six months in trial service status before becoming certified in the higher class.  
 
NOTIFICATION 
 
Changes in status most often occur when an employee moves to certified status after completing 
a probationary or trial service period, but may occur at other times as well.   It is recommended 
that human resources professionals provide notice to supervisors a minimum of 90 days in 
advance of employee certification.  It is recommended that departments provide written 
notification to employees whose status is changing, as well as to employees who will not be 
completing their probationary or trial service period in a class (usually due to promotion or 
resignation) that they will not be certified to the class they are leaving.  Note that if an employee 
in probationary or trial service status was previously certified in the class from which they are 
now departing, as may be the case with an employee who reinstated or transferred, the employee 
is still considered certified to the class in question even though the employee did not complete 
the most recent probationary or trial service period in that class.  In such cases, if the employee 
left his/her most recent employment in the class in good standing, the employee would be 
eligible for the privilege of reinstatement.     
 
It is also recommended that departments provide written notification to current employees whose 
probationary or trial service period is being extended beyond 12 or six months, respectively.   
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SUMMARY 
 
With few exceptions as noted earlier in this document, probationary and trial service periods 
cannot exceed 12 and six months, respectively.  Departments should notify employees of 
changes in writing.  The following chart outlines when the various types of status are, or may be, 
applied. 
 
Employee Type Status Type 
  
New Probationary  
Former certified employee reinstating Trial service or probationary  
Current employee reinstating Trial service  
Current employee promoting Trial service  
Current employee transferring Certified or trial service  
Current employee demoting Certified 
 
Where departments and appointing authorities have discretion to determine employee status, they 
should exercise caution, remembering that such decisions may be subject to appeal and are 
reversible if found to be arbitrary, capricious or contrary to rule or law.  Such decisions are also 
subject to departmental policies and procedures.  These policies and procedures may not 
necessarily mandate how such cases are handles, but should, at a minimum, provide standards 
and expectations for appointing authorities and employees alike.  Additionally, any such 
departmental policy or procedure should be developed and implemented under the guidance of 
the department’s professional human resources staff. In the absence of written policies or 
procedures governing an appointing authority’s action in determining employee status, 
appointing authorities should consult with and be guided by their department’s professional 
human resources staff.   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Every attempt is made to keep this information updated.  For additional information, refer to the State Personnel Board Rules and 
Director’s Administrative Procedures (rules) or contact your department human resources office.  Subsequent revisions to rule or 
law could cause conflicts in this information.  In such a situation, the law and rule are the official source upon which to base a 
ruling or interpretation.  This document is a guide, not a contract or legal advice. 




