Colorado Emergency Medical Services Provider
Application Instruction Guide for Military Personnel
and Spouses of Military Personnel

f Public Health . . . .
and Environment Your application is a matter of public record

There is no fee associated with initial or renewal certification

Current Colorado certification is required to practice as an EMS provider in Colorado
e NREMT certification does not constitute Colorado certification
e Colorado does not recognize EMS Provider certification from other states unless you
meet the conditions outlined below

USE THIS INSTRUCTION SHEET ONLY FOR THE FOLLOWING:
e INITIAL CERTIFICATION FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL STATIONED IN COLORADO
INITIAL CERTIFICATION FOR THE SPOUSES OF MILITARY PERSONNEL STATIONED IN COLORADO
e RENEWAL CERTIFICATION FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL DEPLOYED ON ACTIVE DUTY OVER 120 DAYS

General Information

Applications are processed in the order received. We ask that you allow 3-4 weeks for the processing of
your application. You may check your certification status at any time through the online verification link on
the home page of our website (www.coems.info.) Certificates are valid for three (3) years following the date
of issuance. You may not practice as an EMS Provider in the State of Colorado once your
certification has expired.

Incomplete applications are held for a period of one year from the date received, after which they will be
destroyed. Failure to submit a properly-coded fingerprint card to the Colorado Bureau of Investigation
(CBI) constitutes an incomplete application.

Active military personnel who are stationed in Colorado and the spouses of personnel stationed in Colorado
may apply for certification to practice in Colorado and are exempt from providing specific information
otherwise required for initial application. Please reference section 25-3.5-203(e) of the Colorado Revised
Statutes and 6 CCR 1015-3, Chapter One, Section 5.2 and 5.3.

Initial applicants requesting military exemption will be certified in Colorado at the best equivalent level based
on the certification or license documents provided from another state, district, or territory of the United
States.

Spouses of active military personnel who wish to renew their Colorado certification must adhere to the
requirements set forth for all renewing providers — Please refer to the EMS Provider Certification
Instructions Guide for more information.

For military personnel renewing their certification, continuing education, training, or service completed
through the military may be accepted for the purpose of renewing Colorado certification upon review and at
the discretion of the department.

Any person whose Colorado EMS provider certificate is more than six (6) months expired is not eligible to
renew through the continuing education/skills competency option and must hold a current NREMT card.

You may submit your renewal application up to six months prior to your certification expiration date and still
keep your original expiration date. Application packets may be mailed or delivered to:
CDPHE - EMT Certification
HFEMSD-A2
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246-1530
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General Requirements for Colorado EMS Provider Certification

ALL APPLICANTS | 1) be 18 years of age

must: 2) submit evidence of lawful presence in the U.S. (page 3 and 4 of the
application)
3) submit a complete application with required supplemental documents
First-Time (Initial) 1) submit proof of a valid EMS provider certificate or license from another
Applicants must state, district, or territory of the U.S. (write “Military Exempt” in item #4
also: on page 1 of the application)

2) submit documentation from the issuing authority that demonstrates your
EMS provider certificate or license is in good standing

3) submit a copy of military orders that establishes Colorado as your duty
station

4) submit to a fingerprint-based criminal history record check

5) provide the name and contact information of employer(s) if in the
previous year you have been practicing as an EMS provider in

Colorado
Renewing 1) provide proof of current NREMT certification or verification that
Applicants continuing education and skills competency requirements have been
deployed on active met or
duty must also: 2) establish exemption from NREMT/continuing education/skills

competency requirements by providing documentation of military orders
requiring active duty service of more than 120 days to serve in a war,
emergency, or contingency if your certificate expired during service or
up to 6 months after the completion of service (write “Military Exempt” in
item #4 on page 1 of the application)

3) re-submit to a fingerprint-based criminal history record check if you
have lived out of state any time during the past 3 years

Proof of CPR/ALS Course Completion

Initial applicants are exempt from providing proof of CPR/ACLS course completion. Mark “Military
Exempt” on page 6 of the application.

Renewing applicants must provide proof of course completion of CPR (and ACLS, if required),
with the exception of military personnel who have been called to federally funded active duty for
more than 120 days and whose certificate has expire during service or within 6 months after
service ended.
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Proof of Identification/Lawful Presence

Identification is used to establish lawful presence in the United States. Although you are required to sign a
statement attesting to your lawful presence (page 3 of the application), we also require verification through
an acceptable form of identification.

A PHOTOCOPY OF YOUR IDENTIFICATION is required for ALL APPLICANTS

FOR MAIL-IN APPLICATIONS: Notarization of the photocopy is required — use page 4 of the application
FOR WALK-IN APPLICATIONS: Bring photocopy and original identification document with you

Acceptable
forms of identification:

United States Military or Military Dependent Identification Card

Un-expired Colorado Driver’s License or Official Colorado Identification Card
Un-expired Driver’s License from any state or territory not listed below
Certified Copy of a Birth Certificate from any state

U.S. Passport (except limited passports, which are issued for periods of less
than five years)

e United States Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Card

e Native American Tribal Document

The following Driver’s e lllinois e Washington e Northern Marianas
Licenses are not acceptable |e New Mexico e American Samoa e Puerto Rico

as Proof of Lawful Presence: |e Utah e Guam e Virgin Islands
Additional Information on Colorado Department of Revenue

Proof of Lawful Presence: http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/Revenue-Main/XRM/1216289012440

Criminal History Record Checks

A fingerprint-based criminal history record check is required for all first time applicants for EMS provider
certification in the State of Colorado. Renewing applicants are only required to be re-fingerprinted if they
have lived out of state any time during the last 3 years.

Directions:

1) Fingerprints must be taken by a law enforcement agency on an official blue-lined fingerprint
card (For information on live scans, contact the CBI directly at 303-239-4208)
2) Circle “FBI” in box 24 of the fingerprint card if you have lived out of state any time during the
past 3 years
3) Mail or deliver your completed fingerprint card with payment to:

Colorado Bureau of Investigation

690 Kipling Street, Suite 3000

Denver, CO 80215

Tips:

1) Take these instructions with you when you get fingerprinted, as proper coding of the
fingerprint card (specifically boxes 5 and 11, as shown on the following page) is vital for
successful processing

2) Early submission of fingerprint cards to CBI is strongly encouraged, as processing may take
2 to 4 weeks

3) DO NOT send your fingerprint cards and payment to the Department, as this will delay the
processing of your application

4) CBI accepts certified checks, cashier's checks, money orders or preprinted business
checks. Visa/MasterCard or cash are accepted for hand delivered requests only.

5) RESULTS of your fingerprinting will come directly to the Department — please wait at least
four weeks before calling to see if we have received the results

6) CBI processes fingerprint cards; they DO NOT take fingerprints

7) Do not fold or staple cards and please type or print legibly
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Fees: CBI Only: CBI with FBI (if you’ve lived out of state any time during the past 3 years):
$17.50 $39.50

Additional |CBI website and phone

Information: | http://www.cbi.state.co.us/id/index.html or 303-239-4208

The following tips may expedite the processing of your application:

The Colorado EMS Provider certification application must be complete, legible, signed and dated
before it can be processed

Submit your original application — photocopies will not be accepted

Include copies of your proof of identification and CPR card (and ACLS card if applicable) with
your application packet

Do not include payment (unless you qualify for and are applying for provisional certification)

If using the continuing education/skills competency option to renew your certification, you do not need
to include transcripts or records with your application

© 0 ® 0| 0

If renewing, include your expiration date in box 3b on page 1

FINGERPRINT CARD FIELD EXPLANATIONS

APPLICANT |

LEAVE BLANK

TYPE OR PRINT ALL INFORMATION IN BLACK
NAM T E

LAST NAME

7

FIRST NAM MIDDLE NAME

1

SIGNATURE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED

2

RESIDENCE OF PERSON FINGERPRINTED

ALIASES AKA

8

o
[}

EBl LEAVE BLANK
24

DATE OF BIRTH DOB
Month

Day

23

Year

DATE SIGNATURE OF OFFICIAL TAKING FINGERPRINTS

3A 3B

CITIZENSHIP CTZ

10

m
5
td
5
3

WGT.

EMPLOYER AND ADDRESS

Colorado Dept of Public Health
4 4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246

YOUR NO Qﬂ
11 cONCJ3150

EYES

HAR | PLACE OF BIRTH EQB

LEAVE BLANK

FBI NO. EB|

12

REASON FINGERPRINTED

5 CRS 25-3.5-203 EMT Certification

ARMED FORCES NO. MNU

13

CLASS

SOCIAL SECURITY NO §_Q£

14

WA

’
|

-

MISCELLANEOUS NO. MNU

15

i

6

\
yii

o)
5

1 | SIGNATURE
2 | RESIDENCE

3A | DATE

3B | SIGNATURE OF LEO

4 | EMPLOYER

Signature of person being fingerprinted
Complete mailing address of person fingerprinted: city, state and zip code

Date fingerprints taken
Signature of Law Enforcement Official taking fingerprints

Colorado Dept of Public Health
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
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REASON
FINGERPRINTED

FINGERPRINTS
NAME

AKA

ORI
CITENZENSHIP
OCA

FBI

ARMED FORCES
SOC
MISCELLANEQOUS
SEX CODES
RACE CODES
HEIGHT
WEIGHT

EYE CODES

HAIR CODES

POB
DOB
FBI

Print: CRS 25-3.5-203 EMT Certification

All applicant prints must be taken by a law enforcement agency
Last, First, Middle Name

Maiden name, other married name or any other name used

To be filled in by Law Enforcement Official

U.S. OR Alien Registration number (if applicable)

Print CBI account number: CONCJ3150

Leave this field blank

Leave this field blank

Social Security Number

Leave this field blank

M (Male) or F (female)

W (White or Hispanic), B (Black), A (Asian), | (Indian)

Feet and Inches (5'6"=506, 6'=600)

090, 100, 250, etc. (pounds)

BLK-Black, BLU-Blue, BRO-Brown, GRN-Green, GRY-Gray, HAZ-Hazel

BAL-Bald, BLK-Black, BLN-Blonde, BRO-Brown, GRY-Gray, RED-
Red/Auburn, WHI-White

Place of Birth (State 2-letter code only) or Country
Date of Birth (MM DD YYYY format)

Circle “FBI” if requesting an additional FBI check ($39.50 payment required)
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